TOP

Jeppesen Captain Bag

  • 42 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Jeppesen Captain Bag

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Dr. Albert P. from West Nyack NY USA on Wednesday, September 05, 2012
  • Review: Thgs is my third bag...for me it is great..lots of room and storage compartments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Everything is here

  • By padungsak from Gander NL Canada on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
  • Review: It's quite big at first time but when i arrange my stuff in here, it could put all my stuff in. So now wherever i go with this bag i still have everything with me!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Bill from Woodstock IL USA on Wednesday, November 11, 2015
  • Pros: Just the right size for my needs.
  • Cons: Could use a stiff inner bottom insert.
  • Review: For those of you who are pilots my deepest respect for what you do for us groundpounders. A brother-in-law is a retired AA MD-80 Captain. I am a commercial (semi) driver (CDL A) and use my case for job related gear and it works extremely well. It is the third that I have purchased over the past 15 years and I highly recommend it for consideration.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great flight bag

  • By Curtis Lynn from Sterling Heights MI USA on Tuesday, May 24, 2016
  • Pros: Strong, easy to use, looks good.
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: I had a Flightgear bag for a number of years. Finally wore out and I purchased the Jeppesen. What I like is the stronger construction and all of the nice spaces to put stuff. Everything stays in place and is easy to find. The old bag was too floppy and stuff would go everywhere. Especially like the removable headset bag for when I am just going around the corn patch.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Aleksander from EPKM Poland on Monday, June 13, 2011
  • Review: Very good bag for all GA pilots
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

jeppesen captains bag

  • By Tom from Sydney NSW Australia on Sunday, May 15, 2011
  • Review: Very well made, a good quality flight bag that is large enough to carry everything I need for a flight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

everything I hoped it'd be and more

  • By Karl from Missoula MT USA on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Review: Great bag, durable, well made, just the right size for a pilot. I definitely recommend purchasing this bag. It holds an organization folder my lap top and books with a little room to spare.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for one trip to the plane

  • By John Vesey from Kalamazoo, MI on Tuesday, March 11, 2008
  • Pros: Detachable radio compartment, big enough to hold everything you need.
  • Cons: Detachable headset compartments do not attach to each other.
  • Review: I am part owner of a club plane. So, nothing is permanetly stored in the plane. This is bag is large enough to carry everything you need for most any flight in one trip to the plane. I carry flashlight(s), portable radio, GPS, timers, extra batteries, A/FD, VRF/IFR charts, log book, and more. I love the bag, but would select slightly smaller next time around.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Marnix from Sanford, FL on Monday, December 14, 2009
  • Review: A perfect bag! It really fits the needs of Professional, and Student pilots. As a Student pilot I have to carry a lot of books and on top of that, my flight equipment. But now I bought this bag, I can fit everything in this bag. The Laptop pocket fits my laptop perfectly, But it's comes down to what kind/type of laptop you have. The bag does get heavy, BUT I do it myself. It has nothing to do with the bag because you are the one that is putting all that stuff in there in the first place. I strongly recommend this product to the ones looking for a bag. Its heavy duty, looks professional and you can fit your whole arsenal of flight school books in it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best in the Business!

  • By JP from Chicago IL USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Pros: Good Space, Easy Detachable Segments & Looks Amazing!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: No need to beat around the bush with this review. This is by no doubt the best bag around! I have used others but dont bother... Just get this one, it's the BEST! Stop looking at reviews and just buy it! Enjoy!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By CHRISTOPHE from MERIGNAC France on Thursday, October 01, 2009
  • Review: Simply...Perfect !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Juan Manuel from Palma de Mallorca Islas Baleares Spain on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Tomas from Argentina on Thursday, October 20, 2016
  • Pros: price - quality
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It met my expectations, enough space, good compartments, great distribution
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

If your looking for room you've come to the right bag

  • By John from Mauston WI USA on Tuesday, August 04, 2009
  • Pros: lots of detachable compartments
  • Cons:
  • Review: It was more than I ever expected. I have had roomy bags but this was better then that. A place for everything you need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like this bag!

  • By yang from Grand Forks ND USA on Tuesday, January 06, 2009
  • Review: It is very nice! It has enough space to put the books in!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Warsaw Poland on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
  • Review: I would buy this product again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely a good bag

  • By Balkar from Santa Clara CA USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: plenty of space and pockets
  • Cons: Need Feet PLEASE
  • Review: I read and agree that this bag should have some kind of feet to protect it when you put onto a hard surface. Other than that, this product has met my expectations. Pilots say this is a big bag - that's because it is a big bag ! I fly VFR/IFR/Instructor and with the pockets and dividers, you can organize this however you want. The removable headset bags are great although if you only cary one, your bag weight will shift slightly - no biggie though. It has a lot of pockets for you to organize your stuff - Headset, FPS, COMM Radio, licence and docs, misc stuff. Inside, it can be divided into four pockets which I find is more than sufficient. Compartments I use are (1) For flashlights/timers/foggles; (2) Airport guide, AF/D, Charts; (3) Spare batteries and other misc items;(4) Use for IFR charts
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Watch Out for Gifts!

  • By A Customer from Hackettstown NJ USA on Tuesday, January 20, 2009
  • Review: I bought this item to be sent to a client as a birthday gift. Ultimately she got it and liked it, but it took her several weeks to figure out who it came from...there was nothing sent in the package even though I filled out the gift note in the mypilotstore.com website. How embarassing!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Will Out Live Me!

  • By Jaybird from Arcadia CA USA on Monday, February 25, 2008
  • Pros: Lots of special use pockets and configurable compartments.
  • Cons: A bit heavy
  • Review: The Jeppesen Captain Bag I recently order is a replacement for one a carried for many years before I retired. It would still be serving me well if another airline, not my former company, had not lost it!!. I was not happy! Jeppesen bags are so well made I know this new one will out live me. Now that I am no longer a captain I have lots of extra room so this one bag serves me for a week or more of traveling.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By on Thursday, February 15, 2007
  • Pros: Looks and functions great
  • Cons: Heavy when full
  • Review: Carries everything I need.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great bag -- very versatile!

  • By Toner jockey from Enid, OK on Tuesday, June 12, 2007
  • Pros: Big, durable, great design and use of space
  • Cons: Shoulder strap rings bend a little and get caught in webbing
  • Review: This bag holds everything I need and stands up to punishment. I use it on the flightline daily and wouldn't be caught without it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very nice bag, but very big if you don't like to carry something large

  • By Christina from Thornwood, NY on Sunday, June 24, 2007
  • Pros: a lot can be carried in it
  • Cons: It probably should have wheels
  • Review: I really like this bag a lot, but it is heavy when full. Of course, the choice to fill it is mine, so the bag should not be blamed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I can't think of anything I don't like about this bag

  • By Ian from ST GEORGE UT USA on Tuesday, April 08, 2008
  • Pros: Holds everything, and very well made
  • Cons: Can't think of any
  • Review: I love this bag, it does everything I need it to. The removable headset bags and handheld radio bag make it more versatile, or customizable. I was concerned at first about whether or not they would fall off (being removable) but they have held up well to daily use. I can fit everything in it, it is well made and very durable. I would definitely buy this bag again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Matthew from Fairview OR USA on Monday, September 08, 2008
  • Pros: well built, looks good, plenty of room
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The size is perfect for what I need. There is plenty of space and individual compartments for everything I need for my flights. The detachable headset bags make the captians bag much more compact when you don't need them. Very heavy construction and looks professional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again and again

  • By Sanz Francois from Switzerland on Tuesday, March 20, 2007
  • Review: Strong, smart and usefull bag, excellent quality for a good price... Good deal !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great bag

  • By A Customer from Brookings SD USA on Thursday, June 04, 2009
  • Pros: Lots of storage
  • Cons: bulky
  • Review: This is a great bag with lots of room. I am still working on some ratings and have more than enough books to stuff in it. Even with all these books I have more than enough room. It has pockets for my VFR and IFR charts, can hold two headsets, POH, E6B, and many other things. It is now possible to have all my things in one bag! This is a great bag for students, CGI's....
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Reynaldo from Sanford FL USA on Thursday, April 09, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best flight bag you will buy

  • By Mark from Hudson FL USA on Thursday, July 16, 2009
  • Pros: Large enough for every thing. Detatchable bags are useful.
  • Cons: It is quite large and you will need some room to store it on board
  • Review: Two detatchable headset bags and a detatchable radio/gps bag. This bag is large enough to fit in everything you will ever need. The only thing it needs is a portable weighing scale as you will fill it up as it is large.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Buy!

  • By Nicholas from Sierra Vista AZ USA on Saturday, March 19, 2011
  • Pros: Design, Space, and Organization
  • Cons: The bottom piece came all bent up from shipping and was hard to keep the botom flat
  • Review: Awesome tough design. Great space and nice to be able to take apart and organize.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Get this bag for yourself!

  • By A Customer from Lawndale CA USA on Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • Review: great bag for students and all pilots, made well and durable. great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

I would recommend this product.

  • By Christina from Thornwood, NY on Sunday, June 10, 2007
  • Pros: Fits a lot of stuff, even large items.
  • Cons: Computer pouch should be able to fit a larger notebook computer
  • Review: The bag is very good overall, because it hold a lot of things. However it is somewhat heavy. What I think the bag could use is an option with unintrusive wheels that can be retracted, so it can be wheeled if it becomes too heavy. Unfortunately, that option would increase the weight. The computer pouch is also too small, since it only really fits the smallest of notebook computers. I do like the bag overall though and use it all the time
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A weeks worth of clothes...

  • By Ahab from Phoenix, AZ on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Pros: Fit will in the overhead compartment on the airplane
  • Cons: Stitching could be a tiny bit stronger
  • Review: I managed to fit the following into this bag: 3 pairs of jeans 6 short sleeve shirts 3 long sleeve shirts 4 pairs of socks 4 pairs of boxers 1 pair of sneakers In the side pockets I managed to fit: 1 Ipod 1 Digital Camera 1 Cell phone charger 2 bags full of travel size shampoo, soap, etc. 2 small paperback books
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Kit Bag

  • By A Customer from Alexandria VA USA on Sunday, April 06, 2008
  • Pros: Sturdy and Light
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great bag... Stands up well in cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Be careful of strap

  • By Michael from Ridgecrest CA USA on Monday, September 22, 2014
  • Pros: good size
  • Cons: Cheap strap attachment point.
  • Review: Overall this looks like a good product. But the first time I pick up the bag by the shoulder strap the attachment point on one end broke and it fell to the floor landing on my headset. While it did not damage my headset I was not very happy about that happening. The attachment point are cheaply made and should be reinforced. In the bag I had my log book, POH, maps, airport directory, radio and two headsets. All up it weight about 15lbs, so not very heavy and only about 60% full, so I would not have expected the strap attachment point to break.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

looks ok until you put the hands on it

  • By A Customer from Switwerland on Monday, October 07, 2013
  • Pros: very good size
  • Cons: zips are not too good and the bag it's too soft for the size. the shoulder strap isn't well done and the materials feels cheap
  • Review: The product is quite ok but it just feel cheap, very cheap. compartments are useful and well organized, when filled up the bag looks quite big. some of stiffer parts would have made the bag better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

really good but not perfect

  • By Andy Sells from Greenfield OH USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: material , compartments , handels
  • Cons: zippers , shoulder strap attachment points , 3in. longer / wider 1 in. deeper
  • Review: I work for the rail road , and I really do like the bag . But I would change three things 1.) heavy duty zippers like what carrheart uses 2.) 3-4 inches longer and wider 3.) 2 inches deeper or taller however you want to look at it.  The first trip I took with it the shoulder strap pulled out of the bag . The little loops that are used don't make sense the handles go all the way around the bag , and if you had a strap that went from one end to the other down and under the bag with metal loops on the end it would be bullet proof . Now the good it is a great bag tough I love the compartments and the radio pocket is great !!!  This bag was made for pilots not rail roaders but if you made the bag with the changes that I mentioned above I would buy from your company again in a heart beat! I would be willing o pay $130.00 or so .   Right now my only other alternative is a company called Red Oxx rail road grips for about $180.00 . Alot of conductors and engineers have asked about my bag . Thank you Andy Sells
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Decent bag - one of the largest out there

  • By A Customer on Monday, February 25, 2008
  • Pros: Size; tall bag; removable pockets; will fit large binders
  • Cons: Few small compartments; no rubber feet; expensive for Made in China; forget the laptop!
  • Review: If you are looking for the largest, tallest bag, this may be it. The bag is not without its limitations. First of all, for a bag this size and this price range, it should have rubber feet of some sort for protection. Even though there are plenty of large compartments, there are very few smaller ones. The front pocket is NOT large enough for any laptop that I have ever used, so forget it. Maybe if you have a tiny laptop.  Also, the compartment is hardly padded, and I would hesitate putting a laptop in it, even if it DID fit, which it does not! I am puzzled at this laptop claim, it is borderline false advertising. The bag is certainly a decent flight bag without the need to claim that it is also a laptop bag. The amount of padding is decent, but I would like to see a little more. The headset compartments are tall and narrow, but fit headsets OK. I would also like to see more padding on those ends, but it is borderline sufficient. The transciever pocket is really useful if you have a hand held radio or a GPS. The bag is fairly expensive, considering it is made in China. For the price one would expect a little more. The quality looks OK and it remains to be seen how long it will hold up. Still, it is a good buy if you like carrying everything with you. I don't think you'll find anything bigger. It is also tall so if you put in tall binders and books you do not have to struggle to close it. If you run out of room with this bag, you probably carry too much with you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Just the right thing

  • By Diane from Santa Barbara CA USA on Thursday, January 10, 2008
  • Pros: Size, number of compartments, quality of product
  • Cons: None that I know of
  • Review: This was a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He is thrilled with the product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overpriced

  • By A Customer from Oklahoma City OK USA on Saturday, September 24, 2011
  • Pros: The name
  • Cons: Awkward strap allignment, shoulder strap is low quality. Price.
  • Review: This bag is way overpriced. The main straps are awkwardly non centered, and the strap itself is low quality. Overall I would not buy it and go with something cheaper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would not buy this product again

  • By mark from Kingsville MD USA on Thursday, May 04, 2017
  • Pros: lots of room
  • Cons:
  • Review: Zipper broke several days after purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Sucks

  • By Teddy W. from San Diego on Friday, October 07, 2011
  • Pros: Few... lots of pockets?
  • Cons: Horrible quality for the high price
  • Review: I ordered this bag because I needed something to hold all my gear and it sucks. It arrived folded up, which put permeant creases in the less-than-ridged bottom of the bag which ruined the "form" of it. The material is very poor, light weight quality. I am in the military and own more bags than I can count of varying strength and durability and I would honestly rate this the lowest I have seen. If this bag cost $50 I might keep it, key word there being might. Over-all, absolutely would not buy and you should look at a different product. Got it today and returning it tomorrow.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very Dissappointing

  • By A Customer from Novi MI USA on Tuesday, March 29, 2011
  • Pros: Size.
  • Cons: Quality.
  • Review: I purchased this as it should have coordinated with the Jeppeson Headest Bags I purchased a few years ago. The material did not match, the fabric has dropped in quality. The headset bags are smaller and overall it was not a good purchase. Jeppeson is not the same quality that it used to be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.