TOP

Flightcom 4DLX Headset

  • 84 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Flightcom 4DLX Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely tight fitting set

  • By Maranda Flyer from Lloydminster SK Canada on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
  • Pros: Clear set
  • Cons: Too tight
  • Review: When I first put on the set I thought it was excellent. 1-hour into the flight my head started to pain around my glass ear pieces. I had an older pair of David Clark's but could not adjust them small enough to stay in place. I thought reading the reviews and everyone mentioning how tight fitting they are that these are the ones I need. Trust me when they say tight fitting they mean it. I will be modifying this pair to make it for me. If you are willing to experiment this is the set for you. It you want to strap on and go this is not for you. I have a small size 7 pin head and the are tight. If you have never tried a pair they could clamp on an ants head.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Friday, May 27, 2016
  • Review: I have been using this for flight training and cross country for more than 2 years. The audio is very satisfactory. Some initial adjustment is needed to get a good fit. The fit is on the tight side, but this does help with ambient noise. It has become uncomfortable on the top of my head after an hour or two, requiring me to shift its position.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I did by this product again.

  • By Terry from Chandler AZ USA on Monday, October 03, 2011
  • Pros: Can't be beat for the dollar.
  • Cons: None really.Just a little tight but OK.
  • Review: After trying another popular brand that an instructor let em use I did some research. This headset and microphone has all the technical specs. as the others that cost a great deal more have. Good construction, maybe just a little tight if worn for a very long flight, but so would some of the others. The microphone needs to be close to the lips and one needs to speak with some authority and not whisper. Love them. Went back and bought another one!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Listen to the reviews....

  • By Izaak from Chandler AZ USA on Saturday, November 05, 2011
  • Pros: excellent volume and microphone
  • Cons: simply too tight
  • Review: This is a great headset IF you have a tiny head. IT IS SOOOOOO tight,and I have a pretty average sized 7 head. The functionality is excellent , but the headache caused by the set is very difficult to balance. I haven't had a chance to really play arond with it to see if I can stretch it out or tweek it in some way, but I will before my next flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy another. Good bang for the buck.

  • By John from Columbus OH USA on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
  • Pros: Independent volume for each ear, clear, good noise reduction
  • Cons: A little tight on the ears, especially on the arms of my glasses.
  • Review: VFR only, private license. This is my 3rd Flightcom headset. My 20 yr old 4DX is now my passenger headset. My wife uses the light weight model due to neck problems. The clarity of the DLX is a little better than the DX. The headband pad is also more comfortable. I've used this in a Skyhawk, Champ, and Piper Pacer and the noise reduction is pretty good. Longest flight so far has been 1.5 hrs. It's a little tight on my ears but I hoping it stretches with more use. I expect this headset to be the last I ever need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent, especially for price.

  • By Ken from Gillette WY USA on Friday, March 01, 2013
  • Pros: Price and quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very clear voice sound, good noise redution.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

money well spent

  • By nick from redlands CA USA on Thursday, March 08, 2012
  • Pros: clear voice recognition and clear audio notes
  • Cons:
  • Review: Clear sound..excellent noise cancellation..very good for its price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great price/performance value

  • By Mark from Lakewood WA USA on Monday, July 11, 2011
  • Pros: great value, good quality
  • Cons: headsqueeze after prolonged flight
  • Review: Audio is great and the headset has a nice look and feel. Besides getting a little tight feeling after an hour and a half or so, the only nit is that it sometimes seems a little difficult to position the mike properly with the flex and wire combination on the boom.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality for the price

  • By Chuck from Clayton CA USA on Wednesday, July 06, 2011
  • Pros: Really good quality for the price.
  • Cons: Tight fit
  • Review: This headset works just fine. My only complaints might be that they are too tight fitting on my head and that it seems to take a little more effort than I'd like to voice activate the mic. For the price they make a good entry level headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good one

  • By Nestor from bethesda MD USA on Tuesday, May 11, 2010
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: gets very hard to stand after 2 hours of fly
  • Review: Sounds great, great price, not so comfortable though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from princeton IL USA on Sunday, February 08, 2009
  • Pros: cost & light weight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great value for the buck
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for a student

  • By A Customer from Baltimore, MD on Thursday, November 04, 2010
  • Pros: Microphone, audio quality, dual volume controls
  • Cons: Uncomfortable after about 1.5 hours
  • Review: I'm a student pilot and this was my first headset purchase after using my instructor's David Clark for a few flights. I have used this headset for about 10 hours now, and I'm happy with it for what I paid. On longer flights (more than 1.5 hours), the pressure gets annoying, but I haven't had any longer flights to see if it gets worse. The mic picks up my voice without problems, and the audio is clear. I will definitely use this until I am done with my training, at which time it will probably become a passenger headset. All in all a great value for a student or passenger.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Love it!

  • By Roy from Allen TX USA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
  • Pros: comfortable, excellent sound quality
  • Cons: None really. Gave me a headache towards the end of my first couple flights but once properly adjusted I have no issues with them.
  • Review: Have a few hours now with my 4DLX's and I am very pleased with the purchase. As a student I'm taking 2 to 3 trips a week and so far they have been comfortable and have had no issues even on longer flights. Had initially purchased these as my training headset to replace once I got my PPL. But I'm now considering keeping them and buying another set for my wife when she rides along. Outstanding product and I would recommend to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Performing Headset

  • By Gordon, a UK pilot. from Naples FL USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Review: Headset performs as well as a David Clarke, but it is somewhat tight fitting and a real pleasure to take off! Come on Flightcom address this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the money !

  • By Eckart Schlager from Doral FL USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy, robust, Stereo or mono capability
  • Cons: Head band a little to tight, takes time to get use to it
  • Review: I have been flying with them steady since I got them and they have a great sound quality, fit and finish. I just love the fact that I can adjust each cup's volume since I fly in a very noisy cockpit.

    The mic works great and the mic arm stays where I want it to be even in bumpy rides.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gary from Richboro PA USA on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
  • Review: Quality as good as much more expensive headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Vaibhav from Hayward CA USA on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Review: I like this headsets..... and according to me its the cheapest and good..... I adviced my 3 friends. so now 10 of us are using the same headsets... but we found it little bit heavy when we wear it for longer time......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value

  • By A Customer from San Francisco CA USA on Friday, June 19, 2009
  • Pros: Sound quality, mic
  • Cons: Too tight
  • Review: Everything works just as described, the sound quality is excellent. My only complaint is that it's a bit tight and started to make my head sore on a 2 hour flight. Probably best for passengers or for use on short flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice product will buy again

  • By caleb on Saturday, December 13, 2008
  • Pros: volume microphone adjustment works good
  • Cons: microphone not the best still good though
  • Review: reallly good headphone its confie and is beter than i thought A+++++++
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent headset for the price

  • By Mark from Brighton CO USA on Monday, November 09, 2009
  • Pros: price, fit, quality, all around good deal
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: As a student pilot, the initial start up costs were more than I expected. When I was informed that I needed a headset, I went into stickershock. Excellent headset, Excellent price..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works fine - Except!

  • By James from Olympia WA USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2010
  • Pros: Good sound. Good looks
  • Cons: Too tight, especially after about 1 hour.
  • Review: I bought this headset for my wife and/or a passenger. Tone quality is great. Looks great. The only problem is that is a little tight fitting. An adjustable width would be great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Holdrege NE USA on Tuesday, February 02, 2010
  • Pros: Great ear protection from noise. Clear audio input
  • Cons: Some head discomfort due to tight fit after hour or so in flight.
  • Review: Fits a little tight, but overall great product and excellent audio. Also Excellent sound suppression in cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset

  • By Dave from Columbus, OH on Friday, August 07, 2009
  • Pros: great sound quality, sturdy construction
  • Cons: Other than personal fit - none that I could find.
  • Review: This is a great headset for the price. Great sound quality and the mic picked up my voice very easily. The mic boom was very easy to position just right. Didn't have to spend a ton of time fitting it to my head/face. I am going to have to exchange my headset. It started to squeeze and hurt my head under an hour of flight. I wish they fit me better because I would like to keep them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value!

  • By David from Weatherford TX USA on Thursday, July 09, 2009
  • Pros: Fit and sound
  • Cons:
  • Review: Comfortable, quiet, good GA headset for the money!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well In A Really Noisey Aircraft. (B-25J)

  • By Gregg from Georgetown TX USA on Thursday, August 27, 2009
  • Pros: Good noise reduction
  • Cons: Tight headband and sensitive mike placement
  • Review: This product suppresses outside noise while providing good quality sound from crew and ATC. The B25-J is a really loud airplane but, my 4DXL keeps noise I do not want to hear out and allows conversation to be clearly heard.The headset is tight fitting but I am now used to it. The mike must be placed where the insructions tell you to work right.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Headset

  • By Dennis from Sugar Land TX USA on Wednesday, October 28, 2009
  • Pros: Low price, reliable, reasonable quality
  • Cons: Fits a bit tight
  • Review: Used as backup headset in the cockpit and for passengers. Great value for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ok

  • By Jared from Stillwater OK USA on Monday, October 06, 2008
  • Pros: affordable, works well
  • Cons: tight
  • Review: Works great so far...a little tight around the ears after long use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good headset for the money

  • By Steven from Fayetteville NC USA on Thursday, October 23, 2008
  • Pros: Price, volume controls
  • Cons: I have to tilt the mic towards my mouth to get my voice to pick up
  • Review: I'm new to aviation and I ordered two of these headsets mainly because of the great price. They work just fine for getting around! The only issue is I have to tilt the mic at a 45' angle for my voice to pick up. Overall I am satified with the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not bad for the money

  • By A Customer from greenville NC USA on Wednesday, March 18, 2009
  • Pros: great sound for the money
  • Cons: tight on the gourd but better after some streching. overall great product for the price
  • Review: Great for starter pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Unbeleivable for the price!!!! Fantastic!!!!

  • By Roland from Bridgewater MA USA on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
  • Pros: much better hearing protection for the price
  • Cons:
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.