TOP

ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard

  • 62 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Philip from Hendersonville NC USA on Thursday, July 17, 2014
  • Review: I pad Air fits in one of the pockets. I put velcro on my I pad and it stays in place on the flap of of the knee board. works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

13 Fox RTO in the vehicale

  • By Bulldog 19 R from Kansas on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
  • Pros: works made well for what it is goor material
  • Cons: transfer of ink will not come off of vinal
  • Review: Anyone inside of the vehicle knows the vibration makes a difference if writing on a solid surface or on the knee in flight does not matter your in flight you don't have a table or desk to write on OOOOO I know you are in flight try it on the ground how about in a car you will see the difference. Ok not to make anyone mad but if you have an open mind I used it inside the track out side the track in combat and I use the hell out of it paper punching out side the military. It is very well made thank you the the guys is Specter gun ship for giving me the tri-fold to use that I kept thanks. woot woot
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Long Beach MS USA on Thursday, February 08, 2018
  • Review: Great, works as expected. Very pleased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy again

  • By Gary from Archdale NC USA on Thursday, February 09, 2017
  • Review: It is what my CFI recommended, works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just the right size

  • By A Customer from wayzata mn USA on Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Gets in the way of the wheel at times, might need a bigger plane...
  • Review: Fits in the flight bag and can store folded maps. The leg elastic doesn't store away nicely, but that's only a minor hassle.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for people over 6'

  • By Mark from Concord NC USA on Monday, August 09, 2010
  • Pros: Looks good, perfect for training or daily use. Strong velcro
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: This was the first knee board I have purchased and I love it. I am 6'-2" and it fits great. Flying a PA-28 and yes, the flight controls do hit at full deflection left and right when pulled all the way back at run-up but they hit my leg anyway and you shouldn't be a full deflection at flight so don't let that bother you. Plenty of room for maps and what every else you want to carry.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, December 05, 2011
  • Review: Very helpful product.. great for student pilots. you can organize your self very well with in the cockpit with this kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Chris from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Pros: Fits about everything you need
  • Cons: Hard to find a pad of paper that fits just right
  • Review: I hear that this kneeboard is the longest so that it can hold sectional charts. That is why I purchased it. It indeed is long enough. About the only problem I have, which probably is the case with all or most of the kneeboards is that it is hard to unfold while you are sitting as the left side hits my other leg and the seat itself (when put on the right leg/knee). Oh, one other thing... It is hard to find a notepad that will fit in the center just right - they are all either too small or too big. I found one finally at Office Depot that makes use of most of the space, but it is spiral bound and fairly thick, but still works pretty well. I'm looking forward to using something like an iPad or Google Android Tablet once I am certified. That will replace this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Great product."

  • By Randy from Lubbock TX USA on Tuesday, January 04, 2011
  • Pros: Good design
  • Cons: The pen holders are too tight for an ergonomic pen.
  • Review: Very well made with plenty of space for all my needs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Cumberland ME USA on Wednesday, June 30, 2010
  • Pros: fits full flight maps
  • Cons: strap is to long for my leg
  • Review: I love this product but if the product had lets say a buckle that can be tightened it would be much better. I recommend this to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would recommend this product for new pilots

  • By Darrel from Butte MT USA on Thursday, January 17, 2008
  • Pros: Storage space to keep all your cross country items in one place
  • Cons: It could be a bit big for some people
  • Review: This kneeboard will allow any pilot to keep things orgainzed and close at hand. Great for teaching cockpit management to new pilots.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very useful

  • By A Customer from Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. on Saturday, December 29, 2007
  • Review: I've just got it and I'm fascinated with it. Having this, I can now be more focused on my flying lessons and feel free of carry charts at the same time I'm taking the controls of the airplane
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

great board!

  • By Ray from Myrtle Beach, SC on Monday, April 12, 2010
  • Pros: Well made, great price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This kneeboard has served me well thoughout my primary training. My flight instructor recommended it and I am happy that he did. Cockpit organization is a pet peeve of our DPE and this was a plus on the checkride! I never had a problem with the control YOKE hitting it. And yes previous posters it's yoke not yolk, we are not flying eggs here.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth the money

  • By Adam from Dublin OH USA on Wednesday, April 14, 2010
  • Pros: Not having to fold the sectional charts.
  • Cons: Large size can become an issue for someone with shorter legs.
  • Review: I was a little apprehensive in buying this product mainly due to size, not knowing if it might interfere with aircraft operations given it's size. After having purchased the product and flown a number of times I have not noticed any interference with the controls. That being said I am 6'2" and could see where a comfort/control issue might arise for someone with shorter legs. Overall this is a very good product and would definitely recommend it if you want to be able to display full size sectional charts without having to fold them again just to fit. It also has well placed pockets for additional charts or checklists as well as a good size area for VFR/IFR clipboards.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kurt from Johnstown NY USA on Tuesday, April 27, 2010
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Rachael from Phoenix AZ USA on Monday, August 04, 2008
  • Review: I started out with the smaller kneeboard and need something a little longer. This one is a little bit too long for my leg but better than the smaller one. Great purchase!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Tucson AZ on Saturday, December 04, 2004
  • Review: For the price, this is a great kneeboard. Perfect for the VFR pilot
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from CHANDLER AZ on Friday, May 05, 2006
  • Review: Great product for the price,light, comfortable and roomy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I highly recommend this Kneeboard

  • By Bill from DIAMONDHEAD MS USA on Monday, October 19, 2009
  • Pros: Materials and workmanship are great.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This Kneeboard exceded my expectations. I am very pleased with the design and workmanship. I will recommend this product to anyone that askes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good advice from an experienced pilot to buy the long knee board

  • By A Customer from Charlotte NC on Saturday, January 27, 2007
  • Pros: holds charts without additional folding, plenty of room
  • Cons: need couple of smaller more secure pockets, small stuff keeps falling out, but works well for larger items. Pocket for fuel reciepts, etc would be nice
  • Review: An older pilot recommended that I get the long trifold ASA kneeboard and it has been a good decision
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By captain B from Two Harbors Ca. on Wednesday, February 21, 2007
  • Pros: stays in place
  • Cons: could use another pencil holder...
  • Review: Perfect in all ways. It really helps you stay organized in a busy place.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product...for the situation

  • By Melvin Meadlin II from California City, CA on Tuesday, March 27, 2007
  • Pros: Long enough to hold a map without additional folding, long leg strap
  • Cons: Sometimes too long and may interfer with controls
  • Review: I really like that the map holder can hold an folded section without additional folding, but it just seems to be too much in the cockpit. If you sit close to the controls, it may hit during extreme maneuvers, or during control checks. but otherwise, great. I have large thighs, and the strap fits with no discomfort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product for the busy pilot

  • By A Customer from Grand Rapids, MI on Saturday, August 04, 2007
  • Pros: Good size- pockets hold everything I need.
  • Cons: Could use a plastic/metal backing to make the folding panels a little more stiff.
  • Review: I have to be able to take my charts and other needed items from airplane to airplane. This product makes it easier for me to stay organized.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrzej from Warsaw/Poland on Wednesday, July 02, 2008
  • Review: Great and very helpful item. It helps me keep docs organized in one place and keeps it handy. Very roomy and not too long for me. I love it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By mark from Gilboa NY USA on Monday, November 02, 2009
  • Review: What I expected
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Matt from Dewitt AR USA on Monday, October 29, 2007
  • Review: I would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Bellerose NY USA on Friday, March 27, 2009
  • Review: Kneeboard is a replacement for lost item. It met all the expectations of a quality item made by a quality company. Speed and ease of purchase and delivery was also a plus.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Highly recommended

  • By A Customer from Knoxville TN USA on Tuesday, June 28, 2011
  • Pros: Well organized. Easy to use.
  • Cons: Needs and adjustable leg strap for those of use who weigh less.
  • Review: Just as advertised this kneeboard has a place for everything, and a permanent place in my cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Stephen from GA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Fits Sectionals without folding
  • Cons: Pencil holders are loose on pencils
  • Review: I read a lot of reviews and almost didn't buy this kneeboard. After using it on a couple flights, it works well. Everything fits well. I'm 6ft, contrary to some reviews it is not too long and the strap is perfectly functional. Unless you are much shorter, it should work fine. Most of us will only use it until we have our license and upgrade to a tablet. It should work well until then.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Is what it says.

  • By Greg from MA USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros: (barely) holds sectionals/enroute charts
  • Cons: Somewhat more awkward in lap
  • Review: Standard ASA kneeboard, just longer. Just holds sectional or enroute charts in side-access pockets, if they're folded precisely. Sloppy folding won't fit. Short people may find the extra length inconvenient; I'm 5'11" and it pretty much covers my thigh, almost to the point of awkwardness with the tri-fold. Buy if it fits a specific need, otherwise stick with standard.

    VFR kneeboard, I'd have bought IFR if available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Only a few nits

  • By Brian from Denver CO USA on Saturday, December 28, 2013
  • Pros: Solid construction, thoughtful arrangement of pockets, elastics, etc
  • Cons: Leg straps could be improved.
  • Review: This is very well-made, of materials that will last. The layout is convenient. The small aluminum clipboard is very sturdy. The leg straps velcro together to hold it the kneeboard in place just fine. They ought to be about twice as wide. Also, if the velcro sections were longer, the same straps could fasten up the kneeboard and its contents when not in use. All in all, a great product at a very good price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Foster City CA USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: Right size, holds a lot of things, keeps things organized wel
  • Cons: e6b and plotter issue, but they're minimal
  • Review: Pretty good. I would have given it 5 stars, but the two things it doesn't do that well are hold a E6B that can be easily removed. It has a method by which to hold it, but its somewhat clumsy. The other problem is you can't fit a full-sized plotter in it, so it sticks out somewhat.

    Other than that, its great. Holds maps and checklists like a champ, makes you look like you're an organized pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's not that big

  • By sina from Calabasas CA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Good for charts
  • Cons: Lacks pockets
  • Review: I wish it had another clip board and more pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Anthony from Arcadia CA USA on Friday, May 27, 2011
  • Pros: Holds items well
  • Cons: velcro strip should be have more contact area
  • Review: Very efficient product, well put together, I would like a little more velcro on the strip to allow for smaller thighs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Jacksonville Fl. on Friday, August 13, 2004
  • Review: I got the kneeboard for my son'g graduation gift from college as he is about to start flt. school It will be sometime before he gets to or needs to use the board. I thought it would be a little stiffer but maybe i am comparing it to the military kneeboards which have a metal base. I am sure it will be fine.I actually never used one when I was flying but I certainly could have at times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Buy

  • By A Customer from Lawton OK USA on Wednesday, August 04, 2010
  • Pros: Aluminum board has lots of good reference information, and it is well made.
  • Cons: May be a bit long for short people.
  • Review: This kneeboard is just as advertised. It holds everything you need including sectional charts without additional folding. I wish it had an adjustable leg strap as the band is a bit large but it long and fits my thigh comfortably, but a but not as snug as I'd like. At first, I was bothered by the side flaps hanging down my thigh since the leg strap secures from the inside of the kneeboard. However I found that there are 2 small reinforced sections in the folds that can be cut with a knife so you can slip the velcro leg bands through. After I did this I was able to fold the sides back and out of the way during use. Wish they cut the slots for me... It seems like it was intended to be used that way! Good product overall. I would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wouldn't mind buying this product again

  • By A Customer from New Smyrna Beach FL USA on Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • Review: This product is pretty convenient. Has enough space.
    The best part is that the sectional chart fits in the knee board just right. No need to force it through.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Shenandoah Valley VA on Tuesday, January 23, 2007
  • Review: Just the right size for a 6' 3" pilot. Handy thing to have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Product!

  • By Robert from Arlington, TX on Saturday, August 04, 2007
  • Pros: Long kneeboard for sectional, dual pen holders, holder for E6B
  • Cons: I wish the pockets would have a slightly firmer hold on loose contents inside.
  • Review: The long tir-fold knee board is really working out for me. Someone told me that I'd thank them for ordering it...and I have. I like the two pen holders, very convienient for a pen and pencil. I never have had to re-fold my sectional so it would fit, a complaint I've heard from guys with the short trifold. Great buy and worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Ed from Bluefield WV USA on Thursday, November 08, 2007
  • Pros: well made.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very nice product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Most Excellent

  • By Ben from San Antonio TX USA on Monday, November 23, 2009
  • Pros: pockets and sturdy
  • Cons: velcro is annoying at times
  • Review: I knew I needed a kneeboard, so I just went with looks. and with a kneeboard. you can ALWAYS judge it by it's cover. everyone says it's too long and should be shortened. C'mon, it says right on the front it's a LONG kneeboard, and besides, it's the perfect size for your sectional and E6B. So I don't see what all that fuss is about.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Now I have everything in one place.

  • By Ron from Columbia MD USA on Monday, September 22, 2008
  • Pros: I love having it all in one place
  • Cons: Sometimes gets in the way of my stick.
  • Review: There are plenty of pockets for everything you need to fly. My cockpit is much more organized. When I print information, I print it on 1/2 sheet landscape mode and then cut down the middle. I use index tabs to help find information I need quickly. Like my landing checklist and emergency procedures.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By David from Rector AR USA on Monday, December 29, 2008
  • Pros: space and storage compartments
  • Cons: Needs to be just a bit longer to fit sectional in easy
  • Review: I puchased this ASA long Tri-Fold kneeboard and really like it. I read other reviews of this item about having problems with it getting in the way of the yolk. I have not had that problem. I have to sit with the seat all the way back to fly, so it has not been a problem. I like all the space and storage it provides. It can hold a sectional, but it is tight. That is the only drawback I have found.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Be careful of your needs.

  • By Scott from Colchester CT USA on Friday, June 12, 2009
  • Pros: Well constructed
  • Cons: almost too long
  • Review: Holding a product is always better when judging what your needs are. Shopping on line eliminates this basic tenet so be careful and thoughtful before purchasing. I bought the long kneeboard based upon other recommendations on its size. When I received it, it was a little too big and really takes up all the room on your thigh. If you do not have long legs, you may be in big trouble. However, it is a good kneeboard and serves its purpose well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it...

  • By Paul from Dublin CA USA on Thursday, March 26, 2009
  • Pros: Made well. Clip holds pad of paper securlely for taking notes. Fits charts well.
  • Cons: A bit long for me
  • Review: I am a student pilot and am just beginning my cross-country training. I didnt give this product 5 stars only because I am not completly sure I like the "long" kneeboard. I guess I dont have anything else to compare to either. I am 5' 11" and the kneeboard does get in the way sometimes but not enough for me to return it and go for the shorter version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect Fit

  • By Steven from South Portland ME USA on Wednesday, March 10, 2010
  • Pros: Fits charts without folding and lots of storage space
  • Cons: Adjustable leg strap would be nice rather then the one size fits all
  • Review: It is great. I love the taller panels. You fit more stuff in it and you don't have to fold charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great. Product

  • By John from Huntsville AL USA on Tuesday, May 27, 2008
  • Review: I will let you know more when I have used it awhile, but now it seems to be just what I need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful tool for new and experienced pilots.

  • By Joshua from Athens OH USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros: Evrything you'll need for private flight and on.
  • Cons: Fits loosely from time to time & gets in way of yolk during slow flight/climbs
  • Review: This kneeboard is fantastic in all aspects after using it for about a month now it has really come in handy, it holds everything you need for flying instructed lessons, solo flights, cross country flights, and etc. The only reason I rate this product at a 4 out of 5 is because it could have tighter thigh straps and it also tends to get in the way of the yolk during slowflight and other manuvers which requre the yolk in your crotch. Aside from that I highly reccomend this kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marietta from Appleton, WI on Tuesday, July 08, 2008
  • Review: Kneeboard gets in the way of the control yoke at times, but I've found that this problem is not uncommon in many kneeboards. All in all, it's a good buy and great value. Most pilots will find the extremely helpful metal information plate (as shown in the picture) very useful in different situations, especially emergencies ones (emerg. freqs, lightgun signals, morse code etc)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Vin from Garnet Valley PA USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Review: Worth the money, keeps things handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great kneeboard

  • By Roger from Santa Barbara CA USA on Tuesday, August 17, 2010
  • Review: Perfect, and as advertised, long enough for sectionals and other charts held within. One tiny detraction is the Velco closure strap doesn't have enough Velcro to fully close the kneeboard--even after securing it with the strap, it's still slightly open. Overall, though, I'm happy with the purchase--the quality of construction seems to be very good. And mypilotstore.com was perfect in every way, efficient, cordial, great web site, fast delivery!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Fine product

  • By on Monday, October 05, 2009
  • Pros: good quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well made product. I'm a student pilot, and used this for my first solo cross-country. It keeps things nice and organized so you don't have a pile of books and papers in your lap or the next seat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product - BUT

  • By Robert from Markle IN USA on Wednesday, July 15, 2009
  • Pros: Small and stores charts great.
  • Cons: Needs second velcro attach point to secure elastic strapes with not in use.
  • Review: This product is of great quality and works well in the application, however I see one improvement that could make it even better. The addition of a small piece of velcro towards the point where it is sewn into the folder would allow for a place to secure the elastic straps when not in use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not a tight fit

  • By A Customer from Santa Monica CA USA on Monday, December 07, 2009
  • Pros: pockets for chart, logbook, and E6-B
  • Cons: loose fit; velcro piece of the strap too short
  • Review: The velcro strap fails to tightly secure the kneeboard to the leg, especially if your upper legs are slim. The strap itself is not all too elastic, but more importantly, only the tips of the strap are fitted with velcro. The whole contraption can sometimes be in the way when maneuvering the plane, but overall it helps keeping items organized and handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A little too long

  • By Jim Smith from Claremore OK USA on Thursday, December 27, 2007
  • Pros: holds a lot of
  • Cons: a little too long for me
  • Review: I bought this product to hold charts without folding which it does nicely. It does stick out over my knee which is just too long for my tastes. I bought a "fighter pilot" kneeboard that was much more to my liking. This is a suitcase for the thigh though. Holds everything you'd ever need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Too Long

  • By David from Fort Wayne IN USA on Tuesday, November 27, 2007
  • Pros: good spaces for charts, pens
  • Cons: too long
  • Review: I am 5' 8" and this long knee board is just too long for my thigh. I like the set up though and in the end bought the shorter tri-fold kneeboard which is perfect for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too long, but lots of room

  • By Brian from Houston TX USA on Monday, June 16, 2008
  • Pros: Full sectional without folding, Tons of space
  • Cons: Too long, rubs at up elevator on a Cessna 172. No structure in the fold out sides.
  • Review: The board is very long and gets in the way of the yolk on the Cessna 172S I have been piloting while wearing it. I thought my being very tall would make this work for me, but its just too long. At full up elevator its really in the way. Plenty of room for sectional without folding.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice product with a slight "however".

  • By Trace from Jupiter, FL USA on Monday, December 19, 2011
  • Pros: Well designed.
  • Cons: Not very rugged.
  • Review: Product arrived in great condition. Purchased for personal use as a student pilot. However, after about two weeks of very light use, the stitched seams along the bottom edge came loose and unraveled about two thirds of the way across. Used a hot glue gun to patch it back together. Not terribly upset as it functions as advertised after a home fix. Maybe I got one made on a Monday morning or a Friday afternoon?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not practical

  • By A Customer from LAS VEGAS NV USA on Thursday, September 03, 2009
  • Pros: well made
  • Cons: impractical, slippery pockets, bulky
  • Review: Pockets are slippery and don't close. The entire setup gets in the way of flying even if you are 6'3" like me. I'm thinking about going with a small kneeboard (just clipboard and strap) and a hyper organized bag from brightline.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Looks can be deceiving!

  • By Jules from NJ USA on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: To big, side flaps are unnecessary and get in way
  • Review: In a tight and cramped Cessna cockpit, this may not be the product for you. As a student pilot, I wanted a small kneeboard that I could scribble ATIS on and write a few notes from the flight. The kneeboard is pretty big and takes up my entire thigh. The side flaps can be annoying and I really don't find them necessary since I usually keep my sectional in the door pocket. I added a notepad on to the clipboard to so I had something to write on. If you have the air vents blowing on you in flight, I recommend clips to keep the pages from blowing. Sadly, I am going to keep looking for a better product to suit my needs. Very disappointed in this purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Less to it than meets the eye...

  • By Michael from Chalfont PA USA on Monday, October 05, 2009
  • Pros: The silver logo is pretty
  • Cons: I wish I held it before I baught it, because this would have been a no sale. Read Above
  • Review: I hate to so, I'm relatively disappointed in this board to be completely honest. I won't bash the product, but here are it's downfalls. (which do out weigh the good unfortunately) The velcro on the left panel is not high enough to secure the flaps closed when an E6-B is in its appropriate spot. And you have to remove the sliding center of an E6B to get it to sit properly in the the stretch holders for it. (this does not make for easy computing on the fly) The stretch material should be at the top and bottom of the board for the E6B to fit properly and velcro should be at the very top and bottom to allow proper closure. Ideally, they should put the velcro over the E6B, so it can match its partner when closing. Chief complaint - E6B in place, board does not stay closed with velcro. Second complaint - The stretchy nylon leg straps failed after three hot days in the plane, and are no longer usable. My Wife had to sew extra velcro to the strap to make it even loosely fit on my average size leg. Third Complaint - The flight plan card on the aluminum board is a nice reference, but however erases when you put anything on top of it. (I'm not about to give up my paper flight plans and/or write on the board with permanent marker, but pencil on the alum. is a no go) Final Complaint - The stitching fails super easy on the log book side of the board. Not necessarily the stitching, so much as the cordura material around the stitching. I don't know, maybe I got a bad make, but this board in no way compares to the Cencal tri fold I had a few years. Its probably a good book for very light duty use. In the end, It feels cheap and it looks like ASA put more time into embroidering their logo into it than doing the research for a better product. Sorry for the bad review, but I can only tell it like it is... Mike
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

too long

  • By Tim from Pound Ridge NY USA on Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • Pros: as advertised
  • Cons: too long.
  • Review: The board is as described. but for me it is too long. I don't use it to hold long maps so I did not need the length.  Stay short.  Also, I seem to be always writing right on top of the elastic strap. I wish is was located in a different spot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.