TOP

Faro G2 ANR Pilot Headset

  • 34 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Faro G2 ANR Pilot Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT HEADSET FOR THE MONEY

  • By Charles from Williamsburg VA USA on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Pros: very comfortable, great ANR capabillity
  • Cons: No Cons as of yet.
  • Review: I have only put 7 hours of use on this headset in a C172 so far but feel compelled to write a review. The active noise cancelling ability of this headset is on par with Bose. The mic picks up my speech far better than my Dave Clark. The DC also squeezes my head too much and is harder to adjust than the FARO. The FARO is very comfortable to wear and the sound quality is fantastic. The description on my pilot store states that it comes with leather ear pads but it actually comes with the gel cups, which is fine with me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 24 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great noise reduction at reasonable cost

  • By A Customer from Lake Barrington IL USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros: A lot of bang for the bucks
  • Cons: The power can easily be turn on when stowing the heasdet in a flight bag
  • Review: These are exactly the same as the passive G2, with an extra box locate near the end of the cable. The build appears solid.
    The noise reduction is pretty obvious, but you can still hear the stall horn and perceive the humming of the engine.
    If you are looking for a ANR headset, these could just save you a lot of $$.
    One thing to note, these are NOT coming with 'soft leather earseals' as described, but with silicon one.
    The leather one are available as an option.
    [NOTE From MyPilotStore:  When the G2 ANR first came out, leather ear seals were not included but they are included now as indicated in our description.]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jason from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, June 16, 2015
  • Pros: Amazing Value, great ANR Cancelling during flight, light weight, good quality, comfortable.
  • Cons: Slight issue with ANR during engine runup, See review
  • Review: This product met my expectations. I have used $1,000.00 ANR headsets before and I have used $100 headsets before. The Faro G2 headset is very much on par with the performance and quality of the $1,000 headset, and I cannot perceive much of a difference between these and the expensive headsets. The Faro G2 works very well, and is very comfortable so far. The quality and fit is very good. I fly as a part time CFI and the batteries lasted about a month before they indicated they would need replacing soon. My only issue is there is the ANR seems to have an occasional problem with cancelling out the noise during engine run ups, however, this is also with my window open due to the hot area I fly in. Not a big deal, just turn it off during run up or close the window. The ANR system does a great job of noise cancelling ALL other times during flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent ANR headset for the $$.

  • By Robert from Santa Rosa CA USA on Friday, August 01, 2014
  • Pros: Excellent ANR rating.
  • Cons: Can't think of any.
  • Review: I use the headset in the very noisy cockpit of an RV-9A. I have tried several brands of ANR headsets and this is the best of the mid priced sets. Flew 4&1/2 hrs non-stop recently and the set remained comfortable the whole trip.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

AMAZING ANR HEADSET

  • By Nickcae from Phoenix AZ on Saturday, July 25, 2015
  • Pros: Good Quality, very comfortable soft cushion, very effective ANR
  • Cons: Interferences sounds in the headset in the ground during engine low rpm
  • Review: I bought this headset 3 months ago, till now I'm really satisfied , the product took over my expectations. Is the perfect type of headset for flight training, very cost effective.  I think those headset are real deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

RADIO CHECK PLEASE

  • By Thomas from Harvard IL USA on Thursday, July 07, 2016
  • Pros: Good ANR
  • Cons: No automatic off
  • Review: Excellent value and the set performs as advertised. Good ANR, as good as more expensive set I own. The only problem is the set does not turn off when the radio is off like my other set. One must remember to flick the switch to off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Faro G2 ANR Exceeds My Expectations

  • By Walter from Metairie LA USA on Tuesday, March 31, 2020
  • Pros: Price, quality, comfort
  • Cons: As will almost all headsets I've used, I wish the cords were about 18" longer. I always have to use an extension.
  • Review: The attention to detail with this product is amazing. Very well built and packaged. The ANR is perfect for the old Cherokee I fly. Crystal clear reception and from the recordings I've listened to on LIVEATC it sounds good on the other end too.

    This is a quality headset at an affordable price. That's what drew me to it. I didn't want to spend $$$$ on a headset, but I also didn't want passive NR. The G2 seemed like the perfect choice. Is it light weight, not exactly, but I've had it on for flights exceeding 2 hours and it was never uncomfortable. I have a large head, really, it's big! No problem for the G2. I can even wear it over a hat if needed.

    The unit is small enough to fit in the end pocket of my flight duffel with no issues. If you want a sturdy headset with ANR and don't want to break the bank, this is the one to choose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

That is what it was looking like

  • By Jue from Budapest / Hungary on Wednesday, August 05, 2015
  • Pros: price performance ratio
  • Cons: nothing so far
  • Review: Though I used so far the headphone only once, it performs as I expected. The ANR is pretty good. The cable and connector is quite robust.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Bang for the Buck

  • By CURT from Tucson AZ USA on Thursday, October 22, 2015
  • Review: I am very happy with my recent purchase. I read reviews before hand, most were good so I figured I would give it a try. This has met my every expectation!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value for money

  • By Martin from Drachten Friesland Netherlands on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Pros: bright and clear sound, value for money
  • Cons: cord a bit short/position control box
  • Review: This is my first ANR headset and I love it. It reduces the noice significant and the voices are bright and clear. I didn't tried the MP3 input yet.
    It came in a glossy box, with a shiny yellow bag, for an expensive appearance.
    Point of improvement: I would like the cord between the plugs and control box a bit longer, or the box closer to the headset, to clip the box to the seat belt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good headset!

  • By JR from Woodbury MN USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Pros: Price/Value
  • Cons:
  • Review: I haven't had the chance to use some of the more expensive headset. This is my first ANR unit. And so far, it takes care of everything I need. Noise reduction is good. Headset is fairly comfortable. I do like the boom mike flex. Only nitpick I have is that they can't be adjusted smaller than they are.

    Otherwise, especially for the money, this is a great headset!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent headphones

  • By A Customer from Columbia MO USA on Thursday, October 08, 2015
  • Pros: Reasonable price
  • Cons: No obvious problems thus far
  • Review: These are excellent headphones. The active noise cancelling has a noticeable effect, but even without activating the headphones, these are comfortable and functional. I use these in a Piper Cherokee, and communications are clear both in intercom as well as in communication with Air Traffic Control.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hearing restored

  • By Tom from Bellingham WA USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Pros: Reduces noise to a tolerable level
  • Cons: Could use a bit more tension on the ear cups, pressing on them lessens noise a bit more.
  • Review: Flying my experimental pusher is like sitting inside of a drum while someone beats on the outside with a jackhammer. After a while you are either partially deaf or have a headache. The G2 is better than aspirin or tylenol!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset!

  • By Eric from Oakley IL USA on Thursday, May 02, 2019
  • Pros: Comfortable, great ANR though it's really quiet even without ANR turned on
  • Cons: battery/switch box is heavy and can pull to one side if not positioned well
  • Review: So far, the Faro G2 has gone beyond my expectations. I was looking for something with the most bang for the buck, comfortable/quiet/clear sound/affordable/etc. and this headset delivered. The headset is so quiet that you hardly even need the ANR turned on, I've flown several times where I realized afterward that it was off.

    The only drawback I can think of is the placement of the battery box / ANR switch, it has a tendency to weigh down the cable side of the headset and the box itself hangs just above the floor in my 172 with floor mounted com jacks. Clipping the cable to something helps a lot.

    Time will tell for durability but I did my research and couldn't resist the chance to get ANR for about the same price as a DC 13.4 without, and it's just as comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Rich W. on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: Great noise reduction
  • Cons: Would like to see the aux input on the battery box
  • Review: Very comfortable and quiet, well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Near match to the Lightspeed and Bose high-priced headsets

  • By Tim from Pottstown PA USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: Quiet, comfortable, low-cost.
  • Cons: Short cable, clamping pressure slightly higher. head phone audio quality slightly lower.
  • Review: PROS:
    Quiet, comfortable, low-cost.

    CONS:
    Short cable, clamping pressure slightly higher. head phone audio quality slightly lower.

    Overall, these are well worth the money compared to the over-priced premium headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Tuesday, December 06, 2016
  • Pros: Anr
  • Cons: Microphone
  • Review: Great product,  microphone's squelch is pretty high but good ANR and comfort!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Value

  • By Carl from Saugus MA USA on Thursday, July 09, 2020
  • Review: Very pleased with the audio quality and ANR. Good way to get features without breaking the bank on a Bose Aviation Headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal for the price

  • By Stephen from Ketchikan AK USA on Friday, February 24, 2017
  • Review: Can't believe what a difference ANR makes! I don't know if I spent more money on another brand, if it could work any better. Now that being said, I would like the cord a little more flexible and a little longer as I am using a hand held radio. But Wow I'm still impressed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

EXCELLENT HEADSET/VERY COMFORTABLE/USER FRIENDLY

  • By mark from Martin PA USA on Thursday, June 10, 2021
  • Pros: EXCELLENT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY
  • Cons: AUTOMATIC NOISE LIMITER GETS IN THE WAY
  • Review: VERY COMFORTABLE, EXCELLENT SOUND, NO HEAD HOTSPOTS. I OPTED FOR THE AUTOMATIC NOISE LIMITER BUT I'VE YET TO USE IT SINCE THEY WORK GREAT WITHOUT THE FEATURE. EXCELLENT HEADSET FOR THE PRICE !!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much nicer than I thought!

  • By Ali from Bedford MA USA on Friday, January 29, 2016
  • Pros: Great noise reduction and sharp volume
  • Cons: slightly heavier than usual head sets but once wear it you get used to it
  • Review: My wife gave it to me as a christmass gift and I used it first time last week. its great , the noise reduction and volume is amazing and it may not a Bose but for the price you can't beat it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset. I compared it with my dads Bose in the plane!

  • By Cherokee pilot from Marshall NC USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: Great headset. Really nice features and quality for the $
  • Cons: Not quite as good as Bose or Lightspeed etc, but they are EXPENSIVE!
  • Review: The G2 ANR headset has been great so far. I can tell a big difference in quietness both with and without the ANR on. It is a very comfortable headset to wear especially with its price tag! The day I tried it out I invited my dad along on a flight with his Bose a20 headset to compare with. We traded while in cruise flight. As soon as I put the Bose on I could tell a little bit less clamping force on my head and the Bose is a little quieter. We switched again and he said the same thing. However, we both asked ourselves, is it worth the price difference? I think that boils down to how much you fly... Every day invest with the Bose. Weekend flyer G2 ANR is great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset for the price

  • By Dan from Morris Plains NJ USA on Thursday, August 28, 2014
  • Pros: Decent noise canceling
  • Cons: Rocker switch for noise canceling tends to turn itself on when in headset bag.
  • Review: This is a good headset for the price. I wouldn't call it excellent, but it is quite good. I'm using these while flying a Beech Baron BE58, which is a noisy plane. The noise canceling works well. Without the noise canceling the noise reduction is just ok. I think if the ear seals were a larger diameter, and maybe a bit thicker, the sound deadening would be much better both with and without noise canceling. The flexible boom mic is very good. There is one bad thing about the headset, and that is the on/off switch for noise canceling. It is a rocker switch, and even if I carefully place it in my headset bag in a way in which it shouldn't touch anything else, it somehow still manages to turn itself on. This drains the batteries. A sliding switch would work much better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By Michael from Kennewick WA USA on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, blocks cockpit noise, microphone and headset affords goodcommunication within and out of cockpit
  • Cons: The battery box for the ANR is located in an awkward position on the headset cord. The box tends to frattle against door frame in minor turbulence.
  • Review: The headset is comfortable, ear cups are supple noise attenuation is good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good value for the price

  • By Bruce from Friday Harbor WA USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Review: The only issue I have had is a little trouble getting the mic to register my voice. It almost acts like it has to warm up. The noise reduction is awesome!! I think they are very close the the level of the Bose A20 I was able to wear a couple times. I would buy another pair. As a student pilot, the price was right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very happy

  • By Eann from West Warwick, RI on Sunday, May 04, 2014
  • Pros: Works well, easy to use on/off switch.
  • Cons: none found
  • Review: Very comfortable and gets the job done. Have had no problems. Feels rugged enough and wires thick enough to not break while in the bag
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset for the price

  • By A Customer from Palm Beach Gardens FL USA on Thursday, March 10, 2016
  • Pros: Surprisingly more quiet than I anticipated.
  • Cons: The on off switch is easily hit in storage and has killed the batteries. carry spares. The volume has to be turned up quite a bit to be functional
  • Review: This headset is very comfortable if just a bit larger and heavier than units more than twice the price. A great starter set that I will relegate to passsengers sometime in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Mic screen protector

  • By Osvaldo Torres from Puerto Rico on Sunday, March 08, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Microphone wind screen protector very poor
  • Review: This head set work very good for the price with the exception of mic wind screen. It deteriorates Very fast.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By mark from Tampa FL USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: Great price
  • Cons: Not a great looking headset
  • Review: Product met my expectations, I like the quality of product, just not real attractive in style
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty good for the money

  • By BENJAMIN from Oceanside CA USA on Monday, April 02, 2018
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: Not really any so far
  • Review: They are obviously not the best. Let's face it, you get what you pay for. That said, for ANR headsets under $400, they are pretty good. they work fine and the batteries seem to last decent. I have 7 hours on this set of batteries and the light is still green. The switch got left on for the first set so only got 3 out of those. They could be a little better if they incorporated a clip on the battery case to help hang it up pout of the way. Time will tell how they hold up.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A little large

  • By Robert, Comanche 260 from Binghamton NY USA on Friday, October 14, 2016
  • Pros: Clear crisp communication
  • Cons: Can not make smaller fit for women's head
  • Review: Great earphones. As good as any pair I've purchased. I bought them for my wife and they are a wee big for her.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the price

  • By Joel from Mayslick KY USA on Tuesday, November 24, 2015
  • Pros: Price, comfort, great warranty
  • Cons: Average ANR performance
  • Review: I read many reviews before buying this headset. Since they were one third the cost of the Bose A20, my expectations were optimistically realistic. I immediately changed the ear pieces to gel and up I went in my 162 Skycatcher. The set was very comfortable and the anr circuitry worked fairly well. The person whose review stated that these Faro headsets were better than the Bose A20 obviously either owns a piece of Faro or is deaf to begin with. The Faro unit is great for the money but in no way compares to the Bose. I would say to any pilot not to hesitate to buy the Faro if money is tight. The company is great and their product is solid. If money is no object, grab the Bose and do not look back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Headset, Good Price but not compatible with my old radio.

  • By Jerry from Cave Creek AZ USA on Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Pros: Good Fit, Right Price.....good sound attentuation.
  • Cons: Incompatile with SL-30
  • Review: This is a good headset and a great buy.
    I would have gladly kept it but it was incompatible with my
    SL-30 Nav Com. It would not transmitt w/o breaking up or stopping short.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Horrible customer service

  • By Ron Wise from Napoleon Oh. on Friday, January 09, 2015
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: service
  • Review: Horrible customer service from FARO!!! Have been trying for a week to contact them. Left messages, emailed, and called FARO. When you call and press for customer service, you get a message that your input was not accepted, tried again and selected warranty and got the same message. Fine when it works but if you have a problem looks like you end up with a 389 dollar paper weight. Next time I will spend the extra money and get a headset from a company that takes care of their customers.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 24 Other people found this review helpful.