TOP

Flightcom 4DLX Headset

  • 84 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Flightcom 4DLX Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

i would buy this product again

  • By matthew leonard from manassas VA USA on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Pros: like them very much
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have used my headset several times all ready found them with good sound and light weight
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Audry from Blytheville AR USA on Thursday, January 17, 2013
  • Review: The newer one dose'nt have the double wire boom as my first one did but too my first don't have dual sound control. This is my third one I have bought. All in all These head set are nice to wear and can be worn for long peirod of time in comfort, and for the pirce I thank it a good bargin plus it cut my engine noise about half.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Byron from Broussard LA USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Review: Really good quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

New to Flying...

  • By Sean P. A. Williams from Humble TX USA on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, stylish!
  • Cons: None...
  • Review: I am a new student to flying and this is my first Headset. I love them they are quiet, comfortable and needs no adjustments as I talk my class. I have a lot to learn but I feel I made a great chose in that selection.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

highly recommend

  • By juan baixeras from miami FL USA on Wednesday, June 01, 2011
  • Pros: clear communications and great price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It's comfortable and I have a big head. It works great. I am a pilot for United Airlines so I know a lot about head sets. This one works great. Very clear and you cannot beat the price. Don't waste your money on an expensive head set when you can get this one. You won't be able to tell the difference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset for a great price!

  • By Jeremy from Fairborn OH USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: Great price and rugged.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The headset worked as advertised! It worked as well as other brands that cost more money. I have thousands of hours using David Clark, Boze etc. You do not have to spend a large amount of money on a headset to get something that works.Just remember don't adjust them too tight on the top of your head and you will enjoy the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works perfect

  • By phil from colorado springs CO USA on Friday, January 09, 2009
  • Pros: easy to use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Have had a early model of the 4x for 10 yrs.  Needed another one for wife.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Flightcom makes great headsets, at a great price.

  • By Richard Kendall from Phoenix, AZ on Monday, February 15, 2010
  • Pros: Works great, low price, comfortable
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have been a CFI for 36 years. Used all types of headsets, and Flightcom has simply been the best performers, and at a great price to boot. I have a 4DLX, a 5DLX and the Classic ANR. All work better than comparable David Clark sets. Clear radio, reliable and the ANR version seems to work forever on 1 9 volt battery. (My David Clark one used 6 AA's and would last about 2 hours)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset for a student

  • By marcus from washington UT USA on Friday, May 21, 2010
  • Pros: they sound great and the Mic works very well
  • Cons: head band hurts my head a little if adjusted wrong
  • Review: These have been a great headset for my flight lessons, i would recommend them to anyone looking for a headset on cheaper side.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great for the money

  • By Ethan from Fairhope AL USA on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Pros: works great, nice and cheep
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have used this head set for a champ, mooney, 172 and my Vertex Pro VI VXA-220 Transceiver. Evey use has been uneventful and that is how I like it. It is a little tight but not to bad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Erez from Netanya Israel Israel on Tuesday, November 22, 2016
  • Review:

    I love the price and the quality!

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Addison from Liberty Lake WA USA on Friday, March 24, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

You can't beat it

  • By Joseph from Stoughton MA USA on Monday, October 25, 2010
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This headset is the best, you can't beat the price and it's great quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Patrick from Covina CA USA on Wednesday, December 01, 2010
  • Pros: sound quality is good. no defects
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Just what I thought it would do. No bells or whistles just a good product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

awesome!!!

  • By luis from kent OH USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Review: Work great and at a great price!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again... sure I will do.

  • By Emmanuel from El Paso TX USA on Friday, September 10, 2010
  • Review: I had low specs about this product, but I wanted a non-expensive headset for my self as Initial Student PP. Now that I have been using it half way to my PP License and I had work out great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality headset

  • By John from Harrisburg PA USA on Sunday, May 29, 2011
  • Pros: price and performance
  • Cons: none that I know of
  • Review: This is a good headset for the price. I bought it for my wife and daughter and it is performing well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Economical Headset

  • By Clark from Pipersville PA USA on Tuesday, September 02, 2008
  • Review: Bought two Flightcom 4DLX headsets. Very comfortable and communication was as clear as much more expensive models I've used. Would definitely purchase again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

comfort and quality very good

  • By JOHN from LAKEPORT CA USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: very nice quality even if you don't consider the low price
  • Cons: none that i can think of
  • Review: Purchased for my girl friend she comes through nice and clear on my set.  The fit and finish controls and mike all very nice.  She also says they are comfortable to wear.  Planning 4 hr cross country -  that will be the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great starting headset

  • By A Customer from Fairmont WV USA on Friday, May 23, 2008
  • Review: This is my first headset and was a great buy. The price is excellent and the headset is comfortable. I wore this set on my first 3-hour solo cross country and had no problems.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Deal

  • By Steve from Visalia CA USA on Tuesday, May 13, 2008
  • Pros: Sound is on par with the david clark rental I used from the flight center.
  • Cons: A little tight around the head upon initial use.
  • Review: Love the headset for the price. Just learning how to fly, and plan to use this as a passenger set after I get licensed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Economical and Practical

  • By Matthew from Lancaster PA USA on Thursday, July 17, 2008
  • Pros: Price, performance is excellent
  • Cons: A little heavy for long flights.
  • Review: I just started flying not too long ago and thought that it would be a good idea to purchase my own headset rather than paying $20 to rent them all the time. This is a good set to being your training with. I wouldn't want to wear these for 5 hours at a time because of the weight, but they are an excellent alternative to the $800 sets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Ricardo from Orlando, FL on Sunday, February 11, 2007
  • Review: great headsets for the price, they look good and work good. comunications are clear with this headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from USA on Sunday, May 20, 2007
  • Pros: Volume control on L&R sides. BIG PLUS!!!!
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great head set for the money!!!!! I have my first pair which cost much more than the 4DLX with the same performance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Its Awesome and i love it..

  • By Abhimanyu from Hayward CA USA on Friday, January 18, 2008
  • Review: Hi..This is Abhimanyu.i am a pilot and i was in need of headsets and was fed up by hiring the headsets from other guys and then i bought a Flightcom Headsets from mypilotstore and today i am very happy because those headsets are the best and they are cheap too. All my friends take my headsets and go for their flights because the clarity is so good that you even hear a pindrop... In a nutshell i will say i am very happy and i will buy rest of my products from mypilotstore only and i will recommend all other people to shop at my pilot store only.. THANKS
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Been using mine for 8 years!!

  • By Chris on Saturday, June 21, 2008
  • Pros: Best value for the money.
  • Cons: none for the price bracket
  • Review: I bought it because it looked like good value for the money. I used it in stock condition for 5 years. I since added an Oregan Aero hush kit and new ear seals. As I progressed to louder and louder cockpits, I finally installed a jack in one ear cup so I could use communications earplugs underneath it. My trusty little $120 headset has been upgraded to a $300 headset that is quieter than any other stock headset in the world. Yes, 300% better than the Bose, and 100% better than an ANR equiped David Clark. For the new pilot, buy a solid headset such as this and upgrade it with Oregon Aero, in-ear plugs, or ANR as your budget and needs require. It will work fine in any Cessna or Piper, but you will need to upgrade it as I have to use it in a Pitts, Extra, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Way to go for students

  • By Sonny Ox from MARSHFIELD MA USA on Thursday, October 11, 2007
  • Pros: Independant Volume Control
  • Cons: Honestly can't think of any
  • Review: Price / 5 stars
    Comfort / 5 stars
    Weight / 4 stars
    Durable /5 /stars
    Just as good as David Clarks
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

More boom for your buck!

  • By A Customer from Greenville IN USA on Friday, October 26, 2007
  • Review: Great all around headset; especially for novice pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Valuable headset

  • By A Customer from Chicago, IL on Friday, November 20, 2009
  • Review: I recommend this headset. Just replace the headband by their polar fleece headpad, and you have a comfortable headset, with 24dB noise reduction, for under $200.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Could not be happier!

  • By Mike from Lafayette IN USA on Friday, November 27, 2009
  • Pros: Excellent product for the price.
  • Cons: A little uncomfortable to wear for extended trips.
  • Review: This product works and operates better than I expected. I was buying this set to get my by until I ordered a better,more expensive set. I am now not in a hurry to spend the extra money. These sound great and I love the adjustable volume for each side separately. I looked at a lot of reviews and I do have to agree with one of the negatives that was mentioned many time, this headset is tight. It does become uncomfortable over a long trip, I have had some success with adjustments but..... Overall a great product for the price. I have since this pair ordered an additional set of this same product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By John from Sunnyvale CA USA on Friday, April 25, 2008
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It fits and works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I love my Flightcom 4DLX!

  • By A Customer from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on Thursday, January 07, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable, Affordable , Works Well, Quailty
  • Cons: They can be a bit tight after awhile, but you get used to it.
  • Review: This headset works and operates better than I expected. I was thinking of getting David Clark H10-13.4, and that is a great headset, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money on headsets just starting out. I saw these on mypilotstore.com, they were under 150 bucks, and I love them. They are comfy, and work great. I hear ATC very clearly, and my instructor comes in clear as well. I got the gel-ear seals and it makes this headset even better, a much buy! If your looking for something that will last for a long time, has good sound and is comfy for a long time, get this little gem of a headset. I love my Flightcoms!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great shipping!

  • By Scott from Gainesville FL USA on Friday, March 28, 2008
  • Review: I got it quick and with no problems!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

WOW!!! Try And Beat This

  • By J Gray Bridgewater State from Stoughton,MA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros: Quality Headset, And Great Price
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: As a student pilot in college with a wife and two children money is not something I have at this point in time. You can not beat this product for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dc5yeh from Middle Village NY USA on Friday, June 05, 2009
  • Review: Really good headsets noise reduction is good volume is great, comfortable, wires are long enough and fits in any part of the flightbag. I definetly reccomend it. I like the product alot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset, Great Price

  • By Willie Tumanuvao from camas WA USA on Thursday, July 30, 2009
  • Pros: Comfort & Price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This is my first headset as a student pilot and so far I have no complaints. It is very comfortable and the transmission quality is great. I borrowed a David Clark headset for my first couple of flights before I got my 4DLX and I can't tell the difference. Overall, it's a great headset for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flightcom 4DLX Headset

  • By Tamara from Tucson AZ USA on Tuesday, August 25, 2009
  • Pros: Wonderful product and wonderful company to deal with.
  • Cons: isn't any
  • Review: I purchased this headset for my husband. He was so excited and happy with this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flightcom 4DLX Headset Is a Great Value!

  • By Paul from Azle Texas USA on Monday, June 20, 2011
  • Pros: Best Value
  • Cons: They are not David Clarks
  • Review: The Flightcom 4DLX Headset is a great value. It has most features found on much more expensive units.

    These features are utilized to offer great performance, at the lowest cost of comparable units.

    I was able to buy two headsets, and the expandable intercom box for the price of just one High-end Headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good headset for the price

  • By A Customer from Cheyenne, WY, USA on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Pros: low price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great headset for the price! Definately a good purchase, used as backup headset in case primary fails.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juan Manuel from Palma de Mallorca Islas Baleares Spain on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, May 27, 2016
  • Review: I have been using this for flight training and cross country for more than 2 years. The audio is very satisfactory. Some initial adjustment is needed to get a good fit. The fit is on the tight side, but this does help with ambient noise. It has become uncomfortable on the top of my head after an hour or two, requiring me to shift its position.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely tight fitting set

  • By Maranda Flyer from Lloydminster SK Canada on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
  • Pros: Clear set
  • Cons: Too tight
  • Review: When I first put on the set I thought it was excellent. 1-hour into the flight my head started to pain around my glass ear pieces. I had an older pair of David Clark's but could not adjust them small enough to stay in place. I thought reading the reviews and everyone mentioning how tight fitting they are that these are the ones I need. Trust me when they say tight fitting they mean it. I will be modifying this pair to make it for me. If you are willing to experiment this is the set for you. It you want to strap on and go this is not for you. I have a small size 7 pin head and the are tight. If you have never tried a pair they could clamp on an ants head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I did by this product again.

  • By Terry from Chandler AZ USA on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: Can't be beat for the dollar.
  • Cons: None really.Just a little tight but OK.
  • Review: After trying another popular brand that an instructor let em use I did some research. This headset and microphone has all the technical specs. as the others that cost a great deal more have. Good construction, maybe just a little tight if worn for a very long flight, but so would some of the others. The microphone needs to be close to the lips and one needs to speak with some authority and not whisper. Love them. Went back and bought another one!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Listen to the reviews....

  • By Izaak from Chandler AZ USA on Saturday, November 05, 2011
  • Pros: excellent volume and microphone
  • Cons: simply too tight
  • Review: This is a great headset IF you have a tiny head. IT IS SOOOOOO tight,and I have a pretty average sized 7 head. The functionality is excellent , but the headache caused by the set is very difficult to balance. I haven't had a chance to really play arond with it to see if I can stretch it out or tweek it in some way, but I will before my next flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy another. Good bang for the buck.

  • By John from Columbus OH USA on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
  • Pros: Independent volume for each ear, clear, good noise reduction
  • Cons: A little tight on the ears, especially on the arms of my glasses.
  • Review: VFR only, private license. This is my 3rd Flightcom headset. My 20 yr old 4DX is now my passenger headset. My wife uses the light weight model due to neck problems. The clarity of the DLX is a little better than the DX. The headband pad is also more comfortable. I've used this in a Skyhawk, Champ, and Piper Pacer and the noise reduction is pretty good. Longest flight so far has been 1.5 hrs. It's a little tight on my ears but I hoping it stretches with more use. I expect this headset to be the last I ever need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent, especially for price.

  • By Ken from Gillette WY USA on Friday, March 01, 2013
  • Pros: Price and quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very clear voice sound, good noise redution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

money well spent

  • By nick from redlands CA USA on Thursday, March 08, 2012
  • Pros: clear voice recognition and clear audio notes
  • Cons:
  • Review: Clear sound..excellent noise cancellation..very good for its price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great price/performance value

  • By Mark from Lakewood WA USA on Monday, July 11, 2011
  • Pros: great value, good quality
  • Cons: headsqueeze after prolonged flight
  • Review: Audio is great and the headset has a nice look and feel. Besides getting a little tight feeling after an hour and a half or so, the only nit is that it sometimes seems a little difficult to position the mike properly with the flex and wire combination on the boom.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality for the price

  • By Chuck from Clayton CA USA on Wednesday, July 06, 2011
  • Pros: Really good quality for the price.
  • Cons: Tight fit
  • Review: This headset works just fine. My only complaints might be that they are too tight fitting on my head and that it seems to take a little more effort than I'd like to voice activate the mic. For the price they make a good entry level headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Performing Headset

  • By Gordon, a UK pilot. from Naples FL USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Review: Headset performs as well as a David Clarke, but it is somewhat tight fitting and a real pleasure to take off! Come on Flightcom address this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the money !

  • By Eckart Schlager from Doral FL USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy, robust, Stereo or mono capability
  • Cons: Head band a little to tight, takes time to get use to it
  • Review: I have been flying with them steady since I got them and they have a great sound quality, fit and finish. I just love the fact that I can adjust each cup's volume since I fly in a very noisy cockpit.

    The mic works great and the mic arm stays where I want it to be even in bumpy rides.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good one

  • By Nestor from bethesda MD USA on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: gets very hard to stand after 2 hours of fly
  • Review: Sounds great, great price, not so comfortable though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from princeton IL USA on Sunday, February 08, 2009
  • Pros: cost & light weight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great value for the buck
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By Roy from Allen TX USA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
  • Pros: comfortable, excellent sound quality
  • Cons: None really. Gave me a headache towards the end of my first couple flights but once properly adjusted I have no issues with them.
  • Review: Have a few hours now with my 4DLX's and I am very pleased with the purchase. As a student I'm taking 2 to 3 trips a week and so far they have been comfortable and have had no issues even on longer flights. Had initially purchased these as my training headset to replace once I got my PPL. But I'm now considering keeping them and buying another set for my wife when she rides along. Outstanding product and I would recommend to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for a student

  • By A Customer from Baltimore, MD on Thursday, November 04, 2010
  • Pros: Microphone, audio quality, dual volume controls
  • Cons: Uncomfortable after about 1.5 hours
  • Review: I'm a student pilot and this was my first headset purchase after using my instructor's David Clark for a few flights. I have used this headset for about 10 hours now, and I'm happy with it for what I paid. On longer flights (more than 1.5 hours), the pressure gets annoying, but I haven't had any longer flights to see if it gets worse. The mic picks up my voice without problems, and the audio is clear. I will definitely use this until I am done with my training, at which time it will probably become a passenger headset. All in all a great value for a student or passenger.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset for the money

  • By Steven from Fayetteville NC USA on Thursday, October 23, 2008
  • Pros: Price, volume controls
  • Cons: I have to tilt the mic towards my mouth to get my voice to pick up
  • Review: I'm new to aviation and I ordered two of these headsets mainly because of the great price. They work just fine for getting around! The only issue is I have to tilt the mic at a 45' angle for my voice to pick up. Overall I am satified with the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok

  • By Jared from Stillwater OK USA on Monday, October 06, 2008
  • Pros: affordable, works well
  • Cons: tight
  • Review: Works great so far...a little tight around the ears after long use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Holdrege NE USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2010
  • Pros: Great ear protection from noise. Clear audio input
  • Cons: Some head discomfort due to tight fit after hour or so in flight.
  • Review: Fits a little tight, but overall great product and excellent audio. Also Excellent sound suppression in cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works fine - Except!

  • By James from Olympia WA USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2010
  • Pros: Good sound. Good looks
  • Cons: Too tight, especially after about 1 hour.
  • Review: I bought this headset for my wife and/or a passenger. Tone quality is great. Looks great. The only problem is that is a little tight fitting. An adjustable width would be great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent headset for the price

  • By Mark from Brighton CO USA on Monday, November 09, 2009
  • Pros: price, fit, quality, all around good deal
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: As a student pilot, the initial start up costs were more than I expected. When I was informed that I needed a headset, I went into stickershock. Excellent headset, Excellent price..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice product will buy again

  • By caleb on Saturday, December 13, 2008
  • Pros: volume microphone adjustment works good
  • Cons: microphone not the best still good though
  • Review: reallly good headphone its confie and is beter than i thought A+++++++
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset

  • By Dave from Columbus, OH on Friday, August 07, 2009
  • Pros: great sound quality, sturdy construction
  • Cons: Other than personal fit - none that I could find.
  • Review: This is a great headset for the price. Great sound quality and the mic picked up my voice very easily. The mic boom was very easy to position just right. Didn't have to spend a ton of time fitting it to my head/face. I am going to have to exchange my headset. It started to squeeze and hurt my head under an hour of flight. I wish they fit me better because I would like to keep them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value!

  • By David from Weatherford TX USA on Thursday, July 09, 2009
  • Pros: Fit and sound
  • Cons:
  • Review: Comfortable, quiet, good GA headset for the money!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for the money

  • By A Customer from greenville NC USA on Wednesday, March 18, 2009
  • Pros: great sound for the money
  • Cons: tight on the gourd but better after some streching. overall great product for the price
  • Review: Great for starter pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well In A Really Noisey Aircraft. (B-25J)

  • By Gregg from Georgetown TX USA on Thursday, August 27, 2009
  • Pros: Good noise reduction
  • Cons: Tight headband and sensitive mike placement
  • Review: This product suppresses outside noise while providing good quality sound from crew and ATC. The B25-J is a really loud airplane but, my 4DXL keeps noise I do not want to hear out and allows conversation to be clearly heard.The headset is tight fitting but I am now used to it. The mike must be placed where the insructions tell you to work right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gary from Richboro PA USA on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
  • Review: Quality as good as much more expensive headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Vaibhav from Hayward CA USA on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Review: I like this headsets..... and according to me its the cheapest and good..... I adviced my 3 friends. so now 10 of us are using the same headsets... but we found it little bit heavy when we wear it for longer time......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Friday, June 19, 2009
  • Pros: Sound quality, mic
  • Cons: Too tight
  • Review: Everything works just as described, the sound quality is excellent. My only complaint is that it's a bit tight and started to make my head sore on a 2 hour flight. Probably best for passengers or for use on short flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset

  • By Dennis from Sugar Land TX USA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Pros: Low price, reliable, reasonable quality
  • Cons: Fits a bit tight
  • Review: Used as backup headset in the cockpit and for passengers. Great value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Unbeleivable for the price!!!! Fantastic!!!!

  • By Roland from Bridgewater MA USA on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Pros: much better hearing protection for the price
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Decsent set for the money!!

  • By Scott from Port Allen La. USA on Monday, June 01, 2015
  • Pros: Inexpensive
  • Cons: Tight fit- need better boom hardware
  • Review: Set is really tight on head even on my children. Had to pry apart to make a more comfortable fit. Also had to open up ear muff on mic side to tighten mic boom which started falling down during a flight which made transmitting difficult while trying to hold mic to mouth making calls and controlling aircraft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

an excellent value

  • By Jeff from Humble TX USA on Monday, September 26, 2011
  • Pros: Very good value. Sound quality was good.
  • Cons: A little snug on your head for a long flight.
  • Review: Sound quality was good. A little snug on the head for longer flights. Mic adjustability is comparable to more expensive units. Seems to be a durable unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I wouldn't buy this product again.

  • By Diana from Albuquerque NM USA on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
  • Pros: Uncomfortable headband
  • Cons: Noise reduction and volume control are great.
  • Review: I bought these for my son, and he was complaining that the headband is uncomfortable. When he flys, it has to be adjusted several times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

hurts head

  • By R. Martin from Newton IA USA on Monday, April 25, 2011
  • Review: Well we tried it and found that yes it has a problem with painful pressure points on the head. Flightcom needs to get this fixed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dollar for Dollar a very good value.

  • By A Customer from Oceanside CA USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: Good value
  • Cons: Side tone requires a little "work around."
  • Review: Of course, not as good as Dave Clark, but about a 1/3 the price. Comfortable for about 1 1/2 hours and longer than that with a little bit of adjustment. Side tone skips" a little, but fine tuning the squelch and moving the mike to where it actually touches my lips seems to help quite a bit. All-in-all, very satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good buy for the money but fit is too tight.

  • By Marvin from Charlotte NC USA on Tuesday, May 14, 2013
  • Pros: Good sound, separate volume controls but unnecessary for me.
  • Cons: Tight head fit, hurts my ears. My head size is normal.
  • Review: It meet my expectations, however, The head clamp spring is too tight. I am unable to make it fit btter. After an hour or less I am back to my other set, similar price but feels better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for passenger headset

  • By Robert from Springfield VA USA on Wednesday, March 20, 2013
  • Pros: sturdy and function well
  • Cons: tight on head, lower volume for sound
  • Review: Purchased these with use for passengers, but used them for a full flight myself to fairly evaluate.  I would say adequate for the price.  Noticed a lower sound level than my David Clarks and turned the radios up to compensate
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Wallet is comfy but head hurts

  • By Mike from Denver, CO on Monday, June 27, 2011
  • Pros: Very inexpensive, good quality.
  • Cons: Avoid if you have a big head or ears (be honest)!
  • Review: I got the 4DLX as a new student and it was great for pattern work, but on longer (and not even that long - around three hour) XCs I found myself taking it off several times to just give my admittedly large head and ears a break. The headset really squeezes, and nothing I tried (including stretching it overnight for weeks at a time) worked. The dual volume control is nice, but I leave both earpieces turned up all the way, as I imagine most would.

    I have the DC H10-13S in my shopping cart now, if that tells you anything. The 4DLX is getting demoted to the spare/passenger set.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bad idea for adjustments

  • By A Customer from palm beach gardens FL USA on Thursday, May 22, 2008
  • Review: Good price but, quality seems to be ok. Head band is too tight and having trouble stretching it out. You need a wrench to adjust the ear hieght.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

ya get what you pay for

  • By Dennis from St. George UT on Monday, September 24, 2007
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: quality
  • Review: Not the best... problems with volume controls and overall quality
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good response from website

  • By ELENA from MADRID . Spain on Monday, March 17, 2008
  • Review: The product arrived in Spain in 15-20 days, in good condition a bit careless the warehouse staff .  The product is good according to price and website is trustworthy.All over rating is 3
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

eating the mike

  • By bob from henderson NV USA on Monday, May 10, 2010
  • Pros: It's ok
  • Cons: tightness on head have to bend it to fit
  • Review: Not a bad product, except the last time I went up, I just about had to eat the mike in order to be heard, or hear myself, something wrong here.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Stylish, cheap, head clamp

  • By Ross from Logan UT USA on Monday, October 18, 2010
  • Pros: Price, looks, and individual volume controls
  • Cons: Clamping of the head
  • Review: Seeing how this is the first and only headset I've ever owned I don't know that my experience counts for much. Still, considering the price I have greatly enjoyed my Flightcom. It has a clean, black, smooth look to it which I enjoyed. After an hour and a half flight the vice grip of a clamp does start to wear on my head. I've been forced to take it off for a moment or two to allow my head to breath. All in all, considering the price you get what you pay for. If you are using this for short local flights I think it's a great headset, otherwise I would suggest something else.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I made two purchases, one to find if the headset was ok, the second because the headset was as good as more expensive ones

  • By Sherman from Washougal WA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Pros: not so expensive, confortable and I like the seperate volume controls
  • Cons: none
  • Review: So far there is nothing to dislike. The headset works as well as more expensive ones and are more confortable. I now own 6 of the headset. My passengers also like them. I could use more in kid sizes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.