TOP

Rugged Air RA950 ANR Headset

  • 20 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Rugged Air RA950 ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:

Still a great headset after 6 months..

  • By Bob Shettel from Redstone, CO on Friday, May 20, 2011
  • Pros: Comfortable, clear sound, low price
  • Cons: 9V batteries last about 5 hrs.
  • Review: I've been using for 6 months now and this headset has taken me through training into passing my checkride. Excellent comfort, ANR as good as my CFI's Bose, and the price can't be beat. The most negative thing I can come up with is that it does go through the 9V batteries and I wish the battery indicator was a little more informative. That said, the hundreds of dollars of savings over the bigger names will buy a ton of 9V batteries.

    I just purchased another of these same headsets for my wife and she seconds the comfort comment. I would recommend them to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent ANR headset at reasonable price

  • By Bob Shettel from Redstone, CO on Monday, October 11, 2010
  • Pros: Comfortable gel ear pads and top head pad, crystal clear sound and great noise reduction.
  • Cons: None yet...
  • Review: Purchased these a month ago and they have proved to be a very comfortable headset with superb passive and active noise reduction. The only addition I would like to see would be an on/off switch, but I'm a control freak who likes the added control.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Exellent For Price

  • By Chuck from Toledo, OH on Tuesday, June 14, 2011
  • Pros: Comfort, audio clairity
  • Cons: Battery life
  • Review: I have owned this headset for a year and a half and will second all the comments about comfort. It weighs a bit more than others but with the gel seals it isn't a factor. Audio is crystal clear and ATC has never complained about my voice clairity. Battery life is a bit short with no auto off, but this is a minor inconvenience and with the money you save you can buy lots of batteries! It did take a bit of trial and error to get the headband adjusted so it fit "just right"
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product & customer service!

  • By Don from Danville CA USA on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
  • Pros: Fine products, great pricing, great customer service
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I purchased the Rugged Air RA50 ANR headset which performs very well at with a great price point. One of the inner ear seals was not staying attached, so I contacted mypilotstore.com and they had me call Rugged Air and they are mailing out a replacement earseal set today. Great follow-up and customer service by both Rugged Air and mypilotstore.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great value

  • By Chris from San Antonio TX USA on Monday, September 12, 2011
  • Pros: price is right
  • Cons: on / off switch would be nice
  • Review: Why pay more?  This ANR headset works well and is priced right. Bought 2 and would buy again if I had more seats!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best bang for the buck!

  • By T140V from Turlock CA USA on Monday, August 15, 2011
  • Pros: Very quiet and good fit
  • Cons: no
  • Review: Wore it from Missouri to California in two days and it fit great. Performance was more than expected. No problems with batteries. I used the same 9V for almost two days and never pulled it out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By A Customer from Orlando FL USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: Fit, sound, price.
  • Cons: No on/off switch for battery pack (when not in use).
  • Review: Comfortable fit, great sound quality. Well worth the price
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product for the sale price

  • By Miguel from Syracuse UT USA on Sunday, June 12, 2011
  • Pros: its clear and comfortable
  • Cons: n/a
  • Review: Product was easy to setup. I have 6 hrs on the headset now and I can say they are great!! I would buy this product again or consider to up grade with the same line.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great headset

  • By Jeremy from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, September 19, 2013
  • Pros: very clear comms, comfortable, great price for ANR
  • Cons: location of stereo/mono switch
  • Review: I am very impressed with this headset. The ANR works very well and I like the fact that I can turn up the volume in either ear individually. The only thing that I dont like is the picture shown has the stereo/mono switch on the outside of the battery box for easy access. The one that I received has the switch on the inside, under the battery cover and it's very difficult switch between them. Other than that, I love it. I would have given it 5 starts if it was not for the location of the stereo/mono switch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This is the 2nd I purchased

  • By Bjorn from Burnsville MN USA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
  • Pros: AA battery, easier and less expensive too replace. Has one of the highest noise reductions on the market.
  • Cons: After extended use it does tend to feel too tight (1.5 hours or more).
  • Review: I recently got my pilot certificate and had first bought one of these head sets for my training; it's half the price of many ANR headsets yet performs very well. I purchased the 2nd for my wife now that she'll be flying with me; very much worth the money. Another reason I purchased this is because the battery pack is for AA's, not 9 volts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty good but not the best

  • By T140V from Turlock, ca on Friday, May 04, 2012
  • Pros: fit, comfort, clarity
  • Cons: cord is weak and needs to be of better quality
  • Review: Now That I have owned the RA950 for six months I can can give you a pointer about the battery life. Be sure to unplug the headset from your audio system when you shut down. The battery will disconnect automatically and save the life of it.
    The only problem I've had is the cord at the base of the headset is made of a very thin gage wire. I have had to resolder the wires to the inside of the earphone by pulling slack into the earphone and stripping back the outer sheath exposing more fresh wire. The wire's break right at the base and I have fixed two headsets this way. They need to use stronger wire at that spot due to coiling the wire into the carrying bag they give you with this product.
    Other than that {which might seem extreme to some}I think the RA950 is great for the half the price of the more common brands.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good and Affordable headset

  • By Bjorn from Burnsville MN USA on Saturday, February 23, 2013
  • Pros: Affordable, efficient, work well
  • Cons: Foam pads around ears not as comfortable as more expensive headsets
  • Review: I really like this headset. I had looked at getting the $600 Lightspeed Sierra ANR headset because I had tried that one out and really liked it. The foam pads on the ear muffs are not as comfortable as the Lightspeed, however for half the price I was willing to deal with that small inconvenience until I earn my private pilot certificate. If you have the money go for the Lightspeed, but if you're on a budget these are well worth it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Laurie from Spotsylvania VA USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros: Great noise reduction, comfortable
  • Cons: short intermittent humming, usually just a short distraction. Does not affect transmission
  • Review: Met expectations. I was concerned over the low price and wanted quality. Headset is comfortable, I am a student and my longest flight so far has been a little over 2 hours
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this product to a friend

  • By Wendell from Houston TX USA on Monday, March 25, 2013
  • Review: It met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Owned it for two years now

  • By T140V from Turlock, California on Sunday, August 11, 2013
  • Pros: Good sound and transmission
  • Cons: Cords need to be reengineered
  • Review: The cords have both failed again so I emailed Rugged and they blame the problem on the cord hitting my shoulder! I'm still trying to figure out why that would be my fault. One of the headsets I don't even wear, that one is for my passengers. I gave up on them and made my own shielded cords for both headsets. I used 24 gage wire which is much stronger. I slipped heat shrink around the bundle and it looks great and works much better than the cheap wire they built it with. Oh yes they sell a kit to fix the problem but its the same cheap wire. Also I wish the ear cups were just a tad deeper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for the price

  • By Roy from Soldotna AK USA on Thursday, January 02, 2014
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: Poor mike, short battery life
  • Review: Noise canceling works fine. When transmitting the mike puts a terrible side tone into the headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dennis from denmark WI USA on Thursday, September 15, 2011
  • Pros: Pirce
  • Cons: Size
  • Review: Great headset for the price.  Headsets turn on when plugged in and off when pulled out so no need for a switch just have to unplug them.  Battery life seems ok (to early to tell).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Damien from Lurcy-Levis Auvergne France on Monday, May 09, 2011
  • Review: Good one, but not enought endurance (battery life) on ANR
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

ANR cheap

  • By Steve Sanders from Orange, ca on Saturday, January 16, 2016
  • Pros: Not much
  • Cons: ANR is not worth the money on this headset
  • Review: This headset is just a average unit. Save your money and buy a better ANR unit or just get a PNR for $200.

    The comfort is the same as my AvComm AC900 if fact I would say it's a AvComm knockoff.

    Wish I had tried it before buying...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled.

  • By Ron L from Seattle, WA on Tuesday, July 02, 2013
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Wasted time, wasted money, and a wasted flight fighting to be heard by air traffic control.
  • Review: I read the reviews, and all these testimonials. I bought a pair of the 950 ANR headsets based on them. I was happy that I could obtain a anti noise headset at a fair price. Then came the first flight with them... And the earphone opposite the one with the microphone boom was completely innoperative. You'd think they could be bothered to ops check each pair of headsets before they left the factory, evidently that's too much effort. The sound from the one functioning earphone was harsh and the microphone would wait till after the first word before transmitting over the intercom. From my experience I have to say these headsets are absolute crap, and you would be better off buying an entry level David Clark headset instead of wasting your hard earned aviation money on garbage like this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.