Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

ASA Tri-Fold Kneeboard

  • 44 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Tri-Fold Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Palo Alto CA USA on Thursday, June 11, 2015
  • Pros: good size to allow for folds to be accessed while in cockpit, holds pen, paper, check lists
  • Cons: must refold charts to fit
  • Review: I first purchased the larger kneeboard, but exchanged it for the smaller one because it allowed more freedom of movement of the folded parts when sitting in the cockpit. I have been quite happy with the smaller kneeboard. The only drawback is that the charts need to be refolded to fit into the windowed pocket. Holds a pen and note paper close for ATIS reports and advisories. Clip is also useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good if you fix it

  • By A Customer from TX, USA on Tuesday, September 08, 2015
  • Pros: Good to keep the paper stuff organized. Solid clipboard.
  • Cons: Needs Velcro to make it work propperly (see description).
  • Review: I bought this Kneeboard contrary to my CFIs initial recommendation, not to buy any fancy kneeboard.

    Here is how I fixed it:
    1) On the front, use some "glue-on" Velcro.
    2) On the back of the (rugged) clip board, also put some Velcro.

    - Now you have the good clipboard always at hand and in front of you. You can also buy the IFR clipboard and just switch them on the fly. You also can just take the board off.
    - In the back of the "front" pocket I put my different charts. So I can take them out easily when they are needed.
    - In the right (clear front) pocket, I have all my stuff that I want to read during the flight (ATC chat patterns or Checklist or any other thing that fits in there and you want to read during the flight.
    - In the left pocket (which isn't really accessible during the flight) I have my E6B and also my plotter. You can also put anything else in there that you don't readily need during the flight.

    The other good thing is, that if you close everything, you can now take your logbook + AFD and turn the knee straps around your books. Now you have yourself a nice pack with all your charts, your AFD and your Logbook... Keep the headset around your neck and you don't need any fancy headset bag with X amount of pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I needed.

  • By Val from Mill Valley CA USA on Friday, March 04, 2016
  • Pros: right size, useful info on back of clipboard, and useful side pockets
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: The larger kneepads were too big for me to use in the cockpit. I only wish that it could hold a folded sectional in one of the side pockets, but I am fast finding uses for those with other things, like printouts from the A/FD and the Blue Book info on California airports.
    .

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very effective product

  • By Tommy from Myrtle Beach SC USA on Thursday, July 29, 2010
  • Pros: helps organize the cockpit which increases safety
  • Cons: doesn't fit sectional chart
  • Review: I really love this thing and it has really helped me in my VFR navigation. The only thing I don't like is that a sectional chart has to be folded to fit in it.  Other then that it is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

very usefull

  • By Filiberto from Camargo Chihuahua Mexico on Friday, October 05, 2007
  • Pros: many compartments
  • Cons: need some velcro on the compartments
  • Review: good material, many pouges
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I Like it

  • By A Customer from Socal on Sunday, March 16, 2008
  • Pros: durable, comfortable
  • Cons: not chart friendly at all
  • Review: Not chart friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Its Just OKAY

  • By Brad Grupenhagen from Edwards AFB on Sunday, December 05, 2010
  • Pros: For a big guy, its a nice big kneeboard. Clipboard works great, can hold lots of paperwork very securly. Big enough to store small pieces of paper side by side, to write down PIREP stuff, and still keep track of a navlog if need be. VFR information on clip board is useful, as a student pilot I don't feel I get to look at much but I always now its there when I need it.
  • Cons: I also bought the ASA stainless E6-B to put into the kneeboard, the same one on the video, thinking it would be helpful to use the same equipment. Not so much, the E6-B covers the velcro tabs that hold the kneeboard shut. Might be to big for some smaller pilots. Also could be to big for 2 large people sitting next to each other, not enough room to fold up one side and look at it. The elastic strap is starting to loose its elasticity only used this thing 6 times for about 2 each flight.
  • Review: Like I said, ITS JUST OKAY. It does its job, great for any VFR flight, would probably opt for an IFR kneeboard with a few more bells and whistles to hold extra approach plates and such. The price is fair for what you get, would not expect much less from ASA.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would I buy this product again...Yes!

  • By Thomas from Palmyra PA USA on Thursday, December 09, 2010
  • Review: I read the reviews on this product and several others before buying it, and I was not disappointed. It has great information, a good clip, and easily accessible pockets and pen/pencil holder. It fastens easily to the leg, but I have to lower my seat slightly in order to keep it free of the controls. It is well made and will last my lifetime I'm sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Tri-fold Kneeboard

  • By John from Roswell NM USA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
  • Pros: Best size, pockets, strong clip
  • Cons: leg starp is very wimpy and should be much stronger. If you are not a heavy weight then the strap is a real failure.
  • Review: The kneeboard is everything I wanted. I don't know why I changed a few years back but I am very happy now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Affordable Kneeboard

  • By Bake from Ocala FL USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Pros: Great value for the price
  • Cons: If you have small legs, you may need to add or sew some velcro so you have a better adjustment range of the strap going around your leg.
  • Review: Nice Knee Board. The trifold seems to work well for me.
    I have my E6-B2WHL computer in the left flap which opens up an lays on my left leg. the next flap folds out to hang off the right side of my leg. This is were I keep my maps. So if I want a quick look at one of my maps I can lift it up and see the maps. if I need to pull the map out to change the fold or to take a closer look at something, with it hanging over the right side of my leg makes it easy to pull the map right straight up and out of the pocket it is in. Which leaves us with the center of the knee board sitting right directly over my right leg. This is were the clip board is with my notes and note pad to wright on. The clip board has a lot of info on it also for quick reference.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Adequate for price

  • By A Customer from Redlands CA USA on Sunday, February 15, 2015
  • Pros: Effective for basic organization
  • Cons: Some design flaws
  • Review: Provides an organized area. However, the clear area on the right is not large enough for a map. I use it for 3x5" cards with important notes, which is not optimal but I'm trying to repurpose the space somehow. The E6B holder on the left holds the computer well but it is not easy to take the E6B in and out. The product is comfortable, fits on the legs nicely, and has good information on the metal card insert. The plastic edge that the metal insert goes into in the middle does create some problems with writing, though, since it distorts the otherwise flat surface.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Works Good

  • By James from Pueblo CO on Sunday, September 12, 2010
  • Pros: Lots of useful info on the clipboard, great for getting organized. I keep my ATIS info pad, and any other notes I need.
  • Cons: Clip on the clip board is only effective on the corners of the clip. Can be kind of annoying. Need to purchase a grease pen to make notes on bottom portion of clipboard.
  • Review: Getting a kneeboard was recommended by my instructor, wasn't sure what to expect. It does it job. Not much you can say about a kneeboard I guess. Good for organization. Like the useful info on the clipboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.