TOP

Reviews for Telex Airman 850 Lightweight ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for the price

  • By A Customer from ORD on Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • Pros: Good product for the price. No batteries for the ANR.
  • Cons: Wish it had a little cushion on top.
  • Review: It works nicely in the CRJ700. Nice not to have to worry about batteries for the ANR. Wish it had even a little cushion ontop. After a long day, it hurts my head where the top bar rests. Otherwise, a great headset for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Pleased

  • By A Customer from Monument CO USA on Thursday, November 28, 2013
  • Pros: Lightweight with clear audio
  • Cons: Headband is uncomfortable after a few hours - needs more padding.
  • Review: Lightweight and comfortable.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Good headset for a jet flight deck

  • By A320av8r from CLT on Saturday, March 14, 2009
  • Review: I have flown the B737/757/767 and now fly the A319/320/321. I am very satisfied with the performance of this headset on all of these aircraft. It doesn't eliminate all of the noise but does greatly reduce the noise produced by the air flow over the air frame and pack flow noise as well as the background "hiss" on the flight deck. Also has a good microphone and is comfortable on long haul flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Glad I bought this

  • By Mark from Parker CO USA on Monday, March 27, 2017
  • Pros: Light weight- noise reduction using the airplane power as a power source- no additional control box to mess with.
  • Cons: Still smashes on your ears after an hour or two.
  • Review: Exceeded my expectations. Maybe the least cost headset of the possible professional headsets but worth more if simplicity, light weight and less hassle is important to you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works very well

  • By Keith from Cedar Rapids IA USA on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros: light comfortable anr and price
  • Cons: Can sound muffled at times
  • Review: Love this lightweight headset with great ANR.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again

  • By A Customer from Satellite Beach FL USA on Tuesday, November 01, 2016
  • Review: Very compact for airline flying
    Longer flights i can feel some pressure on ears but overall better than other headsets
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just well enaugh

  • By Matt from Boston MA USA on Friday, March 23, 2012
  • Pros: Light weight.
  • Cons: Not as comfortable as expected.
  • Review: Worth for money. Just middle-range headset. Not bad as well as not very good. If you ready to spend more stop with more expensive headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Telex 850

  • By Steve from Germantown TN USA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Pros: Light, Compact,
  • Cons:
  • Review: Makes my ears swore after wearing for several hours. Second time using it the volume got stuck on loud. Maybe a little overpriced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, June 21, 2010
  • Review: Have used the 850 for four years in a Challenger 601. Comfortable, lightweight and quiet in that environment. Just purchased a third 850 for backup. Self powered no batteries to worry about.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Great and light

  • By on Friday, January 22, 2010
  • Pros: Good noise atenuation, no batteries needed.
  • Cons: The head band is narrow and hard making it a little painful after a while.
  • Review: Good for jets,good audio quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not a bad choice

  • By KOFI S M from Rosedale NY USA on Friday, August 15, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, simple to use
  • Cons: cable rather short, cable clip can fall off
  • Review: It's a lovely bit of Kit. Lightweight and simple to use, it takes up very little space in your flight pack too so that makes it convenient. What I cannot confirm is whether the ANR really works..i.e is the noise reduction due to the ear cups or due to the superior technology. In addition to this I've found the cable about a foot too short and the clip that keeps it at the right side of your head also can fall off and get lost.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Telex 850 not parallel

  • By A Customer from JAMAICA NY USA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Review: Hi everyone, Ý am normally using the Sennheiser HMEC-26-BV-K but after long time in flight my head having pressure so then I tried the Telex Airman 850. My first headset was the Telex Airman 750 and it is good but very standard.  But the main thing is, I thought that the Telex 850 is the same parallel style with Telex 750 but they are not, once you put the 850 onto your head your ears feel the pressure, the earside of the headset should parallel to your ears and this needs a little bit tool thing.  Telex 850 has also great active noise and absolutely worth it .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Good noise canceling headset for jets

  • By A Customer on Monday, July 23, 2007
  • Pros: Light-weight, NO batteries needed, better price than Bose
  • Cons:
  • Review: If you fly jets, and are using the Telex 750, I would definately suggest switching to the Telex 850.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Was expecting just a little more

  • By Mark from Lodi CA USA on Monday, April 28, 2008
  • Pros: Light and compact and stores well
  • Cons: Does not work well with my other Bose headsets
  • Review: It is light and compact. The audio does not work well with my other headsets (Bose).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By david from Madrid, Spain on Friday, September 26, 2008
  • Review: Comfortable, light and serves its purpose for noise cancelling
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.