TOP

Reviews for Video Recorder Audio Adapter - Helicopters

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Aircraft Audio Recordings

  • By Jeffrey from Afghanistan on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Good cable length, Good Audio
  • Cons: A case or bag would be nice...
  • Review: I work on AH-64D Apaches in the Army and bought this adapter so that I could pull audio from the aircraft's ICS system for later use in videos / slideshows. Because it hooks inline with the headset, I can record all audio that comes across the headset including normal ICS, Crew Chiefs on the wings, and radio audio as well. I use it in conjunction with a Roland RO-5 Audio Recoder and a standard David-Clark Headset. There is no loss of Audio quality or volume with the harness attached. Also great for reviewing troubleshooting steps, training, and systems checklists.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for UH-60s

  • By A Customer from APo AE USA on Thursday, July 03, 2014
  • Review: Excellent product that works great in UH-60s.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Wood from Newport NC USA on Tuesday, February 28, 2012
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: It isn't free
  • Review: Works great...just plug into the jack, plug the 3.5mm into your GoPro Hero2, then plug your 174u into adapter. Adds SO MUCH to my training videos being able to hear what my instructor is saying to me while working on maneuvers. I recommend this product to anyone who is recording their flights. It's a must-have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By A Customer from Greenville SC USA on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
  • Review: Using this adapter cable with a Contour+2 helmet camera.
    Plugging into intercom system of a UH-1H helo used for rescue operations and firefighting. Intercom system is military.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Eric from Wendake, QC Canada on Monday, January 28, 2013
  • Review:

    The adapter is a perfect fit my Gopro camera. The only little thing is the camera jack plug should be available not only in a 45 degree angle but in staight shape also.

    Overall, totally satisfied with the product and thanks to an oustanding customer service.
    MyPilotstore rock's ! ;)
    Thanks.
    Eric Cote
    comercial Helicopter pilot Canada.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All Good

  • By Jeff from Abbotsford BC Canada on Tuesday, August 13, 2013
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Met expectations. Works perfectly. Note-If using Contour+2, their 3.5-2.5 adapter does NOT work. I had to rewire the cable contour step down adapter. This is a contour issue, NOT an issue with this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works great

  • By Gary from Wexford PA USA on Friday, August 30, 2013
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I use the cable in a r-22 helicopter,works great.  I use the contour+2 camera with contours adapter 2-5 to 3-5.Video and audio is perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ortica from Treviso Italy on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
  • Review: Exactly what I was looking for. It works perfectly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent audio from headsets and ATC

  • By Alistair from Cupertino CA USA on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
  • Pros: Exactly what you need to record clear intercom + ATC audio
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I use the video recorder audio adapter to record headset audio and ATC on a GoPro Hero 2 to record my flight training. I have only used it on a Schweizer 300C.

    It works like a charm. Very crisp audio from the headsets and the ATC can be heard clearer on the recording than over the headset. No noise from the helicopter. The connectors are flexible enough so that I can put the camera anywhere in the cockpit. The headsets are Bose with noise cancellation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's working for me

  • By Brendan from Fort Lauderdale FL USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons:
  • Review: The product has been working for me. I have an audio recorder hooked up and my Bose A20. There are no noise or interference issues I can speak of.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Spiro from North Potomac MD USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
  • Review: Product works great. What's more important, the support staff I spoke to regarding an issue with a product which attached to the adapter, were exceptional in knowledge and willingness to help even though the end product was not theirs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Fredrik, SAR pilot S61 from Sandefjord, Norway on Monday, January 21, 2013
  • Review: Works as it should :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy again..

  • By Donald from Phoenix AZ USA on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Review: Works great..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Perfect

  • By Dmitriy from Spokane WA USA on Sunday, July 31, 2011
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Bought this adapter to use with my Kodak Zi8. Works perfectly, volume is a bit loud, but records perfectly, no interference with ATC...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent product

  • By Chris from South Florida on Tuesday, May 01, 2012
  • Pros: Simple, effective, great quality audio
  • Cons: Extra wires dangling in the cockpit. This of course is expected and does not negatively affect the rating.
  • Review: I am disappointed that I didn't buy this sooner! This cable makes every video so much more lively as opposed to just listening to rotor noise the entire time. I am using it with the R22 Beta/Beta II and a GoPro Hero2. Speech clarity is crystal clear and I have yet to have any issues listening or transmitting. This cable is a must if you plan on making any flight videos. Worth every penny.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Onne from Baton Rouge LA USA on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
  • Review: The adapter worked just like advertised. I'm very happy with it !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By A Customer on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use, works well
  • Cons: Adds extra weight to the headset cable
  • Review:

    I bought this to be able to input the headset communications into my gopro camera. It works perfectly. No reduction of audio quality or volume.

    The only downside, is I already fly with a coiled cord helicopter helmet. Because this adapter is also coiled cord, it is a lot of weight hanging from both the headset port as well as from my helmet cord.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfect

  • By stephan from Bern, Switzerland on Monday, February 18, 2013
  • Review: Works fine with GoPro Hero 3 Black in a RH 22 beta. No complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised.

  • By Steven from Layton UT USA on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Works exactly as described. Recorded audio is as good as heard in my headset. Records everything the mic picks up, and everything that is received. So all conversation is recorded as it's used for my set up, not just the ptt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for recording audio

  • By A Customer from Enterprise AL USA on Thursday, July 18, 2013
  • Pros: Great quality of construction
  • Cons: Don't use it for adding a music player, etc.
  • Review: I use this to connect the aircraft audio to my GoPro Hero 3 and it works fantastic! Audio is clean and sounds like your right in the cockpit. An essential addition to anyone making flight videos.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Brilliant

  • By Nick from Berkshire, United Kingdom on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
  • Pros: Can use with different cameras, well made, good results.
  • Cons: Haven't found any.
  • Review: I'm using this to record training sessions in a Robinson R44 using my GoPro Hero 3 video camera. Decided to go for this one and the GoPro video cable together rather than the direct to GoPro cable because I wanted the versatility to be able to use a different camera too. Cable looks to be good quality and I've had excellent results from the recordings. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

INVALUABLE

  • By Student Pilot from KCRQ CA USA on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Paired with my GoPro I can review my flights in their entirety.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Glenn from Roswell NM USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
  • Review: it met expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Dylan from California on Wednesday, July 08, 2020
  • Review: Works exactly as described. Personally I use an mp3 cockpit audio recorder and this has worked great with it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jason from El Paso TX USA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
  • Review: Great product
    Valuable teaching tool we use for our hosting video
    A must have!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great in a R-22

  • By PS from Pacific Northwest on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
  • Pros: Works great!
  • Cons: Expensive. And I do get some static in the audio, don't know if that has to do with the Helicopter or my headset
  • Review: All in all, the product works as described. I wish the coiled cable, the one that plugs into the GoPro camera would be a bit longer.

    In the rating I knocked a star off because I am getting some static interference in the audio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Caused radio communication problems when in use

  • By william from newark CA USA on Tuesday, August 03, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: May not work for all camcorders!
  • Review: The problem was when I plugged the audio tap wire into a Contour HD video camera it cause so much interference with the radio transmission the control tower could not understand what I was saying. It also made my voice sound like it was in an echo chamber on my headset. Maybe the camcorder I was using was being over driven by the helicopters audio output (robbinson R22). Either way, it didn't work and I had to land and remove the cable from my system. Probably too late to return it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By bob from Monroe WA USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Review: Does not fit the first original first generation gopro hero.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.