TOP

Rugged Air RA200 Headset

  • 67 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Rugged Air RA200 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Pequot Lakes, MN on Wednesday, August 19, 2015
  • Review: Works fine, priced right, minor loosening of the headband slides with a pliers the first time, and it adjusts and stays in place without tools. Sound is much louder than my other headsets. Very clear too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 17 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and works well

  • By Rick from Spring Hill TN USA on Thursday, September 22, 2016
  • Pros: Great value
  • Cons: no cons
  • Review: I have a Lightspeed NR headset and I love it. I wanted a lower cost headset as backup and for passengers who do not fly very often. I ran into a pilot friend at a local airport and he loaned my daughter a Rugged Air headset and she liked it so I decided I'd go with that. I ordered the RA200 and also ordered the gel ear seals. I had the spare headset several weeks and my daughter loves it. Today I decided to use the RA200 for myself. I was very pleasantly surprised. The sound quality was excellent and the gel ear seals were very comfortable. I barely missed the noise reduction from my Lightspeed headset and I didn't have to fiddle with an extra control box. I would highly recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 16 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

don't let the low price of this product keep you from trying it

  • By John from Eagle Point OR USA on Tuesday, February 16, 2016
  • Pros: clear and comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: I am a student pilot and with all of the expenses that come with obtaining equipment, I thought well, I'll try one of these and see if it will work good enough then buy a nicer one after I get my license...now I think I will keep it as my primary headset.. I changed to the Gel ear pads for comfort and it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By PETER from Chattanooga TN USA on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Review: What I loved is the price, then pleasantly surprised that the build and quality is equal to headsets costing much more. The boom and mike are sturdy, the mike transmits very clearly. The noise cancellation is good for a passive protection, the headsets were initially a little tight but feel good now. I would recommend purchase of this headset to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By keith from Waterford MI USA on Tuesday, October 18, 2016
  • Pros: Cost
  • Cons: Good question
  • Review: Don't let the price fool you. Best headset for the money bar none. Clear, comfortable, quiet. I have the gel ear seals. Love this headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset for a great price

  • By Dan from Pequot Lakes MN USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Works great. Adjustable headband is comfortable for 1-2 hours. Sound is clear and plenty loud.
    Worth every bit of the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Eric from Simpsonville SC USA on Wednesday, December 14, 2016
  • Pros: Price, style
  • Cons: mic arm little difficult to adjust at first
  • Review: Headset is pretty nice, looks stylish, sounds good to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, and Awesome

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Comfortable
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very simple design, which works very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would purchase this product again.

  • By Thomas E from Lakewood WA USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Review: Great headset and performs very well. I will purchase another in a few months so I can have one for a passenger.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Price

  • By Timothy from Bidwell OH USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: Ear pads a little hot after a while. Get the gel pads for it.
  • Review: Why pay the price of those expensive headsets when for $95 you get a just as good headset. The sound is great. Will buy again if I need one. Just order the gel pads that go with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Surprisingly good performance for the price

  • By George from Palm Beach Gardens FL USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Clear, lightweight, comfortable.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I use a David Clark H10-66 as pilot in command and purchased this headset for passenger use. It was light and comfortable and the audio very clear. As a result I switched headsets and use this RA200 as the primary headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By James from Kokomo IN USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Review: Great for the price!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent for the price

  • By Dana from Greenfield MA USA on Wednesday, November 08, 2017
  • Pros: Clear radio and mic AND great noise canceler for external sources
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Phil from Canton GA USA on Monday, April 17, 2017
  • Review: Nice product. Feels and performs good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality does not have to be expensive

  • By mohammed from brisbane QLD Australia on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons:
  • Review: This product for the price is definitely a winner. The clarity is simply fantastic. The fitting snug. Yes noise cancelling would definitely add to its appeal but it remains extremely appealing nevertheless. It is light as promised and looks great. Used in Sling 2. Will be happy to invest in this make of ANR headset. The postage was a bit steep but still a worthy buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Headset Great Price

  • By duder from Edwards, Ca on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Pros: Comfortable, mic has good pick up, nice volume adjust, looks good
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: I am a student pilot and wanted my own headset. The headsets that my aero club has for use are david clark which are nice I would never say anything bad about them other than the price but as you could imagine they are well used and are not like new anymore. So I saw these Rugged for a good deal and thought why not give them a try, if they are good I win and if not I am not out much money. And lets just say I won, this headset works great and doesn't hurt my ears around my glasses. They also do a great job of keeping out outside noise. Recommend buy for those with a tight budget!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice headset

  • By A Customer from Illinois on Tuesday, October 01, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable, even without gel ear seals
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Don't be afraid because of the cheap price. This set is light weight and is as quiet as our older David Clark. My son, the pilot says they are not as comfortable as his Lightspeed, but for passengers its worth saving over $700. We will be getting another set.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from West Plains MO USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2019
  • Pros: clear communication
  • Cons: no negative comments
  • Review: So far, the headset has adequately performed very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rugged Radio RA200 Headset

  • By Jeffrey from Clearwater FL USA on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, and it looks rugged and very well built.
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: I bought my Rugged Radio RA200 headset for flight training. Had a 2.5 hour lesson and absolutely no soreness or discomfort from this headset. It's extremely comfortable and quiet too. The mike boom stays put but is easily adjustable. I can't imagine getting a better headset at this price point.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what it should be

  • By Sean from Opelika AL USA on Monday, July 22, 2013
  • Pros: Cheap, works well, audio input
  • Cons:
  • Review: Don't expect Bose from a $100 headset. With that being said, this delivers exactly the performance I was looking for.

    Excellent training or Pax headset. Audio input works well. Reasonable range of adjustment for fitting and not overly tight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Low Price - High performance

  • By Lars (MAT) from Hojbjerg DK Denmark on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Pros: Good product - low Price
  • Cons: No active noise reduction
  • Review: Very Well functioning headset. Easy to fit and with good Sound, even though it has no active noise reduction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Rugged Air RA200 Headset

  • By Francisco from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Pros: Good price and light
  • Cons: does not have gel ear cups
  • Review: This is a good set of headphones. The sound is crisp. I like the adjustable volume.
    The ear cups are not gel, but they do not bother you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

thrustmaster rudder pedals and thrustmaster hostas 4

  • By LOY from Troy MO USA on Saturday, February 03, 2018
  • Pros: good
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Those two products go good used with each other,the rudder pedals plug right into the back of the joystick.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A very good buy. Totally satisfied

  • By David from Mechanicsburg PA USA on Thursday, August 28, 2014
  • Pros: Inexpensive, clear resolution
  • Cons: Some say it is tight on the head. Not a problem for me
  • Review: Hey it may not be expensive, but it is very good. One of my concerns in flying was not begin able to hear ATC clearly. I've been using my instructors headsets and it has been a problem. No problem with this one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

going to buy a second pair.

  • By frank from Beatrice NE USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
  • Pros: great price and a great headset
  • Cons: the plastic ear pieces get a little hot on warm days
  • Review: This headset is amazing for the money.Its clear audio at all volume settings. No distortion..I will be buying a second pair.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Rugged Radio RA200 Headset

  • By jeffrey.bradshaw@insightbb.com from Clearwater, FL on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Pros: comfort, voice communication clarity, handy volume control on headset, price, quality
  • Cons: I just haven't found anything at all to nit pick ... nothing.
  • Review: I've been using this headset for about two weeks now as a student pilot and I have to say that they are extremely comfortable, no ear pressure or soreness after 2.5 hours of use, the clarity of the voice communication is pretty much crystal clear, no static whatsoever, the mike boom stays put once you set it. Overall, I gave it a 5 star because it looks like it will last forever with good care and the price just can't be beat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Surprisingly good performance for the price

  • By A Customer from Palm Beach Gardens FL USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Clear, lightweight, comfortable. Amazing quality for less than $100.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I used a David Clark H10-66 as pilot in command and it has worked fine. I purchased this headset for passenger use. It was surprisingly light and comfortable and the audio very clear. As a result I switched headsets and use this RA200 as the primary headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Stretch them overnight on a soccer ball

  • By A Customer on Sunday, June 15, 2014
  • Review: Right out of the box this headset was a skull crusher for me. I just stretched them overnight on a soccer ball and then they fit better than my david clark. I have been using them for a month now and absolutely love them. The mic is sensitive and sound is extremely clear.

    I like to use cloth ear covers to not feel the vacuum. The david clark soft ear covers fit much better on this headset compared to the generic ones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gary from Red Oak IA USA on Saturday, February 01, 2014
  • Review: I like the looks and comfort. For the money it is well worth it . The the clarity of the receiver is very good . I don't think I would goes as far as others to say it is as good as an anr set. All in all I like the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, December 06, 2021
  • Review: Purchased this headset when starting as a student pilot. Very happy with it overall, no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Headset

  • By Eric from Highlands Ranch CO USA on Thursday, January 08, 2015
  • Pros: inexpensive, comfortable, functional
  • Cons: adjusting takes a little doing and some plyers
  • Review: For the money this is a 5. I'm a new pilot and wanted to buy a headset rather than renting one. I don't have any complaints, worked fine last week at 9°F. I will probably buy a more expensive active noise canceling one some day but until then this will be just fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mohammed from Brisbane Australia on Friday, March 20, 2015
  • Review: Many rave about the clarity of sound in this headset and its general feel despite the highly competitive low price. I am yet one more of those. simply brilliant. if it came with noise cancelling abilities then the other more expensive brands would simply want to pack up shop and leave the market because this product is that good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect student headset

  • By Sean from Citrus Heights CA USA on Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • Pros: Comfortable, affordable, and efficient
  • Cons: None
  • Review: At this price point, the RA200 is a real winner for student pilots like myself. True, it does not have active noise cancelling, it's passive, but that also means it's very light and comfortable to wear. Down the road, it will be a great passenger headset or spare. Transmission and reception are excellent. And it actually is "rugged".
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal

  • By A Customer from Searcy AR US;A on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal

  • By A Customer from Searcy AR US;A on Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gorgeous Flights from Vernal UT USA on Saturday, August 15, 2020
  • Review: Works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headsets

  • By Shirley from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: great equipment for less than a $100.00 dollars !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Best buy for the money compares with DC's easily.
    Rugged and light
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.