TOP

Rugged Air RA200 Headset

  • 67 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Rugged Air RA200 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:

Don't run just because of the price

  • By John C-175 from Oregon on Sunday, May 22, 2016
  • Pros: Easily adjusted and comfortable
  • Cons: keep the volume control down for less feedback issues
  • Review: Obviously these are not Noise reduction, fancy $1000 headsets, but I read the reviews and decided to buy two pairs for these for the back seat passengers... I thought "what the heck, how can you go wrong for passenger head sets". I changed them over to the gel ear pads and I loved the comfort level... I find myself using them and not my normal pair so Now I am buying one more set so the whole plane will match
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's Great

  • By Eva from Black River QLD Australia on Saturday, January 07, 2017
  • Pros: inexpensive, simple, good clear sound & mic
  • Cons: not easily adjustable - not a big problem though
  • Review: I bought it as a spare for passenger, works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, February 07, 2018
  • Review: Decent headset. Its my backup. Sound is good, but the cushions are a little stiff. Great headset for a student pilot or weekend warrior. Might get a little uncomfortable all day. I do like the boom on this though much better than my David Clark headsets that you need a screw driver to tighten down.

    It stays in the plane in case I find myself by the airport without my bag and want to hit the pattern for a bit. Great headset for the price, the kids, or a backup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great first headset

  • By tracy from Mobile AL USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: good fit
  • Cons: hard to adjust
  • Review: Great for a student pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good first headset for new pilots

  • By Paul from Los Gatos CA USA on Monday, May 18, 2015
  • Pros: Simple, rugged, reliable
  • Cons: Maybe could be a little lighter
  • Review: This is a great headset for all pilots who are new or buying their first headset. Its rugged and simple, so less to go wrong. Later on you can move onto noise cancelling and stuff, but if for passengers or beginner pilots, great headset...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By Marco Caffe from Tampa FL USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
  • Pros: Good price and good performance
  • Cons: Heavy for long trips.
  • Review: Can not be compared with a David Clark, but considering the price, it is more than enough!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Starter Headset, but do your research.

  • By John from Grand Forks, ND on Sunday, June 14, 2015
  • Pros: Cheap, Do what they are designed to do, Durable, Simple to use, Good passenger headset when your done with them
  • Cons: Cheap, Uncomfortable on longer flights, Still loud on twins
  • Review: I bought these two years ago as a student pilot at UND, with the intention of upgrading once I had my licenses and ratings. They are a good starter headset for someone dipping their toes into aviation and are not sure if they want to spend the money on a top level passive set (i.e. David Clark's H10-13.4), or one of the premium ANR options (Bose, Lightspeed, etc.).

    These do the job they are designed to do, go up for 1-2 hours on training flight and bring you back down.. They are indestructible (getting thrown around in my car and constantly in and out of airplanes), they do a good job reducing noise in a Cessna 172 and Piper Warrior, however, they leave a bit to be desired when flying noisier training twins like the Seminole. The mic isn't amazing but it does the trick, and the volume is adjustable. Comfort-wise, they are good for 1-2 hour training flights, but anything over 2 hours can be uncomfortable.

    In the end, they work well for what I needed them for, but once you are serious about flying regularly, upgrade to a better headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Deceptive

  • By A Customer on Thursday, February 14, 2019
  • Review: The way the description is written makes it seem like it comes with a 3.5 mm cord but it does not.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Headset for the money

  • By A Customer from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Monday, May 18, 2015
  • Review: Hey, It's not a Bose, but it definately gets the job done at an economical price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Tom from Carbondale CO USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Low price
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great Value. Functions as well as the expensive models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very good, I recommend.

  • By Cledy from Maceio Alagoas Brazil on Sunday, February 25, 2018
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good price for noise isolating headphones

  • By Jason from Fincastle, VA USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: blocks out outside noise
  • Cons: sound quality for music is only slighly better than average
  • Review: Overall a good deal. I'm using these in the cab of our enclosed farm tractor. I have a headphone preamp on the output of the in-dash stereo system. I didn't need the mic or the adjustable volume knob, but really needed something rugged and closed ear (to block out noise from the outside).
    I rate sound quality a 6 out of 10, so better than average, but they're no high sonic fidelity musical earphones. Again, as long as they last in the hard environment, I'll be happy.
    If you don't have the headset adjusted perfectly for your head, you will find they are a bit uncomfortable. They do squeeze your head pretty tight, but the band is metal, so gently stretching it out in addition to adjusting it helps. You need a wrench to adjust them, so once it's set, someone else can't easily pick them up if they have a different head size. Not a real big deal for us.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By LOY from Troy MO USA on Saturday, February 03, 2018
  • Pros: GOOD SOUND PACKAGE
  • Cons: TOO HEAVY
  • Review: I LIKE THIS PRODUCT, THE VOLUME KNOB IS REALLY GREAT FOR TUNING OUT WHAT I don't want to hear.A BIT TOO HEAVY.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Nicolas from Lexington KY USA in transit on Wednesday, August 02, 2017
  • Pros: cheap, good apareance, easy to use,
  • Cons: at low cost all is good, you obtein you need
  • Review: Met expectations, recreacional fligth in small plane, it work very well.
    I would buy this product again!!
    For buyers as I. livin in other countries, delivery in time its was the best, sure ,
    Thanks MyPilotStore crew
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Used very briefly!

  • By Barry from Las Vegas NV USA on Wednesday, August 23, 2017
  • Review: Used for a brief training session, as yet. Was comfortable and I was able to comprehend all transmissions. I am 'hard of hearing' and use hearing aids (that I hate)

    Seems like a good investment for rather occasional use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By john from Rockton IL USA on Thursday, June 19, 2014
  • Review: It is working as advertised, Thank You
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the money.

  • By A Customer from Irondale AL USA on Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Pros: Well made. Clear reception.
  • Cons: Picks up some background noise when transmitting.
  • Review: No complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By John from Selby . United Kingdom on Wednesday, June 30, 2010
  • Review: Meets all expectations. Comfortable. Very pleased with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Value for money

  • By Christina from Long Beach CA USA on Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Pros: affordabe, clear and crisp sound, comfortable
  • Cons: un-adjustable to size of the head
  • Review: Very affordable, especially for those on budget. Crisp sound and snug fit on the ears, no hotspots whatsoever. I just can't adjust it to exactly fit my head (i got a small head), anyways it does the job. I just had to ask our avionics office to make an adaptor since our plane (Cessna 172 models) has a single shorter plug, unlike the unit which had two longer plugs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Breaux Bridge LA USA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
  • Review: Very nice units. Both of them works fine!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great first headset

  • By A Customer from Sacramento CA USA on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
  • Pros: comfortable clear stylish
  • Cons:
  • Review: regadera was a great person said it was expensive comfortable clear just an all around good product I recommend anybody to buy it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality at a great price!

  • By Jarrod from Morehead KY USA on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
  • Review: Can't beat the quality of construction and function that you get with this headset for such an affordable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By anthony from Riverview FL USA on Tuesday, July 18, 2017
  • Review: Nice headset for the price. Quiet, effective !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Good for your first headset.

  • By A Customer on Thursday, October 28, 2021
  • Pros: You can be heard loud and clear.
  • Cons: Sometimes it can be hard to understand what ATC is hearing.
  • Review: As a student pilot myself, this is a good headset to use. It's on sale, it works perfectly well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the price

  • By Gerald from Elgin TX USA on Saturday, May 17, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.