TOP

GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

  • 56 Customer Reviews

Reviews for GATS Fuel Jar Strainer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Just as advertised

  • By Kevin from Pryor OK USA on Friday, December 16, 2011
  • Pros: Larger capacity for multi-sumps before dumping. Handy strainer. No wasted fuel.
  • Cons: A little large for a flight bag.
  • Review: It did exactly what was expected of it. Saw a local flight instructor with one and decided to try it. Very happy with the results.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I have been missing!!

  • By Leman from Richmond CA USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: all
  • Cons: no
  • Review: It is a great device. It allows me to drain as much fuel as I like to get rid of all of the particles/water the eye can see. At the same time not dumping fuel(money) on the ground. They should pass these out to new student pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great fuel sampler

  • By A Customer from Shelburne VT USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use and saves valuable fuel with o
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great way to save good fuel on a preflight!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Product

  • By Bill on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros: Saves fuel and keeps fuel off the asphalt
  • Cons: Jar is a little larger than I need
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Steven from MIddletown DE USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Review: Allows a larger sample to be drained, and sample is easily visable. Great for flight training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gennaro ( Jerry ) from Lewes DE USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Pros: Clear to see through for any contamination. All around a good tool for the aircraft.
  • Cons: Nne
  • Review: Easy to use. New improved metal sump probe. If it came with a six foot ladder for Cessna it would rate a 10. Only kidding about the ladder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would, and will if needed, buy this product again.

  • By Thomas from Lincoln CA USA on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
  • Pros: Just easy to use, and easy to clean if necessary.
  • Cons: It is a little bulky, but that is not really a problem for me.
  • Review: It is a very easy way to be sure that the fuel you put back into the fuel cell of your plane is free of contamination, and it is easy then to get rid of the debris or water if any was there.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Greg Hecht from Olathe KS USA on Saturday, September 13, 2008
  • Review: Excellent product, especially with today's $4 - $6+ fuel prices. This is the only fuel strainer I know of that includes a membrane capable of separating fuel and water so that it is possible to pour tested fuel slops back into your tanks instead of on to the apron or in to your local airport's slops jar (depending on your local regs.) It all adds up over time. If you land at an unfamiliar destination and are unsure about whether you're allowed to pour slops on the apron, this system eliminates the need to give it a thought.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Best

  • By Gary from Westborough MA USA on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
  • Review: Best little fuel sample strainer jar I have used. Easy to detect any water and it strains the water from fuel when you pour it back into the tank. Amazing, how they do that, who cares, it works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best fuel jar I've ever used

  • By Brian from Council Bluffs USA on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
  • Pros: A screen so you can actually put your good fuel back in the plane.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Started using this fuel jar when I was renting a plane and it was the jar I bought when I become an aircraft owner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Lewis from Raymond ME USA on Thursday, December 29, 2016
  • Pros: Clear, large container
  • Cons:
  • Review: The GATS fuel jar strainer is great for checking the 13 spots on the Cessna 172, 182, and 205 I fly for CAP. It easily holds a wing tank load of 5 sump checks and it makes for easy pouring of fuel back into wing tank. Don't like throwing that expensive fuel on the ramp.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely the one to buy

  • By Kelvin from Castle Rock CO USA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Pros: No wasted fuel
  • Cons: It is a bit big
  • Review: It is just the only one you should buy, it may be a bit more expensive but it's worth it when you think about all the wasted fuel. And you don't have to worry about putting dirt or water back into the gas tank because of the efficient strainer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Good Product

  • By A Customer from Saint Joseph MN USA on Monday, March 16, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It is easy to use and allows you to pour the fuel back into the tanks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Martin from Ocean ridge FL USA on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
  • Review: As expected
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Updated version

  • By Joe L. from Richmond VA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2015
  • Pros: New lip, seems beefier than before
  • Cons: Top seems glued on.
  • Review: More durable looking than previous purchases of same product. Has a new lip for easy pouring back. Much better for fuel drain than the thin tube competitor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome product

  • By william from port lavaca TX USA on Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • Pros: Saves fuel
  • Cons: Price
  • Review: A little pricey for a plastic jar but it does the job well. Everything on a plane is expensive so the price doesn't matter. It's nice to test your fuel and then be able to return the clean fuel back to the tank without the contaminants.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from las vegas, nv on Tuesday, April 17, 2007
  • Review: I love this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the intended purpose.

  • By Joel from Los Angeles CA USA on Friday, July 18, 2008
  • Pros: Good size, does what it should.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This jar is a perfect replacement for the "shot glass" sump tester included with the aircraft. It allows one to test all of the taps on a 172, and then dump the fuel back into the tank through the strainer--rather than just dumping it on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product - everyone should use one

  • By Keith from Hartly DE USA on Thursday, September 27, 2007
  • Pros: Takes large sample, Good view of fuel quality, Return gas to tank
  • Cons: Larger to store, You see how much crud is really in your fuel system
  • Review: This is my second Gatts jar, replacing one I lost somewhere. The 12 oz jar is more sturdy than the 16 oz version. I like being able to put the gas back in my tanks - it really does a good job of filtering out trash, although I never have water in the gas to test that feature. I also like being able to drain more gas out, to see what was in the lines and gascolator. The standard 2 or 3 oz cup isn't enough to get a good measure of the quality of the fuel
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Santa Monica CA USA on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
  • Review: Simple easy to use and it is the number 1 choice of my flight school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Neat'n'Clean

  • By Pete L from Pittsburgh PA USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Clean hands; large volume
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Unlike various other, skinnier fuel strainers, this one allows you to keep your hands free of fuel. In addition, its larger size allows one to sump all of a plane's tanks without having to dispose of small quantities of fuel. Once finished you can then safely return the sumped fuel to the tanks, pouring through the strainer's mesh screen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Must have

  • By A Customer from San Jose CA USA on Monday, February 18, 2019
  • Review: Perfect!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Best

  • By A Customer from Lake Tapps WA USA on Wednesday, February 27, 2019
  • Review: Superb purpose.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

this is great

  • By Jim from Claremore OK USA on Monday, March 10, 2008
  • Pros: no waste
  • Cons: none
  • Review: No more fuel on the ground. I have 12 sumps on my '99 C182. This allows me to take samples from each and pour them back into the tanks. Really nice!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly What I Wanted

  • By Dave from Owasso OK USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2008
  • Pros: Simple, reliable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: My instructor has one just like this. We tested his to see that water in the fuel would in fact be stopped at the filter when you empty the container.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Hilton Head Island SC USA on Friday, October 02, 2009
  • Pros: Simple
  • Cons:
  • Review: A better mouse trap (or fuel sump jar)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Daytona Beach FL USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jim from Fresno CA USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review: Does what it is supposed to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jon from Draper UT USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Denton,TX on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Review: Good cushion. Love the color. If given the choice, I could have gone one size up, but oh well, this will do for now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LIFE CHANGING!

  • By A Customer from Shakopee MN USA on Wednesday, April 25, 2018
  • Pros: Allows for larger samples
  • Cons: It takes up more space in a flight bag
  • Review: OK. It's not really life changing. But it is a great way to sample all of the possible sumps on your airplane and return a clean sample to your fuel tanks. I like it. I'm glad I got it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.