TOP

Rugged Air RA200 Headset

  • 67 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Rugged Air RA200 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Pequot Lakes, MN on Wednesday, August 19, 2015
  • Review: Works fine, priced right, minor loosening of the headband slides with a pliers the first time, and it adjusts and stays in place without tools. Sound is much louder than my other headsets. Very clear too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and works well

  • By Rick from Spring Hill TN USA on Thursday, September 22, 2016
  • Pros: Great value
  • Cons: no cons
  • Review: I have a Lightspeed NR headset and I love it. I wanted a lower cost headset as backup and for passengers who do not fly very often. I ran into a pilot friend at a local airport and he loaned my daughter a Rugged Air headset and she liked it so I decided I'd go with that. I ordered the RA200 and also ordered the gel ear seals. I had the spare headset several weeks and my daughter loves it. Today I decided to use the RA200 for myself. I was very pleasantly surprised. The sound quality was excellent and the gel ear seals were very comfortable. I barely missed the noise reduction from my Lightspeed headset and I didn't have to fiddle with an extra control box. I would highly recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

don't let the low price of this product keep you from trying it

  • By John from Eagle Point OR USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
  • Pros: clear and comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I am a student pilot and with all of the expenses that come with obtaining equipment, I thought well, I'll try one of these and see if it will work good enough then buy a nicer one after I get my license...now I think I will keep it as my primary headset.. I changed to the Gel ear pads for comfort and it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By PETER from Chattanooga TN USA on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Review: What I loved is the price, then pleasantly surprised that the build and quality is equal to headsets costing much more. The boom and mike are sturdy, the mike transmits very clearly. The noise cancellation is good for a passive protection, the headsets were initially a little tight but feel good now. I would recommend purchase of this headset to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset for a great price

  • By Dan from Pequot Lakes MN USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works great. Adjustable headband is comfortable for 1-2 hours. Sound is clear and plenty loud.
    Worth every bit of the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By keith from Waterford MI USA on Tuesday, October 18, 2016
  • Pros: Cost
  • Cons: Good question
  • Review: Don't let the price fool you. Best headset for the money bar none. Clear, comfortable, quiet. I have the gel ear seals. Love this headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, and Awesome

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very simple design, which works very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Eric from Simpsonville SC USA on Wednesday, December 14, 2016
  • Pros: Price, style
  • Cons: mic arm little difficult to adjust at first
  • Review: Headset is pretty nice, looks stylish, sounds good to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would purchase this product again.

  • By Thomas E from Lakewood WA USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Review: Great headset and performs very well. I will purchase another in a few months so I can have one for a passenger.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Price

  • By Timothy from Bidwell OH USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: Ear pads a little hot after a while. Get the gel pads for it.
  • Review: Why pay the price of those expensive headsets when for $95 you get a just as good headset. The sound is great. Will buy again if I need one. Just order the gel pads that go with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Surprisingly good performance for the price

  • By George from Palm Beach Gardens FL USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Clear, lightweight, comfortable.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I use a David Clark H10-66 as pilot in command and purchased this headset for passenger use. It was light and comfortable and the audio very clear. As a result I switched headsets and use this RA200 as the primary headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Kokomo IN USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Review: Great for the price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent for the price

  • By Dana from Greenfield MA USA on Wednesday, November 08, 2017
  • Pros: Clear radio and mic AND great noise canceler for external sources
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality does not have to be expensive

  • By mohammed from brisbane QLD Australia on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product for the price is definitely a winner. The clarity is simply fantastic. The fitting snug. Yes noise cancelling would definitely add to its appeal but it remains extremely appealing nevertheless. It is light as promised and looks great. Used in Sling 2. Will be happy to invest in this make of ANR headset. The postage was a bit steep but still a worthy buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Phil from Canton GA USA on Monday, April 17, 2017
  • Review: Nice product. Feels and performs good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Headset Great Price

  • By duder from Edwards, Ca on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable, mic has good pick up, nice volume adjust, looks good
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: I am a student pilot and wanted my own headset. The headsets that my aero club has for use are david clark which are nice I would never say anything bad about them other than the price but as you could imagine they are well used and are not like new anymore. So I saw these Rugged for a good deal and thought why not give them a try, if they are good I win and if not I am not out much money. And lets just say I won, this headset works great and doesn't hurt my ears around my glasses. They also do a great job of keeping out outside noise. Recommend buy for those with a tight budget!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice headset

  • By A Customer from Illinois on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable, even without gel ear seals
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Don't be afraid because of the cheap price. This set is light weight and is as quiet as our older David Clark. My son, the pilot says they are not as comfortable as his Lightspeed, but for passengers its worth saving over $700. We will be getting another set.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from West Plains MO USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2019
  • Pros: clear communication
  • Cons: no negative comments
  • Review: So far, the headset has adequately performed very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what it should be

  • By Sean from Opelika AL USA on Monday, July 22, 2013
  • Pros: Cheap, works well, audio input
  • Cons:
  • Review: Don't expect Bose from a $100 headset. With that being said, this delivers exactly the performance I was looking for.

    Excellent training or Pax headset. Audio input works well. Reasonable range of adjustment for fitting and not overly tight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rugged Radio RA200 Headset

  • By Jeffrey from Clearwater FL USA on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, and it looks rugged and very well built.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: I bought my Rugged Radio RA200 headset for flight training. Had a 2.5 hour lesson and absolutely no soreness or discomfort from this headset. It's extremely comfortable and quiet too. The mike boom stays put but is easily adjustable. I can't imagine getting a better headset at this price point.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rugged Air RA200 Headset

  • By Francisco from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Pros: Good price and light
  • Cons: does not have gel ear cups
  • Review: This is a good set of headphones. The sound is crisp. I like the adjustable volume.
    The ear cups are not gel, but they do not bother you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Low Price - High performance

  • By Lars (MAT) from Hojbjerg DK Denmark on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Pros: Good product - low Price
  • Cons: No active noise reduction
  • Review: Very Well functioning headset. Easy to fit and with good Sound, even though it has no active noise reduction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

thrustmaster rudder pedals and thrustmaster hostas 4

  • By LOY from Troy MO USA on Saturday, February 03, 2018
  • Pros: good
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Those two products go good used with each other,the rudder pedals plug right into the back of the joystick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Stretch them overnight on a soccer ball

  • By A Customer on Sunday, June 15, 2014
  • Review: Right out of the box this headset was a skull crusher for me. I just stretched them overnight on a soccer ball and then they fit better than my david clark. I have been using them for a month now and absolutely love them. The mic is sensitive and sound is extremely clear.

    I like to use cloth ear covers to not feel the vacuum. The david clark soft ear covers fit much better on this headset compared to the generic ones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

going to buy a second pair.

  • By frank from Beatrice NE USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
  • Pros: great price and a great headset
  • Cons: the plastic ear pieces get a little hot on warm days
  • Review: This headset is amazing for the money.Its clear audio at all volume settings. No distortion..I will be buying a second pair.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Rugged Radio RA200 Headset

  • By jeffrey.bradshaw@insightbb.com from Clearwater, FL on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Pros: comfort, voice communication clarity, handy volume control on headset, price, quality
  • Cons: I just haven't found anything at all to nit pick ... nothing.
  • Review: I've been using this headset for about two weeks now as a student pilot and I have to say that they are extremely comfortable, no ear pressure or soreness after 2.5 hours of use, the clarity of the voice communication is pretty much crystal clear, no static whatsoever, the mike boom stays put once you set it. Overall, I gave it a 5 star because it looks like it will last forever with good care and the price just can't be beat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Surprisingly good performance for the price

  • By A Customer from Palm Beach Gardens FL USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Clear, lightweight, comfortable. Amazing quality for less than $100.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I used a David Clark H10-66 as pilot in command and it has worked fine. I purchased this headset for passenger use. It was surprisingly light and comfortable and the audio very clear. As a result I switched headsets and use this RA200 as the primary headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A very good buy. Totally satisfied

  • By David from Mechanicsburg PA USA on Thursday, August 28, 2014
  • Pros: Inexpensive, clear resolution
  • Cons: Some say it is tight on the head. Not a problem for me
  • Review: Hey it may not be expensive, but it is very good. One of my concerns in flying was not begin able to hear ATC clearly. I've been using my instructors headsets and it has been a problem. No problem with this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mohammed from Brisbane Australia on Friday, March 20, 2015
  • Review: Many rave about the clarity of sound in this headset and its general feel despite the highly competitive low price. I am yet one more of those. simply brilliant. if it came with noise cancelling abilities then the other more expensive brands would simply want to pack up shop and leave the market because this product is that good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Headset

  • By Eric from Highlands Ranch CO USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: inexpensive, comfortable, functional
  • Cons: adjusting takes a little doing and some plyers
  • Review: For the money this is a 5. I'm a new pilot and wanted to buy a headset rather than renting one. I don't have any complaints, worked fine last week at 9°F. I will probably buy a more expensive active noise canceling one some day but until then this will be just fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect student headset

  • By Sean from Citrus Heights CA USA on Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, affordable, and efficient
  • Cons: None
  • Review: At this price point, the RA200 is a real winner for student pilots like myself. True, it does not have active noise cancelling, it's passive, but that also means it's very light and comfortable to wear. Down the road, it will be a great passenger headset or spare. Transmission and reception are excellent. And it actually is "rugged".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gary from Red Oak IA USA on Saturday, February 01, 2014
  • Review: I like the looks and comfort. For the money it is well worth it . The the clarity of the receiver is very good . I don't think I would goes as far as others to say it is as good as an anr set. All in all I like the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, December 06, 2021
  • Review: Purchased this headset when starting as a student pilot. Very happy with it overall, no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal

  • By A Customer from Searcy AR US;A on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal

  • By A Customer from Searcy AR US;A on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gorgeous Flights from Vernal UT USA on Saturday, August 15, 2020
  • Review: Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headsets

  • By Shirley from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: great equipment for less than a $100.00 dollars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Best buy for the money compares with DC's easily.
    Rugged and light
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't run just because of the price

  • By John C-175 from Oregon on Sunday, May 22, 2016
  • Pros: Easily adjusted and comfortable
  • Cons: keep the volume control down for less feedback issues
  • Review: Obviously these are not Noise reduction, fancy $1000 headsets, but I read the reviews and decided to buy two pairs for these for the back seat passengers... I thought "what the heck, how can you go wrong for passenger head sets". I changed them over to the gel ear pads and I loved the comfort level... I find myself using them and not my normal pair so Now I am buying one more set so the whole plane will match
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's Great

  • By Eva from Black River QLD Australia on Saturday, January 07, 2017
  • Pros: inexpensive, simple, good clear sound & mic
  • Cons: not easily adjustable - not a big problem though
  • Review: I bought it as a spare for passenger, works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, February 07, 2018
  • Review: Decent headset. Its my backup. Sound is good, but the cushions are a little stiff. Great headset for a student pilot or weekend warrior. Might get a little uncomfortable all day. I do like the boom on this though much better than my David Clark headsets that you need a screw driver to tighten down.

    It stays in the plane in case I find myself by the airport without my bag and want to hit the pattern for a bit. Great headset for the price, the kids, or a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great first headset

  • By tracy from Mobile AL USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: good fit
  • Cons: hard to adjust
  • Review: Great for a student pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good first headset for new pilots

  • By Paul from Los Gatos CA USA on Monday, May 18, 2015
  • Pros: Simple, rugged, reliable
  • Cons: Maybe could be a little lighter
  • Review: This is a great headset for all pilots who are new or buying their first headset. Its rugged and simple, so less to go wrong. Later on you can move onto noise cancelling and stuff, but if for passengers or beginner pilots, great headset...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By Marco Caffe from Tampa FL USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
  • Pros: Good price and good performance
  • Cons: Heavy for long trips.
  • Review: Can not be compared with a David Clark, but considering the price, it is more than enough!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Starter Headset, but do your research.

  • By John from Grand Forks, ND on Sunday, June 14, 2015
  • Pros: Cheap, Do what they are designed to do, Durable, Simple to use, Good passenger headset when your done with them
  • Cons: Cheap, Uncomfortable on longer flights, Still loud on twins
  • Review: I bought these two years ago as a student pilot at UND, with the intention of upgrading once I had my licenses and ratings. They are a good starter headset for someone dipping their toes into aviation and are not sure if they want to spend the money on a top level passive set (i.e. David Clark's H10-13.4), or one of the premium ANR options (Bose, Lightspeed, etc.).

    These do the job they are designed to do, go up for 1-2 hours on training flight and bring you back down.. They are indestructible (getting thrown around in my car and constantly in and out of airplanes), they do a good job reducing noise in a Cessna 172 and Piper Warrior, however, they leave a bit to be desired when flying noisier training twins like the Seminole. The mic isn't amazing but it does the trick, and the volume is adjustable. Comfort-wise, they are good for 1-2 hour training flights, but anything over 2 hours can be uncomfortable.

    In the end, they work well for what I needed them for, but once you are serious about flying regularly, upgrade to a better headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Headset for the money

  • By A Customer from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Monday, May 18, 2015
  • Review: Hey, It's not a Bose, but it definately gets the job done at an economical price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Deceptive

  • By A Customer on Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Review: The way the description is written makes it seem like it comes with a 3.5 mm cord but it does not.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Tom from Carbondale CO USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Low price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great Value. Functions as well as the expensive models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good, I recommend.

  • By Cledy from Maceio Alagoas Brazil on Sunday, February 25, 2018
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price for noise isolating headphones

  • By Jason from Fincastle, VA USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: blocks out outside noise
  • Cons: sound quality for music is only slighly better than average
  • Review: Overall a good deal. I'm using these in the cab of our enclosed farm tractor. I have a headphone preamp on the output of the in-dash stereo system. I didn't need the mic or the adjustable volume knob, but really needed something rugged and closed ear (to block out noise from the outside).
    I rate sound quality a 6 out of 10, so better than average, but they're no high sonic fidelity musical earphones. Again, as long as they last in the hard environment, I'll be happy.
    If you don't have the headset adjusted perfectly for your head, you will find they are a bit uncomfortable. They do squeeze your head pretty tight, but the band is metal, so gently stretching it out in addition to adjusting it helps. You need a wrench to adjust them, so once it's set, someone else can't easily pick them up if they have a different head size. Not a real big deal for us.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the money.

  • By A Customer from Irondale AL USA on Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Pros: Well made. Clear reception.
  • Cons: Picks up some background noise when transmitting.
  • Review: No complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By LOY from Troy MO USA on Saturday, February 03, 2018
  • Pros: GOOD SOUND PACKAGE
  • Cons: TOO HEAVY
  • Review: I LIKE THIS PRODUCT, THE VOLUME KNOB IS REALLY GREAT FOR TUNING OUT WHAT I don't want to hear.A BIT TOO HEAVY.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Nicolas from Lexington KY USA in transit on Wednesday, August 02, 2017
  • Pros: cheap, good apareance, easy to use,
  • Cons: at low cost all is good, you obtein you need
  • Review: Met expectations, recreacional fligth in small plane, it work very well.
    I would buy this product again!!
    For buyers as I. livin in other countries, delivery in time its was the best, sure ,
    Thanks MyPilotStore crew
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Used very briefly!

  • By Barry from Las Vegas NV USA on Wednesday, August 23, 2017
  • Review: Used for a brief training session, as yet. Was comfortable and I was able to comprehend all transmissions. I am 'hard of hearing' and use hearing aids (that I hate)

    Seems like a good investment for rather occasional use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By john from Rockton IL USA on Thursday, June 19, 2014
  • Review: It is working as advertised, Thank You
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By John from Selby . United Kingdom on Wednesday, June 30, 2010
  • Review: Meets all expectations. Comfortable. Very pleased with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Value for money

  • By Christina from Long Beach CA USA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Pros: affordabe, clear and crisp sound, comfortable
  • Cons: un-adjustable to size of the head
  • Review: Very affordable, especially for those on budget. Crisp sound and snug fit on the ears, no hotspots whatsoever. I just can't adjust it to exactly fit my head (i got a small head), anyways it does the job. I just had to ask our avionics office to make an adaptor since our plane (Cessna 172 models) has a single shorter plug, unlike the unit which had two longer plugs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great first headset

  • By A Customer from Sacramento CA USA on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
  • Pros: comfortable clear stylish
  • Cons:
  • Review: regadera was a great person said it was expensive comfortable clear just an all around good product I recommend anybody to buy it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality at a great price!

  • By Jarrod from Morehead KY USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review: Can't beat the quality of construction and function that you get with this headset for such an affordable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Breaux Bridge LA USA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
  • Review: Very nice units. Both of them works fine!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By anthony from Riverview FL USA on Tuesday, July 18, 2017
  • Review: Nice headset for the price. Quiet, effective !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Good for your first headset.

  • By A Customer on Thursday, October 28, 2021
  • Pros: You can be heard loud and clear.
  • Cons: Sometimes it can be hard to understand what ATC is hearing.
  • Review: As a student pilot myself, this is a good headset to use. It's on sale, it works perfectly well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the price

  • By Gerald from Elgin TX USA on Saturday, May 17, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wouldn't buy it again...

  • By Gary from Houston TX USA on Monday, June 28, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable, well made
  • Cons: Audio not good when transmitting
  • Review: This headset performed well with the intercom, however, key the mic and the audio quality went way down. My other headsets don't exhibit this problem so I have to assume it is within the headset. Works great for passengers that are only on the intercom, I won't send it back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok for the money

  • By peter from Batavia NY USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: uncmfortable
  • Review: uncomfortable
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the price

  • By Daniela from Miami FL USA on Monday, January 13, 2014
  • Pros: Good cable and connectors, price
  • Cons: Poor mounting quality
  • Review: It is an honest product, does what it is intended to but do not expect the quality of a David Clark for instance. After fist use, I've found a small retaining ring when checking out the aircraft, put it back in place in the earphone and noticed they were all a bit loose. They have been lost and found a few times in subsequent flights until I was not able to find them anymore (now they are missing).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They squeeze pretty tight

  • By A Customer from Missouri USA on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: Uncomfortable
  • Review: They serve the purpose well for the price. It's a decent value for very short flights. However, they squeeze your head tightly. After a while they start to feel like your head is in a vise.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Two Different Headsets, Both DOA.

  • By Stoo-dent Pilot from Tennessee on Tuesday, May 01, 2012
  • Pros: Cooperative customer service from manufacturer
  • Cons: Neither set worked
  • Review: As a student pilot, I was looking for an entry level headset so I purchased one of these because of the fair price, visual appeal and generally positive reviews. The first set arrived and the mic didn't work. This was verified by trying the headset at two different crew stations and in two different aircraft. I contacted Rugged and they sent me a return shipping label and I returned the unit. The second unit sent to me went from bad to worse - I couldn't hear or talk on this one. Again, this was confirmed by trying the unit at different crew stations. I called Rugged and they readily agreed to refund my money. I have since purchased a DC unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.