TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek X52 Pro Flight Control System

Sort By:
Filter By:

10 Years of Hard Use

  • By cg2020cg from New Smyrna Beach, FL on Thursday, May 26, 2016
  • Pros: Don't need calibrated but once per year & that only takes me 5 minutes
  • Cons: Some lights out after 10,000 hours and 10 years and some buttons don't function and lights don't light anymore
  • Review: I have had the X52's for nearly 10 years. It's definitely time to replace, but I will simply buy the "Pro's" again. These things have been used and abused daily since 2007 with nearly 10,000 hours of flying including kids and grand-kids slamming them around. The un-useable buttons and missing pieces are from several residential moves and improper care during those moves. Nothing has worked for me better with so much use and still useable for all necessary functions. When something breaks-down like a switch or light,I simply program another to do the same job! They are fully functional even so.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Brings Elite Dangerous in VR to the next level

  • By K8 from Downingtown PA USA on Tuesday, March 21, 2017
  • Pros: Matches in game stick in Elite Dangerous
  • Cons: Wired. :(
  • Review: I bought this stick to use for elite dangerous in virtual reality. The in-game flight stick is modeled after the Saitek x52 Pro. It adds that extra level of immersion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't get shocked

  • By N3254F from Bloomingdale, IL on Monday, April 06, 2009
  • Pros: It's great for lights-out "night flying"
  • Cons: It doesn't have the "Force Feedback" that the Microsoft Sidewinder and others have.
  • Review: I was skeptical of spending the original investment for this flight system, but after many hours "in flight", I found the X-52 to be a great addition to my simulator. However, one MUST note, this is the FIRST Joy Stick I have ever owned that was susceptable to static discharges. I now own an X-52 that has been rendered unsuable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth every penny

  • By Tony M. from Bozeman MT USA on Wednesday, October 14, 2020
  • Pros: Smooth movements. Lots of customization.Great feel and responsiveness.
  • Cons: Pricey.
  • Review: The X52 is everything it says it is and more. I don't see it written very much about how this HOTAS system "feels". The absolute smoothness of the joystick and the buttery soft movement of the thruster changed the way I play flight simulators. It made my old(but excellent) MS Sidewinder feel like I had been flying with "stone knives and bearskins". I really enjoy all the customizations available thru the control software and it makes switching ships in ED a lot easier when changing from mining to combat. I'm really glad I decided to go with this model.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

X52 Pro Worth The Extra Green

  • By Rick from Winfield KS USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: All listed in my review
  • Cons: Saitek Software
  • Review: I had a Plain Saitek X52 years ago and one of the Hall Effect Sensors would Intermittently Fail and the stick would not center in roll otherwise it was a good stick.

    The X52 Pro is listed as having twice the sensors and I believe it is true as I have never had the precision that it delivers to my flying. I have had an original CH yoke and I now use the CH Eclipse and CH rudder pedals in my main sim setup in my basement and even though they are great yokes, I can fly more precise with the X52 Pro. The dual spring design is also a plus in the twist ( rudder ) part of the Pro. It returns to center better than I ever remember my old X52 did. The Metal parts of this stick and throttle gives a overall better impression of quality to the Pro version.

    The configurable led backlighting when looking at the settings from the device and printers area of win 7 is pretty awesome and there are a considerable number of back lighted switches and knobs on the pro system that really makes it stand out from other devices on the market. I can not testify to the longevity since I have only had this setup on my bedroom simulator setup for a couple of months now. I setup a Digital Storm Vanquish level 4 machine in my bedroom due to arthritis in my knees at age 56 makes it difficult to make the trip up and down the basements stairs to the old i7 950 oc'ed to 3.85 Ghz and a pair of GTX 570's for multi monitor ops. The new Haswell i5 4670k oc'ed to 4.2 Ghz and the Asus GTX 770 really kick butt on the new bedroom setup! Oh by the way, I have never used the Saitek Driver or sst programming software as to it being a pain in the posterior from past experience. Win 7 by itself does a great job of configuring the X52 Pro system as soon as you plug it into a usb port. No need to fret over their software unless you like spending a lot of time trying to get it all to work. All in all I have found the X52 Pro to be well worth the money!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than the standard X52 joystick.

  • By A Customer from Foster City CA USA on Wednesday, January 08, 2014
  • Pros: Smooth action, metal appointments, accurate, price.
  • Cons: Might could use a longer USB cord, I use an extension.
  • Review: The X52 pro has a more substantial feel than the standard version with better metal buttons and toggles and a very smooth feel. The X52 standard felt flimsy and cheep by comparison. The programming software, available for download, is keystroke based for software that doesn't recognize the joystick as a separate device. I'm very happy I chose this joystick as Ive broken many joysticks in the past and I think this one will last well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the price

  • By A Customer from Spring Hill FL USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: Plug and Play without playing with windows
  • Cons: Included driver outdated but was able to get an updated one from company website.
  • Review: I purchased this back when it was only 150$. I see the price has jumped a bit, but I would still pay the current price. Works great for Star citizen and a few older flight sims I use. Programmable buttons and profiles are a snap to setup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

WOW!!!

  • By Don from Goldendale WA USA on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
  • Pros: Mega adjustible
  • Cons: Can be a bit touchy so be careful
  • Review: Saitek's combat stick is a vast upgrade to those I had used before. Remember the old MS Sidewinder of years ago? Saitek did themselves, and some of us as armchair pilots, good with the addition to their lineup of the combat stick.

    With lots of adjustible features, I'm still in that phase of getting mine set up properly.

    I use mine for DCS P51-D, DCS A10-C, and some of the planes within FSX. This combat stick works well within each game.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hard to beat.

  • By A Customer from Vernal UT USA on Monday, December 09, 2013
  • Review: Moving up to an x52 from a Cyborg Evo was everything I had hoped for. Control precision is excellent and travel is smooth. The software is flexible enough to cover every game I need it for.

    Two small gripes -
    1) Both bases could use some weight to hold them down. Shouldn't be too hard to fix.

    2) The provided suction cups don't work on my desk surface. They do work great on non-textured surfaces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great HOTAS!

  • By A Customer from Bend OR USA on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
  • Pros: Great motion and accuracy
  • Cons: Location of PS2 cable that plugs into the throttle
  • Review: Have used the stick in Elite Dangerous for a little, but compared to my previous stick the movement is very smooth and accurate. The throttle has a great smooth motion and the buttons are very nicely placed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Wajdi from Spain on Sunday, December 28, 2014
  • Review: Highly recommended joystick and throttle. Quality wise, just excellent. After 4 months of on and off use, no slackness or fatigue yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Hotas

  • By Christopher from Adairsville GA USA on Monday, February 16, 2015
  • Pros: Control
  • Cons: some buttons losing paint
  • Review: The only problem with this stick is that, a couple of the buttons are losing the paint already, but it doesn't effect how it works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

impressed

  • By scott from Napoleon OH USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2020
  • Pros: great works better then the others iv hade
  • Cons: price is a little high but there all close in price
  • Review: 5 stars
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this combo so much I am purchasing it again

  • By JOSEPH POTCH from Northern California on Saturday, February 27, 2021
  • Pros: Everything for me is a pro
  • Cons: Just wished the button and switches lasted another 10 years.
  • Review: I just ordered the new x52 pro flight system and am looking forward to the freedom of flying at home again.
    Due to an injury I was not able to fly for a while. As it was the old combo just wore out.
    Some of the switches just stopped working and the throttle was sticking. The joystick though, still worked like new. I wound up taking it apart and seeing what it was made of and I was really impressed with the construction and the maze of wires. No pinched wires though. I hope the new one is as good as my first.
    I have read many reviews and honestly I have never had any of the problems some people have mentioned. I may have been lucky or due to taking time to program and setup the system may have made a difference. i am not sure but I am hoping I am as fortunate with the new system and before. I will update this if I run across any notable situations, but don't expect any. After this I am finally going to get the pedals that will complete the flight sims realism.
    BTW, i fly XPLANE, Microsoft Flight Sim, and my long time favorite IL2 with the new BAT modifications.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.