TOP

Reviews for Telex Airman 850 Lightweight ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Ed from Macungie PA USA on Thursday, December 15, 2011
  • Pros: Good NR. Comfortable.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I fly the 737-800 and when I read the reviews that stated you needed to power the Noise Reduction by using the hot mike switch or holding the interphone in the "on" position with a rubber band I thought this may not be the headset for me. I bought it anyway to see how it would simply block some of the noise with the ear cups. When I plugged them in to the aircraft I was pleasantly surprised to discover the noise reduction works normally with the headset plugged in. Their is an on/off switch and with it in off there is a big difference in what you hear. I would estimate that with the system on, there is about a 15 to 20 db reduction in noise. They are very clear in reception and are quite comfortable in long range cruise. I usually take them off and put in 25db musician's earplugs and use the aircraft speaker on transcons just because it is overall more comfortable. I like this headset and would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Light, excelent headset!

  • By maercin from Warsaw, Poland on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
  • Review: Compering to Telex 750 I used before, Telex 850 has better quality, clear sound and nice boom while being light as 750. Perfect when both pilots have them using I/C mode in B737.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

  • By Jeffrey from Bellevue WA USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Quiet and comfortable
  • Cons: Possibly too quiet for some people
  • Review: A joy to wear in the cockpit. The only problem is that it is almost too quiet, and sometimes it can be a little rough hearing the other pilot. The audio is crystal clear and there is no sunglass interference. Comfortable for 14 hours.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent

  • By A Customer on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros: No battery's for the ANR! + hassle free sunglass wearing.
  • Cons: Mic failed after a couple of years. Had it repaired with no problems since. Uncomfortable on the top of your head after a while.
  • Review: I've used this headset for 5 years on the 737-800 and still love it. The ANR is excellent in my view. My volume controls are set at the same level or lower than the more expensive ANR brands. You can wear your sunglasses comfortably too without them being squashed to the side of your head like most other brands.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works for me

  • By Steven from Virginia Beach VA USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: None
  • Review: 737 pilot. This noise cancelling headset works well enough to block out the wind noise of the 737. No batteries required.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset!

  • By Kevin from Draper UT USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Great audio performance, lightweight, quiet.
  • Cons: Plastic ear cup connection to headband can break easily.
  • Review: The Telex Airman 850 Lightweight ANR is an awesome headset! I bought this second one because of the superior performance of the first one that I had for 10 years. This second headset is also performing spectacularly and I hope to be using it for 10 years!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By Colt from DFW on Wednesday, May 18, 2016
  • Pros: Can change glasses without moving headset.
  • Cons: None yet.
  • Review: Works good in daily regional jet use, typically have them on over 5 hours a work day. I wear glasses for near vision only, easy to get glasses on/off without having to move headset. Compact storage fits in suitcase or pilot bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Muti from Springfield Gardens NY USA on Tuesday, October 06, 2009
  • Pros: Light weight.
  • Cons:
  • Review: One of the best headsets I have ever used. The last one I used was a regular TELEX and a bose before that. I like that this one is leight and doen't bother me even after puting it on for hours. No batteries required another big plus, I use it in a B737-700. very easy to put on and off. cancel the noise very nicely. I use to set the volume a bit high to be able to hear ATC now all of my radio volume selectors are set LESS than half way. It really make me think of how much noise was their before. To summerise, this is a perfect headset. I recommend it for any pilot who flys a lot for long times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Works perfectly, no battery pack needed....

  • By Bryan from Boston Logan on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: No battery pack and no batteries needed.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Guys,the first 12DBs of noise reduction are everything. Sure, there are other headsets out there with a battery pack that have a little more noise reduction, but for a jet like a 737, this is perfect. The headset steals a little power from the mic bias to power the DNR. I've used one for many years and it works perfectly. I wouldn't use another headset with a battery pack, if you gave it to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh, PA on Friday, February 26, 2010
  • Review: These are great headsets. I've used them in a Dash 8 and a Lear 45, they worked great in both aircraft. Lightweight, comfortable ear cups and good noise cancelling. Thinking of the Telex 750? Spend the extra bucks to get these. Your ears will thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must buy for any professional aviator

  • By jeremy from surprise AZ USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: excellent noise cancelling, great for any jet aviator
  • Cons: voices sound a little muffeled,
  • Review: It's light-weight and comfortable. Folds up nice in its carrying case. The noise cancelling is superb, no batteries required. The only drawback I've discovered is that voices sound a little muffeled compared to the full clamp style head set I was using. Just remember to put it on "low" before plugging into any aircraft with aural sounds that transmit to your headset. "Hi" is ridiculously loud.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very light and solid headset

  • By SU MIN from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
  • Review: I 'm looking for this headset ... Very light for using long time.. And also good to have ANR function.. First.I suppose to buy Bose QC3..  But I am satisfied in my 850..it is enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent choice

  • By Don from Corpus Christi TX USA on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Pros: It's all good.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This one is just about perfect, the fit and feel on your head is great, and the sound quality is superb. I like everything about it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I should have bought it sooner

  • By 737 driver from Overseas on Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • Pros: Noise reduction and no batteries required
  • Cons: Non-breathing earmuffs do get sweaty
  • Review: Overall, a great product. It takes a day or two to get used to the headset due to reduction of volume from your flying partner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Brian from Fremont CA USA on Wednesday, March 31, 2010
  • Review: Loud and clear. Light to wear but still hurts for prolonged wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am a believer

  • By Takiteze from Austin TX USA on Friday, December 18, 2009
  • Pros: Lightweight, No auxiliary power required
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have worn the Telex 750 for years. The 850 is MUCH quieter without feeling heavier. I should have upgraded years ago. I never had a problem with the 750 series, but needed to replace a faulty headset. The Telex 850 is the headset that I will use from now on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great with good sound clarity. Compact.

  • By Steven from Swannanoa NC USA on Saturday, February 18, 2017
  • Pros: Lightweight, no batteries needed, good for wearing glasses
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Lightweight, good ANR function, good sound clarity, no batteries needed, comfortable even when used as single earpiece headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Colleyville TX USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Review: as advertised - no problems
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By A Customer from Pittsburgh PA USA on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Pros: Lightweight, well-made,compact size
  • Cons: Headband a bit uncomfortable for those who are
  • Review: I use these in a Dash 8 and they work fine. They cancel out just enough of the extra "high" noises without cancelling the important ones. I've only had them for a short time, but they seem well-made and durable, much more then the style would suggest. Not sure if they are really worth the $200 premium over the 750, but it sure seems that way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I bought this headset

  • By Ken from Chicago,IL and Columbus, OH on Tuesday, August 28, 2007
  • Pros: Light Weight, comfortable, NO Batteries required
  • Cons: Not as quiet as the Bose. I can't use them with an Ipod.
  • Review: They're great. They are light weight, comfortable and block much of the noise. They also come at a price I was willing to pay. They are not as quiet as the Bose but they are much cheaper and don't need batteries to work. I'm using them in a Cessna Citation Excel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Telex 850: Works with B777

  • By Rajinder Singh from Singapore on Sunday, December 30, 2007
  • Review: Good ANR, coupled with HI/LO volume switch, ANR ON/OFF switch. Best part is no batteries required. ANR works in the Boing 777. Good buy: picked out clearly the ground engineer's and ATC transmission (the other pilot had difficulty using a conventional headset!)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By SUMIN SUNG from SEOUL on Tuesday, October 04, 2011
  • Review: It's very awesome.  Good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

i will buy this product again in the near future

  • By AEROREY from BROWNSVILLE TX USA on Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Review: Exelent product very helpful for pilots
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy one again

  • By ARMANDO from BROWNSVILLE TX USA on Thursday, January 28, 2010
  • Pros: light weight, no batteries required
  • Cons: leather covered ear seals will give up on you after a couple of years,.when you buy one, order a set of extra ear seals, that way you will have them ready.
  • Review: Excelent, it is my third one, I have 2 in our XLS and one in the C-V Ultra.  I love them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Dennis from Monrovia CA USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Plenty
  • Cons: None
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy/recommend this product again

  • By A Customer from Arlington TX USA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

A real relief !

  • By Arnaud from Paris, France on Wednesday, February 27, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, selfpowered, clear reception, you still hear
  • Cons: volume does only have a
  • Review: We have some noisy A320 aircrafts in the company (Air France). This ANR headsdet is perfect. I bought the adapter for the A320 jack ; So that I can use the headset in Cessna, Airbuses... Really lightweight, clear reception, no battery needed, it's self-powered through the boomer. A must have, and not expensive compared to E.U prices !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Sometimes I forget I have it on

  • By James from LIT on Friday, August 03, 2007
  • Pros: No Batteries, Very Light
  • Cons: I wouldn't try it in a Piston single or twin, try Bose X
  • Review: This is the perfect headset for jet aircraft. (I tried it in a King Air and it let too much outside noise through)

    In the Cessna CJ it effectively eliminates what little outside noise there is, doesn't require batteries (A BIG +) and is so light I hardly feel it on my big head!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

perfect for CRJ

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2007
  • Pros: Quiet and comfortable
  • Cons: Poor carrying case
  • Review: Fly the crj 700 and find them to work as well as the David Clarks for wind noise.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, February 21, 2007
  • Pros: No batteries required.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's lightweight, comfortable and doesn't need batteries. A great alternative if you want an ANR headset, but don't need the big "can" type.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the price

  • By A Customer from ORD on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Pros: Good product for the price. No batteries for the ANR.
  • Cons: Wish it had a little cushion on top.
  • Review: It works nicely in the CRJ700. Nice not to have to worry about batteries for the ANR. Wish it had even a little cushion ontop. After a long day, it hurts my head where the top bar rests. Otherwise, a great headset for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Good headset for a jet flight deck

  • By A320av8r from CLT on Saturday, March 14, 2009
  • Review: I have flown the B737/757/767 and now fly the A319/320/321. I am very satisfied with the performance of this headset on all of these aircraft. It doesn't eliminate all of the noise but does greatly reduce the noise produced by the air flow over the air frame and pack flow noise as well as the background "hiss" on the flight deck. Also has a good microphone and is comfortable on long haul flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Glad I bought this

  • By Mark from Parker CO USA on Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Pros: Light weight- noise reduction using the airplane power as a power source- no additional control box to mess with.
  • Cons: Still smashes on your ears after an hour or two.
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations. Maybe the least cost headset of the possible professional headsets but worth more if simplicity, light weight and less hassle is important to you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Pleased

  • By A Customer from Monument CO USA on Thursday, November 28, 2013
  • Pros: Lightweight with clear audio
  • Cons: Headband is uncomfortable after a few hours - needs more padding.
  • Review: Lightweight and comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works very well

  • By Keith from Cedar Rapids IA USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros: light comfortable anr and price
  • Cons: Can sound muffled at times
  • Review: Love this lightweight headset with great ANR.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By A Customer from Satellite Beach FL USA on Tuesday, November 01, 2016
  • Review: Very compact for airline flying
    Longer flights i can feel some pressure on ears but overall better than other headsets
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just well enaugh

  • By Matt from Boston MA USA on Friday, March 23, 2012
  • Pros: Light weight.
  • Cons: Not as comfortable as expected.
  • Review: Worth for money. Just middle-range headset. Not bad as well as not very good. If you ready to spend more stop with more expensive headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Telex 850

  • By Steve from Germantown TN USA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Pros: Light, Compact,
  • Cons:
  • Review: Makes my ears swore after wearing for several hours. Second time using it the volume got stuck on loud. Maybe a little overpriced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Review: Have used the 850 for four years in a Challenger 601. Comfortable, lightweight and quiet in that environment. Just purchased a third 850 for backup. Self powered no batteries to worry about.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Great and light

  • By on Friday, January 22, 2010
  • Pros: Good noise atenuation, no batteries needed.
  • Cons: The head band is narrow and hard making it a little painful after a while.
  • Review: Good for jets,good audio quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Telex 850 not parallel

  • By A Customer from JAMAICA NY USA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Review: Hi everyone, Ý am normally using the Sennheiser HMEC-26-BV-K but after long time in flight my head having pressure so then I tried the Telex Airman 850. My first headset was the Telex Airman 750 and it is good but very standard.  But the main thing is, I thought that the Telex 850 is the same parallel style with Telex 750 but they are not, once you put the 850 onto your head your ears feel the pressure, the earside of the headset should parallel to your ears and this needs a little bit tool thing.  Telex 850 has also great active noise and absolutely worth it .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not a bad choice

  • By KOFI S M from Rosedale NY USA on Friday, August 15, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, simple to use
  • Cons: cable rather short, cable clip can fall off
  • Review: It's a lovely bit of Kit. Lightweight and simple to use, it takes up very little space in your flight pack too so that makes it convenient. What I cannot confirm is whether the ANR really works..i.e is the noise reduction due to the ear cups or due to the superior technology. In addition to this I've found the cable about a foot too short and the clip that keeps it at the right side of your head also can fall off and get lost.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Good noise canceling headset for jets

  • By A Customer on Monday, July 23, 2007
  • Pros: Light-weight, NO batteries needed, better price than Bose
  • Cons:
  • Review: If you fly jets, and are using the Telex 750, I would definately suggest switching to the Telex 850.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Was expecting just a little more

  • By Mark from Lodi CA USA on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Pros: Light and compact and stores well
  • Cons: Does not work well with my other Bose headsets
  • Review: It is light and compact. The audio does not work well with my other headsets (Bose).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By david from Madrid, Spain on Friday, September 26, 2008
  • Review: Comfortable, light and serves its purpose for noise cancelling
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Don't expect great audio clarity.

  • By Scott J from North Hampton NH USA on Thursday, September 04, 2014
  • Pros: Lightweight. Powered by ship, so no batteries to change.
  • Cons: Audio quality marginal. Needs a small pad, especially for bald heads to be comfortable.
  • Review: Decent light weight headset. It's weakness is it's lack of crisp clear audio. I fly several different 737NG models, all of them loud. The noise canceling feature is barely adequate. I didn't want to lug around a larger heavier headset so the 850 works well there. I cannot find a pad for the head band which would make a huge difference in comfort.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.

pretty good but...

  • By Paco from San Carlos, CA on Monday, April 30, 2007
  • Pros: noise reduction
  • Cons: comfort
  • Review: After 10 yrs on the 757, I went from a Telex, ear-bud to the 850. I like the noise cancellation but I don't like the:
    -It’s funny, but you don’t really hear yourself when you speak. So it affects cockpit communications. I find myself pulling my left cup off my ear half the time to hear the captain; which defeats the purpose.
    -Lack of good side tone when I transmit.
    -Lack of padding on the hear brace. It gets annoying after a few hours.
    -The ear cups are too small and hurt after a few hours.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Do not buy for long flight

  • By Totof from KSAT on Wednesday, August 17, 2016
  • Pros: Good for doing the job and lightweight with no need of batteries
  • Cons: Not comfortable
  • Review: Good product for short flights! Standard on all Gulfstream!
    However it hurts after outlet hours from the thin headband pressing on your head, specially if your hair is thinning!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Marginal product

  • By A Customer from Saint Joseph MO USA on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
  • Pros: Lite and comfortable
  • Cons: Seems too flimsy. Not much noise reduction
  • Review: Not very substantial for the price. I was hoping it would cancel more noise. Some times on the MD80 it is as quite with the headest off.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much better than what I had, but NOT what I hoped for

  • By Wayne from Pasadena MD USA on Friday, September 24, 2010
  • Pros: Love the light-weight and low profile, very comfy
  • Cons: needs variable volume control
  • Review: I fly the EMB145, and the company issued D-Clark's are equipped with a volume control. I miss that feature because in the EMB, the intercom system can be configured to allow the aircraft audio alerts to be quieter. This is accomplished by turning the headset volume down, and then increasing the rest of the intercom channels. With my new headset, I am FORCED to wear earplugs to accomplish this same configuration, however, the earplugs take away from the clearity of the incoming radio calls from ATC and from my FO. I find myself often looking at my FO for clarification on certian clearances.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset but poor support

  • By FlyingIshmel from Portland, OR on Saturday, May 08, 2010
  • Pros: Lightweight ANR without battery pack
  • Cons: Telex repair program
  • Review: Have had this headset for 5 years and had no problems except for replacing the ear pads and mic boom foam cover with normal wear and tear. My mic boom just recently stopped working and I'm not impressed with the Telex repair time. They're estimating 3-4 weeks for repairs at a flat rate of $200 or parts and labor whichever is less. But a month without this headset will be an eternity! Most of the other headset manufacturers offer speedy repairs, so I'm considering a different brand despite the fact that I enjoy these headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Telex Airman 850 is good but not tough

  • By Rob on Monday, November 10, 2008
  • Pros: Light weight, self contained
  • Cons: Not robust - the Ear phone connection is prone to breaking
  • Review: A great headset if you are a professional pilot - easy to carry, doesn't take up much space, no batteries. The only issue with the Telex Headsets for me is the weak plastic pivoting connection at the earphones. A real weak point, so you cant be rough with them or leave them in an overfull flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not recommended.

  • By William from Gilbert AZ USA on Wednesday, October 14, 2015
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: Noise reduction basically not hsppening.
  • Review: As a regular headset it works great. Noise reduction is minimal at best.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Be Aware of the Telex 850...

  • By Arayan Lias from California on Thursday, May 24, 2007
  • Pros: Nice and light and doesn't take up alot of room in your bag
  • Cons: No own power source. Doesn't work on all aircraft
  • Review: Since it has no battery pack and take the ANR power source from the hotmike, it doesn't work on some of the aircraft. I fly 747 Classic and it doesn't work without the transmit switch being keyed (no passive power). Don't know how to get around this problem beside putting the radio selector on intercom and use a rubberband to hold the transmit switch down (which might damage the radio unit).

    Some sort of an alternative battery pack adapter would be nice.

    For now it's just a very expensive Telex 750.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Horrible performance

  • By A Customer from O Fallon IL USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: Lighweight
  • Cons: Does not work. See review
  • Review: I purchased the Telex 850 specifically for use in the CRJ-700. The headset has a constant noise in both ears. The noise propagates to the other crewmembers when using the intercom. You must use max volume to hear ATC. Others have used foam earplugs underneath the headset as a work around. So far Telex has not responded to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.