TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek X52 Pro Flight Control System

Sort By:
Filter By:

10 Years of Hard Use

  • By cg2020cg from New Smyrna Beach, FL on Thursday, May 26, 2016
  • Pros: Don't need calibrated but once per year & that only takes me 5 minutes
  • Cons: Some lights out after 10,000 hours and 10 years and some buttons don't function and lights don't light anymore
  • Review: I have had the X52's for nearly 10 years. It's definitely time to replace, but I will simply buy the "Pro's" again. These things have been used and abused daily since 2007 with nearly 10,000 hours of flying including kids and grand-kids slamming them around. The un-useable buttons and missing pieces are from several residential moves and improper care during those moves. Nothing has worked for me better with so much use and still useable for all necessary functions. When something breaks-down like a switch or light,I simply program another to do the same job! They are fully functional even so.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Brings Elite Dangerous in VR to the next level

  • By K8 from Downingtown PA USA on Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Pros: Matches in game stick in Elite Dangerous
  • Cons: Wired. :(
  • Review: I bought this stick to use for elite dangerous in virtual reality. The in-game flight stick is modeled after the Saitek x52 Pro. It adds that extra level of immersion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't get shocked

  • By N3254F from Bloomingdale, IL on Monday, April 06, 2009
  • Pros: It's great for lights-out "night flying"
  • Cons: It doesn't have the "Force Feedback" that the Microsoft Sidewinder and others have.
  • Review: I was skeptical of spending the original investment for this flight system, but after many hours "in flight", I found the X-52 to be a great addition to my simulator. However, one MUST note, this is the FIRST Joy Stick I have ever owned that was susceptable to static discharges. I now own an X-52 that has been rendered unsuable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth every penny

  • By Tony M. from Bozeman MT USA on Wednesday, October 14, 2020
  • Pros: Smooth movements. Lots of customization.Great feel and responsiveness.
  • Cons: Pricey.
  • Review: The X52 is everything it says it is and more. I don't see it written very much about how this HOTAS system "feels". The absolute smoothness of the joystick and the buttery soft movement of the thruster changed the way I play flight simulators. It made my old(but excellent) MS Sidewinder feel like I had been flying with "stone knives and bearskins". I really enjoy all the customizations available thru the control software and it makes switching ships in ED a lot easier when changing from mining to combat. I'm really glad I decided to go with this model.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

X52 Pro Worth The Extra Green

  • By Rick from Winfield KS USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: All listed in my review
  • Cons: Saitek Software
  • Review: I had a Plain Saitek X52 years ago and one of the Hall Effect Sensors would Intermittently Fail and the stick would not center in roll otherwise it was a good stick.

    The X52 Pro is listed as having twice the sensors and I believe it is true as I have never had the precision that it delivers to my flying. I have had an original CH yoke and I now use the CH Eclipse and CH rudder pedals in my main sim setup in my basement and even though they are great yokes, I can fly more precise with the X52 Pro. The dual spring design is also a plus in the twist ( rudder ) part of the Pro. It returns to center better than I ever remember my old X52 did. The Metal parts of this stick and throttle gives a overall better impression of quality to the Pro version.

    The configurable led backlighting when looking at the settings from the device and printers area of win 7 is pretty awesome and there are a considerable number of back lighted switches and knobs on the pro system that really makes it stand out from other devices on the market. I can not testify to the longevity since I have only had this setup on my bedroom simulator setup for a couple of months now. I setup a Digital Storm Vanquish level 4 machine in my bedroom due to arthritis in my knees at age 56 makes it difficult to make the trip up and down the basements stairs to the old i7 950 oc'ed to 3.85 Ghz and a pair of GTX 570's for multi monitor ops. The new Haswell i5 4670k oc'ed to 4.2 Ghz and the Asus GTX 770 really kick butt on the new bedroom setup! Oh by the way, I have never used the Saitek Driver or sst programming software as to it being a pain in the posterior from past experience. Win 7 by itself does a great job of configuring the X52 Pro system as soon as you plug it into a usb port. No need to fret over their software unless you like spending a lot of time trying to get it all to work. All in all I have found the X52 Pro to be well worth the money!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than the standard X52 joystick.

  • By A Customer from Foster City CA USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: Smooth action, metal appointments, accurate, price.
  • Cons: Might could use a longer USB cord, I use an extension.
  • Review: The X52 pro has a more substantial feel than the standard version with better metal buttons and toggles and a very smooth feel. The X52 standard felt flimsy and cheep by comparison. The programming software, available for download, is keystroke based for software that doesn't recognize the joystick as a separate device. I'm very happy I chose this joystick as Ive broken many joysticks in the past and I think this one will last well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the price

  • By A Customer from Spring Hill FL USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: Plug and Play without playing with windows
  • Cons: Included driver outdated but was able to get an updated one from company website.
  • Review: I purchased this back when it was only 150$. I see the price has jumped a bit, but I would still pay the current price. Works great for Star citizen and a few older flight sims I use. Programmable buttons and profiles are a snap to setup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great HOTAS!

  • By A Customer from Bend OR USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Pros: Great motion and accuracy
  • Cons: Location of PS2 cable that plugs into the throttle
  • Review: Have used the stick in Elite Dangerous for a little, but compared to my previous stick the movement is very smooth and accurate. The throttle has a great smooth motion and the buttons are very nicely placed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hard to beat.

  • By A Customer from Vernal UT USA on Monday, December 09, 2013
  • Review: Moving up to an x52 from a Cyborg Evo was everything I had hoped for. Control precision is excellent and travel is smooth. The software is flexible enough to cover every game I need it for.

    Two small gripes -
    1) Both bases could use some weight to hold them down. Shouldn't be too hard to fix.

    2) The provided suction cups don't work on my desk surface. They do work great on non-textured surfaces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

WOW!!!

  • By Don from Goldendale WA USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: Mega adjustible
  • Cons: Can be a bit touchy so be careful
  • Review: Saitek's combat stick is a vast upgrade to those I had used before. Remember the old MS Sidewinder of years ago? Saitek did themselves, and some of us as armchair pilots, good with the addition to their lineup of the combat stick.

    With lots of adjustible features, I'm still in that phase of getting mine set up properly.

    I use mine for DCS P51-D, DCS A10-C, and some of the planes within FSX. This combat stick works well within each game.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Wajdi from Spain on Sunday, December 28, 2014
  • Review: Highly recommended joystick and throttle. Quality wise, just excellent. After 4 months of on and off use, no slackness or fatigue yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Hotas

  • By Christopher from Adairsville GA USA on Monday, February 16, 2015
  • Pros: Control
  • Cons: some buttons losing paint
  • Review: The only problem with this stick is that, a couple of the buttons are losing the paint already, but it doesn't effect how it works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

impressed

  • By scott from Napoleon OH USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2020
  • Pros: great works better then the others iv hade
  • Cons: price is a little high but there all close in price
  • Review: 5 stars
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this combo so much I am purchasing it again

  • By JOSEPH POTCH from Northern California on Saturday, February 27, 2021
  • Pros: Everything for me is a pro
  • Cons: Just wished the button and switches lasted another 10 years.
  • Review: I just ordered the new x52 pro flight system and am looking forward to the freedom of flying at home again.
    Due to an injury I was not able to fly for a while. As it was the old combo just wore out.
    Some of the switches just stopped working and the throttle was sticking. The joystick though, still worked like new. I wound up taking it apart and seeing what it was made of and I was really impressed with the construction and the maze of wires. No pinched wires though. I hope the new one is as good as my first.
    I have read many reviews and honestly I have never had any of the problems some people have mentioned. I may have been lucky or due to taking time to program and setup the system may have made a difference. i am not sure but I am hoping I am as fortunate with the new system and before. I will update this if I run across any notable situations, but don't expect any. After this I am finally going to get the pedals that will complete the flight sims realism.
    BTW, i fly XPLANE, Microsoft Flight Sim, and my long time favorite IL2 with the new BAT modifications.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well Made

  • By deals47 from Charlotte NC USA on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Pros: sturdy, good quality, good feel, lots of programmable switches and buttons
  • Cons: Does not "officially" support the Mac/x-plane platform
  • Review: I really liked this joystick/throttle combination. It has a very good feel and good functionality. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that it does not support the Mac/X-plane platform that I use. Fortunately, there are plug-ins available created by gamers that allow this product to be used with my platform and give it a pretty good amount of its designed functionality. It would really be great if Saitek would officially provide that support.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent construction, and great feel

  • By Milton from Van Horn TX USA on Tuesday, April 06, 2010
  • Pros: Well built and sturdy, Great feel.
  • Cons: MFD dispay issues
  • Review: I bought the Saitek X52 Pro primarily for use with Flight Sim X, but wanted the extra features in case I got involved with another simulator ( I use to love F117 Stealth Fighter ). I'm very pleased with the construction and feel of this set, and love the fact that they stay in place during use. The only problem I have encountered to date is the MFD (Multi-function display) on the throttle stick. It worked when first installed and hasn't since. I am inclined to think that it may be due to my keyboard (Logitech G15). It too has an MFD. I don't see any conflicts listed but haven't really taken the time to fully trouble shoot it yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Small problem since last review

  • By Gary from Elkhart on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: None really, just needs a little lube on metal shaft from the factory
  • Review:

    I just gave this stick a review in Jan 2014, not more than a week ago. My X-52 Pro developed a small problem. I felt that I needed to share this problem with other X-52 Pro owners.

    My stick suddenly began to " bind up " a little when doing a right bank in my flight Sim, the motion was not smooth anymore. Needless to say I was a little upset after spending over 150 bucks for it and I have only had it a couple of months and just gave it a good review.

    After a little investigating I discovered that the problem was the large washer under the spring rubbing against the shaft of the joystick. Two tiny drops of machine oil took care of that.. Its working very smooth now again. I chose to try to solve the problem my self rather than go through the hassel of sending in back and it paid off. Saitec should be doing this at the factory. Metal to metal is never a good idea without lubracation with moving parts.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Bit Pricey.. But good quality..

  • By Gary from Elkhart IN USA on Saturday, January 18, 2014
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Nothing in life is perfect in my opinion.. If you're in the market for a good joystick, go ahead and spend the extra money if you have it and get the X-52 Pro. I have had it for a few months now and so far no complaints. I am not too fond of the PS-2 plugs that tie the throttle and the Stick together, but so far so good,.. no problems. The X-52 Pro is not the average joystick, its way above average in the quality department. Don't be afraid to purchase this one, its worth the money. I have 3 friends that recommended this one. I am glad I took their advise.

    Thanks My Pilot Store...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Dawson NE USA on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Not enough buttons.
  • Review: I really like this. In fact it's my second one. Wore the first one out. Centers perfect, it's sensitive without being to sensitive, works well for both fs9 and fsx, plus various combat simulators. Very happy camper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek X52 Pro

  • By A Customer from Austin TX USA on Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Pros: Looks far better than regular X52
  • Cons: Wont work on PS3
  • Review: Works great on PC but sadly not on PS3. Don't own a PS4 so I cannot say if I works on that system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must Have

  • By John from Staten Island NY USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Great looks, great handling
  • Cons: buttons on LCD not programmable
  • Review: This HOTAS setup is really great. I felt all the buttons were in the right place. I like the fact you can program them anyway you want plus change the colors of the LEDs individually. I us it to play Elite Dangerous. and every control is on the joystick and throttle. I really bang it around a lot and it seems to be putting up with the abuse.
    I do wish the buttons on the LCD screen were programmable.  Also every now and then the joystick needs a shot of WD40
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So you want to be a fighter pilot

  • By Al from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
  • Pros: well made, easy to use, hard to break!
  • Cons: The cost.
  • Review: I really like this set. I only gave it a 4 star because of the cost. It is easy to program and use. It is very rugged. For me that is a must.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great setup for the money, has flaws

  • By Ryan from Chelmsford MA USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Lights, size, feel
  • Cons: Broken controls and adjustments
  • Review: This stick blew me away, but there were some issues. I was really impressed with the size and detail and feel of this stick. I was let down as I got to play around with it more because of certain things that felt "broken". For one, the "mode selector" switch was easily able to rotate past it's intended positions. I could tell right away that this was not supposed to be like that, but I don't use the switch, so I wasn't going to go out of my way to go through the return process. Another thing that didn't work quite as intended is the stick rotation lock, once you pull out the lock you shouldn't be able to rotate the stick, but with little effort my stick rotates and feels as if something is about to give when I do so. Another issue was with the throttle resistance adjustment, really I couldn't feel it doing anything as I adjusted it. It causes a clutter sound inside the throttle when moving it into it's min and max positions, which I've had flip the throttle on its back because of the force needed (not a huge issue since it comes with suction cups and mounting holes for screws, which I'm not currently using). My last gripe is with the handle adjustment, which allows you to adjust the handle guard on the stick to accommodate different hand widths. This mechanism was so clunky and badly designed that I felt as if I was doing something wrong by attempting to adjust it.
    I'm impressed by the lights, and it really helps with the immersion and gameplay having this beast light up the room around you. I would like to have seen a power button for entire setup, since the lights can be both impressive and distracting if they are left hooked up to the computer while not in use.
    Overall I gave this setup a 4 out of 5 stars because it is still an impressive peripheral, considering the price, but also because of the defects and bad design of certain "non essential" components.
    I would recommend with a grain on salt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid control, software needs updating.

  • By ron from Reno NV USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: price, built solidly
  • Cons: progrmming software and manuals
  • Review: I think it is a good system, but for a beginner as for myself a little overwhelming.  I bought it for Star Citizen and my first PC flight game. I think the programming guides could be written a little more clearer, there are some third party ones on web done better for us newbies, and software needs to be updated so more friendlier for windows v8.0. I actually found an html output that was written by someone else and used it, would have been nice if the programming software could out put an html file, or just a seed file came with it. So not real sure if it was the compatibility of the game to x52 pro and drivers or what but, seems solidly built and no problems mechanically with the controls. Worked good with Microsoft flight sim.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Do like the controls

  • By Steve from Bucyrus OH USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Pros: Looks and feels great, Smooth action allong the axis when flying.
  • Cons: The software for it is confusing. the website for Saitez is not much help
  • Review: The controls themselves seem to work ok. The software for them is kin of is lacking at best. The website for support is not that great either.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid controls, sensitive and repeatable

  • By A Customer from Tucson AZ USA on Saturday, April 18, 2015
  • Pros: Good feel, lots of buttons
  • Cons: Very sensitive to electrostatic discharge
  • Review: Good solid control system. I use on Elite Dangerous where the mode button controls are not supported.

    The only issue I have had is the trigger buttons are a direct to short circuit for static sparks. A spark completely resets the profiles. I have fried at least one of the USB ports on the computer. I have had to keep a water spray bottle near the computer to knock down static.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dan from Singapore on Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • Review: The product is amazingly configurable and responsive .... when it works. About two months after I bought it, the female end of the connector mounted in the joystick started to short out with every slight tremor of the cable inserted into it from the throttle. I have emailed Saitek and MadCatz support twice with no response. Don't expect support from Saitek.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Need of Improvement

  • By Derrick from Chehalis WA USA on Friday, April 28, 2017
  • Pros: Programmable buttons and switches at fingertips
  • Cons: Weak Centering Spring Design
  • Review: I bought a new joystick because my old X45 wouldn't center. However, the new one seems to have a soft spring design and so it tends to have a slight bit of play in the center; therefore, I have to unplug it when not in use because it interferes with other games. I bought another Saitek vs. a yoke due to the versatility of all the programmable buttons on the flight sticks, but I think Saitek needs to re-engineer the spring tension design from scratch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A little too much flash and not enough performance

  • By A Customer from MN USA on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Pros: Very stylish, all-in-one, tons of control surfaces.
  • Cons: Loose spring and really tight thrust detents, Our model came with multiple broken bits.
  • Review: First, take this review with a grain of salt because mine is being returned to the manufacturer because of some faulty bits.

    Overall, my feelings from the little experience I got with it:

    Very stylish, throttle feels good, although I think the detent at the top and bottom feels a bit hard to push over. SOME of it feels very durable and well put together, but other parts are flimsyish plastic. Spring is SUPER loose, and I saw somewhere that it supposedly had a way to tighten the spring built in, but no. So loose spring is a part of life. However, what caused the RMA was a useless twist lock (I still got about 45% of play in the twist with the lock enabled) and a faulty mode select dial on the stick (loose, had no clicks in between and has an odd wobble)

    Overall, I wanted to give Saitek another chance after my old stick years ago, but now I wish I had gone with CH products.

    Biggest insult - after dropping the cash for this product, I then had to pay for the shipping to Saitek to get this RMAd (and they make sure we understand that the RMA may not be honored and they may send us the same unit back as it is, they might repair it, and they might replace it.

    We'll see in a few weeks if the stick is all I hope it is (when I hopefully get it back)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Thomas from Salt Lake City UT USA on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
  • Pros: Good Quality
  • Cons: Not the best for X plane and Mac's
  • Review: I thought did a lot of research on this product for use on my system (MAC) and knew that several functions were not compatible with MAC and X plane but purchased it.
    After using it awhile I wish there were a few more switches as opposed to wheels and buttons. Quality is great but I should have done more research. Not the best for Mac and X plane.
    Saitek makes great products that's why I bought this but they need to become fully MAC compatible and X plane compatible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Too much whiz and not enough bang"

  • By Juan from Miami Fl USA on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Review: I purchased this product and only works for Windows, I also have a Mac (Big one) and is not compatible with X-Plane, I am a looser
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.