TOP

GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

  • 56 Customer Reviews

Reviews for GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Just as advertised

  • By Kevin from Pryor OK USA on Friday, December 16, 2011
  • Pros: Larger capacity for multi-sumps before dumping. Handy strainer. No wasted fuel.
  • Cons: A little large for a flight bag.
  • Review: It did exactly what was expected of it. Saw a local flight instructor with one and decided to try it. Very happy with the results.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I have been missing!!

  • By Leman from Richmond CA USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: all
  • Cons: no
  • Review: It is a great device. It allows me to drain as much fuel as I like to get rid of all of the particles/water the eye can see. At the same time not dumping fuel(money) on the ground. They should pass these out to new student pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great fuel sampler

  • By A Customer from Shelburne VT USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use and saves valuable fuel with o
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great way to save good fuel on a preflight!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Product

  • By Bill on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros: Saves fuel and keeps fuel off the asphalt
  • Cons: Jar is a little larger than I need
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best fuel jar I've ever used

  • By Brian from Council Bluffs USA on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
  • Pros: A screen so you can actually put your good fuel back in the plane.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Started using this fuel jar when I was renting a plane and it was the jar I bought when I become an aircraft owner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Lewis from Raymond ME USA on Thursday, December 29, 2016
  • Pros: Clear, large container
  • Cons:
  • Review: The GATS fuel jar strainer is great for checking the 13 spots on the Cessna 172, 182, and 205 I fly for CAP. It easily holds a wing tank load of 5 sump checks and it makes for easy pouring of fuel back into wing tank. Don't like throwing that expensive fuel on the ramp.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Steven from MIddletown DE USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Review: Allows a larger sample to be drained, and sample is easily visable. Great for flight training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gennaro ( Jerry ) from Lewes DE USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Pros: Clear to see through for any contamination. All around a good tool for the aircraft.
  • Cons: Nne
  • Review: Easy to use. New improved metal sump probe. If it came with a six foot ladder for Cessna it would rate a 10. Only kidding about the ladder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Best

  • By Gary from Westborough MA USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
  • Review: Best little fuel sample strainer jar I have used. Easy to detect any water and it strains the water from fuel when you pour it back into the tank. Amazing, how they do that, who cares, it works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would, and will if needed, buy this product again.

  • By Thomas from Lincoln CA USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: Just easy to use, and easy to clean if necessary.
  • Cons: It is a little bulky, but that is not really a problem for me.
  • Review: It is a very easy way to be sure that the fuel you put back into the fuel cell of your plane is free of contamination, and it is easy then to get rid of the debris or water if any was there.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Greg Hecht from Olathe KS USA on Saturday, September 13, 2008
  • Review: Excellent product, especially with today's $4 - $6+ fuel prices. This is the only fuel strainer I know of that includes a membrane capable of separating fuel and water so that it is possible to pour tested fuel slops back into your tanks instead of on to the apron or in to your local airport's slops jar (depending on your local regs.) It all adds up over time. If you land at an unfamiliar destination and are unsure about whether you're allowed to pour slops on the apron, this system eliminates the need to give it a thought.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome product

  • By william from port lavaca TX USA on Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • Pros: Saves fuel
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: A little pricey for a plastic jar but it does the job well. Everything on a plane is expensive so the price doesn't matter. It's nice to test your fuel and then be able to return the clean fuel back to the tank without the contaminants.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product - everyone should use one

  • By Keith from Hartly DE USA on Thursday, September 27, 2007
  • Pros: Takes large sample, Good view of fuel quality, Return gas to tank
  • Cons: Larger to store, You see how much crud is really in your fuel system
  • Review: This is my second Gatts jar, replacing one I lost somewhere. The 12 oz jar is more sturdy than the 16 oz version. I like being able to put the gas back in my tanks - it really does a good job of filtering out trash, although I never have water in the gas to test that feature. I also like being able to drain more gas out, to see what was in the lines and gascolator. The standard 2 or 3 oz cup isn't enough to get a good measure of the quality of the fuel
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from las vegas, nv on Tuesday, April 17, 2007
  • Review: I love this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the intended purpose.

  • By Joel from Los Angeles CA USA on Friday, July 18, 2008
  • Pros: Good size, does what it should.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This jar is a perfect replacement for the "shot glass" sump tester included with the aircraft. It allows one to test all of the taps on a 172, and then dump the fuel back into the tank through the strainer--rather than just dumping it on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
  • Review: Simple easy to use and it is the number 1 choice of my flight school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Neat'n'Clean

  • By Pete L from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Clean hands; large volume
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Unlike various other, skinnier fuel strainers, this one allows you to keep your hands free of fuel. In addition, its larger size allows one to sump all of a plane's tanks without having to dispose of small quantities of fuel. Once finished you can then safely return the sumped fuel to the tanks, pouring through the strainer's mesh screen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely the one to buy

  • By Kelvin from Castle Rock CO USA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Pros: No wasted fuel
  • Cons: It is a bit big
  • Review: It is just the only one you should buy, it may be a bit more expensive but it's worth it when you think about all the wasted fuel. And you don't have to worry about putting dirt or water back into the gas tank because of the efficient strainer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Product

  • By A Customer from Saint Joseph MN USA on Monday, March 16, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It is easy to use and allows you to pour the fuel back into the tanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Martin from Ocean ridge FL USA on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
  • Review: As expected
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Updated version

  • By Joe L. from Richmond VA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2015
  • Pros: New lip, seems beefier than before
  • Cons: Top seems glued on.
  • Review: More durable looking than previous purchases of same product. Has a new lip for easy pouring back. Much better for fuel drain than the thin tube competitor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim from Fresno CA USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review: Does what it is supposed to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jon from Draper UT USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Hilton Head Island SC USA on Friday, October 02, 2009
  • Pros: Simple
  • Cons:
  • Review: A better mouse trap (or fuel sump jar)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LIFE CHANGING!

  • By A Customer from Shakopee MN USA on Wednesday, April 25, 2018
  • Pros: Allows for larger samples
  • Cons: It takes up more space in a flight bag
  • Review: OK. It's not really life changing. But it is a great way to sample all of the possible sumps on your airplane and return a clean sample to your fuel tanks. I like it. I'm glad I got it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Denton,TX on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Review: Good cushion. Love the color. If given the choice, I could have gone one size up, but oh well, this will do for now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Must have

  • By A Customer from San Jose CA USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Review: Perfect!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Best

  • By A Customer from Lake Tapps WA USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2019
  • Review: Superb purpose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Daytona Beach FL USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

this is great

  • By Jim from Claremore OK USA on Monday, March 10, 2008
  • Pros: no waste
  • Cons: none
  • Review: No more fuel on the ground. I have 12 sumps on my '99 C182. This allows me to take samples from each and pour them back into the tanks. Really nice!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly What I Wanted

  • By Dave from Owasso OK USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2008
  • Pros: Simple, reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My instructor has one just like this. We tested his to see that water in the fuel would in fact be stopped at the filter when you empty the container.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Like

  • By Jim from Woodsville NH USA on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
  • Review: I'm in love being able to return gasoline back to the tank. That's HUGE! The negatives are relatively minor: spills a little when you pour, better not unscrew cap because gasket shrinks and it won't go back together (based on other reviews), sample drain adapter snaps in a little loosely so care needs to be taken that it doesn't fall out and wind up in the tank when you are returning fuel, and there is some question whether the screen really separates the water.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this again

  • By C172 from Durham NC USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Pros: works well to separate H20
  • Cons: Mettle rod is close to jar side, sometime fuel runs down the rod and out of the jar over my hand
  • Review: Works well and samples significant fuel. I had used one before on a rental and got what I expected. The mettle rod used to open some of the sumps is very close to the edge of the jar and if the jar needs to be at an angle to initiate the draining of the sump, fuel can fun down to mettle post, over the jar and down your hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good idea

  • By A Customer from IA USA on Friday, November 27, 2009
  • Pros: Holds a lot of fuel
  • Cons: Ease in pouring
  • Review: My CFI showed me how to "pretreat" the filter by letting some avgas drain down into the container before filling it up. Gas from belly drain had some particles in it (the backup trainer that had been sitting awhile), so it was good to have that filter. Was a windy day, and fuel spilled all over the wing when I tried to pour it back in after checking the last access point. That (ease in pouring it back) may be it's weak point. Other than that, it worked fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good buy.

  • By Greg from Escondido CA USA on Friday, February 18, 2011
  • Pros: A great way to strain & return fuel to tanks. Very easy to see contaminents.
  • Cons: A little bulky for the flight bag, but worth it.
  • Review: Great fuel collector. A little bulky but built well & works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Serves it purpose

  • By Shirley from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Review: Easy to use and is an excellent tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Struan from iowa city on Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • Review: Works as advertised, needs to be cleaned after each use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Keep that $, in your tank.

  • By Erick from Eugene OR USA on Friday, December 19, 2008
  • Pros: Large collection jar, strainer works great
  • Cons: Single drain use, needs pour spout.
  • Review: This GATS fuel collection jar/strainer is a fine product. It arrived as advertised, and works very well. I like the large collection jar, and you can take the strainer off to clean out other debris. It needs a pour spout to help keep drips off the wing, and the sump drain plunger needs to be turned around to change between the pin style, and the prong style. If you only have one style sump drain, it is a non-issue. I would buy this again, and if they would redesign with a spout, it would be perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jack from Doylestown OH USA on Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy and versatile
  • Cons: Drips fuel onto the wing when pouring sample back into tank
  • Review: Use of the GATS fuel jar results in less splashing of fuel onto your hand when taking the sample as compared to smaller sample bottles. Its large capacity is a plus for C182's that have numerous sample points. If it had a pour spout I would have given it five stars
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Product works

  • By Al from Cheyenne . USA on Monday, July 12, 2010
  • Pros: Has a large containment jar
  • Cons: barely works on fuel filter sump
  • Review: Works well on two on wing sumps, has to be held just so so for the fuel filter sump on a Piper Cherokee 180.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great concept but make sure it works on your plane

  • By Michael from Jamesville NY USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Pros: Saves fuel and dumping fuel on pavement
  • Cons: Will not work by itself on an Aztec
  • Review: It works as advertised. However, I have a Piper Aztec and it does not fit through the door where the fuel drains are. I still use it in conjunction with my old drainer and just dump the fuel into the GATS jar so I can reuse it and not dump it on the pavement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Greg from Waco TX on Wednesday, September 29, 2010
  • Review: Overall a good product - a few notes:
    1) If you have a plane with T drains you may want to file the slots on the jar a bit - It can be a pain to line them up.
    2) It's a pain to use on the fuel strainer drain on a Piper Warrior (but that's a badly designed drain in my opinion)
    3) Great for filtering solid contaminants.
    4) Good for SMALL amounts of water (a drop or two in the fuel), but not for massive contamination.
    4a) The screen MUST be saturated with gasoline before it will filter water. If the screen is wet with water then water will be able to pass through at that point.
    5) As others have said, it should have a lip for pouring fuel back into the tanks. I've never had trouble on the Pipers I fly because you can get up close and personal with the tank, spillage has been minimal. I imagine on a high-wing aircraft this would be more of a pain.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what we need !!!!!

  • By Shirley from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, July 28, 2009
  • Pros: Help the control contamination
  • Cons: size too wide
  • Review: Yes, it provide the service we need, and it is what we where looking for our student to use, No complaint from our users "our students" My vision is the same but less wide, meaning to occupy less space in our students, instructors an pilots' bags.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Should be mandatory to use

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh PA on Wednesday, April 11, 2007
  • Pros: Better for the environment and gives you a much better look at the
  • Cons: Slightly cumbersome to put in a flight bag, a bit pricey for what it is
  • Review: I know in many locations, sumping fuel and dumping on the ramp is illegal. Yet at my airport, the practice is permitted. Since I lost my regular fuel strainer, I thought I'd buy a GATS jar. I've always felt bad about dumping fuel on the ramp and trying to be a bit more responsible about our environment is one way we as pilots can keep the anti-airplane people away a bit longer.

    I like the GATS Jar, easy to use and easy to change from the "push to sump" type valve to the petcock type valve found on some airplanes (I am a CFI). And now I can re-use the fuel I sump (as long as it is safe) instead of wasting it on the ground. Plus, you get a much better look at the fuel and the possible contaminents in your fuel system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A great product.

  • By A Customer from NJ USA on Monday, November 26, 2007
  • Pros: It is a nice fuel strainer, fits both kinds of sumps, and the fuel can be returned to the tanks if clean.
  • Cons: The reversible sump addapter can be hard to switch, but comes out with a little work
  • Review: This is a nice product. It can take a lot of fuel so you don't have to worry about getting a sump of only water and not realizing it isn't blue. Also, you can return the fuel to the tank without worrying about sediment, finding a waste fuel container, or throwing it on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

So far so good

  • By John Countryman from Petaluma, CA on Thursday, September 13, 2007
  • Pros: Saves fuel, saves money, saves the planet. Easier to see AVGAS color.
  • Cons: Seal leaks. Takes some practice to drain sumps without spilling.
  • Review: Have only used it once so far. Large capacity makes it easier to see contaminants and color of AVGAS. It does leak a great deal around seal when pouring back, as others have commented. Will try petroleum jelly and see if that helps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jay from Shell Lake WI USA on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros: You don't waste fuel
  • Cons: Rubber seal sometimes binds and jar leaks
  • Review: Great at what it advertises! The rubber seal on mine came out of round so it sometimes doesn't seal the jar and leaks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Little on the flimsy side

  • By Will from Mankato MN USA on Friday, March 04, 2016
  • Pros: Very functional
  • Cons: Flimsy
  • Review: I like it and it is very functional. It seems kind of flimsy, but has held up so far. I keep it in my bag and it gets smashed around. I'm concerned it might end up cracking or getting punctured.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great strainer c340

  • By Jonathan from Helena MT USA on Sunday, November 06, 2016
  • Pros: Can sump the whole airplane before pouring back onto tank, wider mouth prevents spilling on hands while straining
  • Cons: Screen is hard to clean without taking apart and rinsing but that's what the screen is for is to catch stuff
  • Review: I always thought the GATS jar was a bit excessive for trainer aircraft but now that I'm flying a c340 I wouldn't want anything else.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than throwing fuel on the ground

  • By Chris from Rock Island WA USA on Friday, December 22, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Kind of a pain to clean out
  • Review: Does what's it's supposed to; easy to identify contaminates
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This fuel tester works as described.

  • By Michael from Huber Heights OH USA on Thursday, September 24, 2020
  • Review: This fuel tester works as described. However, if your goal is to simply test and not return fuel, my suggestion is to buy the little fuel cup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Removes contaminants, avoids waste, less environmental harm

  • By Mark from Allentown PA USA on Saturday, July 26, 2008
  • Review: Works well filtering AVgas of sediment and water contaminants. You can filter as much fuel as you want without worrying about wasted fuel or environmental harm. Everyone should be using this! Shelf life is about 1-2 yrs. The plastic top cracks over time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works fine, but is not as simple as advertised.

  • By A Customer from Huson MT USA on Wednesday, September 08, 2010
  • Pros: It will pay for itself in a short time.
  • Cons: Not a sump and pour device.
  • Review: It does take out water and allows expensive fuel to be saved, however the process is not as simple as advertised. The need to wipe the top of the mesh with a clean cloth to take off any water before pouring fuel back into your tanks is imprecise. Also, I usually get a wet hand due to fuel spray not being contained by the lip of the jar. Overall, it will pay for itself in short time due to the amount of fuel saved.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Plastic not as thick as the old jars

  • By A Customer from Crofton MD USA on Sunday, November 18, 2018
  • Pros: Pros, it does work as a Gats Jar.
  • Cons: Cons, plastic too thin
  • Review: The thickness is closer to a thin water bottle than the old Gats Jars...will not hold up to heavy use in a large club or school...might be OK for a single owner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Pros: can almost sump 13 points before dumping
  • Cons: see "Your Review..."
  • Review: "needle" is lose. fuel sprays all over the place when you use it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It looks cool but doesn't work.

  • By Ehud from Tucson AZ USA on Tuesday, April 07, 2009
  • Pros: It's cute and sexy
  • Cons: Does not filter water at all. Not even one bit. No, really. It bites.
  • Review: It's a great jar for sampling and examining fuel, but as for its mystical powers of separating water from fuel, as the piece of string said -- I'm afraid not. There is an inherent design flaw in the lip of the jar, so when pouring fuel back into the tank after sampling, it's inevitable that fuel will spill onto the aircraft. A wind only makes the problem worse. I've dremel-ground my GATS Jar lip down to make it less of a sharp angle and it spills less. The manufacturer should do this. The second problem is that -- contrary to what the manual says -- it does not separate out fuel from water (specifically petroleum products from non-petroleum products). For this simulation I put 1/4 cup water in a plastic cup, used a marker to indicate the amount of water, and placed it in a cap-free GATS jar. I then put the cap on, and poured 91 octane lead-free gasoline making sure to wet the entire screen. I then poured the two-liquid mixture through the screen until it was empty. That's right -- the gasoline-coated screen did not prevent any water (at all) from going out. So is it fun to use a GATS jar? Sure. Would I recommend it for filtering particulates -- sure. Would I recommend it for filtering water -- heck no.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.