TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek X52 Pro Flight Control System

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Well Made

  • By deals47 from Charlotte NC USA on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  • Pros: sturdy, good quality, good feel, lots of programmable switches and buttons
  • Cons: Does not "officially" support the Mac/x-plane platform
  • Review: I really liked this joystick/throttle combination. It has a very good feel and good functionality. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that it does not support the Mac/X-plane platform that I use. Fortunately, there are plug-ins available created by gamers that allow this product to be used with my platform and give it a pretty good amount of its designed functionality. It would really be great if Saitek would officially provide that support.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent construction, and great feel

  • By Milton from Van Horn TX USA on Tuesday, April 06, 2010
  • Pros: Well built and sturdy, Great feel.
  • Cons: MFD dispay issues
  • Review: I bought the Saitek X52 Pro primarily for use with Flight Sim X, but wanted the extra features in case I got involved with another simulator ( I use to love F117 Stealth Fighter ). I'm very pleased with the construction and feel of this set, and love the fact that they stay in place during use. The only problem I have encountered to date is the MFD (Multi-function display) on the throttle stick. It worked when first installed and hasn't since. I am inclined to think that it may be due to my keyboard (Logitech G15). It too has an MFD. I don't see any conflicts listed but haven't really taken the time to fully trouble shoot it yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Small problem since last review

  • By Gary from Elkhart on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: None really, just needs a little lube on metal shaft from the factory
  • Review:

    I just gave this stick a review in Jan 2014, not more than a week ago. My X-52 Pro developed a small problem. I felt that I needed to share this problem with other X-52 Pro owners.

    My stick suddenly began to " bind up " a little when doing a right bank in my flight Sim, the motion was not smooth anymore. Needless to say I was a little upset after spending over 150 bucks for it and I have only had it a couple of months and just gave it a good review.

    After a little investigating I discovered that the problem was the large washer under the spring rubbing against the shaft of the joystick. Two tiny drops of machine oil took care of that.. Its working very smooth now again. I chose to try to solve the problem my self rather than go through the hassel of sending in back and it paid off. Saitec should be doing this at the factory. Metal to metal is never a good idea without lubracation with moving parts.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Bit Pricey.. But good quality..

  • By Gary from Elkhart IN USA on Saturday, January 18, 2014
  • Pros: Quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Nothing in life is perfect in my opinion.. If you're in the market for a good joystick, go ahead and spend the extra money if you have it and get the X-52 Pro. I have had it for a few months now and so far no complaints. I am not too fond of the PS-2 plugs that tie the throttle and the Stick together, but so far so good,.. no problems. The X-52 Pro is not the average joystick, its way above average in the quality department. Don't be afraid to purchase this one, its worth the money. I have 3 friends that recommended this one. I am glad I took their advise.

    Thanks My Pilot Store...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Thomas from Dawson NE USA on Monday, August 24, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Not enough buttons.
  • Review: I really like this. In fact it's my second one. Wore the first one out. Centers perfect, it's sensitive without being to sensitive, works well for both fs9 and fsx, plus various combat simulators. Very happy camper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Saitek X52 Pro

  • By A Customer from Austin TX USA on Monday, February 27, 2017
  • Pros: Looks far better than regular X52
  • Cons: Wont work on PS3
  • Review: Works great on PC but sadly not on PS3. Don't own a PS4 so I cannot say if I works on that system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A Must Have

  • By John from Staten Island NY USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Great looks, great handling
  • Cons: buttons on LCD not programmable
  • Review: This HOTAS setup is really great. I felt all the buttons were in the right place. I like the fact you can program them anyway you want plus change the colors of the LEDs individually. I us it to play Elite Dangerous. and every control is on the joystick and throttle. I really bang it around a lot and it seems to be putting up with the abuse.
    I do wish the buttons on the LCD screen were programmable.  Also every now and then the joystick needs a shot of WD40
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So you want to be a fighter pilot

  • By Al from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
  • Pros: well made, easy to use, hard to break!
  • Cons: The cost.
  • Review: I really like this set. I only gave it a 4 star because of the cost. It is easy to program and use. It is very rugged. For me that is a must.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great setup for the money, has flaws

  • By Ryan from Chelmsford MA USA on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
  • Pros: Lights, size, feel
  • Cons: Broken controls and adjustments
  • Review: This stick blew me away, but there were some issues. I was really impressed with the size and detail and feel of this stick. I was let down as I got to play around with it more because of certain things that felt "broken". For one, the "mode selector" switch was easily able to rotate past it's intended positions. I could tell right away that this was not supposed to be like that, but I don't use the switch, so I wasn't going to go out of my way to go through the return process. Another thing that didn't work quite as intended is the stick rotation lock, once you pull out the lock you shouldn't be able to rotate the stick, but with little effort my stick rotates and feels as if something is about to give when I do so. Another issue was with the throttle resistance adjustment, really I couldn't feel it doing anything as I adjusted it. It causes a clutter sound inside the throttle when moving it into it's min and max positions, which I've had flip the throttle on its back because of the force needed (not a huge issue since it comes with suction cups and mounting holes for screws, which I'm not currently using). My last gripe is with the handle adjustment, which allows you to adjust the handle guard on the stick to accommodate different hand widths. This mechanism was so clunky and badly designed that I felt as if I was doing something wrong by attempting to adjust it.
    I'm impressed by the lights, and it really helps with the immersion and gameplay having this beast light up the room around you. I would like to have seen a power button for entire setup, since the lights can be both impressive and distracting if they are left hooked up to the computer while not in use.
    Overall I gave this setup a 4 out of 5 stars because it is still an impressive peripheral, considering the price, but also because of the defects and bad design of certain "non essential" components.
    I would recommend with a grain on salt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid control, software needs updating.

  • By ron from Reno NV USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: price, built solidly
  • Cons: progrmming software and manuals
  • Review: I think it is a good system, but for a beginner as for myself a little overwhelming.  I bought it for Star Citizen and my first PC flight game. I think the programming guides could be written a little more clearer, there are some third party ones on web done better for us newbies, and software needs to be updated so more friendlier for windows v8.0. I actually found an html output that was written by someone else and used it, would have been nice if the programming software could out put an html file, or just a seed file came with it. So not real sure if it was the compatibility of the game to x52 pro and drivers or what but, seems solidly built and no problems mechanically with the controls. Worked good with Microsoft flight sim.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Do like the controls

  • By Steve from Bucyrus OH USA on Monday, July 13, 2015
  • Pros: Looks and feels great, Smooth action allong the axis when flying.
  • Cons: The software for it is confusing. the website for Saitez is not much help
  • Review: The controls themselves seem to work ok. The software for them is kin of is lacking at best. The website for support is not that great either.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid controls, sensitive and repeatable

  • By A Customer from Tucson AZ USA on Saturday, April 18, 2015
  • Pros: Good feel, lots of buttons
  • Cons: Very sensitive to electrostatic discharge
  • Review: Good solid control system. I use on Elite Dangerous where the mode button controls are not supported.

    The only issue I have had is the trigger buttons are a direct to short circuit for static sparks. A spark completely resets the profiles. I have fried at least one of the USB ports on the computer. I have had to keep a water spray bottle near the computer to knock down static.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.