TOP

Reviews for Telex Airman 850 Lightweight ANR Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Ed from Macungie PA USA on Thursday, December 15, 2011
  • Pros: Good NR. Comfortable.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I fly the 737-800 and when I read the reviews that stated you needed to power the Noise Reduction by using the hot mike switch or holding the interphone in the "on" position with a rubber band I thought this may not be the headset for me. I bought it anyway to see how it would simply block some of the noise with the ear cups. When I plugged them in to the aircraft I was pleasantly surprised to discover the noise reduction works normally with the headset plugged in. Their is an on/off switch and with it in off there is a big difference in what you hear. I would estimate that with the system on, there is about a 15 to 20 db reduction in noise. They are very clear in reception and are quite comfortable in long range cruise. I usually take them off and put in 25db musician's earplugs and use the aircraft speaker on transcons just because it is overall more comfortable. I like this headset and would recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Light, excelent headset!

  • By maercin from Warsaw, Poland on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
  • Review: Compering to Telex 750 I used before, Telex 850 has better quality, clear sound and nice boom while being light as 750. Perfect when both pilots have them using I/C mode in B737.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

  • By Jeffrey from Bellevue WA USA on Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • Pros: Quiet and comfortable
  • Cons: Possibly too quiet for some people
  • Review: A joy to wear in the cockpit. The only problem is that it is almost too quiet, and sometimes it can be a little rough hearing the other pilot. The audio is crystal clear and there is no sunglass interference. Comfortable for 14 hours.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent

  • By A Customer on Friday, April 04, 2014
  • Pros: No battery's for the ANR! + hassle free sunglass wearing.
  • Cons: Mic failed after a couple of years. Had it repaired with no problems since. Uncomfortable on the top of your head after a while.
  • Review: I've used this headset for 5 years on the 737-800 and still love it. The ANR is excellent in my view. My volume controls are set at the same level or lower than the more expensive ANR brands. You can wear your sunglasses comfortably too without them being squashed to the side of your head like most other brands.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A must buy for any professional aviator

  • By jeremy from surprise AZ USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: excellent noise cancelling, great for any jet aviator
  • Cons: voices sound a little muffeled,
  • Review: It's light-weight and comfortable. Folds up nice in its carrying case. The noise cancelling is superb, no batteries required. The only drawback I've discovered is that voices sound a little muffeled compared to the full clamp style head set I was using. Just remember to put it on "low" before plugging into any aircraft with aural sounds that transmit to your headset. "Hi" is ridiculously loud.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works for me

  • By Steven from Virginia Beach VA USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons: None
  • Review: 737 pilot. This noise cancelling headset works well enough to block out the wind noise of the 737. No batteries required.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset!

  • By Kevin from Draper UT USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Great audio performance, lightweight, quiet.
  • Cons: Plastic ear cup connection to headband can break easily.
  • Review: The Telex Airman 850 Lightweight ANR is an awesome headset! I bought this second one because of the superior performance of the first one that I had for 10 years. This second headset is also performing spectacularly and I hope to be using it for 10 years!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By Colt from DFW on Wednesday, May 18, 2016
  • Pros: Can change glasses without moving headset.
  • Cons: None yet.
  • Review: Works good in daily regional jet use, typically have them on over 5 hours a work day. I wear glasses for near vision only, easy to get glasses on/off without having to move headset. Compact storage fits in suitcase or pilot bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Headset

  • By Muti from Springfield Gardens NY USA on Tuesday, October 06, 2009
  • Pros: Light weight.
  • Cons:
  • Review: One of the best headsets I have ever used. The last one I used was a regular TELEX and a bose before that. I like that this one is leight and doen't bother me even after puting it on for hours. No batteries required another big plus, I use it in a B737-700. very easy to put on and off. cancel the noise very nicely. I use to set the volume a bit high to be able to hear ATC now all of my radio volume selectors are set LESS than half way. It really make me think of how much noise was their before. To summerise, this is a perfect headset. I recommend it for any pilot who flys a lot for long times.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Works perfectly, no battery pack needed....

  • By Bryan from Boston Logan on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Pros: No battery pack and no batteries needed.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Guys,the first 12DBs of noise reduction are everything. Sure, there are other headsets out there with a battery pack that have a little more noise reduction, but for a jet like a 737, this is perfect. The headset steals a little power from the mic bias to power the DNR. I've used one for many years and it works perfectly. I wouldn't use another headset with a battery pack, if you gave it to me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrew from Pittsburgh, PA on Friday, February 26, 2010
  • Review: These are great headsets. I've used them in a Dash 8 and a Lear 45, they worked great in both aircraft. Lightweight, comfortable ear cups and good noise cancelling. Thinking of the Telex 750? Spend the extra bucks to get these. Your ears will thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very light and solid headset

  • By SU MIN from LOS ANGELES CA USA on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
  • Review: I 'm looking for this headset ... Very light for using long time.. And also good to have ANR function.. First.I suppose to buy Bose QC3..  But I am satisfied in my 850..it is enough.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Brian from Fremont CA USA on Wednesday, March 31, 2010
  • Review: Loud and clear. Light to wear but still hurts for prolonged wear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I am a believer

  • By Takiteze from Austin TX USA on Friday, December 18, 2009
  • Pros: Lightweight, No auxiliary power required
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have worn the Telex 750 for years. The 850 is MUCH quieter without feeling heavier. I should have upgraded years ago. I never had a problem with the 750 series, but needed to replace a faulty headset. The Telex 850 is the headset that I will use from now on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great with good sound clarity. Compact.

  • By Steven from Swannanoa NC USA on Saturday, February 18, 2017
  • Pros: Lightweight, no batteries needed, good for wearing glasses
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Lightweight, good ANR function, good sound clarity, no batteries needed, comfortable even when used as single earpiece headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I should have bought it sooner

  • By 737 driver from Overseas on Tuesday, June 15, 2010
  • Pros: Noise reduction and no batteries required
  • Cons: Non-breathing earmuffs do get sweaty
  • Review: Overall, a great product. It takes a day or two to get used to the headset due to reduction of volume from your flying partner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent choice

  • By Don from Corpus Christi TX USA on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Pros: It's all good.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This one is just about perfect, the fit and feel on your head is great, and the sound quality is superb. I like everything about it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Colleyville TX USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Review: as advertised - no problems
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great

  • By A Customer from Pittsburgh PA USA on Friday, December 28, 2007
  • Pros: Lightweight, well-made,compact size
  • Cons: Headband a bit uncomfortable for those who are
  • Review: I use these in a Dash 8 and they work fine. They cancel out just enough of the extra "high" noises without cancelling the important ones. I've only had them for a short time, but they seem well-made and durable, much more then the style would suggest. Not sure if they are really worth the $200 premium over the 750, but it sure seems that way.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Glad I bought this headset

  • By Ken from Chicago,IL and Columbus, OH on Tuesday, August 28, 2007
  • Pros: Light Weight, comfortable, NO Batteries required
  • Cons: Not as quiet as the Bose. I can't use them with an Ipod.
  • Review: They're great. They are light weight, comfortable and block much of the noise. They also come at a price I was willing to pay. They are not as quiet as the Bose but they are much cheaper and don't need batteries to work. I'm using them in a Cessna Citation Excel.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Telex 850: Works with B777

  • By Rajinder Singh from Singapore on Sunday, December 30, 2007
  • Review: Good ANR, coupled with HI/LO volume switch, ANR ON/OFF switch. Best part is no batteries required. ANR works in the Boing 777. Good buy: picked out clearly the ground engineer's and ATC transmission (the other pilot had difficulty using a conventional headset!)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By SUMIN SUNG from SEOUL on Tuesday, October 04, 2011
  • Review: It's very awesome.  Good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

i will buy this product again in the near future

  • By AEROREY from BROWNSVILLE TX USA on Monday, October 29, 2012
  • Review: Exelent product very helpful for pilots
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Dennis from Monrovia CA USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Plenty
  • Cons: None
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy one again

  • By ARMANDO from BROWNSVILLE TX USA on Thursday, January 28, 2010
  • Pros: light weight, no batteries required
  • Cons: leather covered ear seals will give up on you after a couple of years,.when you buy one, order a set of extra ear seals, that way you will have them ready.
  • Review: Excelent, it is my third one, I have 2 in our XLS and one in the C-V Ultra.  I love them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy/recommend this product again

  • By A Customer from Arlington TX USA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

A real relief !

  • By Arnaud from Paris, France on Wednesday, February 27, 2008
  • Pros: lightweight, selfpowered, clear reception, you still hear
  • Cons: volume does only have a
  • Review: We have some noisy A320 aircrafts in the company (Air France). This ANR headsdet is perfect. I bought the adapter for the A320 jack ; So that I can use the headset in Cessna, Airbuses... Really lightweight, clear reception, no battery needed, it's self-powered through the boomer. A must have, and not expensive compared to E.U prices !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer on Wednesday, February 21, 2007
  • Pros: No batteries required.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's lightweight, comfortable and doesn't need batteries. A great alternative if you want an ANR headset, but don't need the big "can" type.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

perfect for CRJ

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2007
  • Pros: Quiet and comfortable
  • Cons: Poor carrying case
  • Review: Fly the crj 700 and find them to work as well as the David Clarks for wind noise.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Sometimes I forget I have it on

  • By James from LIT on Friday, August 03, 2007
  • Pros: No Batteries, Very Light
  • Cons: I wouldn't try it in a Piston single or twin, try Bose X
  • Review: This is the perfect headset for jet aircraft. (I tried it in a King Air and it let too much outside noise through)

    In the Cessna CJ it effectively eliminates what little outside noise there is, doesn't require batteries (A BIG +) and is so light I hardly feel it on my big head!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.