TOP

Reviews for Clarity Aloft Stereo Aviation Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Absolutely the best choice, even better customized

  • By Tony - Future Mooney Guy from Wytheville VA USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Superior fit and comfort coupled with great noise suppression
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was in the market for a headset that was comfortable to wear, effective at reducing cabin noise and clearly audible. I'm a professional musician/engineer and I need to protect my hearing while flying so noise reduction is very important to me. Being a new pilot, hearing ATC clearly really helps during take-off and landing. And just as important, I needed something I can wear for hours on end during cross-country travel.

    The Clarity Aloft Aviation Headset was perfect for me because it fulfills my requirements extremely well. The lightweight headband fits so comfortably over my ears and back around my head that it's barely noticeable. I wear my sunglasses over it without any problems. The D&C's I wore before caused me headaches and nausea from excessive pressure; these don't.

    The foam tips for the in-ear buds work very well, much like professional in-ear monitors for musicians. That gave me the idea to try replacing the foam tips with the triple-flange earbud tips I use with my music monitoring system. Perfect fit, excellent noise reduction (25db-30db), super cheap, easy to clean and durable! The foam tips worked fine too, just personal preference.

    The output is very clear and loud, and it's compatible with mono and stereo audio panels. The switch to adjust mono/stereo compatibility is on the outside of the volume control box so it's very easy to use (unlike Bose). BTW, I usually have to turn down my headset volume to about 60% compared to my instructor's Bose headset. The noise isolation and output of the earbuds make it very easy to hear ATC and others.

    The boom arm is very small in diameter, yet very effective in positioning the mic. The mic is clear sounding and rejects unwanted noise quite well.

    The headset comes in a sturdy, semi-rigid, zippered case and along with several pair of foam earbud tips in various sizes. If you've never used foam tipped earbuds, this may take some getting used to, but it's beats wearing a heavy headset. I'll never go back. The triple flange tips I use can be found easily on eBay for a couple bucks.

    Before purchasing this headset, I was planning on buying the latest Bose A20. I am sure glad I didn't. The Clarity Aloft Stereo Aviation Headset performs better, is far less intrusive to wear, and half the price. I'll be buying a second set for my passenger.

    Only one note of caution: these earbuds are very efficient and provide great sound isolation, so turn down the volume BEFORE you turn on the radio or you'll get blasted like I did the first time I used them.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Different and Better

  • By Bill Custer from Atwater CA USA on Friday, March 29, 2013
  • Pros: Light, Quiet, comfortable, great mid
  • Cons: appears fragile. You'll be different!
  • Review: I'm not sure why I accepted the "status quo" of the giant clam shells on my head to fly! I love this lightweight headset and its simple effectiveness. My Mother used to say "an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure" and that's exactly what my Clarity Aloft headset does, it prevents the cockpit noise from getting in so it Doesn't need to be cancelled!

    Once I started flying over 100 hours per month instructing I had to do something different. I was literally starting to get peeling skin and callouses on my ears. This headset is so comfortable and so light I can't even tell I'm wearing it after about 5 minutes. I have actually worn this headset as much as 9.7 hours in a day.

    I was concerned about it'd durability but it's a lot sturdier than I imagined. People said I'd spend a lot on replacing the ear-buds but even though it comes with several replacements, I haven't changed the originals yet and I've had it about 6 weeks.

    One thing that I didn't expect was how clearly others can hear me. The microphone is really effective at noise cancelling and picking up my voice.

    As you can tell, I love my new headset. Give one a try, you've got nothing to lose as this place is great about refunds if something isn't what you expected. (I hope it's ok for me to say that)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 14 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not want to use others

  • By JAVIER from Telde Las Palmas Spain on Saturday, June 14, 2014
  • Pros: COMFORTABLE
  • Cons: PRICE, FRAGILE.
  • Review: Especially if you wear glasses, or you fly many hours. This is your headset
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I LIKE IT

  • By LARRY from Buda TX USA on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
  • Pros: LIGHT WEIGHT NON-SQUEEZING.
  • Cons: NOT AS NOISE REDUCING AS ANR.
  • Review: BOUGHT FOR USE IN A VAN'S RV7A, WHICH IS A NOISY COCKPIT, BY A PASSENGER BECAUSE ALL OTHER HEADSETS "SQUEEZED TOO TIGHT" AND "WEIGHED TOO HEAVILY" ON THE HEAD. THIS HEADSET ALEVIATED BOTH PROBLEMS NICELY AND STILL PROVIDES GOOD NOISE REDUCTION AND COMMUNICATIONS.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better Than Noise Cancelling

  • By Layne from Carmel CA USA on Saturday, June 25, 2016
  • Pros: Quieter than noise cancelling; zero clamping pressure; stereo/mono capable; aux jack for iPod/iPhone, etc.; volume control
  • Cons: not adjustable to size ... one size fits all?
  • Review: This is the 2nd pair of Clarity aloft I have bought for myself. 3rd, if you count the pair I bought as a gift for a friend. I have worn these in my Christen Eagle I, and they beat a $1000.00 pair of noise cancelling headset hands down, and they stayed on through heavy aerobatics! Plus they have zero clamping pressure, so a 3 day flight in a Cessna 195 from Salinas to Virginia Beach was a piece of cake. Happy ears, no headache even after 3 hours of continuous use! I like the non TSO'd version best, but have used both, and both are awesome!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Sound

  • By Jeremy from Lansing MI USA on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
  • Review: I have logged about 20 hours with this headset and have been surprisingly happy. It's nice in the cold temperatures to still be able to wear a stocking cap and not have the headset interfere. The only downside is the earbuds are a little difficult to mold when it's 0 degrees outside.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'm not a sweaty mess

  • By A Customer from Sioux Falls SD USA on Monday, June 24, 2013
  • Review: Great product. I could hear well, better noise reduction and I didn't turn into a sweaty mess like the earmuff headphones made me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must have for every pilot

  • By Stephen from Middletown NY USA on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Pros: Light, super noise reduction, comfortable, no ear sweat.
  • Cons: Have not found any.
  • Review: Love it. Much lighter, no ear sweat. Great noise reduction without spending over $1,000.00. Now I have to upgrade the other 3 headset to stop the fighting over mine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Light as a fairy and just as magical.

  • By Robert from Santa Monica CA USA on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
  • Pros: Stronger than they look... and they look pretty fragile.
  • Cons: Should come with a cable clip - In fact, the cable itself could be a little longer: nitpicking here.
  • Review: These were great to fly with. The frame is sturdy and hold the mic in place well. I didn't get any irritation from the ear hooks as some have reported, it's like a pair of sunglasses I think.

    The standard earbuds fit well and take a little getting used to - but within minutes they felt fine.

    Audio is very clear - passive noise canceling is better than I thought it would be too.

    Packing them away, putting them on and generally handling them is a little fidgety - I was used to having some solid headset to gab a hold of; these can feel like you're untangling fishing line or something.

    Basically, they're like the planes themselves - Clumsy on the ground, but a dream in the air!

    Would and have recommended to others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Will never go Back!!

  • By Carlos in OHIO from Canton, OH on Saturday, October 20, 2012
  • Pros: Everything
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Sell your knives because this headset is better than sliced bread. Absolutely no pain from headset clamp. Audio quality is very good and mic picks up well.

    It DOES work with glasses/sunglasses. Works better with a hood than traditional heaset for IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's perfect

  • By Harry Huang from Savannah GA USA on Friday, November 07, 2014
  • Pros: Light comfortable clarity
  • Cons: Non
  • Review: This headset is what I wanted. It's light and comfortable. It reduces noise obviously and keeps the voice clarity. I like it and recommend it to my colleagues.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Custom earpieces are a great addition

  • By jdelmar from Minneapolis, MN on Tuesday, March 06, 2012
  • Review: I have used a Clarity Aloft headset with pilotstuff custom earpieces for about 2 years and I love the combination. Very comfortable, very good noise attenuation, leave one in pop the other out for ground conversation. Pop in and out easily.

    The only problem with the custom earpieces is that you can plug up the canal with earwax. Sounds a little icky but it's really not. Its pretty easy to clean them and if you just keep your ears clean it doesn't happen at all.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ANR Unnecessary

  • By Zack from West Bloomfield MI USA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable, light
  • Cons: Inconvenient volume control position
  • Review: I was initially concerned that without ANR it would not match the performance of my Bose A20, but, provided you follow the instructions on inserting the earbuds, it is not a problem. The is the only headset I will wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Makes 6 to 8 leg days less fatiguing

  • By Thomas from Greenfield IN USA on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
  • Pros: Everything about this headset is superior.
  • Cons: No complaints.
  • Review: I love this headset! Makes the 6 to 8 leg days out of ORD more bearable. The company clamps gave me headaches, make me sweat, and get the headset head. All of that is gone with the Clarity Aloft.

    Also cuts most of the noise from the loud cockpit we have.  I should have ordered them sooner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will probably never go back to traditional headsets again.

  • By Andrew from Houston TX USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Sound is crystal clear. Headset is light as a feather.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Plain and simple, this headset works, and it works well. It's light and more importantly the sound is crystal clear. One of the advantages of this style over traditional headsets is the absence of the around-the-ear seal. No matter how fancy or expensive a headset is (Bose A20, Zulu Lightspeed), as soon as you slip on a pair of sunglasses or a ballcap you break the sound seal around the ear and drastically reduce the sound dampening capability of that headset. As far as I know there is no way around this. This headset eliminates that problem entirely. Acting like a stethoscope, you can wear sunglasses, ballcap, Pope hat, whatever. Plus as a minor bonus you won't suffer "headset hair" anymore. I give the Clarity Aloft two thumbs up. In fact after only two weeks of using it I'm going to splurge and get the custom molded ear plugs to use with it. This is from a professional helicopter pilot, ie. extra noisy cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simply Awesome

  • By A Customer from APO AE on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: lightweight, comfortable, quiet, MP3 jack
  • Cons: There is a lot of cord, a coiled cord would probably be better and cut down on clutter. The control box could be moved further away from the plugs - it frequently gets stuck between the seat and side of the cockpit
  • Review: I'm currently flying a King Air and bought this headset to replace my DC's. After 6hr+ missions the DCs were giving me bad headaches and were just heavy/uncomfortable. Several other pilots I fly with use the CAs and highly rec'd them. I can honestly say these have revolutionized my time in the cockpit. No more headaches, sweaty ears, ect. I had to slightly bend the headpiece to get the right fit, but other than that they were good to go out of the box. The foam plugs work great, though I've invested in some custom ear plugs (have not flown with them yet). Buy 'em!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love this headset

  • By William from Elkhart IN USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
  • Review: I enjoy this headset soo much. They are just as good as my Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent X-Country headset

  • By Eric from IN USA on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
  • Pros: Comfort, sound quality
  • Cons: You may need to try several different size tips to get the best noise attenuation
  • Review: This is my second set of this headset, after becoming tired of fighting over who was going to get to wear them on each flight. They are so comfortable to wear, and the lack of clamping force along with the excellent noise reduction results in being much less tired after a long trip.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Light and compfy!

  • By Craig from Lititz PA USA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • Review: Absolutely love everything about them!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Nice! Highly recommended.

  • By Trevor from Golden CO USA on Wednesday, September 07, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight, great sound
  • Cons:
  • Review: I've only been able to use them a few times but these are extremely comfortable. They take a little playing with to understand how they fit but once they're on you forget they're on! Great sounds, no need for ANR with these. The only "other" I'd have is to have the in-line volume switch a little further away from the plug. I'm sure it's plane specific, but in my plane the jacks are just a little out of reach so adjusting the volume isn't quite as easy as it could be. Not bad for the only "other". I highly recommend them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Jeffery from Iraan TX USA on Thursday, October 27, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable, Quite, Input on Volume control for Cell Phone
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: I purchased the Clarity Aloft Headset to try and get away from the old head clamp.  I fly a 1948 Cessna 170, so I wanted a headset that was comfortable and would provide some noise suppression. I work in high noise area and am accustomed to the soft foam hearing suppression devices, and was hoping that the soft inserts on the earpiece would be the same.

    I was pleasantly suprised, comfortable and quite.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pleased!

  • By Dan from Frisco CO USA on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
  • Pros: fit, comfort, audio quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Bought this for use in our Global Express. Initially concerned about using an "in the ear" headset versus a Telex Airman 850 which I used for years. I was pleasantly surprised by the fit and feel (comfortable and non-intrusive), and the headset seems perfectly compatible with the aircraft audio system. Excellent audio quality on both receive and transmit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the more expensive active NR Headsets

  • By Kenny from Reston VA USA on Wednesday, August 08, 2012
  • Pros: Great audio, no weight, does not impinge on sunglasses
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is the most comfortable headset I have worn. First used on a trip from Virginia to Florida - it felt like I was not wearing a headset and it truly provides remarkable audio clarity - also plugged my ipod into the jack and the music sounds great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I needed

  • By Gary from Amarillo TX USA on Friday, October 02, 2009
  • Pros: Light, crystal clear
  • Cons: The ipod attachment works well but doesn't shut off when theres radio traffic.
  • Review: I'm a student pilot but I'm 47 yrs old. Over the years my hearing has gotten worse in the fact that I can't distinguish voice from other noise sometimes. Wearing several different types of headsets, even Bose, didn't seem to help. I could hear the tower speaking and get most of it but many times I'd lose key words that dropped into the background noise. I was always looking at the instructor and shrugging my shoulders telling him I didn't hear what they said. As soon as I put these Clarity Aloft into my ears I immediately heard everything being said and it was crystal clear. I may not understand what they mean sometimes but I at least hear it. It's made a huge difference for me .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product performance

  • By Larry from Salisbury NC USA on Saturday, May 28, 2011
  • Pros: Excellent noise reduction and sound clarity performance and very comfortable to wear.
  • Cons: Seems a little delicate but not problem so far.
  • Review: The Clarity Aloft Stereo Aviation Headset is the best headset I have used in the high noise environment of a Pitts Special S2B. Exceeds the performance of the David Clark H10-13.4 and far exceeds the performance of Lightspeed Zulu. Very comfortable to wear as you just forget you have it on. Would purchase again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Why did I buy a DC initially? Maybe it was the draw of the mint green color

  • By Speedbird320 from Champaign IL USA on Wednesday, April 06, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight, Very good in C-172, Archer, Arrow etc
  • Cons: Must buy new ear canal tips once every 6 months, Might need a little bit of adjustment to begin with.
  • Review: I was in the market for a new headset when I could no longer stand the clampdown force of my DCs. My budget included the Bose ANRs as well. But I am glad I bought the clarity aloft.

    First thing one wonders is whether it is safe to use this headset in single/multi engine prop planes such as the Archer, 172, Seminole etc. YES IT PERFECTLY SAFE TO DO SO AND IT WORKS JUST AS GOOD AS A DAVID CLARK HEADSET, perhaps even better.

    Secondly, it is an incredibly lightweight headset. You don't feel it being there.

    Be aware, that out of the box, the headset might not fight you perfectly, there is a number you must call to have the headset adjusted, it is a small price one pays, I guess patience is a virtue. Luckily, I did not need the headset to be adjusted.

    Lastly, it doesn't mess with your hair. You can also wear whatever sort of sunglasses etc you couldn't wear due to a clamping headset, it is non intrusive in this case.

    If you're a CFI or student pilot, this headset is an amazing investment and works great in the loudest of sounding airplanes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset

  • By Mo the student pilot from Daytona Beach FL USA on Monday, June 19, 2017
  • Pros: Clear voice, noise reduction, comfortable, lets your ear breathe and cool down in summer, volume control
  • Cons: Non so far
  • Review: So clear. Easy to wear, so comfortable. No pain in your outer ear due to wearing huge suction cups. No huge handle bar on top of your head that bumps to the ceiling. Easy to wear with glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, February 06, 2017
  • Review: I got this headset for my wife since she didn't like wearing a clamp style headset during flights. Verdict - she loves them! I tried them and was amazed at how well they attenuate sound and the clarity of radio communications. Now I need to this headset for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Half the price and even better

  • By Phil from Los Gatos CA USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: Light, quiet, can where glasses
  • Cons: None that I have found
  • Review: This my second Clarity Aloft headset (this one was for my wife). It is just as quiet as an ANR but so much lighter. Your head doesn't sweat and you can where glasses without any issues.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding

  • By Joe from Scottsdale AZ USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: QUIET, LIGHT WEIGHT, COMFORTABLE
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: I am a commercial airline pilot. I have used different ANR headsets, but nothing comes close to the Clarity Aloft. It is so quiet that it takes a little while to get used to the lack of noise. The ear plugs are soft, my ears never get tired of them, and it is so much more comfortable than having a big headset clamped to your cranium. The Clarity Aloft is outstanding!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent - will be buying a second pair

  • By Shannon from Bayport MN USA on Thursday, December 02, 2010
  • Pros: lightweight, works as billed
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very nice. Will be buying a second pair for my wife.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality product- worth every penny

  • By George from Rancho Mirage CA USA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
  • Pros: Expensive, but worth it. Excellent product.
  • Cons: Microphone arm can be broken off if you aren't gentle.
  • Review: Lightweight, comfortable, eliminates essentially all background noise, sound quality excellent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty great

  • By A Customer from Valdez AK USA on Thursday, June 10, 2010
  • Pros: Quieter than any ANR headset I've used, and much more comfortable
  • Cons: Takes a moment to put in correctly
  • Review: Fantastic product, quiet as a set of earplugs, and it muffles a broader range of frequencies than expected. Much easier to hear the radio than the $1000 ANR headsets I trained with, it's a relief to no longer be concerned about running out of batteries mid-flight, and I no longer feel obliged to trim my sideburns just to get a seal. It takes me a dedicated 30sec to put the plugs in correctly, but the comfort and clarity makes it time well spent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK so we are convinced - we are keeping it

  • By Gerald from Sunnyvale CA USA on Monday, June 07, 2010
  • Pros: 7 hours with no complaints from the passengers about headset rash. Sound excellent on mike thru intercomm
  • Cons: shoulder straps of BAS seatbelts rub agains the back headband
  • Review: We bought the headset for a long trip (14 hours round trip). My wife wanted to try them out and your return policy made that possible with no real risk. I bought the expensive Bose based on her insistence. However, at 1/2 the price, she is much happier wearing the Clarity Aloft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exacltly what I neded

  • By Franco from Tagliolo Monferrato AL Italy on Monday, September 20, 2010
  • Review: Light, precise and really easy to use,much better of all my previous headset. Price is high but product is high standard too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definite Buy

  • By A Customer from Bluffton SC USA on Sunday, January 24, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Met my expectations. I was referred this product from a fellow employee and love it. Light weight, very clear on the sound!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

  • By Gary from Youngstown OH USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Lightweight, comfortable, quiet. I think I can hear a bit clearer on them than my Zulus also.
  • Cons: None Yet.
  • Review: I initially outfitted my Saratoga with Lightspeed Zulu headsets. I have been reading about the Clarity Alofts and wanted to try them, but figured they were only for quieter turbine aircraft. When I read a review that someone had tried them in a piston single, I gave it a whirl. I love them, with no reservations. Can't tell if they are as quiet as the Zulus, and I'm not putting the Zulus back on to find out. Thought having something in my ear might be an issue, but it isn't. If you have any worries that they seem too good to be true, don't worry. I think they are a great product. I've read some other reviewers concerns, but I have none of those myself........at least not yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solved my hearing problem.

  • By Raymond from Riverside CA USA on Monday, March 30, 2009
  • Pros: Noise blocking
  • Cons: Cost
  • Review: I had a hearing problem in the airplane. I went so far to visit several hearing aid retailers trying to fix my problem. My hearing response starts to roll off at mid frequencies making it hard for me to hear in high noise environments such as a crowded resturant or a cockpit. It turns out that the noise was overwhelming the signal. When I bought the Clarity Aloft headset it solved my problem. The CA headset blocks the noise and allows me to hear and understand the radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly Recommended

  • By CK from Carol Stream IL USA on Monday, January 31, 2011
  • Pros: Comfort - light weight, Sound Quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: Skeptical at first, however this soon diminished with first actual use. Headset was so comfortable, I soon didn't even know I was wearing it. Works extremely well with glasses.

    I suggest new users try positioning of the headset and insertion of the in-ear foam tips prior to spending time in the aircraft. Helps to keep the tips warm prior to putting in ear (especially in the northern winter weather).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I will buy this product again

  • By Jim from Reston VA USA on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • Pros: extremely lightweight, comfortable
  • Cons: Not as noise-cancelling as my David Clark 13.4S, but good enough
  • Review: I purchased a pair of clarity aloft so my wife could try them out. She doesn't like "headset hair" so I thought these would be a good fit. I had tried the lightspeed over the ear and didn't care for them. I gave them a try after they arrived and I love them. I've told my wife she can try these, but this is my pair. If she likes them, I'll purchase another pair for her. I can hardly tell I'm wearing a headset!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I expected

  • By Randy from Las Vegas NV USA on Friday, July 17, 2009
  • Pros: Comfort, no batteries.
  • Cons: Only that you cannot share these with others-not really a problem
  • Review: Light weight, no pressure, and cool in hot weather.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Why did I wait so long?

  • By Ian Shere from Goodyear, AZ on Monday, September 24, 2018
  • Pros: Light, good sound - both out and in
  • Cons: I waited so long.... Not as easy to put on as the Bose X
  • Review: I've been looking at these PNR in-ear headsets for probably 2 years. I own 3 pairs of Bose X which are great headsets, though big and heavy. hey need adjustment every hour or so as they dig into your head.

    I recently got a note from Bose that they will no longer repair the X after 2020 and that got me rethinking my earlier musings.

    So I finally took the plunge and bought the Basic Clarity Aloft headset.I was concerned, despite all the positive reviews, that they would reduce noise to the level of the Bose X. I was wrong.They are as quiet if not more so (we fly a big bore 6 - Conti IO-520k so there's plenty of noise!) than the X. The microphone stayed in place without difficulty and picked up my voice clearly. ATC was easy to hear - perhaps slightly better than the X.

    There is a small trade-off. There are not just "throw on you head" easy to put on. There is a knack and it is NOT ROLLING THE EAR BUDS! That is bad, bad, bad and will result in broken wires. How surprising, the documentation says exactly that, and it's there for a reason. Squeeze the buds down with 2 or 3 finger tips - do it 2-3 times rotating your fingers, then push into the ear and hold briefly until the foam expands. Holding the top of your ear and pulling up gently makes it all so much easier too. Yes, you'll feel a bit self-conscious, but it eases insertion and improves fit.

    Can't wait for the next flight!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Open Cockpit, great headset and great service

  • By A Customer on Monday, April 20, 2020
  • Pros: Light weight, comfortable....good sound fidelity
  • Cons: Wires to earplugs seem, but aren’t flimsy. Still makes me nervous to pull on them. Ear plugs often get stuck in my ear when taking them off.
  • Review: I’ve owned a clarity aloft for several years and it worked great. 2 years ago I bought an open cockpit plane. While there isn’t much wind noise, it’s pretty loud. I was skeptical about the clarity aloft, but it works great, both for ear protection and for transmission.

    A few months ago I damaged the unit and contacted the company. They were great in fixing the broken headset, providing advise on further improvement in transmission ... a good experience all around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Impressed with these!

  • By Steve from Boise ID USA on Monday, October 12, 2020
  • Pros: Lightweight; Compact; Great audio
  • Cons: None that comes to mind
  • Review: I am surprised at how good these really are! These are used in a light corporate jet.
    Our Bose A20s were getting too cumbersome / heavy for long trips and decided to use something lighter.
    The Clarity Alofts fit the bill!
    When used with the correct size earpiece ( Small, medium or large) we are talking super good noise cancellation which rivals even Bose. And this has reduced my fatigue as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exceeds my expectations

  • By Jonathan from Warrenville IL USA on Thursday, December 27, 2018
  • Pros: Light, Comfortable, quiet
  • Cons:
  • Review: I’m surprised with the level of noise reduction.
    Even in a reasonably noisy aircraft a noted reduction of ambient static. The radio is clearer and easier to hear. You will likely need to turn the volume to max level on the headset. Great for winter use, you can wear a winter hat, pulled down over your ears and in the summer no problem wearing any kind of hat. No more of the hat button digging into your head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset

  • By A Customer on Thursday, August 22, 2019
  • Pros: Comfort, noise reduction
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Been using this headset for around 4 years, great buy, very happy with it, more than acceptable noise reduction, very comfortable, I don't feel wearing a headset at all, great noise going out and coming in, nothing bad to say about it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, October 18, 2019
  • Review: I like it better than my Zulu 3.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By Shawn from Rexburg ID USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: You can wear a hoodie over your headset! Great in cold weather
  • Cons: Takes a bit to get used to the different feel v a traditional headset, but I prefer it
  • Review: Great all around headset. I’ve flown with this headset in the Husky, Meridian, Helicopters, and T-6
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Pleasantly Surprised

  • By matthew from Grass Valley CA USA on Saturday, August 18, 2018
  • Pros: VERY clear sound, huge noise reduction, comfortable
  • Cons: Takes some time and fiddling to properly seat the earplugs
  • Review:

    My main reason for purchasing this product is that I am 6'8" and I have some real head clearance issues. I was really opposed to the price of the Clarity Aloft but I went ahead and got these as I was tired of sitting with my head sideways to fit under the canopy.

    So the price is legit and absolutely worth it! It is obvious that the speakers are hearing-aid quality. This would account for the price. The noise attenuation is far superior to my old active headset. So quiet in fact that my 1st few flights were spent anxiously looking at engine instrumentation because it was TOO quiet.

    It's true that the earplug has to go ALL THE WAY IN your ear. I do not like regular earplugs but these are comfortable for up to 2 hours so far.
    Also very comfortable on the head. If you are juggling a hat, headset and glasses in a very hot environment this makes for a much better experience. I'm less fatigued and more comfortable.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Clarity Aloft Headset is Awesome

  • By Robbie from Craig MO USA on Tuesday, April 12, 2022
  • Pros: Noise reduction is great. Clarity of sound is awesome.
  • Cons: I have no cons for this product.
  • Review: Much clearer and quieter that I expected. I can understand radio communications much better with this headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Fantastic headset for a reasonable price

  • By Kris The Surveyor from Ontario, Canada on Thursday, May 02, 2019
  • Pros: Lightweight, comfortable, clear communication, noise reduction, audio input
  • Cons: None
  • Review: After only my first day using this headset, I can already tell that it was a fantastic investment. I found that the foam ear buds, when installed properly, provide better noise reduction than the standard David Clarke headsets that we have in our helicopter. The headset is so lightweight and comfortable that after a short time, it is easy to forget that you're even wearing it! The audio is crystal clear which means no miscommunication, and the aux input on the volume control box is great for listening to my iPod while on long survey lines. Listening to your own music is also crystal clear and doesn't interfere with communication. The only thing I would remotely consider as a con would be that the microphone is so sensitive and clear, it is difficult to clear your throat or cough without engaging the intercom. Will definitely recommend these to anyone I know looking to buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So light that it's like not wearing a headset at all

  • By A Customer from Mountain View, CA on Monday, January 12, 2009
  • Pros: Small, light
  • Cons: Must be comfortable with something in your ear
  • Review: This headset is very light and doesn't restrict me from keeping my head on a swivel for traffic. I can put my sunglasses or foggles on without creating a gap between my head and the headset (or causing headaches due to the headset squeezing the sunglasses against my head). There is no clamping force, so it's quite comfortable and it's easy to forget it's there. This headset is not for somebody who is squeamish about jamming something into their ear canal. You really have to push the earplug far in to get the best noise reduction. I've had a bad seal when I didn't jam it as far in as I could. I just pulled it back out and tried again but not everyone will be comfortable with that. I'm not sure how fragile it is. The rep at AOPA Expo twisted and bent it pretty dramatically, but I'm still not completely convinced. So I keep it in the supplied hard-sided carrying case inside my flight bag and make sure not to toss it on the seat or floor where it can be crushed. The noise attenuation seems good and the numbers appear to be better than most ANR headsets. Again, this assumes that you jam the thing pretty far into your ear so your actual results may vary but I'm impressed. I'd buy it again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All that is advertized

  • By Wesley from Nassau, Bahamas. on Sunday, March 01, 2009
  • Pros: Comfort on the head and ears, easy to hear transmissions even in the noisiest cockpit. Truly flexible boom mike. Just flip it out of the way to eat or drink then when you are ready it returns to the correct position without a hassle.
  • Cons: Needs a way to keep the cord from dropping behind your back.
  • Review: This headset is all that is advertized. The clarity is excellent, as is the comfort. After about two minutes you forget you have a headset on. Earplugs are super comfortable. Only drawback is that there needs to be some sort of clip to imobilize the cord. When you lean forward to change frequencies then straighten back up the cord drops between your back and the seat, so when you turn your head next you are restricted. I will find a solution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

First headset to work in my Christen Eagle

  • By Conrad from RIVERSIDE CA USA on Tuesday, April 08, 2008
  • Pros: I can hear!
  • Cons: Having to stick it in my ear. Being unable to adjust in flight.
  • Review: The noise environment in the Christen Eagle aft seat is such that it overwhelms any ANC headset. The best I ever got before Clarity Aloft was an old David Clark in a cloth helmet. With the Clarity Aloft I can hear and understand flawlessly for the first time after a number of headset tries, including the Lightspeed in-ear ANC headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

It's the best thing out there

  • By B from Seattle on Monday, August 06, 2007
  • Pros: COMFORT, ease of use, quality, music input, no batteries req'd
  • Cons: Some things to get used to, need to replace earplugs +1month
  • Review: It gets a 9.9/10 really. The sound quality is great, the attenuation is great, people say the mic is good, it's the most comfortable headset. I feel virtually nothing when I wear it and feel sorry for the guy sitting next to me with the clamp on his head. The headset does have some quirks, like getting the earplugs in correctly, using the shirt clip and it kind of sounds like you are talking with your fingers in your ears. But it does have a mp3 input. It's relatively easy to put away. It gets in the way LESS between legs because, obviously, it's smaller than your typical DC. The Comply earplugs are super quiet (more so than your typical Howard Leights), and are super comfortable. 50% the price of Bose X's.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Afton OK USA on Tuesday, October 16, 2007
  • Review: All it was advertised to be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

You'll never use over the ear headsets again !!!

  • By Jeff R. from Encino CA USA on Friday, February 01, 2008
  • Pros: It's clear, quiet and comfortable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Clarity's in ear headset is by far better than any over ear option. Why??? 1)Just like the name... the end result is very clear communication, 2)Noise reduction is phenominal, it's just as good as noise canceling... and there is no worries about dealing with batteries, 3) You can not beat the comfort... even the foam ear plugs shouldn't bother you after flying for hours, and 4) Vanity --- my hair, a bit longer than most... is not messed up after removing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

outstanding!

  • By Charles from Salem OR USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2008
  • Pros: everything, comfort, quiet, clear and high quality microphone.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I've been wearing this headset for about 5 years now.  The first time I decided to never ever wear earmuff headsets again.  A couple of times I had to wear "earmuffs" and it was totally miserable!  These are far superior to any muff style, including $995 bose noise cancelling model. I see people still wearing these muffs and feel about the same way I do when I see someone puffing on a cigarette! Pity for them!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Best Emergency headset

  • By Foxpop from Shreveport, La on Thursday, March 05, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight non intursive
  • Cons: Mic problems with bluetooth module
  • Review: I use this headset in an Aerobatic aircraft as well as a jet. It is one of the few headsets that cancels noise without bulk for aerobatic environment. The thing I like the best about this headset is the fact that in the event of a loss of pressurazation a quick don mask can be placed right over the ear buds. The mic will also deform and not interfer with oxygen mask. No need to remove headset. Just slam on mask and sort out headset after sorting out emergency
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far, so good

  • By Dave from Lititz PA USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight, comfortable
  • Cons: None yet; I have durability concerns but too early to confirm(thankfully!)
  • Review: I have been using this product for 3 months, 3 times a week, in a 172. Not the noisiest of airplanes to begin with, but very effective in my opinion. All the perceived benefits are present, no clamping force, and no sweaty ears. Noise reduction is quite sufficient in this environment.

    I wish for a heavier gage cord for (perceived) durability, typical of other headsets BUT I do believe that a heavier cord weight would tug on the very lightweight earpieces and upset the 'light' moniker.

    It sure is a pleasure to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Alternative to a Chin Strap

  • By Opie from Rosamond CA USA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
  • Pros: light, stays on the head, less expensive than noise cancelling
  • Cons: takes longer to put on, not as quiet as noise cancelling
  • Review: I bought this for aerobatic and formation flying. A standard headset would require a chin strap or cloth helmet to stay on during these activities. The headset is not as quiet as a top of the line noise cancelling headset, but at cruise it is fine and it works perfectly for my purpose. It stays on during large head movements and high g's. It also works great with an oxygen cannula and with glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Berryton KS USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Light and comfortable.
  • Cons: Not as quiet as Bose and take longer to put on.
  • Review: I found them comfortable and fairly easy to get used to. You do notice them when you first put them on, but as you fly you kinda forget they're there. I did find that I need bigger ear buds than their LARGE? I punched holes in a couple of those yellow ear buds and installed them in place the LARGE ones and got better noise reduction?? I am pleased with them and wear them half the time. The other half I go back to my Bose X's. The Bose are still superior when it comes to noise reduction and the CA headset is superior in comfort.

    Oh, and I can't hear my iPod (connected into my intercom system) with the CA's but I can with the Bose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good, but needs improvement

  • By Michael from Kennewick WA USA on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
  • Pros: Attenuation, and clear sound of headphones
  • Cons: Microphone is too sensitive to modeate wind noise
  • Review: The ear phones are clear and the attenuation is good. My suggestion for improvement the micrphone. Wind from the open canopy of my Grumman Tiger interepheres with communication. Wind noise can be a problem flying or taxiing with the canopy open.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A little awkward at first

  • By LuAnne from Sacramento CA USA on Sunday, January 26, 2014
  • Pros: light and confortable
  • Cons: akes longer to put on and adjust
  • Review: The headset takes a little longer to put on and get it situated. The mic moves around a bit. But it is more comfortable than the David Clark headset I used to wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

God sound headset

  • By Gustavo from Atizapan Estado de Mexico Mexico on Friday, April 19, 2013
  • Pros: The sound is very clear
  • Cons: The mic has to be in the right position
  • Review: Met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like them

  • By Dad from Saint Charles MO USA on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
  • Pros: Voice is the clearest of any set I've used.
  • Cons: Voice performance with high background noise is marginal.
  • Review: Obviously the light weight is a real plus flying high-g maneuvers in an Extra 330 LT. Would like a production option that has cords attached on either left or right side.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Thomas from Manhattan Beach CA USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros: Super comfortable
  • Cons: Replacement ear tips seem a bit pricey
  • Review: Great headset. Very comfortable even on long 4+ hour flights. My only complaint is the replacement ear tips seem a bit pricey. But with that being said, I have only changed them once, so, maybe I have jumped the gun a little prematurely, as I hope a pack of twelve should last a couple of years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Takes a while to get used to

  • By Andrew from Chicago IL USA on Wednesday, February 29, 2012
  • Pros: Very Light, Great Noise Reduction
  • Cons: Not very secure on your hea
  • Review: Very different from the traditional headset. When I first started wearing it I found myself fiddling with the microphone to get it in the right spot. Provides great noise reduction - you can barely hear the engine running.

    The only recommendation I would have is for some way to tighten the band around the head to keep it from sliding out of place. When you are on a bumpy approach and the microphone keeps sliding away so you can't talk to tower it gets a little challenging.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Keith from Cedar Rapids IA USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Pros: ligthweight
  • Cons: cellphone is not that great....volume not loud enough
  • Review:

    This head setup is comfortable after you get over the yips from the ear plugs...that was disconcerting at first.

    After that, I really like that fact that you dont have that head clamp thing going on.

    Volume and noise reduction is very good...my only complaint is you cannot hear cellphone that great.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for aero's

  • By Jon from Goodyear AZ USA and Cambridge UK on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
  • Pros: Light, Good noise reduction, comfortable
  • Cons: people think you're not wearing a headset
  • Review: Great lightweight headset superb for aerobatics and comfortable cruising alike. Only downside is the extra second it takes to put the earplugs in but well worth it for the noise reduction.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice, but...

  • By kevin from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, July 17, 2012
  • Pros: Great noise isolation.
  • Cons: awkward heads will have earjoint rash.
  • Review: Headset is as advertised. The earbuds isolate ambient cockpit noise so well that talking cross cockpit is difficult if you're not on intercom. the headset is light, however, after 4 hours of flying with it, i notice it begins to wear down my left ear. I'm not sure if it's the headset or my mishaped head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All the hush, none of the weight

  • By Zach from Omaha NE USA on Thursday, October 13, 2011
  • Pros: Extremely light, professional look
  • Cons: Does not remove low pitched tones as some ANRs do
  • Review: I was skeptical at first but the passive noise cancelation is just as good as my light speeds. The clarity aloft cuts out just about the same noise level as most head sets. I absolute love the light weight. I flight instruct and the light weight is easy to carry to and from different aircraft and does not leave my head pounding after a full day of flying. The professional look really makes an impression as well. I would highly reccomended picking up a pair of these. If you really do not like them, you have the 30 return policy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Phliar from San Francisco CA USA on Wednesday, June 22, 2011
  • Pros: Size and weight! Great passive noise blocking. Can use just the mike -- great for gliders.
  • Cons: No instructions. Mike boom is too floppy.
  • Review: It sounds like a normal aviation headset and has very good noise blocking (great in a Citabria), but the mike boom is too floppy. The mike seems to shift if you move your head too rapidly. It really needs instructions on how to wear them (the only instructions were for some sort of optional accessory which puzzled me greatly at first) -- I'm still not sure I put them on right. But the size and weight are pure genius. In gliders it's also convenient that you can use just the mike, and leave the earpieces dangling so you can hear the wind, vario, etc. Also, no band on top of your head to scratch the glider's canopy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

So far, so good

  • By David from Gilroy CA USA on Sunday, July 10, 2011
  • Review: I have use them 3 times and the noise suppression is great and the voice quality great. The most comfortable I have ever been in a light aircraft. My older Cessna 210 is load, but with these head sets, it is very comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Lightweight and effective

  • By Shawn on Tuesday, August 02, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight; clear audio; aux input; comfortable ear plugs
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: As expected based on reviews and for the price. I wear these every day for 5 hour flights in a B350, its great not to have standard cups over the ears. Ear plugs are really good at forming a seal with the ear, and wear out about as advertised (~30 uses). Ambient sound is muffled pretty well, and the audio is very clear and fed directly to the inner ear. The headband is of slim profile, so works with my sunglasses and hat no problem. The aux input works great, but noticed when I play audio the headset reduces the input of the intercom. Side benefit that this reduces the static of the radios a bit. The mic does a fine job of reducing noise, but I have an auto hot-mic so I don't notice much difference from my DClarks. I used to want auto-muting on the aux input, but then I realized with how busy the radios are sometimes, I'd never hear my aux input! And its easy enough to balance the volumes of the multiple inputs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this to others

  • By Benjamin from dothan AL USA on Tuesday, April 26, 2011
  • Pros: Super quiet and don't have to keep batteries handy like most noise cancelling headsets
  • Cons: Costly ear inserts and mic cannot be used on either side
  • Review: Quiet and lightweight as promised. You almost forget you have the headset on. Basically I only have two minor complaints. Since I am an instructor it would be nice to have mic on right side instead of left so wire doesn't stretch across and also I wear glasses and you have to pretty much have to take glasses and/or cap off to put headset off and on. One nice thing (Clarity Aloft will never tell you) is that after inserts are dirty instead of throwing them away, put them in a little bag or pocket and wash them with your clothes and when dry they are as good as new.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like this product

  • By A Customer from atlanta GA USA on Monday, April 11, 2011
  • Pros: light weight and comfortable
  • Cons: not as quiet as active noise reduction of Zulu
  • Review: We got this for my wife, and she likes it. I used it briefly and thought it was very comfortable. I am not sure what I was expecting, but I could communicate very easily. I like the active noise reduction on my Lightspeed Zulu headset, but this one is very good. It is just different. I think my wife is going to go the extra step and get the customized earbuds, but for the mean time, this head set suits her very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for pilots wearing glasses

  • By Bannerpilot from East Troy WI USA on Wednesday, November 24, 2010
  • Pros: Very good noise canceling and comfortable
  • Cons: Delicate nature
  • Review: It reduces noise better than my David Clarks with ANR. It is very comfortable. In fact I have to remind myself to remove the earbuds before taking the headset off. Although I worry about it being delicate, careful use and storage techniques negate those concerns. Even though it's a bit pricey, I'm glad I bought it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

as advertised

  • By Michael from Sanford CO USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: light, cool, no head clamp on long trips
  • Cons: seems expensive for what there is but works great.
  • Review: So far I'm very happy with the headphones. My favorite headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Phoenix AZ USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Pros: light and less expensive
  • Cons: May cause ear canal irritation
  • Review: My wife loves it. No hair smashing headset and to her very comfortable. I could not wear them for more than 30 mins due to ear pain from the smallest ear buds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Definate Upgrade

  • By Tekkie79 from Cleveland, OH on Friday, July 27, 2007
  • Pros: Small, Light, Cool, Comfortable, No Pressure, No Headaches, No heat
  • Cons: Awkward to wear at frist, but you get used to it. Could use a cell phone input
  • Review: These things are great!! I wore them at home for hours and forgot I even had them on. Worked great in the plane on long cross country trips also.

    If you don't like things in your ears, you won't like these. But.. if you like light (near invisible), cool, comfortable, no-pressure headpphones these are for you. Or, if you're worried about messing up your hair, wearing a hat, or any worries about the top of your head or even sunglasses.. LOOK NO FURTHER!! These don't interfear with glasses, hats, hair, nothing. Just like wearing your I-POD headphones.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset. Overpriced.

  • By Michael from Bedford TX USA on Monday, June 07, 2010
  • Pros: Light, comfortable, sound quality.
  • Cons: Overpriced, no clip for your shirt, costly consumble ear plugs.
  • Review: Great headset. Very light. Comfortable for long flights. Noise isolation is great. All that said, the headset is highly over priced for a unit with out ANR, no clip for the leads and continued high price maintenance for consumable ear pieces. Would I recommend this set? Highly. Will I purchase another, not at this price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for long flights

  • By James from North Little Rock AR USA on Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Pros: Lightweight and clarity is great.
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: Perfect for longer flights where a full headset gets heavy and tight. You can easily remove the ear peices and use the cockpit speaker if you do not want the ear pieces in. Then you still have use of the microphone without having to try and find the hand-held mic.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best I've seen

  • By Kyle from Cayucos CA USA on Monday, August 04, 2008
  • Pros: Comfortable, stylish, MP3 jack works good
  • Cons: Ear plugs less than desirable
  • Review: Very comfortable. The ear plugs are a little small for my ears. I haven't had anyone complain about the mic. It really makes my long trips much more enjoyable. I don't know how well it would work in a turbo-prop or piston. Came with a great case. In our airplane when you plug something into the headsets MP3 jack the radio and other persons volume goes down so you have to adjust each time. No big deal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Getting used to it, starting to really enjoy!

  • By Daniel from Huntington Beach, CA on Wednesday, February 27, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, like you are not wearing anything, great noise reduction great comfort, great sound quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have now a set for two days. In the beginning it was a little bit weird. Now after flying a few hours with it I'm starting to really like it. The weird part I expected. There's a little "learning curve" to it, as your own voice sounds different to yourself, and actually the big advertised advantage - that you feel like you are not wearing a headset - takes a little getting used to. I fly a Grumman Traveller, and the noise reduction is different. Again, after getting used to it, I'm enjoying the low deep engine rumble and all wind sounds are gone. Very quiet. Again, different than my Bose, but I'm starting to enjoy the CA better. I attached my iPhone to the aux input for my ipod music, and although there's a drop in overall volume, the sound quality is excellent.  At max. volume the CA are a lot louder than the Bose. It's not for all. If you're not used to have headphones/ear protection stuck in your ear, you might not like it. Overall I'm pleased with a different approach that actually works very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Finally a comfortable headset

  • By Joe Holland on Monday, July 23, 2007
  • Pros: Comfortable, light, very good noise attenuation
  • Cons: Not a headset you share, initially tricky to get ear pieces inserted
  • Review: The first headset I've worn that is comfortable hour after hour and really attenuates cockpit noise. Plus I can comfortably wear a hat with the headset. Quite happy. There is one trick to wearing the headset, that is to pull ear to open ear canal when inserting the foam earpieces into ear and while they are expanding to fill ear canal.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

On the way to becoming the perfect headset, but not there yet.

  • By fastflyer from Goleta CA USA on Monday, September 29, 2008
  • Pros: Light weight, easy to use, good sound and microphone.
  • Cons: Not happy with the frame in the back of the head; hard to seal earpieces.
  • Review: In concept this headset is great. However two deficiencies exist that hamper its excellence. 1) I find that the metal frame that goes around the back of the pilots head interferes with my headrest on my Bonanza. It also adds some unnecessary bulk to the headset. And 2) It is hard to get the earplugs to form a comfortable seal in my ears. I have large ear holes and even the large ear seals have to be pushed in too far (to be comfortable) to make a seal. The good news is that when they do seal, they are very quiet. Perhaps Clarity Aloft should offer a custom ear seal option like LightSpeed does. I do like the rest of the design as it's easy to wear and the mic works very well. My airplane partner has the LightSpeed product and after comparing, we both feel that the ideal headset may lie somewhere in between the Clarity Aloft product and the Light Speed competitor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Poor build quality

  • By phliar from San Francisco CA USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: Low profile
  • Cons: Build quality
  • Review: It works great as a passive headset, and I love the low profile. It always stays in my airplane so it never gets abused, but the right speaker stopped working after 8 months of use. (My $200 in-ear headset for my mp3 player is working great after 9 years of abuse, so it's unacceptable that an aviation headset that costs 3 times as much is cheaply built.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 15 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It feels like it isn't there...until it fails

  • By Andrew from Chicago IL USA on Monday, December 31, 2012
  • Pros: It's almost weightless when it's on. Good sound quality. Bluetooth is nice if you need to make a call in flight.
  • Cons: The earbuds take a little longer to put in compared against throwing on a traditional headset. Questions about long term quality with the mic failing after such limited use.
  • Review: I've used this for about 50 hours in a Cessna 172. The amount of noise the earbuds remove is fantastic. However, on a flight last week the microphone failed, so I am not sure about the long term quality. Hopefully it isn't too big of a hassle to have them repair the equipment.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

Devil in the details

  • By A Customer from Oakland, CA on Saturday, August 13, 2011
  • Pros: great clarity, light and easy
  • Cons: hard to get in, slip out when hot
  • Review: I really liked them when they worked. They're broken now, and no real way to debug. Be aware:

    - It's more of a pain to put them in, especially when they get out while you are flying. How long can you fly without hands?
    - If you share them with others, use new earplugs and even then overcome the "eeew!" factor

    - hot = sweaty = plugs slip out
    + some female passengers liked not having their hair smooshed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Its the best sound out there, but have a back-up plan.

  • By Chris from Arizona from Goodyear, AZ on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Pros: Sound and Light Weight
  • Cons: Poor Durability
  • Review: Excellence is expensive, but worth it. The Clarity Aloft standard headset and the TSO Pro sound quality is comparable to the best ANR in the lightest weight headset available. Expect a short mic boom and ear hotspots on longer flights. For me, durability was unsatisfactory on the standard headset. I had microphone failures on 6 deferent standard headsets. Clarity Aloft was wonderful to work with and switched me to the TSO Pro that lasted only 1,000 hours before developing unreparable electrical shorts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Some PROS but definate CONS...

  • By Ric from Akron OH USA on Monday, April 04, 2011
  • Pros: VERY light weight and comfortable...
  • Cons: After using all three earbud sizes, noise reduction was not as advertise and (though tightened down during pre-flight, the earbuds came off...IN FLIGHT!! I'd be VERY interested if there are any realistic suggestions as to how to more firmly secure the earbuds.
  • Review: It pretty much goes without saying that the Clarity Aloft headset is a pleasure to wear due to its light weight. That said, my fears regarding the durability of the headset came true on the 3rd usage(the earbuds came off). The screw-on earbuds don't firmly tighten down because of the plastic threads which may allow the earbuds to loosen and fall off. Additionally, the claims of noise reduction equal or better than that of the ANR headsets is, in my opinion, an over ambitious claim. Though heavier and more uncomfortable, I'll be returning to my LightSpeed Zulu headset. Too bad, I did enjoy the light weight...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

work well for a non ANR

  • By Paul from Hendersonville NC USA on Monday, October 19, 2009
  • Review: Surprisingly light. Not ANR but still good clarity. Nuisance to put in ears. Flimsy.We have two. Wife likes better than earmuffs. Wish they made molded ear pieces for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Justin from Yukon OK USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Pros: light and comfortable
  • Cons: WIres are weak
  • Review: I like the headset. Comfort and noise level isall good. However, for the price the quality is low. I have to send mine back due to loose wires at the box leading to headset. My usuage level is approximately 5 hours a week. Should last longer than a few months.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Headset. Not designed to Last Very Long

  • By Giefs from Minneapolis, MN on Monday, February 27, 2012
  • Pros: Light weight, Clear Voice
  • Cons: Short Life Span, considering how expensive they are!
  • Review: Everyone has given this headset very good reviews and while I agree that this is an excellent headset I would like to throw out the other side of the coin. I am a commercial airline pilot and I have used this headset daily for over 5 years. The light weight and passive ear tips do a great job of reducing flight deck noise making a 6 leg day much less fatiguing.
    That being said the durability of the headset needs to be much better. After year 3 the wires that attach to the ear piece began to fray. It conveniently happened after the 3 year warranty. Clarity Aloft charged $120 and all they did splice the old wires and attached new ear pieces onto the headset.

    One year later, I am having more issues. One of the ear pieces is very faint and not working correctly. Also, the rubber around the back that holds the wires is starting to crack. I stored the headset in it's case and did not abuse it.

    So is it a good headset? Yes for day to day use I love it. Is it going to last very long? Not likely, at least if you are using it as much as I am. I would really like Clarity Aloft to address the cheap design. I have talked to other pilots I work with and they have also had to replace the ear pieces on their headset, just make sure you do it before the 3 year warranty ends!

    Another piece of advice, @ $25 a pop for canal tips replacements. You can just throw them in a mesh bag in the wash machine and they come out as good as new!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 20 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not up to ANR competition even at 3/4th the price.

  • By Mark from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: Insufficient noise reduction in Cirrus SR22
  • Review: Much louder than my Bose A20. Mic clarity not as good either.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No good if you wares glasses or sunglasses!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • By Kevin from Enid OK USA on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
  • Review: does not work will with glasses!!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Save your money

  • By A Customer from Texas on Wednesday, September 07, 2011
  • Pros: Good noise attenuation, comfortable earbuds.
  • Cons: Stiff headband, not adjustable. Poor backing and guarantee by manufacturer if you break it trying to get it to fit.
  • Review: Cheap materials. Headset shape not adjustable or formable to the user's head.
    Instead of covering material breakage, manufacturer just offers to sell you one at half price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.