Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

  • 57 Customer Reviews

Reviews for David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the B777 and B737

  • By B.C. from Newport Beach CA on Sunday, June 07, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have one of the David Clark Pro X headsets that I use in the B777. I know there are lots of 737 pilots looking for suitable headsets since the 737 is a bit on the noisy side, but not noisy enough to warrant something like a Bose A20. The usual airline standard Plantronics doesn't really attenuate noise and in the past, 737 pilots often added a mic to the regular Bose music headset since that was a cheaper solution to a "real" aviation headset (I call it a"FrankenBose"). The David Clark Pro X is perfect for noisy 737's. There are more than a few pilots using them now on the relatively quiet 777. The DC is nice in that there is no left and right side, so it works well in the left or right seat without having to move the mic around. Its eaiosy to wear on the outboard ear with the inboard ear uncovered for cross cockpit communications. I usually just leave the ANR function turned off since the 777 isn't very noisy. If the other pilots conversation is getting too boring in cruise, putting on the headset over both ears is a wonderful relief. I can neither confirm, nor deny, that it has excellent BlueTooth music audio while high over the boring expanse of the North Pacific Ocean.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 31 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By 737pilot from LAX on Friday, July 31, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Noise reduction is perfect for me.  The $1100 Bose A20 NR was so good at NR that I couldn't hear other crew members without using "thru the headset intercom "or removing the headset. The Pro-X ANR is more comfortable and not too heavy even after 4-5 hour flight and I can hear others in the cockpit talk without removing the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 25 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great overall airline headset

  • By 73_pilot from USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort, ease of microphone positioning, clarity of ATC transmissions, compact storage
  • Cons: Lower quality sidetone and Bluetooth, no cord management options
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The DC Pro-X is a great overall airline headset. I've owned mine for about 2 months now and love it. The ear cups are soft, it's really light, and you hardly know it's there after hours of flying. Plus there's no clamping like the Sennheiser-25 I had. The noise canceling and sound fidelity is about 85% of the quality of the Sennheisers but it's a more than fair trade off for comfort. The only downsides are the tinny-sounding sidetone on the intercom (B737) and the lack of cord clip. It's a big, bulky control module that just hangs down and pulls on the jacks. The Bluetooth works great, although it could be engineered to higher standards; it introduces a lot of static. The auto cutout feature should be made optional. It cuts out the music so much that I just finally turned it off, and only use bluetooth now while flying over isolated areas.

    The comfort this headset delivers trumps all those things, however, and makes this one of the best headsets on the market, especially when it comes to value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great ANR Headset

  • By Michael from Keller TX USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: Quiet, comfortable, clear communications, sturdy construction
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The Pro-X ANR Headset is very comfortable. Solid David Clark construction. I fly the 737-800. The older aircraft without the vortex generators on the nose are quite noisy, especially at higher IAS. This cancels out almost all background noise, but I can still hear the F/O without much trouble. Very clear communications with adjustable volume (defaults to high when powered up). I really don't have any complaints. I would highly recommend this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.

David Clark Pro- X Headset

  • By Robin Parnaby from Melbourne/Victoria Australia on Saturday, August 10, 2013
  • Pros: Another excellent David Clark product,then what else should we expect,from David Clark
  • Cons: None really,when compared with my Sennheiser lightweight headsets
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Just received my David Clark Pro-X last week. I ordered it from David Clark direct. Really good service I reckon, ordered it 3 weeks ago, delivered all the way down under (Australia).   I have used them whilst operating Beech Kingair's Cessna Citations, and other corporate turbine and jet aircraft.  They also work very well in the high end area of GA aircraft as well, Bonanza's, Cirrus etc....

    8/14/13: Just an update on my Pro-X. I have just tried them while flying a Cessna Caravan, Kodiak, Pilatus PC12, TBM 850, and Piper Meridian. All I can add is that David Clark have really outdone themselves this time in producing an excellent light weight headset for General Aviation.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Fleming Island, FL on Friday, July 11, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I've tried the Bose A20, Telex 850, and the Ligtspeed Sierra ANR headsets and while they were all very nice the Pro-X beat them all hand down. Super comfortable and light weight. ANR is great for a 737 NG. I really like the Bluetooth function. It works perfectly and they are priced mid-range so you are not breaking the bank. This is a great headset from David Clark so you know they will be durable. You have to try them if you are in the market for ANR headsets. Also the folks at mypilotstore.com were great. I returned my 850's and they shipped the Pro-X the same day. Thanks for the quick turn around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Chris from Fleming Island FL USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Cost. Lightweight. Bluetooth
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried the Bose, Telex, and Lightspeed ANR headsets before I settled on the David Clark's. While the other ones are top notch and great headsets the David Clark's were perfect for what I was looking for. Compact and lightweight (much smaller than the bigger Bose / Lightspeed). The Bluetooth syncs with my iphone or iPad easy and listening to music during a redeye is awesome. I'd recommend these headsets to anyone looking for good ANR and on a budget. Try them you will like them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

DC Quality

  • By A320av8r from Charlotte, NC on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
  • Pros: Noise attenuation, comfort.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have used the Telex 850 for several years on the A320 series aircraft. It is a good headset but it broke. I got the DC Pro-X after trying my F/O's on during a flight. I liked it so much that I immediately bought one too.
    After a long 5 leg day on an A319, I realized that my ears were not ringing and my hearing was normal. I was definitely less fatigued.
    The DC Pro-X is "the" next generation airline flightdeck headset. The attenuation is superb, the comfort is incredible and the construction is David Clark. As I stated earlier, the Telex 850 is good, but this is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Great Headset

  • By john from Woodland Hills CA USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2016
  • Pros: comfort comfort comfort
  • Cons: could have a clip to better secure the control box
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I use this headset on B-737s. I fly some long (over 5 hour) legs and find this headset to be very comfortable and effective. Bluetooth function works well. I highly recommend this headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR...

  • By Jimmy from Richmond VA USA on Friday, May 20, 2016
  • Pros: Lightweight and compact, fold-up storage with carrying case, Great ANR noise reduction and Bluetooth
  • Cons: Battery Life is about 40-50 hours and Bluetooth cuts out when ATC transmits or intercom is used but is how it supposed to work.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] David Clark does it again and ups the ante in ANR headsets.

    I looked at the Bose A20 and Sennheiser headsets as a replacement for the Telex 850 Airman I have been using in the CRJ. The Telex 850 is nice but lacks ANR suppression at altitude with high speed wind noise. The Pro-X is much quieter than the 850 and with Bluetooth to boot.

    The Pro-X came highly recommended from an Airbus Captain who was wearing it on a flight I jumpseated on and He let me try it. I was hooked instantly!

    If you are looking for a great regional (CRJ) headset and don't want to pay a ton of $$$ for the above mentioned big name brands, please consider the D/C Pro-X. At only $695, this is a great price for a headset that IMHO is as just as good if not better than the A20.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Jewel from Cayucos CA USA on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
  • Pros: comfortable, quiet, well made
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I fly 747-400's, very loud cockpit! My only regret is that I didn't buy these sooner. They are comfortable, they articulate so that you can prop them open to the side so you can hear your crew mates, bluetooth is fantastic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best I've owned

  • By ROBERT from Brookhaven GA USA on Friday, September 30, 2016
  • Pros: Very light and comfortable. Super quiet. Moderately priced.
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Best headset I've owned. in 40 years of flying I have owned Telex, Plantronics, Sennheiser and Big David Clarks. This is the most comfortable I've used. The noise cancelling really works well. I can hear cockpit conversation even with the ear covered. I usually turn down the volume on the right ear so only noise cancelling is active on that ear. I hear ATC on the left.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset for the money

  • By 767 Captain from JFK/NY on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: Comfort, noice cancelling, bluetooth, stereo/mono, compact
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great headset for the money. Has all the features that you need or want and less expensive than Bose and the rest of the competition. Great active noise cancelling, comfortable, Bluetooth, stereo/mono, compact and easy to stow in case that comes with the headset. Great battery life (automatically shuts off even if you forget to turn it off) I would buy it again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than the Sennhiezer

  • By Jim from Coldspring TX USA on Monday, May 16, 2016
  • Pros: Extremely comfortable and really suppresses the noise in the Boeing 737 which is the noisiest aircraft in our fleet
  • Cons: The battery module is a little bulky but with a little ingenuity you can rig it to the aircraft comfortably
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried all the other brands of headsets and this is the best one for the job
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well in the 737

  • By Douglas from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
  • Pros: Simple enough a cave man could figure out how to use it.
  • Cons: Battery powered and control device needs to be secured to something. I use a big rubber band to secure to the windowshade rail.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I was looking for something between the over the ear noise canceling headsets and the earplugs I was using. We don't have a hot mic interphone system, so the premium over the ear headsets are too much and interfere with cockpit communication. This DC Pro-X is just right in the middle. Most of the time I can hear the other pilot just fine. If the other pilot doesn't talk too loudly, I can easily slide the one side back just a bit to the "sweet spot" that allows me to hear intercockpit communications and still have some noise cancellation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset

  • By A Customer from Evergreen CO USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: ANR, clear audio and good feedback
  • Cons: Have to leave ear cup off one side to hear other crew
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Bought to replace an older Sennheiser HMEC 45-KA that developed a hum near heated windshield. Recently transitioned from B777 to B787 so the noise cancelling is overkill but comm is very clear and it is very helpful while using HF with foreign RO's. I bought a 3.5mm adapter to use while deadheading and the ANR works very well, so now I leave my non aviation Bose ANR at home. Passive NR is a little too good for flight deck crew voice comm, so I resort to leaving one ear cup off one ear. Well made, quality product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ticks ALL the boxes!

  • By S Kirkpatrick from PAPUA NEW GUINEA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Quite simply the best headset/ANR headset I have used.
    Super Robust
    Super compact
    Very quiet in Dash-8 cockpit.
    Very comfortable ON EAR pads especially for wearing Sunnies !


  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding product

  • By Patrick from Stafford VA USA on Sunday, June 29, 2014
  • Pros: Exceeded expectations at a reasonable price
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] This headset is better than I anticipated. They are light weight and rugged. You almost forget you have them on. The ARN function is outstanding. These live up to the David Clark reputation. The price is reasonable in comparison to what else is available with the same functionality? they are 40% less expensive than their competition. Sound quality is outstanding. Save yourself several hundred dollars and buy these. Buy once, cry once.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING headset

  • By Goose from Miami FL USA on Thursday, August 24, 2017
  • Pros: Exceptional ANR, light, doesn't have a lot of pressure, bluetooth, easy to store and comes with a great bag
  • Cons: there's a green light that constantly blinks when the ANR is turned on. can be a pain when flying at night but all I do is turn it around and I cant even see it
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I've been using this headset for over 5 months now. I fly ERJ-170/175 and I really love them. I never owned DC, always had Lightspeed and really liked them but I kept having a problem with the Zulu 2 and the mic boom wouldnt stay in place and became a nuisance. I traded them in and used the credit for these headsets and glad I did. The ANR works great and the bluetooth is easier to use than the zulu 2.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Why did I wait so long!?

  • By Awol from Lake Mary FL USA on Friday, May 08, 2015
  • Pros: Sound quality, comfort, size, construction, and Bluetooth ease of use
  • Cons: Cord could be just an inch or so longer
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] After flying with DCs during my 20 years in the AF, I knew fully well the quality and durability of DC products. Having said that, I have no idea why I waited so long to purchase these excellent headsets.  They fit comfortably, they are well constructed, they sound amazing, they are sized perfectly, and they are a great value. I highly recommend these Dave Clarks for GA or commercial aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great, light headset

  • By Don from Stowe VT USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Very light, great noise cancelling, just what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bob Knighton from Shreveport LA USA on Tuesday, November 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I'm a student pilot and was having trouble sometimes understanding the controllers' communications. My instructor suggested trying a noise reducing headset. I researched all the brands and decided the DC Pro-X
    ANR might be the answer at the right price. Excellent product. Have always heard DC products were among the best. Wish I had made the decision to make the purchase earlier. Very satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Andrew from Taiwan on Friday, July 28, 2017
  • Pros: Good value for money
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Had some doubts regarding the battery life before purchasing the product, however, after using it for over a month, the battery is still going strong. The ANF is superb, much better than my previous headset -- Telex 850. Personally, I think this headset delivers similar performance to that of Bose A20 but at a fraction of the price. (Currently using it on A330 / A350 fleet)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love them

  • By Peter from North Grosvenordale CT USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2016
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: Didn't find any
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I just completed a flight from Stillwater, OK to Danielson, Ct I had no issues what so ever. Quiet, light, easy on and off. Don't know what else anyone would want.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great investment in both your aviation profession and your hearing.

  • By Eric from Maryville TN USA on Sunday, July 09, 2017
  • Pros: Light weight and comfortable.
  • Cons: None at all.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] This headset was recommended to me by several First Officers. I purchased the David Clarke Pro-X ANR headset a couple months ago and have been using them on every working trip since. They are light weight and easy to wear for a long working day flying the 737. They cut the noise level down tremendously and make it much easier to hear and understand the ATC controllers. This purchase was undoubtedly one of the best moves I have ever made. Very well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelente headset

  • By Jaime from Wichita Falls TX USA on Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommend for all aircraft!

  • By Brad from Greenwood AR USA on Friday, May 30, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort, clarity, style
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I'm brand new to flying with only a few hours towards my private pilot license. This headset is great in my 172 trainer. With receiving instruction constantly throughout my flights, it's very important to have crisp, clear communication...and they do not disappoint! As a matter of fact my instructor is buying a pair after using mine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelent product

  • By Andres from Heartland TX USA on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelent product

  • By Andres on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Pros: Peso, confort, ANR,
  • Cons: Con el uso del radar metereol?gico se mete sonido de interferencia
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] En el C208B es excelente, reduce el sonido, muy livianos y confortables, no aprietan la cabeza
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome headset

  • By Rene from Ft Lauderdale on Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Pros: Too many to list, many compliments about how nice it looks
  • Cons: Yet to find.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have always purchased over the ear headset bc GA planes very loud. I was a little skeptical about this on the ear anr set and how well it would work. I now is this headset in E175 and it is phenomenal! Much smaller,
    Comfortable, great sound, HIIGHLY RECOMMEND.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By robert from Crowley TX USA on Monday, February 13, 2017
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Best decision I've made in years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small and durable.

  • By SA from Richardson TX USA on Monday, August 14, 2017
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Light weight and small headset, For pilot whom doesn't have enough space in their flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Adam C from Abu Dhabi, UAE on Monday, January 28, 2019
  • Pros: Excellent noise reduction, lightweight, high comfort, Bluetooth
  • Cons: Can slip off head easily if you don’t adjust properly. Once adjusted it is fine.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I took advantage of the headset exchange program to get my new Dave Clark Pro-X. Best thing I ever did.

    I previously had the clarity Aloft Pro Plus headset which was good but I couldn’t get used to the in ear over long flights.

    I was undecided between the DC and the Telex Airman 8 but after positive reviews from friends on the DC I took that. And what a great choice it was!

    Super comfy design, with excellent speakers and microphone. Great noise reduction - an excellent investment for any pilot with years of flying ahead of them. Another friend tried mine and he immediately bought one himself.
    Well done Dave Clark.

    Mike and the team at mypilotstore we’re excellent in the exchange process. I live/work in the UAE so getting things sent to layover hotels was the only option which was no problem to them at all.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am happy with the performance of the DC Pro-X ANR, considering the price compared to the Bose

  • By Wilfredo from Hayward CA USA on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
  • Pros: Light weight, ANR capability is great
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have nothing to complain about the DC Pro-X ANR headset, very satisfied
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

D/C Pro-X2 ANR Headset

  • By Jeff from Pioneer, CA USA on Tuesday, September 24, 2019
  • Pros: Comfortable fit, lightweight, cheaper compared to the Bose sets.
  • Cons: I would have liked a longer headset cord for the length from the volume control module to the headphone jacks.
  • Review: Performed as advertised, covers the ears comfortably and has good sound quality and clarity and is a better value for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By A Customer from Dallas, Tx on Friday, December 11, 2015
  • Pros: Good quality Tx/Rx, good ANC, good bluetooth functionality and sound quality, decent battery life.
  • Cons: Bulky control module, lights too bright.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Used in 737 cockpit. Great headset overall. ANC blocks out the cockpit noise well enough. Night and day difference for combating fatigue and saving my hearing. That being said this is not a Bose, so have your expectations in the right place, but its also not as big and bulky as a Bose and isn't nearly as expensive for the same comm features. I don't have a loud radio voice and the mic noise cancellation works great when transmitting.
    The blue tooth has great sound quality if you play music off your phone, auto cutout and gradual replay on music for radio and ICS comms is really smooth and a game changer for long hauls, on the jumpseat of course...
    Battery life is about 3-4 trips before needing to swap out.
    In the 73, you'll need a D-ring or something to hang the control/battery module out of the way. The lights on this control module are VERY bright and I ended up blacking them out with tape.
    I would absolutely buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 18 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very comfortable, quality built

  • By Craig from Johnston IA USA on Thursday, October 03, 2013
  • Pros: Excellent comfort, feels light, good not great ANR, quality construction
  • Cons: Not as good ANR as Bose
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great comfort, good ANR, easy to fit, works well with sunglasses.
    Love the auto shut off feature, saves batteries.
    Minimum number of cords, easy to use controls
    Folds up into a very compact space.
    Flexible boom on mic holds position better than Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

David Clark breaks out

  • By Mark from Concord NH on Sunday, October 13, 2013
  • Pros: Price, construction, ANR, compact size, made in the USA
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]

    This is not your typical David Clark headset. They've always made durable, reasonably priced headsets, but not always the most comfortable. This headset is typical DC when it comes to durability and price, but way more comfortable than anything they've made in the past. The ANR works great, once you find the sweet spot. I fly a Hawker 700, which has lots of wind noise in the cockpit. I had a Sennheiser HMEC-46, and that didn't have enough noise reduction, but the Pro-X works perfectly. It should be perfect for such aircraft as the PC-12, King Air, Citation, etc. The bluetooth works well, and you're able to stream music. The only thing I don't like is that you can't turn off the automatic music mute function.

    The only gripe I have about this headset is that the head band needs one more "click" of extension. I have a giant head, and there is a bit of pressure from the head band when I'm wearing this. One more bit of extension would have been better.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By A Customer from Plymouth IN USA on Friday, February 17, 2017
  • Pros: Compact size and comfort
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Although this is not a Bose A20, it definitely works well. It is a good trade off between the bulk of the Bose and the compact design of this headset. That being said, the Bose has superior noise cancellation over the David Clark but the smaller size and lower price of the David Clark makes the trade off worth it in my opinion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.

Very Good Headset

  • By Scott from Fishers, IN on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Very good noise reduction, solid construction, comfortable
  • Cons: Noise reduction may be a little too good
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have used the Sennheiser HMEC 45 for about 15 years and it was a very good headset. I tried the new Sennheiser HMEC 46 but it was inferior quality both in construction and function. In contrast, this headset is solidly built, very comfortable, and extremely quiet. The noise reduction is on the verge of being too good as it is sometimes difficult to hear the other pilot in the cockpit. For someone younger that still has all of their hearing, this is probably not an issue. The radio clarity is good and the bluetooth streaming function is a nice feature and works exactly as advertised. My only complaint is that the L/R volume controls become reversed if the headset is worn with the boom mic on the right ear (F/O). If you keep both sides at the same level this is not an issue but I keep the side facing the other pilot off to better hear him. (A-320)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

nice performance

  • By Kang from Los Angeles CA USA on Sunday, July 10, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Noise canceling performance is very good!
    But some heat was acumulate at ear (if use more than 3 hours) so i have to take off headset every 3 hours (it very short term).
    Anyway I like it's use. If my headset were to break, I would purchase again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset

  • By A Customer from Castle Rock CO USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Headset works great in the MD-88/90. Noise reduction could be a little better. Sometimes at cruise the noise reduction ends up production more noise then without the headset on. Otherwise the voice and mic quality is awesome.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommended and rightfully so

  • By Chris from West Monroe LA USA on Tuesday, July 14, 2015
  • Pros: Lots of options and features
  • Cons: Runs out of batteries too quickly
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] It had everything I was expecting and more
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good, not great

  • By A Customer from Dallas TX USA on Monday, June 18, 2018
  • Pros: Excellent comfort, sound quality, Bluetooth, and battery life
  • Cons: Wonky procedure to dim control module light, frequent ANR rumble
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] After many months of being told I ought to try a nicer ANR headset than my Telex Airman 850, I realized this was a nice way of saying, "You're missing too many calls, old man."

    After much research, and lot of questions asked, the winner was the Bose A20. Unfortunately I've hated over-ear headsets since, as a young CFI, I was forced to wear those old Dave Clark c-clamps for hundreds of painful hours back during the Reagan Administration. Happily, the new Dave Clark Pro-X headsets also came highly recommended by many fellow pilots, so I recently took the plunge.

    On the upside, these are ridiculously comfortable headsets, even after a five-hour leg. In fact, though slightly heavier than the Telex, at the end of a long day, the padded headband of the Pro-X it far more comfortable than other featherweight headsets. A lightly sprung hinge at the top of the headband also contributes greatly in eleminating the old c-clamp headache. Ergonomically, I doubt you can find anything more comfortable.

    Second, the noise reduction and sound quality is, as advertised, far superior to my old Telex ANR. I honestly casn't think of a radio call I've missed since purchasing these, and that, after all, is the reason I bought them. So in that sense, mission accomplished. The sound quality from the onboard microphone is also reported by others, both pilots and ATC, to be excelllent.

    Though I have yet to use it extensively, Bluetooth pairing has been a snap, and the sound again excellent. Battery life has also exceeeded my expectations, as I find myself feeding it a diet of just 2 AA batteries every two or three weeks.

    As for the downsides, the control module seems a bit heavy for the size of the cable supporting it. Time will tell if this leads to problems with breaks in its internal wiring. Second, the power On/Off LED switch blinks quite brightly in a darkened cockpit. I found the verbiage to put the LED into a"Dark Mode", a procedure described in DC's Quick Reference Guide (which I had to download, as one wasn't included in the box) to be a bit nebulous. It took me a frustrating 45 minutes to figure out a way to darken that light consistently.

    However, the biggest annoyance with these headsets stems from one of their finer points of engineering. Dave Clark advertises that unlike most ANR headsets, the Pro-X features ANR mics on both the outside *and* the inside of the earphone, thus contributing to higher levels of noise reduction and sound quality. However, I find that because of the less-than-full ear coverage, and very light clamping pressure, the external mic sometimes seems to pic up sounds from inside the earphone (or maybe vice-versa) leading to frequent "ANR rumble".

    Anyone who wore those early Bose ANR headsets will recall how, especially during noisy phases of flight, (think reverse thrust on landing) the external mic and noise ANR circuitry would combine in a feedback loop to create a nasty, if momentary rumble.

    I get the impression that with the Pro-X, the light seal on the ears and the internal mic contribute to the creation of feedback loops between the headset's speakers and microphones, causing frequent rumbling on the Dave Clark even with a fresh set of batteries. Happily, a quick adjustment of the earphones to more fully cover the ears, or just pressing them down lightly against the ear, will cause the rumbling to cease. At least until it starts again a short time later.

    It's not a deal-breaker, and I find myself simply making a quick adjustment to headset's fit when the rumble kicks in, but it does detract from the otherwise great performance of these headsets.

    All in all, the Dave Clark Pro-X is a fine ANR headset with a few quirks that might benefit from a future tweak of its ANR software, or even just slightly larger earpieces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent performer. great comfort.

  • By Cris from Aurora CO USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Comfort, quiet and performance.
  • Cons: Heavy battery/control unit in line with cord.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The David Clark Pro-X ANR headset lives up to the standards that the DC name has come to represent. The sound quality is great in both directions, the comfort and fit couldn't be any better, and the noise reduction is outstanding. Bluetooth performance is great, and the pairing process is easy. The only negative is that there is a control/battery unit that is in line with the cord. It has the power switch, left and right level controls, and the Bluetooth control in it. The issue is that with batteries installed, it tends to be a little heavy, and in flight, it hangs from the mic and headphone jacks. It's likely that sooner or later, this strain on the connectors will require repair or replacement. The Pro-X came with a belt clip for this unit, but that doesn't help in flight. Another foot or two of cord between the plugs and battery unit would, in many cases, allow the unit to be clipped to a side pocket or elsewhere to eliminate the strain on the cord and plugs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works well in piston aircraft

  • By jg from Santa Fe NM USA on Friday, July 04, 2014
  • Pros: small, lightweight, doesn't interfere with sunglasses
  • Cons: ANR "on" light difficult to see in bright light.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried this headset because my old over-the-ear H10 13.4 was very uncomfortable after a couple of hours because it pressed on my sunglass temple pieces. So far I've used the new headset in a 172, a 182, and a Remos. In all cases the performance with noise cancellation on was comparable to my old headset. Comm is very understandable even with noise cancellation off. ANR battery pack is a bit klunky, but I guess that just goes with having ANR. In bright light it's difficult to see if the ANR is on or off, and it would be good if the ANR turned off when the headset was unplugged.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By craig from surrey BC Canada on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Clips to hang battery pack should be included. Power light very noticeable during night time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Very good with few downfalls

  • By AJL from Pittsburgh PA on Tuesday, November 20, 2018
  • Pros: Lightweight, excellent ANR, well-constructed, don't interfere with sunglasses or glasses.
  • Cons: On ear pressure, battery box has no hanging strap
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I sent my Lightspeed Zulu 2's in for repair and upgrade, so I used the opportunity to try something different. My only other experience with on-ear headsets is a pair of Telex 850's that worked well in the Citation 550/560. But they were not adequate in the EMB-145 at all, so I kept using my Lightspeeds. I've been loyal to Lightspeed through many headsets. first passive (QFR) and then ANR's. I've never had David Clarks, so I decided to see what the fuss is about.

    I'll start with the only true con I found in using them for 35 hours in two weeks in an E-145 and that's physical pressure on the ear. I've used over ear for most of my time flying, so I am not used to pressure on my ear. These Pro-X weren't terrible, but I definitely had sore ears after long periods of wearing them. I could be over-sensitive to that pressure, but its enough to make me consider not buying them.

    Other than that they were:
    -Lightweight: No over ear could be as light ever.
    - Well-made: I can see why the "green cans" have a following. These were very well made (and Made in the USA if that matters to you). The ear seals and headpad on these and all headsets are "Wear items" and they are the only parts that might not be very durable. But besides my ear pressure issue, everything else was comfortable. They also don't interfere with wire rim sunglasses at all, so if you wear those (or eyeglasses) it's a plus.
    -Good audio quality, even for music. Don't expect to be blown away, but they had much better music fidelity than I expected.
    -Bluetooth paired effortlessly and quickly, much better than my Lightspeeds.
    - And of course, great ANR. I was concerned that they wouldn't have enough noise reduction to drown out the notoriously loud Embraer 145 cockpit, but they did.

    The only other downside is that the cord is a bit short and the provided "belt clip" is a joke as far as finding a place to hang the battery box in the cockpit.

    These are a solid product, they might not be for me, but they are well-done. Way better at ANR than the Telex 850. Not as pricey but much better made than the new Bose Profllight and ANR that is probably as good ( on-ear v in ear, not a direct comparison) as the Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Brian from Irvine CA USA on Wednesday, July 19, 2017
  • Pros: comfort; light weight
  • Cons: passive noise reduction is not as good as over-ear but still adequate
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I am happy with this headset. It is very comfortable. The active noise reduction is good in my Piper Archer. Audio is very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Slip and slide headset

  • By Steve K from Stratford CT USA on Thursday, December 05, 2019
  • Pros: Quiet, clear, light and comfortable for hours.
  • Cons: As stated above, it falls off your head with normal movements. Maybe a different pad can help the sliding but I haven’t seen any available. This problem is the same with the other pilots too,
  • Review: The headset slips and slides every time you tilt your head like when checking overhead or pedestal switches and CB’s. Many times it falls off your head with normal movements in our G4. Sarcastically, a chin strap is needed. Otherwise, the headset is fantastic!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By William from Groton MA USA on Saturday, February 24, 2018
  • Pros: Very comfortable, good sound
  • Cons: It could hold position on your head better at times but like it alot
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, August 19, 2019
  • Review: I'm an A320 pilot and have been using this for about a month now. I like the form factor, it folds up small and the soft carry case is nice for packing up small.

    The ANR works very well in flight and blocks out all the wind noise the bus usually has in climbs and descents. You will not be able to hear the other pilot very well with both ears on though (off hot mic), It blocks out the sound very well.

    Bluetooth works well, however I wish you had the ability to adjust the sound down in more increments, because even at the lowest volume setting, it's just a little loud in my opinion. However, it has the ability to mute the music when a transmission comes through (by default) so that's an okay fix.

    These are very comfortable, even when wearing glasses. Like others have said it does take some playing around to find the position on your head and ears to get the sound and ANR perfect, but once you find your position it's easy to get it every time. I have not tried wearing them for more than 2 hours, so I can't comment on very long flights.

    Overall, 4/5. Very good, not perfect, but I do prefer it to a complete over the ear setup. I came off a bose qc35 with mic setup, and that was far too quiet (the ANR was too good) for the air bus. I could barely hear any of the cockpit chimes and sounds with it on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They are pretty good. They get the job done.

  • By Terry from Edinburg TX USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2019
  • Pros: They work
  • Cons: It doesn't take much to get them off center ear. But they hold good.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

compared to other dc headsets

  • By chuck from mead, wa. on Thursday, August 08, 2013
  • Pros: light weight,comfortable,good looking,fairly quiet
  • Cons: not much better if any than the H10's
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I just received these yesterday, I went for a scenic flight to test them, at first out of the box I noticed they were very light weight and comfortable. I then tried them with the ANR at my office with a rather loud and obnoxious air conditioner and was quit surprised by how well they took out the background noise.  I was impressed, then we went flying and when starting the airplane I was once again impressed by the way the noise was reduced by using the ANR feature it was like night and day.   But once in the air I tried my other david clarks H-10 I think, and compared back and forth several times, and found that the real noise difference between them was very close and maybe the H10 a little bit better so I did this back and forth a few times and came to the conclusion that the H10's covered my ears better and kept out the noise.  The Pro-X doesn't cover the ear as well and the ANR function cancels the noise that gets by the ear piece and makes them about equal.  So in my humble opinion all I gained was a lighter more comfortable and better looking headset for the $350.00 difference.  All and all they are a fine headset with David Clark quality and if you are not trying to save money then try them.  Otherwise the old ones are just fine.   Also you should know that I am flying a rather loud Cessna 172 180 h.p. with power-flo exhaust, probably these would be fine in a quieter environment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 23 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Had my hopes set too high

  • By A Customer from VA USA on Thursday, September 26, 2013
  • Pros: Less weight, good engine noise reduction/works well in prop aircraft, less to no pressure on sunglasses,
  • Cons: **still uncomfortable after long flights**, passive reduction is minimal,
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]

    I have been flying around with a passive headset for years and finally made the jump to the ANR headset world. I am currently flying Learjets and was leaning towards an over the ear model and stumbled across this headset days after it came out. The only review available was done in conjunction with AOPA magazine. I watched their video and was impressed. However, after using the headset for two months I feel like maybe I should have gone for the Lightspeed or Bose headsets I originally had my eyes on.

    I used the headset in a King Air C90 first. It worked well in that platform and after swapping with the Co-pilot seemed to block out as much noise as the Lightspeed Zulus. However, I have not enjoyed my experience with them as much in the jets. Our jets don't have much insulation and tend to be a bit noisier than average and I feel like I am having to turn the volume up due to wind noise in the background. I have also used the headset in a twin engine piston and found the noise reduction levels to be good. but overall the exterior noise level seemed a bit high.

    In addition, I tested the music feature using Bluetooth and while the setup was easy I found that the fade in after the auto cutoff for comms is a little long but acceptable. Otherwise works great on droning level flights.

    As for comfort, I find that my ear starts to hurt after about 3 hours of flight time and I end up constantly readjusting the headset. I have tried multiple configurations but I have yet to find a sweet spot. Still hopeful in this regard but I think the clamping pressure is just a bit too much with little reward in passive noise reduction. However, I would say that the discomfort is less that the average over the ear headset especially when wearing sunglasses.

    David clark emphasized passive noise reduction in their informational video but I found it to be minimal.

    Battery life seems good. I have changed them once in two months and fly about 50 hours a month. The yellow and red lights can be hard to notice but are good indicators of low batteries.

    Overall, I would say not a bad headset but just wasn't quite what I was looking for overall. I was on the fence about giving the headset a 4 but the discomfort on my ears for an over the ear headset is really significant to me.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset if aircraft is fairly quiet.

  • By Jeff from Benton Harbor MI USA on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons: Minimal noise cancellation
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Very comfortable, however ear cups do not seal very well because of the light weight of the set. If flying a relatively quiet aircraft they are great, but most aircraft the around the ear type headsets would be significantly more quiet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.