TOP

ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard

  • 62 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Stephen from GA USA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
  • Pros: Fits Sectionals without folding
  • Cons: Pencil holders are loose on pencils
  • Review: I read a lot of reviews and almost didn't buy this kneeboard. After using it on a couple flights, it works well. Everything fits well. I'm 6ft, contrary to some reviews it is not too long and the strap is perfectly functional. Unless you are much shorter, it should work fine. Most of us will only use it until we have our license and upgrade to a tablet. It should work well until then.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Is what it says.

  • By Greg from MA USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros: (barely) holds sectionals/enroute charts
  • Cons: Somewhat more awkward in lap
  • Review: Standard ASA kneeboard, just longer. Just holds sectional or enroute charts in side-access pockets, if they're folded precisely. Sloppy folding won't fit. Short people may find the extra length inconvenient; I'm 5'11" and it pretty much covers my thigh, almost to the point of awkwardness with the tri-fold. Buy if it fits a specific need, otherwise stick with standard.

    VFR kneeboard, I'd have bought IFR if available.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's not that big

  • By sina from Calabasas CA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2016
  • Pros: Good for charts
  • Cons: Lacks pockets
  • Review: I wish it had another clip board and more pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Foster City CA USA on Monday, November 12, 2012
  • Pros: Right size, holds a lot of things, keeps things organized wel
  • Cons: e6b and plotter issue, but they're minimal
  • Review: Pretty good. I would have given it 5 stars, but the two things it doesn't do that well are hold a E6B that can be easily removed. It has a method by which to hold it, but its somewhat clumsy. The other problem is you can't fit a full-sized plotter in it, so it sticks out somewhat.

    Other than that, its great. Holds maps and checklists like a champ, makes you look like you're an organized pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Only a few nits

  • By Brian from Denver CO USA on Saturday, December 28, 2013
  • Pros: Solid construction, thoughtful arrangement of pockets, elastics, etc
  • Cons: Leg straps could be improved.
  • Review: This is very well-made, of materials that will last. The layout is convenient. The small aluminum clipboard is very sturdy. The leg straps velcro together to hold it the kneeboard in place just fine. They ought to be about twice as wide. Also, if the velcro sections were longer, the same straps could fasten up the kneeboard and its contents when not in use. All in all, a great product at a very good price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Anthony from Arcadia CA USA on Friday, May 27, 2011
  • Pros: Holds items well
  • Cons: velcro strip should be have more contact area
  • Review: Very efficient product, well put together, I would like a little more velcro on the strip to allow for smaller thighs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Buy

  • By A Customer from Lawton OK USA on Wednesday, August 04, 2010
  • Pros: Aluminum board has lots of good reference information, and it is well made.
  • Cons: May be a bit long for short people.
  • Review: This kneeboard is just as advertised. It holds everything you need including sectional charts without additional folding. I wish it had an adjustable leg strap as the band is a bit large but it long and fits my thigh comfortably, but a but not as snug as I'd like. At first, I was bothered by the side flaps hanging down my thigh since the leg strap secures from the inside of the kneeboard. However I found that there are 2 small reinforced sections in the folds that can be cut with a knife so you can slip the velcro leg bands through. After I did this I was able to fold the sides back and out of the way during use. Wish they cut the slots for me... It seems like it was intended to be used that way! Good product overall. I would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Jacksonville Fl. on Friday, August 13, 2004
  • Review: I got the kneeboard for my son'g graduation gift from college as he is about to start flt. school It will be sometime before he gets to or needs to use the board. I thought it would be a little stiffer but maybe i am comparing it to the military kneeboards which have a metal base. I am sure it will be fine.I actually never used one when I was flying but I certainly could have at times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wouldn't mind buying this product again

  • By A Customer from New Smyrna Beach FL USA on Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • Review: This product is pretty convenient. Has enough space.
    The best part is that the sectional chart fits in the knee board just right. No need to force it through.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Shenandoah Valley VA on Tuesday, January 23, 2007
  • Review: Just the right size for a 6' 3" pilot. Handy thing to have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Product!

  • By Robert from Arlington, TX on Saturday, August 04, 2007
  • Pros: Long kneeboard for sectional, dual pen holders, holder for E6B
  • Cons: I wish the pockets would have a slightly firmer hold on loose contents inside.
  • Review: The long tir-fold knee board is really working out for me. Someone told me that I'd thank them for ordering it...and I have. I like the two pen holders, very convienient for a pen and pencil. I never have had to re-fold my sectional so it would fit, a complaint I've heard from guys with the short trifold. Great buy and worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Ed from Bluefield WV USA on Thursday, November 08, 2007
  • Pros: well made.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very nice product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Most Excellent

  • By Ben from San Antonio TX USA on Monday, November 23, 2009
  • Pros: pockets and sturdy
  • Cons: velcro is annoying at times
  • Review: I knew I needed a kneeboard, so I just went with looks. and with a kneeboard. you can ALWAYS judge it by it's cover. everyone says it's too long and should be shortened. C'mon, it says right on the front it's a LONG kneeboard, and besides, it's the perfect size for your sectional and E6B. So I don't see what all that fuss is about.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great. Product

  • By John from Huntsville AL USA on Tuesday, May 27, 2008
  • Review: I will let you know more when I have used it awhile, but now it seems to be just what I need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful tool for new and experienced pilots.

  • By Joshua from Athens OH USA on Monday, March 01, 2010
  • Pros: Evrything you'll need for private flight and on.
  • Cons: Fits loosely from time to time & gets in way of yolk during slow flight/climbs
  • Review: This kneeboard is fantastic in all aspects after using it for about a month now it has really come in handy, it holds everything you need for flying instructed lessons, solo flights, cross country flights, and etc. The only reason I rate this product at a 4 out of 5 is because it could have tighter thigh straps and it also tends to get in the way of the yolk during slowflight and other manuvers which requre the yolk in your crotch. Aside from that I highly reccomend this kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marietta from Appleton, WI on Tuesday, July 08, 2008
  • Review: Kneeboard gets in the way of the control yoke at times, but I've found that this problem is not uncommon in many kneeboards. All in all, it's a good buy and great value. Most pilots will find the extremely helpful metal information plate (as shown in the picture) very useful in different situations, especially emergencies ones (emerg. freqs, lightgun signals, morse code etc)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect Fit

  • By Steven from South Portland ME USA on Wednesday, March 10, 2010
  • Pros: Fits charts without folding and lots of storage space
  • Cons: Adjustable leg strap would be nice rather then the one size fits all
  • Review: It is great. I love the taller panels. You fit more stuff in it and you don't have to fold charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great kneeboard

  • By Roger from Santa Barbara CA USA on Tuesday, August 17, 2010
  • Review: Perfect, and as advertised, long enough for sectionals and other charts held within. One tiny detraction is the Velco closure strap doesn't have enough Velcro to fully close the kneeboard--even after securing it with the strap, it's still slightly open. Overall, though, I'm happy with the purchase--the quality of construction seems to be very good. And mypilotstore.com was perfect in every way, efficient, cordial, great web site, fast delivery!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By David from Rector AR USA on Monday, December 29, 2008
  • Pros: space and storage compartments
  • Cons: Needs to be just a bit longer to fit sectional in easy
  • Review: I puchased this ASA long Tri-Fold kneeboard and really like it. I read other reviews of this item about having problems with it getting in the way of the yolk. I have not had that problem. I have to sit with the seat all the way back to fly, so it has not been a problem. I like all the space and storage it provides. It can hold a sectional, but it is tight. That is the only drawback I have found.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Be careful of your needs.

  • By Scott from Colchester CT USA on Friday, June 12, 2009
  • Pros: Well constructed
  • Cons: almost too long
  • Review: Holding a product is always better when judging what your needs are. Shopping on line eliminates this basic tenet so be careful and thoughtful before purchasing. I bought the long kneeboard based upon other recommendations on its size. When I received it, it was a little too big and really takes up all the room on your thigh. If you do not have long legs, you may be in big trouble. However, it is a good kneeboard and serves its purpose well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it...

  • By Paul from Dublin CA USA on Thursday, March 26, 2009
  • Pros: Made well. Clip holds pad of paper securlely for taking notes. Fits charts well.
  • Cons: A bit long for me
  • Review: I am a student pilot and am just beginning my cross-country training. I didnt give this product 5 stars only because I am not completly sure I like the "long" kneeboard. I guess I dont have anything else to compare to either. I am 5' 11" and the kneeboard does get in the way sometimes but not enough for me to return it and go for the shorter version.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Fine product

  • By on Monday, October 05, 2009
  • Pros: good quality
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well made product. I'm a student pilot, and used this for my first solo cross-country. It keeps things nice and organized so you don't have a pile of books and papers in your lap or the next seat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Vin from Garnet Valley PA USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Review: Worth the money, keeps things handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Now I have everything in one place.

  • By Ron from Columbia MD USA on Monday, September 22, 2008
  • Pros: I love having it all in one place
  • Cons: Sometimes gets in the way of my stick.
  • Review: There are plenty of pockets for everything you need to fly. My cockpit is much more organized. When I print information, I print it on 1/2 sheet landscape mode and then cut down the middle. I use index tabs to help find information I need quickly. Like my landing checklist and emergency procedures.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.