TOP

Reviews for Gleim Instrument Pilot FAA Knowledge Test Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim is good - alone or in class.

  • By Steve from Porterville CA USA on Monday, December 30, 2013
  • Pros: Concise instruction, good 'correct' and 'incorrect' answer explanations.
  • Cons: If you don't understand an explanation, you'll need to ask someone or Google for help.
  • Review: I have used Gleim to pass the private, commercial, and advanced ground instructor/ CFI written exams.
    Now, in a group study setting, I assist pilots in learning from the Gleim Instrument Pilot Written Exam Guide. The guys like it. After years of attempting to pass this exam, they feel like they can pass it this time.
    I feel confident that they will be prepared for the exam.
    Gleim will 'sign them off', something I can't do for them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim is good - alone or in class.

  • By Steve from Porterville CA USA on Monday, December 30, 2013
  • Pros: Takes you through the essentials without excess commentary.
  • Cons: You still need the FAR/AIM, charts, etc. (order the whole set from Gleim)
  • Review: I have studied and instructed from this book. Private, then commercial, advanced ground instructor, then instructor of students seeking their private pilot rating. I've 'brought up' three groups of people through this book. It works when you use it like you plan to succeed.
    Buy the book, pass the written, then begin flying lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Passed!

  • By Andy from Jericho VT USA on Wednesday, June 03, 2015
  • Pros: Very structured
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Using this product according to their recommendations, I passed my ifr written the first time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth (Almost) Every Penny

  • By Steve from Little Rock AR USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Lots of great information to help you pass the exam.
  • Cons: Does not cover everything (possibly to entice you into the Gleim Ground School).
  • Review: The chief CFI at the flight school where I'm planning to get my instrument rating recommended this book to use as a study aid for the exam. I bought it and studied it cover to cover. I passed the exam on the first try with a 90%.

    The book does not cover everything, which I discovered after working through the ASA Instrument Exam Prep book as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By Jason from Norfolk NY USA on Monday, June 25, 2012
  • Review: Much better than the jeppesen instrument.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thorough review

  • By Jerry from Trenton NJ USA on Monday, October 01, 2012
  • Review: Well assembled and presented.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good information for exam.

  • By ric from Shawnee KS USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Concise and to the point
  • Cons: None that I can think of
  • Review: This was an excellent source of information for the exam. I highly recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best test prep ever

  • By Kathryn from Williamstown NJ USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Pros: The explanations for the answers that reference what book and section the question is from is great
  • Cons: Some of the pictures are distorted and hard to read the information
  • Review: I have used and reccommended the gleim test prep for 20 years, so when it came to taking my CFII written I was happy with the results once again. I usually tell my students to go through the book 4 times and answer all the questions so that none are a surprise. I scored a 92 on the instrument and was quite happy with that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth it

  • By Gary V from Kennesaw GA USA on Monday, January 09, 2012
  • Review: I have been doing this little bit a day and it sticks in my head better...I used the similar book for the PPL...worth every penny
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worthwhile investment &a excellent study guide

  • By Robert from Williamsburg VA USA on Monday, October 03, 2016
  • Pros: Well written and worth the money.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Contains many questions from the various aviation doucements. It met my expections as an excellent study guide.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By Forrest from Bastrop TX USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Pros: See above.
  • Cons: Paper and binding are cheap.
  • Review: You really never know if you understand a subject until you are tested on it, and that is what this book is all about.
    Learn all you can, then answer the questions in this book to find out where you stand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great way to clean off the Rust

  • By Bill from Houston TX USA on Monday, April 11, 2016
  • Pros: easy to understand..
  • Cons: None
  • Review: A great review source for one who is getting back into flying with years off..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Benjamin from Butler PA on Friday, December 05, 2008
  • Review: Gleim's system assists you in retaining information and learning the material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for the exam.

  • By Katie from Pylesville MD USA on Friday, February 27, 2009
  • Pros: Great study guide.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This book, just like the private pilot exam guide, is a great study guide for the instrument exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again very good

  • By steve from rutland VT USA on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • Pros: right to the point of info one needs
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This is a very good book. Easy to read and full of important info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Killeen Texas on Tuesday, September 27, 2005
  • Review: Very informative for the Written
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This book is all you need to study to pass the written with a hight score

  • By marc from plymouth MI USA on Tuesday, April 28, 2009
  • Review: Well organized, edited and user friendly. All the information you need to confidently take the written faa instrument exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Gleim's written reviews for pilot knowledge tests work for me

  • By Alan J. Folk from Wauconda, Il on Friday, February 06, 2009
  • Pros: The explanations given for the right answers are easy to understand and help clarify why a specific answer is correct.
  • Cons: Figure out some way to read and answer the questions without accidentally uncovering the answers.
  • Review: I have taken five knowledge tests using the Gleim exam guides which included obtaining an Instrument rating.My test results have always been much better than satisfasctory. I think they continue to put out an excellent product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.