CYBER MONDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for Gleim Instrument Pilot FAA Knowledge Test Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim is good - alone or in class.

  • By Steve from Porterville CA USA on Monday, December 30, 2013
  • Pros: Concise instruction, good 'correct' and 'incorrect' answer explanations.
  • Cons: If you don't understand an explanation, you'll need to ask someone or Google for help.
  • Review: I have used Gleim to pass the private, commercial, and advanced ground instructor/ CFI written exams.
    Now, in a group study setting, I assist pilots in learning from the Gleim Instrument Pilot Written Exam Guide. The guys like it. After years of attempting to pass this exam, they feel like they can pass it this time.
    I feel confident that they will be prepared for the exam.
    Gleim will 'sign them off', something I can't do for them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim is good - alone or in class.

  • By Steve from Porterville CA USA on Monday, December 30, 2013
  • Pros: Takes you through the essentials without excess commentary.
  • Cons: You still need the FAR/AIM, charts, etc. (order the whole set from Gleim)
  • Review: I have studied and instructed from this book. Private, then commercial, advanced ground instructor, then instructor of students seeking their private pilot rating. I've 'brought up' three groups of people through this book. It works when you use it like you plan to succeed.
    Buy the book, pass the written, then begin flying lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Passed!

  • By Andy from Jericho VT USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Very structured
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Using this product according to their recommendations, I passed my ifr written the first time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth (Almost) Every Penny

  • By Steve from Little Rock AR USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Lots of great information to help you pass the exam.
  • Cons: Does not cover everything (possibly to entice you into the Gleim Ground School).
  • Review: The chief CFI at the flight school where I'm planning to get my instrument rating recommended this book to use as a study aid for the exam. I bought it and studied it cover to cover. I passed the exam on the first try with a 90%.

    The book does not cover everything, which I discovered after working through the ASA Instrument Exam Prep book as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By Jason from Norfolk NY USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Review: Much better than the jeppesen instrument.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thorough review

  • By Jerry from Trenton NJ USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Review: Well assembled and presented.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good information for exam.

  • By ric from Shawnee KS USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Concise and to the point
  • Cons: None that I can think of
  • Review: This was an excellent source of information for the exam. I highly recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best test prep ever

  • By Kathryn from Williamstown NJ USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: The explanations for the answers that reference what book and section the question is from is great
  • Cons: Some of the pictures are distorted and hard to read the information
  • Review: I have used and reccommended the gleim test prep for 20 years, so when it came to taking my CFII written I was happy with the results once again. I usually tell my students to go through the book 4 times and answer all the questions so that none are a surprise. I scored a 92 on the instrument and was quite happy with that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth it

  • By Gary V from Kennesaw GA USA on Monday, January 09, 2012
  • Review: I have been doing this little bit a day and it sticks in my head better...I used the similar book for the PPL...worth every penny
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By Forrest from Bastrop TX USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Pros: See above.
  • Cons: Paper and binding are cheap.
  • Review: You really never know if you understand a subject until you are tested on it, and that is what this book is all about.
    Learn all you can, then answer the questions in this book to find out where you stand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worthwhile investment &a excellent study guide

  • By Robert from Williamsburg VA USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros: Well written and worth the money.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Contains many questions from the various aviation doucements. It met my expections as an excellent study guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great way to clean off the Rust

  • By Bill from Houston TX USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Pros: easy to understand..
  • Cons: None
  • Review: A great review source for one who is getting back into flying with years off..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again very good

  • By steve from rutland VT USA on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • Pros: right to the point of info one needs
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This is a very good book. Easy to read and full of important info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the exam.

  • By Katie from Pylesville MD USA on Friday, February 27, 2009
  • Pros: Great study guide.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This book, just like the private pilot exam guide, is a great study guide for the instrument exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Benjamin from Butler PA on Friday, December 05, 2008
  • Review: Gleim's system assists you in retaining information and learning the material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Killeen Texas on Tuesday, September 27, 2005
  • Review: Very informative for the Written
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This book is all you need to study to pass the written with a hight score

  • By marc from plymouth MI USA on Tuesday, April 28, 2009
  • Review: Well organized, edited and user friendly. All the information you need to confidently take the written faa instrument exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Gleim's written reviews for pilot knowledge tests work for me

  • By Alan J. Folk from Wauconda, Il on Friday, February 06, 2009
  • Pros: The explanations given for the right answers are easy to understand and help clarify why a specific answer is correct.
  • Cons: Figure out some way to read and answer the questions without accidentally uncovering the answers.
  • Review: I have taken five knowledge tests using the Gleim exam guides which included obtaining an Instrument rating.My test results have always been much better than satisfasctory. I think they continue to put out an excellent product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

REVIEW OF GLEIM INSTRUMENT PILOT WRITTEN EXAM GUIDE

  • By David from Lawrenceville GA USA on Wednesday, June 22, 2016
  • Pros: Good Concise Pre-Question Review Sections
  • Cons: A little more detail on references to the question answers - leaves you searching for some information
  • Review: A very good self-study guide for anyone taking the Instrument Knowledge Test. The references on the question answers could be a little more precise especiall relating to the AIM
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Prep Product for Written Test

  • By A Customer from Rockville MD USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Good written exam prep guide
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a well-crafted guide that will help prepare you for the instrument written exam. Each section has a concise summary of the information to be covered, then a bank of test questions, answers, and explanations. The book claims, and I agree, that it is NOT an instrument flying textbook, guide, or other resource other than preparing you for the written exam. I've compared it to the ASA test prep guide and like the Gleim format a little better, but they're pretty similar.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Study Guide

  • By Monaskon from Richmond VA USA on Friday, April 27, 2012
  • Review: Good IFR study guide, I found it easier to use than ASA Instrument Test Prep.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I expected.

  • By Joseph from Jasper IN USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Quick read
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met my expectations. I used the book along with the ASA computer software. It was easier to perform the calculations with pencil and paper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good review of FAA exam topics and questions.

  • By Tom from Portland CT USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Comprehensive overview of FAA exam database.
  • Cons: The answers with explanations need to be located in the back of the text.
  • Review: This book clearly meets its stated objective which is to prepare the student to pass the FAA written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thought was to buy a book, not a newspaper....

  • By A Customer from Weed CA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Pros: Good content from GPO
  • Cons: Bound newprint and ink.
  • Review: Content is fine, the poor quality of the newsprint and ink is a let down. I still may return the order, because the ink is cheap, and causes a reaction. Cheap copies of government printing office publication.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice to have all the questions

  • By Joshua from Cambridge, MA on Monday, August 17, 2009
  • Review: I used the Gleim book for the Private Pilot exam, and scored 100%. My biggest complaint with the Gleim books is that, though they purport to "explain" why the choices for each question are right and wrong, most of the time, their explanation for the wrong answers is simply, "Answer B is wrong because answer A is correct," which is not terribly helpful. Pros: - All questions listed and categorized. - Laundry list of the bare-minimum information needed to pass. Cons: - Explanations of wrong exam answers often lacking.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dirk from Glenwood MN USA on Thursday, August 27, 2009
  • Pros: Great discriptives
  • Cons: poor printing
  • Review: Printing quality of pictures i.e. figures and legends poor and at time difficult to read if not unreadable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Cessnadriver from Shelbyville KY USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Good review of a LOT of info!
  • Cons: Too much skipping around to find figures and legends.
  • Review: The only bad part of the product is the multiple pages of legends and figures and having to skip around all over the place. Otherwise, a very helpful study tool. I passed my instrument and ins. instructor written.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Gary from Lakeland FL USA on Thursday, February 14, 2008
  • Pros: It provides explanations in ways that are easy to understand and remember.
  • Cons: The questions and answers at the end of each section are too far apart, It would better if the answers were on the pages immediately following the questions.
  • Review: This is an excellent refresher for the IFR pilot or great supplemental study material in preparation for the IFR Written Test. It would also be great for someone considering the IFR rating. It provides a through overview of the knowledge and skills necessary to earn the rating.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very thorough on the answer explanations

  • By A Customer from Palmer AK USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Gleim not only explains why the correct answers are correct, they explain why the wrong answers are incorrect. Jeppesen doesn't do that.
  • Cons: The latest book didn't have the new figures from the new FAA Computer Testing Supplement.
  • Review: I really like the Gleim test guide. Gleim seems to work hard at turning out quality material. I would use Gleim test guides consistently if they laid out the material to coincide with the Jeppesen Guided Discovery books. I like using the Jeppesen text in my classes but I would prefer using the Gleim test guides with it because of the thoroughness of the explanations of the answers. They also seem to be better in having the latest FAA question in their books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Littleton MA USA on Tuesday, March 11, 2008
  • Pros: Seems to have every possible question
  • Cons: A cd with practice tests would be helpful [editor note:  here is a link to the Gleim Instrument Pilot Test Prep Software]
  • Review: Great review for the Instrument test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Pacman from Grants Pass OR USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Pros: The best part of the book is that it gives you information about how to take the test and methods of study.
  • Cons: Book is a dry as cracker juice.
  • Review: This book is exactly what it is advertised to be. Lots of information, 800 questions for you to practice on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim Sucks! Poor, Inadequate Graphics & Instruction. Strictly a Poorly Constructecd Gauge.

  • By Thomas L Thomson from Tulsa OK USA on Tuesday, March 01, 2011
  • Pros: Like, who?
  • Cons: You. Ya'll hoodwinked me for 20 greenbacks.
  • Review: The book is so over-organized as to be obtuse; too much on questions re the FAA exam and nothing on teaching. As a former aviation electronics instructor, writer/editor for missile/airplane systems, the title isn't good for anything ~ including a speedy refresher. The authors need to learn something: "KISS: KEEP IT SIMPLE, STUPID." Readers: Put 20 bucks on the lottery. You'll have a better chance of winning something for your money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.