CYBER MONDAY DEALS SITEWIDE! See Our Featured Deals Here.
TOP

Reviews for Jeppesen GFD Private Pilot Kit - Part 61

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Rick from Thousand Oaks CA USA on Monday, October 31, 2011
  • Pros: Just the right amount of material
  • Cons: Haven't found any yet
  • Review: The course mirrors my flight instruction perfectly. Everything I learn in the air is covered in the material. Although the size of the text book seems a little daunting, it is very easy to read and comprehend. The sample tests at the end of every section are the perfect for review and reinforcement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All you need/want to know, masterfully presented - great product!

  • By David from Morganton NC USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2011
  • Pros: Overall quality of the product
  • Cons: The FARS - there needs to be a Jeppesen-authored abridged version!
  • Review: Conveys fairly detailed info clearly and uses illustrations/graphics and sidebars to make it more comprehensible and interesting. Lively and exciting - not dry and tedious like a lot of textbooks . I find myself wanting to read more, like a best-selling page turner. The organization, writing, and visuals are first-rate. Haven't come up with any criticisms so far!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Text for Student Pilots

  • By Terry from Sunnyvale CA USA on Saturday, September 28, 2013
  • Pros: complete, informative, easily navigated
  • Cons: expensive and heavy
  • Review: I'm a CFI teaching a couple of "older" guys how to fly. The manual is well written, concise and easily understandable for professionals who don't alway give you their complete attention.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best price I found for this item.

  • By DaveM from Bakersfield CA USA on Tuesday, May 17, 2016
  • Pros: Best price found, Jeppesen has a long history in aviation training material.
  • Cons: none noted.
  • Review: I purchased the Jeppesen GFD Private pilot Kit because this one was being used by my CFI. MYPILOTSTORE had the best price I could find at the time. The option to purchase WITHOUT the bag, saved me that much more $$$$.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great books for beginning pilots

  • By Wes from Prattville AL USA on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
  • Pros: easy reading and great illustrations
  • Cons:
  • Review: Easily met my expectations!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mark from Highland, IN on Thursday, January 21, 2010
  • Review: The Jeppesen Part 61 kit is GREAT! Definately worth the extra money! The fundamentals and information are presented in a way that one builds on top of another. In other words you won't get lost! Pictures, Graphs, FAA Knowledge Test questions are highlighted, and Real World Aviation History that relates to what you are reading about, in that chapter. The pictures and graphs really help you visualize the text you are reading. Each chapter has a quiz at the end which I thought was a good learning tool as well. I was very pleased with my purchase and Mypilotstore.com's low price made it even better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Los Angeles CA on Tuesday, August 17, 2004
  • Review: A great value from MyPilotStore.com. This Part 61 Kit from Jeppesen is a whole lot more. The Jeppesen GFD (Guided Flight Discovery) Private Pilot Kit is a complete system for learning everything you need to get your Private Pilot Certificate. The text and study materials are thoroughly and thoughtfully presented with full color photos and graphics. You will need to add very little to this kit as it includes: a log book, an E6B flight computer, an PN-1 navigation plotter and more. Get your medical/student certificate, add your favorite CFI and flight training and you will reach your goal of Private Pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product, good price

  • By David from Pinedale, WY on Sunday, April 22, 2007
  • Pros: Good product, good price
  • Cons: none I can see
  • Review: This package included everything I needed for my private pilot training. Essentially the same materials from the place I took my training would have been almost twice the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Very concise and informative, easy to follow and understand

  • By Judy from Gainesville GA USA on Wednesday, January 09, 2008
  • Pros: Very well put together
  • Cons: none so far through chapter 5
  • Review: This book is simple enough for a child yet never feels like you are reading a childs book. The illustrations, descriptions and everything has been very simple to follow and very easy to understand. I have never had a book to be so well written that I can understand it without having to refer to another book to answer this books questions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fast and accurate!

  • By Mace from Ridgecrest CA USA on Thursday, April 30, 2009
  • Review: I received my order promptly and accurately. The price was the best on the net!! I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in becoming and aviator.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By Andrew from Grafton ND USA on Sunday, September 13, 2009
  • Review: The kit is very complete, the only thing I would upgrade is the E6B computer to an electronic E6B.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By CHRISTOPHER from CONIFER, CO on Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • Pros: Above
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: Love Jeppesen texts. Easy explanations and excellent illustrations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I recomend this product to all my students.

  • By Keith from Waco TX USA on Thursday, February 25, 2016
  • Pros: The information is accurate and comprehensive.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product is Excellent. It is quality made. The content is correct. My students love it. I teach from one. It is a perfect teaching and learning tool. Well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great learning tools

  • By Harold from Axtell TX USA on Wednesday, March 23, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to understand
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great product! Easy to understand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great course

  • By Scott from Salina KS USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: interesting and proffesonally done
  • Cons:
  • Review: Very interesting and proffessionally done
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mohamad from BERKSHIRE UK on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Review: Very good Quality kit. It has everything you need for the PPL.   But make sure you find out the Custom charges before hand, as I ended up paying 25% of the value of the kit for Custom and taxes once delivered in the UK.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good learning tool

  • By Jeffory from Vernal UT USA on Monday, October 06, 2014
  • Pros: Good illistrations and information
  • Cons:
  • Review: I have only used the Guided Flight Discovery book so far. It has been a great learning tool.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy it again

  • By DIVALDO from DORAL FL USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Too heavy
  • Review: Met my expectations, it helped a lot in my trainning
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kit

  • By Nadeem from Tucson AZ USA on Wednesday, May 06, 2009
  • Review: Awsome kit comes with everything you could need for flight training. good price
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

the best training kits

  • By mechaela do lo roza from spain on Thursday, September 03, 2009
  • Pros: great
  • Cons: nothing
  • Review: I love it!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect Starter Kit!

  • By Chris from Fairbanks AK USA on Tuesday, April 13, 2010
  • Pros: The books were great and the practice test helped alot!
  • Cons: Videos may help if you have no base knowledge.
  • Review: This set had everything I needed to get started! All materials were new and up to date. Jeppesen products were top rated by every pilot I talked to and MyPilotStore.com had the best price, fatest shipping and great customer service.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

AMAZING!

  • By Matt from Lubbock TX USA on Tuesday, July 13, 2010
  • Review: Had everything I needed and more!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good stuff

  • By Philip from Landisburg PA USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2009
  • Pros: everything you need to get started
  • Cons: none really. I mean its a bag of books, what is there to complain about?
  • Review: It was what I needed and made my instructor happy. The material is really good!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good detail

  • By Tilton from Monteview ID USA on Wednesday, February 10, 2010
  • Pros: Includes pretty much all learning material to get your license!
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I really like the diagrams and explanations of what they`re trying to get across to the student.I would recommend this kit to any private pilot student.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent,a lot of info and then some

  • By Tom from East Aurora NY USA on Monday, May 19, 2008
  • Pros: quick delivery,everything you need and then some
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Exceeded expectations, had everthing needed.  Well worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Bobby from Gulf Shores, Alabama on Wednesday, May 23, 2007
  • Pros: Has all the information needed
  • Cons: Technical
  • Review: Good informative information
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly what I needed at the best price.

  • By A Customer from USA on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Review: Met expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Dianne from Guam, USA on Monday, March 12, 2007
  • Pros: Student satisfied, good price.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I ordered this for my student pilot, and was impressed with the promptness of delivery, quality of the books and supplies, as well as the pilot bag everything came in. It has been several years since I was at a flight school that used the kits, in Calif, but ordered the kit because of satisfaction from before.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Resource for the New Pilot

  • By Steve from Apopka FL USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to follow
  • Cons: A lot of information
  • Review: The text is easy to read and understand. Graphics are extremely helpful for reference and overall pictoral reinforcement.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By chris from Vermont on Sunday, January 14, 2007
  • Pros: Excellent information and fast service.
  • Cons: None thus far.
  • Review: I am not completely through the home study yet, but the information thus far has been vital in my goal of becoming a pilot. Thank you, chris g.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended by instructor and student

  • By A Customer from New jersey on Sunday, January 21, 2007
  • Review: This instruction set has everthing you need to get started, advance ahead and learn what you need to become a serious and safe pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As advertised

  • By maakif from Texas, USA on Monday, January 30, 2012
  • Review: I am working on my PPL and Jeppesen was highly recommended by my CFI. The kit is the best way to go.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Randall from Vancouver WA USA on Wednesday, October 18, 2017
  • Review: The book is good. But even better is mypilotstore.com. Trying to deal with jeppesen to buy this kit is next to impossible. Thanks mypilotstore.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Quality Flight Training Materials

  • By Brian from Olathe KS USA on Thursday, October 15, 2015
  • Pros: All Inclusive
  • Cons: Out of Date
  • Review: I have been pleased with this kit. Everything is good quality and came in good condition. The bag was a nice bonus! My only complaint is that the materials are a little out of date (I purchased 8/2015 and received 2014 materials). While the FAA does not change very much, they release updates to materials multiple times per year. As of yet, I have not come across any places where this has caused an issue. Overall, I am glad I chose this kit!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Should be required for all student pilots

  • By Michael from Lincoln NE USA on Saturday, December 05, 2009
  • Pros: Completeness, quality of materials
  • Cons: Flight bag could be a bit more sturdy, but that's a minor quibble
  • Review: I purchased this kit as I began my flight lessons. I am pleased with the completeness of the kit and the quality of the materials.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Chris from Weymouth MA on Sunday, October 10, 2010
  • Review: Very thorough, but not all information is up to date.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Value

  • By Ben from McGregor TX USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Pros: Good Value
  • Cons: Some misinformation.
  • Review: Book has some errors. Could be written more clearer in some areas. Overall, good value for the package.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Suitable

  • By Mark from Lewiston ID USA on Friday, August 29, 2008
  • Pros: Clearly written, good diagrams and pictures, helpful tips.
  • Cons: A bit fast on the practical lessons, but can be broken down.
  • Review: Although frequently criticized for being too fundamental, the books, flight computer and plotter are completely adequate for student preparation. I am sharing this kit with a person who has zero flight experience and it serves the purpose nicely... without overwhelming those with less aeronautical experience.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Paul from Becida MN USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Pros: specific, to the point information.
  • Cons: I have not used any other ground school curriculum. I cannot compare this to any other.
  • Review: Special notice areas in the chapters are great, along with the review questions. Charts and illustrations are also very good. All this helps to reinforce the important parts of each chapter. I am considering purchasing the DVD set, as there is a a lot of information and this may be another avenue to reinforce it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kti

  • By A Customer from Aiken SC USA on Monday, January 19, 2009
  • Review: Great Kit for your ground lessons. If I had it to do over again, I would probably order the Jeppesen DVDs or the DVD kit from sportys. But, I am old school and don;t mind reading. Anything Jeppesen is worth the money and this kit has EVERYTHING that you need to start your flying lessons.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

No flash, all substance

  • By A Customer from Pennsylvania on Saturday, October 10, 2009
  • Pros: Comprehensive
  • Cons: Doesn't marry the textbook and the practice exams well enough.
  • Review: Very solid set of guidelines to study for the test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Ray from Columbia, SC on Sunday, March 11, 2007
  • Pros: multi-formatted written material helps guide you in both theory and preparation for FAA exams.
  • Cons: Sample FAA exam guide was not the latest version.
  • Review: It's lot of information, but well worth it. Everything you need for a ground school program in one package. More interesting than the old student pilot books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Exceptional kit at a reasonable price.

  • By from Ohio on Friday, April 13, 2007
  • Pros: Alot of studying material for a new pilot
  • Cons:
  • Review: I'm still haven't completed the course, but I'm real impressed with all the material coverage. I think it's missing one book though, The Syllabus, that puts all the study info into a format.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I Needed

  • By A Customer from Melbourne FL USA on Sunday, June 05, 2011
  • Pros: Clearly written text. Maneuvers guide is very helpful
  • Cons: Needs an online pratice test site
  • Review: All the information is in there. You will still need to find an online pratice test site.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By peter from Batavia NY USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Review: I have purchased Jepp stuff for my Flight School since 1991.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By A Customer from Nevada on Friday, September 25, 2009
  • Pros: Organized and Explained Well
  • Cons: Not much
  • Review: The books in this pack are great. They cover most of what you need. Every book is useful and every one you will more than likely go all the way through while studying for the three tests to a license. Organization is key to studying for these exams too, and this is supremely organized. There are just some little things here and there that are not fully explained, but a quick question to your flight instructor fixes that problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

wish it had review questions/study guide for written test.

  • By peter from Laramie WY USA on Thursday, July 09, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: main manual is schitzophrenic
  • Review: i read a 1970's Jepesson manual that was much easier for me to read than the current version. I passed written when 15 years old, and had less trouble with that manual than current Jeppeson manual. so i have read 3 manuals total, and find the current Jep manual in this kit is the least to my liking for ease of reading.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty pictures, minimal information, not geared toward a learner

  • By Rocky G from Madison WI USA on Wednesday, March 12, 2008
  • Pros: Appealing look to a young teenager
  • Cons: Minimal info that is needed, not presented in a way that induces learning
  • Review: The Jeppesen Private pilot Manual is full of pictures, but most are there for the "look of the book" instead of for teaching. Its presentation (look) is geared to the 10th grade level. More thought (and space) to the printed text with the learner in mind, would have made this a better book. I recommend Rod Machado's Private Pilot Handbook instead (discovered at the library). It is written in such a way that you will learn (and truly understand) the material automatically by virtue of reading it. Concepts are clearly explained rather than just being there for you to memorize while scratching your head. The Jeppesen is presented in a "here, memorize this, and look at this pretty but unhelpful picture." Machado's book is also about 1/2 the price of the Jeppesen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.