Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

ASA Tri-Fold Kneeboard

  • 44 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Tri-Fold Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Very Nice

  • By Jeffery from Pleasanton CA USA on Tuesday, January 03, 2017
  • Pros: simple, flaps tuck away, the knee board has velcro so it folds up like a folio
  • Cons: you have to use a razor to cut open the button holes to pass the leg strap through if you want to tuck the flaps
  • Review: I love that fact that you can tuck the side flaps underneath. It makes it a very streamlined solution if you don't want the commotion of the flaps getting in your way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Brian from Ames IA USA on Tuesday, March 22, 2016
  • Review: The product is as advertised and works well for it intended purpose
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By antoinette from Hampton GA USA on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
  • Pros: fit my lap perfectly
  • Cons: n/a
  • Review: Was exactly what I wanted and expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Ronan from Ireland on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
  • Pros: Work great
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great product works exactly as it should.Very happy with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

It works out well

  • By PJ from El Dorado Hills CA USA on Tuesday, March 11, 2008
  • Pros: Good size, holds everything I need, fits on my leg perfecty.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The quality of this item is excellent. I have an experimental airplane with a stick and very little room so the size is perfect to fit on my leg between the side of the airplane and the stick. I clip my sectional map onto the exterior of the right side. When I need it I keep the map on the seat next to me or have the passenger hold it for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome kneeboard

  • By sceia from Lafayette LA USA on Monday, October 04, 2010
  • Pros: Ample space for anything
  • Cons: sweat a bit more on the leg due to the size
  • Review: This is an awesome kneeboard and a very useful tool in the cockpit. I was constantly dropping stuff or not having enough room on my std kneeboard. With all the pockets and foldouts on this one, I have ample room for charts, e6b, and a flashlight along with pen holders
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Kneeboard for me

  • By Eric from Clifton Springs NY USA on Monday, April 27, 2009
  • Pros: .Sturdy construction. good felcro straps
  • Cons: Comes in any color as long as you want black.
  • Review: By reading the reviews I knew the kneeboard won't fit the sectionals. But It's a perfect match for my short legs. I like it. Made of good sturdy material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does exactly what it's supposed to!!

  • By Robert Buss from Greeneville TN USA on Friday, June 26, 2009
  • Pros: More than Cons
  • Cons: Less than pros...by far
  • Review: It is the perfect knee board for an EMS helicopter pilot... which is why I have been using them for years!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Kneeboard

  • By Tim from Scottsdale AZ USA on Thursday, March 10, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to use, good size, durable
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very good, durable kneeboard. Use it on every VFR flight in a Cessna 172.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Useful

  • By shane from springdale AR USA on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
  • Pros: Plenty of storage for the things you need in a hurry. Quick Reference clip board.
  • Cons: The straps seem to be for someone that has bigger legs than me and that's hard to do.
  • Review: For utility you can't really beat it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

perfect for the Ipad mini

  • By A Customer from southern coast, Maine on Thursday, May 30, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: leg strap is way too loose, needs to be redesigned
  • Review: The iPad mini fits perfectly in the left pocket. I was looking for something to protect my Ipad, this just worked out great. I use it all the time, flying and not. The clipboard holds the mini in flight perfectly. I can also keep my scratch pad a couple sylus and a pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for beginner VFR pilot

  • By Kevin from New Haven CT USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Pros: Great size
  • Cons: Will not hold maps easily.
  • Review: This is a great kneeboard for carrying almost any documents, checklists, etc., that are smaller than a sectional map. Sectionals will not fit unless they are refolded to a smaller size. However, for the type of flying that I do -- VFR over a limited area -- it works perfectly well. I would recommend it. The velcro strap would not stretch well around my leg, but I don't really like flying with it stuck to my leg anyway. For me it's more of a little brief case to carry necessary documents in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Almost perfect!

  • By David from Fort Wayne IN USA on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Pros: great compartments, metal board, clip
  • Cons: too short for map
  • Review: Works great except for the fact that a full map must be folded. I knew this when I ordered it so no big deal. This fits on my knee much better than the long board (I am 5' 8"). The long board was just that - long! Kept getting in the way of things. The regular board works great for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Portland, Oregon on Friday, January 26, 2007
  • Review: I've tried three different kneeboards, but this one is so much my favorite that I wore out the first one after ten years of flying. I like the pockets on the flaps (flashlights at night; class bravo charts in the day); I like the dual pen loops (I'm a big fan of redundancy in everything); and I like the velcro strap: no thick buckle under my leg. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A big roomy kneeboard

  • By Chad from Bilbao, Spain on Tuesday, June 26, 2007
  • Review: I had to add a feature to my nearly perfect kneeboard. I sowed in a couple of binding rings to it to hold my Jeppesen charts, etc. Besides that the product is excellent
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Satisfied

  • By Christopher G Ortega from Cavite City Cavite Philippines on Monday, September 17, 2018
  • Review: I'm truly satisfied with the items and most especially the fast delivery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"I would buy this product again"

  • By Nancy from Austintown OH USA on Thursday, November 19, 2009
  • Review: I bought this for my brother, a new piolet. He was so excited and loves it! I would buy it again!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This kneeboard is the best size and has the best features

  • By Paul -cessna 152 from Sauk Rapids MN USA on Monday, January 11, 2010
  • Pros: Size is not to large or to small
  • Cons: non
  • Review: The size is perfect. I couldn't ask for a better combination of features for managing the cockpit documents
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product.

  • By Carol A. Lowery from Eugene OR USA on Monday, February 11, 2008
  • Review: My grandson was delighted with his gift. I'd order again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Satisfied

  • By Greg from Appleton WI USA on Wednesday, May 19, 2010
  • Pros: Holds all the stuff I take with me
  • Cons:
  • Review: Gives me a place to keep everything I need within reach. I even store my log book in one of the pockets. I did have to switch my log book to right pocket to make more room for stick movement between legs in LSA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Product

  • By Chad from Crawford GA USA on Tuesday, December 30, 2008
  • Pros: Size is perfect!
  • Cons:
  • Review: I would not change a thing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Palo Alto CA USA on Thursday, June 11, 2015
  • Pros: good size to allow for folds to be accessed while in cockpit, holds pen, paper, check lists
  • Cons: must refold charts to fit
  • Review: I first purchased the larger kneeboard, but exchanged it for the smaller one because it allowed more freedom of movement of the folded parts when sitting in the cockpit. I have been quite happy with the smaller kneeboard. The only drawback is that the charts need to be refolded to fit into the windowed pocket. Holds a pen and note paper close for ATIS reports and advisories. Clip is also useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good if you fix it

  • By A Customer from TX, USA on Tuesday, September 08, 2015
  • Pros: Good to keep the paper stuff organized. Solid clipboard.
  • Cons: Needs Velcro to make it work propperly (see description).
  • Review: I bought this Kneeboard contrary to my CFIs initial recommendation, not to buy any fancy kneeboard.

    Here is how I fixed it:
    1) On the front, use some "glue-on" Velcro.
    2) On the back of the (rugged) clip board, also put some Velcro.

    - Now you have the good clipboard always at hand and in front of you. You can also buy the IFR clipboard and just switch them on the fly. You also can just take the board off.
    - In the back of the "front" pocket I put my different charts. So I can take them out easily when they are needed.
    - In the right (clear front) pocket, I have all my stuff that I want to read during the flight (ATC chat patterns or Checklist or any other thing that fits in there and you want to read during the flight.
    - In the left pocket (which isn't really accessible during the flight) I have my E6B and also my plotter. You can also put anything else in there that you don't readily need during the flight.

    The other good thing is, that if you close everything, you can now take your logbook + AFD and turn the knee straps around your books. Now you have yourself a nice pack with all your charts, your AFD and your Logbook... Keep the headset around your neck and you don't need any fancy headset bag with X amount of pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed.

  • By Val from Mill Valley CA USA on Friday, March 04, 2016
  • Pros: right size, useful info on back of clipboard, and useful side pockets
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: The larger kneepads were too big for me to use in the cockpit. I only wish that it could hold a folded sectional in one of the side pockets, but I am fast finding uses for those with other things, like printouts from the A/FD and the Blue Book info on California airports.
    .

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very effective product

  • By Tommy from Myrtle Beach SC USA on Thursday, July 29, 2010
  • Pros: helps organize the cockpit which increases safety
  • Cons: doesn't fit sectional chart
  • Review: I really love this thing and it has really helped me in my VFR navigation. The only thing I don't like is that a sectional chart has to be folded to fit in it.  Other then that it is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Its Just OKAY

  • By Brad Grupenhagen from Edwards AFB on Sunday, December 05, 2010
  • Pros: For a big guy, its a nice big kneeboard. Clipboard works great, can hold lots of paperwork very securly. Big enough to store small pieces of paper side by side, to write down PIREP stuff, and still keep track of a navlog if need be. VFR information on clip board is useful, as a student pilot I don't feel I get to look at much but I always now its there when I need it.
  • Cons: I also bought the ASA stainless E6-B to put into the kneeboard, the same one on the video, thinking it would be helpful to use the same equipment. Not so much, the E6-B covers the velcro tabs that hold the kneeboard shut. Might be to big for some smaller pilots. Also could be to big for 2 large people sitting next to each other, not enough room to fold up one side and look at it. The elastic strap is starting to loose its elasticity only used this thing 6 times for about 2 each flight.
  • Review: Like I said, ITS JUST OKAY. It does its job, great for any VFR flight, would probably opt for an IFR kneeboard with a few more bells and whistles to hold extra approach plates and such. The price is fair for what you get, would not expect much less from ASA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would I buy this product again...Yes!

  • By Thomas from Palmyra PA USA on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Review: I read the reviews on this product and several others before buying it, and I was not disappointed. It has great information, a good clip, and easily accessible pockets and pen/pencil holder. It fastens easily to the leg, but I have to lower my seat slightly in order to keep it free of the controls. It is well made and will last my lifetime I'm sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Affordable Kneeboard

  • By Bake from Ocala FL USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Pros: Great value for the price
  • Cons: If you have small legs, you may need to add or sew some velcro so you have a better adjustment range of the strap going around your leg.
  • Review: Nice Knee Board. The trifold seems to work well for me.
    I have my E6-B2WHL computer in the left flap which opens up an lays on my left leg. the next flap folds out to hang off the right side of my leg. This is were I keep my maps. So if I want a quick look at one of my maps I can lift it up and see the maps. if I need to pull the map out to change the fold or to take a closer look at something, with it hanging over the right side of my leg makes it easy to pull the map right straight up and out of the pocket it is in. Which leaves us with the center of the knee board sitting right directly over my right leg. This is were the clip board is with my notes and note pad to wright on. The clip board has a lot of info on it also for quick reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Adequate for price

  • By A Customer from Redlands CA USA on Sunday, February 15, 2015
  • Pros: Effective for basic organization
  • Cons: Some design flaws
  • Review: Provides an organized area. However, the clear area on the right is not large enough for a map. I use it for 3x5" cards with important notes, which is not optimal but I'm trying to repurpose the space somehow. The E6B holder on the left holds the computer well but it is not easy to take the E6B in and out. The product is comfortable, fits on the legs nicely, and has good information on the metal card insert. The plastic edge that the metal insert goes into in the middle does create some problems with writing, though, since it distorts the otherwise flat surface.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Tri-fold Kneeboard

  • By John from Roswell NM USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Best size, pockets, strong clip
  • Cons: leg starp is very wimpy and should be much stronger. If you are not a heavy weight then the strap is a real failure.
  • Review: The kneeboard is everything I wanted. I don't know why I changed a few years back but I am very happy now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

very usefull

  • By Filiberto from Camargo Chihuahua Mexico on Friday, October 05, 2007
  • Pros: many compartments
  • Cons: need some velcro on the compartments
  • Review: good material, many pouges
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I Like it

  • By A Customer from Socal on Sunday, March 16, 2008
  • Pros: durable, comfortable
  • Cons: not chart friendly at all
  • Review: Not chart friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Works Good

  • By James from Pueblo CO on Sunday, September 12, 2010
  • Pros: Lots of useful info on the clipboard, great for getting organized. I keep my ATIS info pad, and any other notes I need.
  • Cons: Clip on the clip board is only effective on the corners of the clip. Can be kind of annoying. Need to purchase a grease pen to make notes on bottom portion of clipboard.
  • Review: Getting a kneeboard was recommended by my instructor, wasn't sure what to expect. It does it job. Not much you can say about a kneeboard I guess. Good for organization. Like the useful info on the clipboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wouldnt recommend this product

  • By Jeff from Pearland TX USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: has lots of pockets & a great knee board with good info
  • Cons: tri fold doesnt wrap under itself so the right flap hits the seat/center flap/trim wheel console area.
  • Review: Not a bad design, has lots of pockets & a great knee board with good info but the tri fold doesnt wrap under itself so the right flap hits the seat/center flap/trim wheel console area. Great for stowing things in pockets but would prefer velcro designed so the right & left pockets could fold under the kneeboard & pulled out when needed. would go with a different design.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful, but small

  • By KPM from Temple TX USA on Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • Pros: convenient information; ergonomic
  • Cons: too small for flight sectionals
  • Review: This is my first kneeboard. I purchased this for my x-country flights while in training. It nicely fits my thigh. The information on the clip board is useful and the clip is nice for secureing flight plans and information. The pencil/pen holders are convenient. My only problem is that the pockets are too small for holding the folded sectionals. I essentially only use the clip board and could have just bought a clip board w/o the extra pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Its ok but a bit bigger then I liked

  • By A Customer from Castorland NY USA on Friday, January 08, 2010
  • Review: This is a good product and is working well but I am a small framed individual and it really takes up my entire leg. I wish it was about 2 inches shorter.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from OCALA FLORIDA on Saturday, July 24, 2004
  • Review: The product is great but I should have purchased the long version. it is horrible to try and refold the sectional chart when you fly off the edge to fit the compact area.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, slightly damaged

  • By Michael from Houston TX USA on Wednesday, May 13, 2009
  • Pros: Functional
  • Cons: Damaged
  • Review: Promptly delivered, and was exactly what I wanted. The upper left corner of the metal VFR planner was bent about 90 degrees up (like it was smashed against something hard). The damage does not impede function. The box that it shipped in was not damaged, so I assume the kneeboard was placed in the shipping box in this condition. Probably carelessly handled sometime after manufacturing. The kneeboard works great, though, and I didn't care enough about the damage (and not willing to waste the time) to return it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Ok, but could use a couple improvments.

  • By Chris from Spokane, WA on Wednesday, June 27, 2007
  • Pros: Nice general design.
  • Cons: Poor dimensions (too small), Velcro on left flap is in bad spot.
  • Review: It is advertised as being able to hold a map in the right flap but a sectional chart is 10.5 in. tall. Even the long one isn't long enough. Also, the left flap can hold a e6b BUT it is a pain trying to slide the e6b in and out whenever you want to close the kneeboard because the e6b covers the Velcro. Other than that it is pretty good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I returned mine--should have read the reviews and purchased long version

  • By A Customer from Kansas City on Friday, August 24, 2007
  • Pros: Well constructed.
  • Cons: Photo is misleading--chart won't fit in pocket as shown
  • Review: Photo is misleading--chart won't fit in right pocket without folding again. Whiz wheel insertion covers velcro closures so that it won't stay closed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

To good to be true

  • By Jimmy from Scottsdale, AZ on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Pros: Holds alot, compact, neat tri fold design
  • Cons: Doesn't hold naco charts
  • Review: It gets the job done, has some cool features but the pocket for the sectional is way to small. If I wanted to get it in there I would have to cut off an inch and a half of my sectional. At least thats they way it is with the naco charts, pretty much the only charts people use. [Editor Note:  If you want to hold the NACO charts, you will need the ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard.]
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Vista CA on Thursday, July 29, 2004
  • Review: Map doesn't fit in the right flap. It has to be folded. Editors note: Try the ASA Long Tri-Fold Kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Gary D. from Morris CT USA on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: maps do not fit in pouch. They have to be folded way out of standard folds of map. NG! pen holders are a pain, they should be solid tubes like leather, elastic NG. leg strap, velcro not right, to loose on leg
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not as functional as I would like

  • By Chip from Irving TX USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Pros: Good idea and thought to stay organized
  • Cons: Does not hold sectional well, poor design to hold E6B
  • Review: If you put the E6-B into the holder you can not use the E6B well. It also then covers the velcro that holds the kneeboard closed. The entire product is slight short to hold a sectional well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.