TOP

ASA Push-to-Talk Switch

  • 28 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Push-to-Talk Switch

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Outstanding Product!

  • By Dan Sorkin from Walnut Creek, CA USA on Tuesday, August 17, 2010
  • Pros: Does efficiently & professionally what it was designed to do.
  • Cons: There are no cons
  • Review: The ASA Push To Talk Switch works precisely as advertised. It is efficient, professional, sturdy and simple to install and operate. I would wholeheartedly recomment this product to ANYONE!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juan Carlos Murillo from San Jos, Costa Rica on Tuesday, April 12, 2011
  • Pros: It gives a lot of suntonomy to pilot comms
  • Cons:
  • Review: Quite practical and easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value

  • By Howard from Lompoc CA USA on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
  • Pros: easily installed, smooth operation
  • Cons: none found yet
  • Review: My old push to talk switch was wearing out, the ASA push to talk switch was easy to install, and works great.  Positive feel when switch is depressed so you can tell easily when activated. smooth operation of switch.  Great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great poduct

  • By Mark from Iowa, USA on Thursday, February 07, 2013
  • Pros: Unobstrusive
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Low profile switch is easy to work around but easy to find when you need it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works like a charm!

  • By Allen from Katy TX USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Pros: all good
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Does what it's supposed to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I'd definitely get this product again.

  • By A Customer from Emmett ID USA on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
  • Review: More than I expected for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ASA Push-to-Talk Switch

  • By Tandra from Rio Rancho NM USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Pros: Inexpensive, sleek, well designed
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Product works as expected. I discovered I needed to move to a different location on my yoke because it was easy for me to hold the button down but once I did that, it is great. Very sleek unit. No problems with transmitting :-)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product for a reasonable price.

  • By Brian from Los Alamos NM USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to connect and use. Good value.
  • Cons: Maybe a little larger than it has to be.
  • Review: PTT works well and is reasonably priced. The button doesn't have a lot of travel (it is self-described as low profile), so don't expect a really noticeable engagement (there isn't a really obvious click-on/click-off feel), but you can tell it is working and so far there have been no issues. It's a little larger than some PTTs I have used (about the size of a thumb print), so on smaller yokes it seems a little big.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All around excellent switch.

  • By Ken from Marshfield ME USA on Wednesday, April 27, 2022
  • Pros: It's all good.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This switch is everything I wanted. I like the coil size, length of cords, button design and the definitive amount of pressure to activate talk. After a D.C. switch which was too easily activated and improperly wired, this one meets all needs for a push-to-talk.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By on Thursday, September 03, 2020
  • Review: Works as expected. I’m using with a Bose A 20. The Bose plug in not standard. I’m using an extension & it works fine. Bose should send an adapter. Some Airbus have the same problem with the Bose jack. 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Uncle Steve from Pittsburg TX USA on Thursday, October 04, 2012
  • Review: Looks good, works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Nice Purchase

  • By Brent from Lafayette IN USA on Tuesday, August 31, 2010
  • Review: I have had great performance from this PTT switch. It is easy to use, and have not yet had to repeat information due to the listener being unable to copy my transmission.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Alton from Tahlequah OK USA on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
  • Review: Switch is a little large, but a good product.

    I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Push to Talk

  • By Richard from Covington LA USA on Tuesday, July 08, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Not much to say......works like it's supposed to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer on Thursday, August 02, 2007
  • Review: Very nice switch. A nice smooth yet positive click
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product at a reasonable price

  • By JimH from Smartsville, CA KMYV KBAB on Monday, July 26, 2010
  • Pros: low cost, gold plating, good fit
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I bought 2 of these after checking prices on Amazon. I use one in a Cessna 172E that has no intercom so needs an external ptt. The gold plating does provide clean Tx switching and I get reports of clean and clear transmissions. My LightSpeed headset plugs in firmly, so no worries of loose connections. I keep the 2nd in my flight bag just in case I have another ptt failure on the C172R I also fly. $22 is low cost insurance that I can talk to ATC and other a/c . JimHughes KMYV , CA
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice product, questionable connectors

  • By Douglas from Chesterton IN USA on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Nice and small
  • Cons: Doesn't always work
  • Review: I bought 2 of these and one works fine, the other has an female Mic connector that doesn't make a good connection and has to be constantly wiggled to talk. Actually you should send me a replacement otherwise I will try to find another PTT switch to replace it with.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Price is its biggest advantage

  • By dianne from Carson City NV USA on Monday, June 16, 2008
  • Review: I have owned the Telex Push to talk switch and this one for the copilot's side. It is more sensitive to touch than the Telex one, such that the user tends to double click the switch before getting it completely on. This is called contact bounce in the electrical world.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Good performance at an OK price

  • By Daniel from Gladstone MO USA on Thursday, March 06, 2008
  • Pros: works
  • Cons: not the cheapest available
  • Review: It works. Price was not the cheapest available, but the cheaper ones that I bought elsewhere did not work, so I guess I got what I paid for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Not quite the cheapest, but it works well

  • By Daniel from Gladstone MO USA on Thursday, March 27, 2008
  • Pros: Nice switch feel, they work!
  • Cons: Higher cost than competition's economy PTT
  • Review: I bought these to repace some new, cheaper, PTT buttons that I bought from Aircraft Spruce. Tried four of those, and none of them worked, they all would not allow the mic to key the voice activated intercom. Assumed that they were all from a defective batch. These, however, worked great. Although they are priced fairly reasonable, they were still significantly more than the Aircraft Spruce version. Oh, to be able to have high quality and the lowest price, too. But, not to be on this purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Product

  • By Hap from Jensen Beach FL. on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
  • Pros: Concise: for a switch - It works first time & every time
  • Cons: As above; needs top yoke mounting
  • Review: I would prefer a small center button for PPT. This PPT switch does what it is suppose to do. It does require mounting on the top of the yoke which should be recommended in the instructions but I didn't see it there. On the side of the yoke my thumb kept hitting the corner edge of the switch sending out a carrier wave. Outside of that I recommend it to anyone. It is a good value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works

  • By Doug from Oshkosh WI USA on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
  • Pros: Provides clear transmissions. Easy to use.
  • Cons: see above
  • Review: The push to talk is well made and it was an easy install. It took some getting used to as my former push to talk was a vertical button type. The first time I used it I kept pushing it as I was controlling the plane. I subsequently moved the push to talk as far up on the control wheel as possible. I have had no issues with it since.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Not compatible with all headset jacks

  • By Al Wiggins from Hagerstown, MD on Wednesday, July 01, 2009
  • Review: This doesn't work with David Clark or Bose headsets. The jacks on those sets doesn't make a good connection and you'll be unable to transmit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Marginal

  • By Bill from Peoria AZ USA on Monday, May 04, 2015
  • Pros: Good PTT Button
  • Cons: Poor design/fit plugs
  • Review: Transmit side intermittently shorts out if you bump the connection after you plug it in. On horizontal plugs sometimes just the weight of the cord shorts it out. Same on several different aircraft. Two different PTT of this manufacturer/model, same problem on both.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 07, 2019
  • Review: Doesn't fit with Bose A20 with twin plugs
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Pavel Antonio from Miami FL USA on Wednesday, August 18, 2010
  • Review: It met my expectations for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Suprisingly.... does not work with Bose Aviation X

  • By Todd from Charlotte, NC on Thursday, April 17, 2008
  • Pros: Works Well Except With Bose Aviation X
  • Cons: Loose Connection with Bose Aviation X Transmit Jack
  • Review: Purchased because of ASA name and "deluxe" label with gold contacts. Been using for several weeks testing it in different situations with different headsets. I just traded it today for another pilot's budget version push-to-talk. The ASA PTT is slightly too lose with the Bose Aviation X, my primary headset. It had poor contact as a result and nobody could hear me transmit. For the record, my X works great and has snug contacts with both pilot and co-pilot side normal jacks in my airplane. My instructors Lightspeed headset worked great with the ASA PTT. I traded him for an older - plain vanilla portable PTT - and my Bose Aviation X - works great and transmits great, even while shaking the plain vanilla (non-ASA) PTT. In conclusion, only use this ASA with average headsets, not the Bose Aviation X.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It quit working after a week

  • By 6F from Rogers AR USA on Wednesday, July 13, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Doesn't work
  • Review: It quit working after a week. I would not recommend this item
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.