TOP

David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

  • 57 Customer Reviews

Reviews for David Clark Pro-X2 ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the B777 and B737

  • By B.C. from Newport Beach CA on Sunday, June 07, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have one of the David Clark Pro X headsets that I use in the B777. I know there are lots of 737 pilots looking for suitable headsets since the 737 is a bit on the noisy side, but not noisy enough to warrant something like a Bose A20. The usual airline standard Plantronics doesn't really attenuate noise and in the past, 737 pilots often added a mic to the regular Bose music headset since that was a cheaper solution to a "real" aviation headset (I call it a"FrankenBose"). The David Clark Pro X is perfect for noisy 737's. There are more than a few pilots using them now on the relatively quiet 777. The DC is nice in that there is no left and right side, so it works well in the left or right seat without having to move the mic around. Its eaiosy to wear on the outboard ear with the inboard ear uncovered for cross cockpit communications. I usually just leave the ANR function turned off since the 777 isn't very noisy. If the other pilots conversation is getting too boring in cruise, putting on the headset over both ears is a wonderful relief. I can neither confirm, nor deny, that it has excellent BlueTooth music audio while high over the boring expanse of the North Pacific Ocean.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 32 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By 737pilot from LAX on Friday, July 31, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Noise reduction is perfect for me.  The $1100 Bose A20 NR was so good at NR that I couldn't hear other crew members without using "thru the headset intercom "or removing the headset. The Pro-X ANR is more comfortable and not too heavy even after 4-5 hour flight and I can hear others in the cockpit talk without removing the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 26 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great overall airline headset

  • By 73_pilot from USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort, ease of microphone positioning, clarity of ATC transmissions, compact storage
  • Cons: Lower quality sidetone and Bluetooth, no cord management options
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The DC Pro-X is a great overall airline headset. I've owned mine for about 2 months now and love it. The ear cups are soft, it's really light, and you hardly know it's there after hours of flying. Plus there's no clamping like the Sennheiser-25 I had. The noise canceling and sound fidelity is about 85% of the quality of the Sennheisers but it's a more than fair trade off for comfort. The only downsides are the tinny-sounding sidetone on the intercom (B737) and the lack of cord clip. It's a big, bulky control module that just hangs down and pulls on the jacks. The Bluetooth works great, although it could be engineered to higher standards; it introduces a lot of static. The auto cutout feature should be made optional. It cuts out the music so much that I just finally turned it off, and only use bluetooth now while flying over isolated areas.

    The comfort this headset delivers trumps all those things, however, and makes this one of the best headsets on the market, especially when it comes to value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great ANR Headset

  • By Michael from Keller TX USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: Quiet, comfortable, clear communications, sturdy construction
  • Cons: none
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] The Pro-X ANR Headset is very comfortable. Solid David Clark construction. I fly the 737-800. The older aircraft without the vortex generators on the nose are quite noisy, especially at higher IAS. This cancels out almost all background noise, but I can still hear the F/O without much trouble. Very clear communications with adjustable volume (defaults to high when powered up). I really don't have any complaints. I would highly recommend this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.

David Clark Pro- X Headset

  • By Robin Parnaby from Melbourne/Victoria Australia on Saturday, August 10, 2013
  • Pros: Another excellent David Clark product,then what else should we expect,from David Clark
  • Cons: None really,when compared with my Sennheiser lightweight headsets
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Just received my David Clark Pro-X last week. I ordered it from David Clark direct. Really good service I reckon, ordered it 3 weeks ago, delivered all the way down under (Australia).   I have used them whilst operating Beech Kingair's Cessna Citations, and other corporate turbine and jet aircraft.  They also work very well in the high end area of GA aircraft as well, Bonanza's, Cirrus etc....

    8/14/13: Just an update on my Pro-X. I have just tried them while flying a Cessna Caravan, Kodiak, Pilatus PC12, TBM 850, and Piper Meridian. All I can add is that David Clark have really outdone themselves this time in producing an excellent light weight headset for General Aviation.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Fleming Island, FL on Friday, July 11, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I've tried the Bose A20, Telex 850, and the Ligtspeed Sierra ANR headsets and while they were all very nice the Pro-X beat them all hand down. Super comfortable and light weight. ANR is great for a 737 NG. I really like the Bluetooth function. It works perfectly and they are priced mid-range so you are not breaking the bank. This is a great headset from David Clark so you know they will be durable. You have to try them if you are in the market for ANR headsets. Also the folks at mypilotstore.com were great. I returned my 850's and they shipped the Pro-X the same day. Thanks for the quick turn around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Chris from Fleming Island FL USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Cost. Lightweight. Bluetooth
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried the Bose, Telex, and Lightspeed ANR headsets before I settled on the David Clark's. While the other ones are top notch and great headsets the David Clark's were perfect for what I was looking for. Compact and lightweight (much smaller than the bigger Bose / Lightspeed). The Bluetooth syncs with my iphone or iPad easy and listening to music during a redeye is awesome. I'd recommend these headsets to anyone looking for good ANR and on a budget. Try them you will like them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.

DC Quality

  • By A320av8r from Charlotte, NC on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
  • Pros: Noise attenuation, comfort.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have used the Telex 850 for several years on the A320 series aircraft. It is a good headset but it broke. I got the DC Pro-X after trying my F/O's on during a flight. I liked it so much that I immediately bought one too.
    After a long 5 leg day on an A319, I realized that my ears were not ringing and my hearing was normal. I was definitely less fatigued.
    The DC Pro-X is "the" next generation airline flightdeck headset. The attenuation is superb, the comfort is incredible and the construction is David Clark. As I stated earlier, the Telex 850 is good, but this is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Jewel from Cayucos CA USA on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
  • Pros: comfortable, quiet, well made
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I fly 747-400's, very loud cockpit! My only regret is that I didn't buy these sooner. They are comfortable, they articulate so that you can prop them open to the side so you can hear your crew mates, bluetooth is fantastic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Great Headset

  • By john from Woodland Hills CA USA on Tuesday, February 09, 2016
  • Pros: comfort comfort comfort
  • Cons: could have a clip to better secure the control box
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I use this headset on B-737s. I fly some long (over 5 hour) legs and find this headset to be very comfortable and effective. Bluetooth function works well. I highly recommend this headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR...

  • By Jimmy from Richmond VA USA on Friday, May 20, 2016
  • Pros: Lightweight and compact, fold-up storage with carrying case, Great ANR noise reduction and Bluetooth
  • Cons: Battery Life is about 40-50 hours and Bluetooth cuts out when ATC transmits or intercom is used but is how it supposed to work.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] David Clark does it again and ups the ante in ANR headsets.

    I looked at the Bose A20 and Sennheiser headsets as a replacement for the Telex 850 Airman I have been using in the CRJ. The Telex 850 is nice but lacks ANR suppression at altitude with high speed wind noise. The Pro-X is much quieter than the 850 and with Bluetooth to boot.

    The Pro-X came highly recommended from an Airbus Captain who was wearing it on a flight I jumpseated on and He let me try it. I was hooked instantly!

    If you are looking for a great regional (CRJ) headset and don't want to pay a ton of $$$ for the above mentioned big name brands, please consider the D/C Pro-X. At only $695, this is a great price for a headset that IMHO is as just as good if not better than the A20.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best I've owned

  • By ROBERT from Brookhaven GA USA on Friday, September 30, 2016
  • Pros: Very light and comfortable. Super quiet. Moderately priced.
  • Cons:
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Best headset I've owned. in 40 years of flying I have owned Telex, Plantronics, Sennheiser and Big David Clarks. This is the most comfortable I've used. The noise cancelling really works well. I can hear cockpit conversation even with the ear covered. I usually turn down the volume on the right ear so only noise cancelling is active on that ear. I hear ATC on the left.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset for the money

  • By 767 Captain from JFK/NY on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: Comfort, noice cancelling, bluetooth, stereo/mono, compact
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great headset for the money. Has all the features that you need or want and less expensive than Bose and the rest of the competition. Great active noise cancelling, comfortable, Bluetooth, stereo/mono, compact and easy to stow in case that comes with the headset. Great battery life (automatically shuts off even if you forget to turn it off) I would buy it again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than the Sennhiezer

  • By Jim from Coldspring TX USA on Monday, May 16, 2016
  • Pros: Extremely comfortable and really suppresses the noise in the Boeing 737 which is the noisiest aircraft in our fleet
  • Cons: The battery module is a little bulky but with a little ingenuity you can rig it to the aircraft comfortably
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I tried all the other brands of headsets and this is the best one for the job
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well in the 737

  • By Douglas from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
  • Pros: Simple enough a cave man could figure out how to use it.
  • Cons: Battery powered and control device needs to be secured to something. I use a big rubber band to secure to the windowshade rail.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I was looking for something between the over the ear noise canceling headsets and the earplugs I was using. We don't have a hot mic interphone system, so the premium over the ear headsets are too much and interfere with cockpit communication. This DC Pro-X is just right in the middle. Most of the time I can hear the other pilot just fine. If the other pilot doesn't talk too loudly, I can easily slide the one side back just a bit to the "sweet spot" that allows me to hear intercockpit communications and still have some noise cancellation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset

  • By A Customer from Evergreen CO USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Pros: ANR, clear audio and good feedback
  • Cons: Have to leave ear cup off one side to hear other crew
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Bought to replace an older Sennheiser HMEC 45-KA that developed a hum near heated windshield. Recently transitioned from B777 to B787 so the noise cancelling is overkill but comm is very clear and it is very helpful while using HF with foreign RO's. I bought a 3.5mm adapter to use while deadheading and the ANR works very well, so now I leave my non aviation Bose ANR at home. Passive NR is a little too good for flight deck crew voice comm, so I resort to leaving one ear cup off one ear. Well made, quality product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING headset

  • By Goose from Miami FL USA on Thursday, August 24, 2017
  • Pros: Exceptional ANR, light, doesn't have a lot of pressure, bluetooth, easy to store and comes with a great bag
  • Cons: there's a green light that constantly blinks when the ANR is turned on. can be a pain when flying at night but all I do is turn it around and I cant even see it
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I've been using this headset for over 5 months now. I fly ERJ-170/175 and I really love them. I never owned DC, always had Lightspeed and really liked them but I kept having a problem with the Zulu 2 and the mic boom wouldnt stay in place and became a nuisance. I traded them in and used the credit for these headsets and glad I did. The ANR works great and the bluetooth is easier to use than the zulu 2.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ticks ALL the boxes!

  • By S Kirkpatrick from PAPUA NEW GUINEA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Quite simply the best headset/ANR headset I have used.
    Super Robust
    Super compact
    Very quiet in Dash-8 cockpit.
    Very comfortable ON EAR pads especially for wearing Sunnies !


  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding product

  • By Patrick from Stafford VA USA on Sunday, June 29, 2014
  • Pros: Exceeded expectations at a reasonable price
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] This headset is better than I anticipated. They are light weight and rugged. You almost forget you have them on. The ARN function is outstanding. These live up to the David Clark reputation. The price is reasonable in comparison to what else is available with the same functionality? they are 40% less expensive than their competition. Sound quality is outstanding. Save yourself several hundred dollars and buy these. Buy once, cry once.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Why did I wait so long!?

  • By Awol from Lake Mary FL USA on Friday, May 08, 2015
  • Pros: Sound quality, comfort, size, construction, and Bluetooth ease of use
  • Cons: Cord could be just an inch or so longer
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] After flying with DCs during my 20 years in the AF, I knew fully well the quality and durability of DC products. Having said that, I have no idea why I waited so long to purchase these excellent headsets.  They fit comfortably, they are well constructed, they sound amazing, they are sized perfectly, and they are a great value. I highly recommend these Dave Clarks for GA or commercial aviation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great, light headset

  • By Don from Stowe VT USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Very light, great noise cancelling, just what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bob Knighton from Shreveport LA USA on Tuesday, November 04, 2014
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I'm a student pilot and was having trouble sometimes understanding the controllers' communications. My instructor suggested trying a noise reducing headset. I researched all the brands and decided the DC Pro-X
    ANR might be the answer at the right price. Excellent product. Have always heard DC products were among the best. Wish I had made the decision to make the purchase earlier. Very satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Andrew from Taiwan on Friday, July 28, 2017
  • Pros: Good value for money
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Had some doubts regarding the battery life before purchasing the product, however, after using it for over a month, the battery is still going strong. The ANF is superb, much better than my previous headset -- Telex 850. Personally, I think this headset delivers similar performance to that of Bose A20 but at a fraction of the price. (Currently using it on A330 / A350 fleet)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love them

  • By Peter from North Grosvenordale CT USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2016
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: Didn't find any
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I just completed a flight from Stillwater, OK to Danielson, Ct I had no issues what so ever. Quiet, light, easy on and off. Don't know what else anyone would want.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelente headset

  • By Jaime from Wichita Falls TX USA on Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A great investment in both your aviation profession and your hearing.

  • By Eric from Maryville TN USA on Sunday, July 09, 2017
  • Pros: Light weight and comfortable.
  • Cons: None at all.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] This headset was recommended to me by several First Officers. I purchased the David Clarke Pro-X ANR headset a couple months ago and have been using them on every working trip since. They are light weight and easy to wear for a long working day flying the 737. They cut the noise level down tremendously and make it much easier to hear and understand the ATC controllers. This purchase was undoubtedly one of the best moves I have ever made. Very well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommend for all aircraft!

  • By Brad from Greenwood AR USA on Friday, May 30, 2014
  • Pros: Comfort, clarity, style
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I'm brand new to flying with only a few hours towards my private pilot license. This headset is great in my 172 trainer. With receiving instruction constantly throughout my flights, it's very important to have crisp, clear communication...and they do not disappoint! As a matter of fact my instructor is buying a pair after using mine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelent product

  • By Andres from Heartland TX USA on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excelent product

  • By Andres on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Pros: Peso, confort, ANR,
  • Cons: Con el uso del radar metereol?gico se mete sonido de interferencia
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] En el C208B es excelente, reduce el sonido, muy livianos y confortables, no aprietan la cabeza
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome headset

  • By Rene from Ft Lauderdale on Saturday, July 08, 2017
  • Pros: Too many to list, many compliments about how nice it looks
  • Cons: Yet to find.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have always purchased over the ear headset bc GA planes very loud. I was a little skeptical about this on the ear anr set and how well it would work. I now is this headset in E175 and it is phenomenal! Much smaller,
    Comfortable, great sound, HIIGHLY RECOMMEND.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By robert from Crowley TX USA on Monday, February 13, 2017
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Best decision I've made in years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

D/C Pro-X2 ANR Headset

  • By Jeff from Pioneer, CA USA on Tuesday, September 24, 2019
  • Pros: Comfortable fit, lightweight, cheaper compared to the Bose sets.
  • Cons: I would have liked a longer headset cord for the length from the volume control module to the headphone jacks.
  • Review: Performed as advertised, covers the ears comfortably and has good sound quality and clarity and is a better value for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Adam C from Abu Dhabi, UAE on Monday, January 28, 2019
  • Pros: Excellent noise reduction, lightweight, high comfort, Bluetooth
  • Cons: Can slip off head easily if you don’t adjust properly. Once adjusted it is fine.
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I took advantage of the headset exchange program to get my new Dave Clark Pro-X. Best thing I ever did.

    I previously had the clarity Aloft Pro Plus headset which was good but I couldn’t get used to the in ear over long flights.

    I was undecided between the DC and the Telex Airman 8 but after positive reviews from friends on the DC I took that. And what a great choice it was!

    Super comfy design, with excellent speakers and microphone. Great noise reduction - an excellent investment for any pilot with years of flying ahead of them. Another friend tried mine and he immediately bought one himself.
    Well done Dave Clark.

    Mike and the team at mypilotstore we’re excellent in the exchange process. I live/work in the UAE so getting things sent to layover hotels was the only option which was no problem to them at all.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am happy with the performance of the DC Pro-X ANR, considering the price compared to the Bose

  • By Wilfredo from Hayward CA USA on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
  • Pros: Light weight, ANR capability is great
  • Cons: None
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] I have nothing to complain about the DC Pro-X ANR headset, very satisfied
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small and durable.

  • By SA from Richardson TX USA on Monday, August 14, 2017
  • Review: [This review was written for the first generation Pro-X headset] Light weight and small headset, For pilot whom doesn't have enough space in their flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.