CYBER MONDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for Gleim Instrument Pilot FAA Knowledge Test Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

REVIEW OF GLEIM INSTRUMENT PILOT WRITTEN EXAM GUIDE

  • By David from Lawrenceville GA USA on Wednesday, June 22, 2016
  • Pros: Good Concise Pre-Question Review Sections
  • Cons: A little more detail on references to the question answers - leaves you searching for some information
  • Review: A very good self-study guide for anyone taking the Instrument Knowledge Test. The references on the question answers could be a little more precise especiall relating to the AIM
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Prep Product for Written Test

  • By A Customer from Rockville MD USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Good written exam prep guide
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is a well-crafted guide that will help prepare you for the instrument written exam. Each section has a concise summary of the information to be covered, then a bank of test questions, answers, and explanations. The book claims, and I agree, that it is NOT an instrument flying textbook, guide, or other resource other than preparing you for the written exam. I've compared it to the ASA test prep guide and like the Gleim format a little better, but they're pretty similar.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Study Guide

  • By Monaskon from Richmond VA USA on Friday, April 27, 2012
  • Review: Good IFR study guide, I found it easier to use than ASA Instrument Test Prep.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I expected.

  • By Joseph from Jasper IN USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Quick read
  • Cons:
  • Review: Met my expectations. I used the book along with the ASA computer software. It was easier to perform the calculations with pencil and paper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Thought was to buy a book, not a newspaper....

  • By A Customer from Weed CA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Pros: Good content from GPO
  • Cons: Bound newprint and ink.
  • Review: Content is fine, the poor quality of the newsprint and ink is a let down. I still may return the order, because the ink is cheap, and causes a reaction. Cheap copies of government printing office publication.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good review of FAA exam topics and questions.

  • By Tom from Portland CT USA on Monday, August 08, 2011
  • Pros: Comprehensive overview of FAA exam database.
  • Cons: The answers with explanations need to be located in the back of the text.
  • Review: This book clearly meets its stated objective which is to prepare the student to pass the FAA written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Cessnadriver from Shelbyville KY USA on Monday, August 01, 2011
  • Pros: Good review of a LOT of info!
  • Cons: Too much skipping around to find figures and legends.
  • Review: The only bad part of the product is the multiple pages of legends and figures and having to skip around all over the place. Otherwise, a very helpful study tool. I passed my instrument and ins. instructor written.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice to have all the questions

  • By Joshua from Cambridge, MA on Monday, August 17, 2009
  • Review: I used the Gleim book for the Private Pilot exam, and scored 100%. My biggest complaint with the Gleim books is that, though they purport to "explain" why the choices for each question are right and wrong, most of the time, their explanation for the wrong answers is simply, "Answer B is wrong because answer A is correct," which is not terribly helpful. Pros: - All questions listed and categorized. - Laundry list of the bare-minimum information needed to pass. Cons: - Explanations of wrong exam answers often lacking.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dirk from Glenwood MN USA on Thursday, August 27, 2009
  • Pros: Great discriptives
  • Cons: poor printing
  • Review: Printing quality of pictures i.e. figures and legends poor and at time difficult to read if not unreadable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very thorough on the answer explanations

  • By A Customer from Palmer AK USA on Monday, February 05, 2018
  • Pros: Gleim not only explains why the correct answers are correct, they explain why the wrong answers are incorrect. Jeppesen doesn't do that.
  • Cons: The latest book didn't have the new figures from the new FAA Computer Testing Supplement.
  • Review: I really like the Gleim test guide. Gleim seems to work hard at turning out quality material. I would use Gleim test guides consistently if they laid out the material to coincide with the Jeppesen Guided Discovery books. I like using the Jeppesen text in my classes but I would prefer using the Gleim test guides with it because of the thoroughness of the explanations of the answers. They also seem to be better in having the latest FAA question in their books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Gary from Lakeland FL USA on Thursday, February 14, 2008
  • Pros: It provides explanations in ways that are easy to understand and remember.
  • Cons: The questions and answers at the end of each section are too far apart, It would better if the answers were on the pages immediately following the questions.
  • Review: This is an excellent refresher for the IFR pilot or great supplemental study material in preparation for the IFR Written Test. It would also be great for someone considering the IFR rating. It provides a through overview of the knowledge and skills necessary to earn the rating.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Littleton MA USA on Tuesday, March 11, 2008
  • Pros: Seems to have every possible question
  • Cons: A cd with practice tests would be helpful [editor note:  here is a link to the Gleim Instrument Pilot Test Prep Software]
  • Review: Great review for the Instrument test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.