TOP

GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

  • 56 Customer Reviews

Reviews for GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Like

  • By Jim from Woodsville NH USA on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
  • Review: I'm in love being able to return gasoline back to the tank. That's HUGE! The negatives are relatively minor: spills a little when you pour, better not unscrew cap because gasket shrinks and it won't go back together (based on other reviews), sample drain adapter snaps in a little loosely so care needs to be taken that it doesn't fall out and wind up in the tank when you are returning fuel, and there is some question whether the screen really separates the water.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Serves it purpose

  • By Shirley from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
  • Review: Easy to use and is an excellent tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good buy.

  • By Greg from Escondido CA USA on Friday, February 18, 2011
  • Pros: A great way to strain & return fuel to tanks. Very easy to see contaminents.
  • Cons: A little bulky for the flight bag, but worth it.
  • Review: Great fuel collector. A little bulky but built well & works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good idea

  • By A Customer from IA USA on Friday, November 27, 2009
  • Pros: Holds a lot of fuel
  • Cons: Ease in pouring
  • Review: My CFI showed me how to "pretreat" the filter by letting some avgas drain down into the container before filling it up. Gas from belly drain had some particles in it (the backup trainer that had been sitting awhile), so it was good to have that filter. Was a windy day, and fuel spilled all over the wing when I tried to pour it back in after checking the last access point. That (ease in pouring it back) may be it's weak point. Other than that, it worked fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Product works

  • By Al from Cheyenne . USA on Monday, July 12, 2010
  • Pros: Has a large containment jar
  • Cons: barely works on fuel filter sump
  • Review: Works well on two on wing sumps, has to be held just so so for the fuel filter sump on a Piper Cherokee 180.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Struan from iowa city on Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • Review: Works as advertised, needs to be cleaned after each use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Keep that $, in your tank.

  • By Erick from Eugene OR USA on Friday, December 19, 2008
  • Pros: Large collection jar, strainer works great
  • Cons: Single drain use, needs pour spout.
  • Review: This GATS fuel collection jar/strainer is a fine product. It arrived as advertised, and works very well. I like the large collection jar, and you can take the strainer off to clean out other debris. It needs a pour spout to help keep drips off the wing, and the sump drain plunger needs to be turned around to change between the pin style, and the prong style. If you only have one style sump drain, it is a non-issue. I would buy this again, and if they would redesign with a spout, it would be perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jack from Doylestown OH USA on Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy and versatile
  • Cons: Drips fuel onto the wing when pouring sample back into tank
  • Review: Use of the GATS fuel jar results in less splashing of fuel onto your hand when taking the sample as compared to smaller sample bottles. Its large capacity is a plus for C182's that have numerous sample points. If it had a pour spout I would have given it five stars
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great concept but make sure it works on your plane

  • By Michael from Jamesville NY USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Pros: Saves fuel and dumping fuel on pavement
  • Cons: Will not work by itself on an Aztec
  • Review: It works as advertised. However, I have a Piper Aztec and it does not fit through the door where the fuel drains are. I still use it in conjunction with my old drainer and just dump the fuel into the GATS jar so I can reuse it and not dump it on the pavement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this again

  • By C172 from Durham NC USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Pros: works well to separate H20
  • Cons: Mettle rod is close to jar side, sometime fuel runs down the rod and out of the jar over my hand
  • Review: Works well and samples significant fuel. I had used one before on a rental and got what I expected. The mettle rod used to open some of the sumps is very close to the edge of the jar and if the jar needs to be at an angle to initiate the draining of the sump, fuel can fun down to mettle post, over the jar and down your hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Little on the flimsy side

  • By Will from Mankato MN USA on Friday, March 04, 2016
  • Pros: Very functional
  • Cons: Flimsy
  • Review: I like it and it is very functional. It seems kind of flimsy, but has held up so far. I keep it in my bag and it gets smashed around. I'm concerned it might end up cracking or getting punctured.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than throwing fuel on the ground

  • By Chris from Rock Island WA USA on Friday, December 22, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: Kind of a pain to clean out
  • Review: Does what's it's supposed to; easy to identify contaminates
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what we need !!!!!

  • By Shirley from Miami FL USA on Tuesday, July 28, 2009
  • Pros: Help the control contamination
  • Cons: size too wide
  • Review: Yes, it provide the service we need, and it is what we where looking for our student to use, No complaint from our users "our students" My vision is the same but less wide, meaning to occupy less space in our students, instructors an pilots' bags.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Greg from Waco TX on Wednesday, September 29, 2010
  • Review: Overall a good product - a few notes:
    1) If you have a plane with T drains you may want to file the slots on the jar a bit - It can be a pain to line them up.
    2) It's a pain to use on the fuel strainer drain on a Piper Warrior (but that's a badly designed drain in my opinion)
    3) Great for filtering solid contaminants.
    4) Good for SMALL amounts of water (a drop or two in the fuel), but not for massive contamination.
    4a) The screen MUST be saturated with gasoline before it will filter water. If the screen is wet with water then water will be able to pass through at that point.
    5) As others have said, it should have a lip for pouring fuel back into the tanks. I've never had trouble on the Pipers I fly because you can get up close and personal with the tank, spillage has been minimal. I imagine on a high-wing aircraft this would be more of a pain.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Jay from Shell Lake WI USA on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros: You don't waste fuel
  • Cons: Rubber seal sometimes binds and jar leaks
  • Review: Great at what it advertises! The rubber seal on mine came out of round so it sometimes doesn't seal the jar and leaks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Should be mandatory to use

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh PA on Wednesday, April 11, 2007
  • Pros: Better for the environment and gives you a much better look at the
  • Cons: Slightly cumbersome to put in a flight bag, a bit pricey for what it is
  • Review: I know in many locations, sumping fuel and dumping on the ramp is illegal. Yet at my airport, the practice is permitted. Since I lost my regular fuel strainer, I thought I'd buy a GATS jar. I've always felt bad about dumping fuel on the ramp and trying to be a bit more responsible about our environment is one way we as pilots can keep the anti-airplane people away a bit longer.

    I like the GATS Jar, easy to use and easy to change from the "push to sump" type valve to the petcock type valve found on some airplanes (I am a CFI). And now I can re-use the fuel I sump (as long as it is safe) instead of wasting it on the ground. Plus, you get a much better look at the fuel and the possible contaminents in your fuel system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A great product.

  • By A Customer from NJ USA on Monday, November 26, 2007
  • Pros: It is a nice fuel strainer, fits both kinds of sumps, and the fuel can be returned to the tanks if clean.
  • Cons: The reversible sump addapter can be hard to switch, but comes out with a little work
  • Review: This is a nice product. It can take a lot of fuel so you don't have to worry about getting a sump of only water and not realizing it isn't blue. Also, you can return the fuel to the tank without worrying about sediment, finding a waste fuel container, or throwing it on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

So far so good

  • By John Countryman from Petaluma, CA on Thursday, September 13, 2007
  • Pros: Saves fuel, saves money, saves the planet. Easier to see AVGAS color.
  • Cons: Seal leaks. Takes some practice to drain sumps without spilling.
  • Review: Have only used it once so far. Large capacity makes it easier to see contaminants and color of AVGAS. It does leak a great deal around seal when pouring back, as others have commented. Will try petroleum jelly and see if that helps.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great strainer c340

  • By Jonathan from Helena MT USA on Sunday, November 06, 2016
  • Pros: Can sump the whole airplane before pouring back onto tank, wider mouth prevents spilling on hands while straining
  • Cons: Screen is hard to clean without taking apart and rinsing but that's what the screen is for is to catch stuff
  • Review: I always thought the GATS jar was a bit excessive for trainer aircraft but now that I'm flying a c340 I wouldn't want anything else.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Removes contaminants, avoids waste, less environmental harm

  • By Mark from Allentown PA USA on Saturday, July 26, 2008
  • Review: Works well filtering AVgas of sediment and water contaminants. You can filter as much fuel as you want without worrying about wasted fuel or environmental harm. Everyone should be using this! Shelf life is about 1-2 yrs. The plastic top cracks over time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This fuel tester works as described.

  • By Michael from Huber Heights OH USA on Thursday, September 24, 2020
  • Review: This fuel tester works as described. However, if your goal is to simply test and not return fuel, my suggestion is to buy the little fuel cup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.