TOP

ASA Flight Timer

  • 53 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Flight Timer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

This flight timer rocks

  • By Bruce from Surprise AZ USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Pros: Highly visible, not a distraction to use
  • Cons: Lower the height of the knob. It sticks out in the flight bag and prevents preset
  • Review: Met expectations, easy to use, highly visible, does what it says and more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The best times I have ever used. Well worth the investment.

  • By Phil Peters from Wickham, Fareham Hampshire UK. United Kingdom on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Review: Easy to use.
    Clearly legible.
    One dissadvantage is that the batteries keep on falling out of their socket, given a gentle tap. A bit of duck tape did the trick!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very super

  • By Istvan from Budapest Pest Hungary on Friday, March 06, 2020
  • Pros: Super
  • Cons: No
  • Review: Super
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent tool

  • By Greg from Batesville AR USA on Monday, March 14, 2016
  • Pros: Easy to set up, easy to use, big display which makes it easy to read
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is an excellent product. Easy to set up and use. An essential in every instrument rated pilot's plane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great little counter for fuel management

  • By David from Carlisle IA USA on Monday, April 18, 2022
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very useful

  • By Jon from Phoenix AZ USA on Thursday, April 16, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to read, big buttons, and a useful clip
  • Cons: price is a bit steep.
  • Review: My instructor had one that he let me borrow for a few flights and I knew I needed on of my own. I used it though my instrument rating and will keep it on my knee board probably forever. The Numbers are easy to read. It not only has standard counting timers, but timers that count down, up, separate timers for approaches, local time in standard military, and UTC.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Glorified Kitchen Timer

  • By Conor from Albany NY USA on Thursday, February 11, 2010
  • Pros: strong backlight, loud chime, simple interface
  • Cons: extraneous note function
  • Review: I use it for timing commonly-made bake items -- up to twelve of them, but only one at a time. It's also excellent at keeping track of when the dryer will finish. There are two concurrent timers: your approach timer, and the fuel timer. There's also a chronograph that can run concurrently with the two timers. The clock will display local time in 12 or 24-hour format, and also displays Zulu (calculated as an offset from local time). There's a little "note" area where you can store something the length of a squawk code, but the interface for this timer doesn't lend itself to high-speed entry of anything but round numbers, so it's not particularly useful if you're trying to copy a clearance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Totally happy that I purchased this

  • By Mark from Wausau, WI - USA on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to use, many functions, counts up and down, good alarm functions.
  • Cons: None that I have found
  • Review: There are some that will look at this and say that much $$$? If you want an excellent timer that is easy to use and performs many functions look past the couple of extra bucks you'll spend on this and know that if you use a timer often, this is the one to have. You will also find that with all of the functions packed into this device, you may use it more. It is easy to set up, the alarm(s) work well and the controls are user friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Fits the bill

  • By A Customer on Friday, September 14, 2007
  • Pros: Easy one handed operation (for helos), large readable display, clip/velcro mounting options OK for small kneepad
  • Cons:
  • Review: Although I have not used this in anger yet, I think it will be a good addition to the flight gear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Buy this timeer

  • By Patrick Ryan from Brentwood TN USA on Tuesday, October 23, 2007
  • Pros: Made for flying
  • Cons: Expensive
  • Review: Great timer. Look no further. Spend the extra few bucks and puchase a timer MADE for flying, not baking pies.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

My husband loved it!

  • By A Customer from Vero Beach FL USA on Monday, January 14, 2008
  • Review: My husband is in flight school and has been using a kitchen timer, while looking for a smaller one. I got him this for Christmas. He loves it. I did have him read the reviews so he'd be aware the pros and cons, but he's had no complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I Like this product and would highly recomend it for VFR and IFR

  • By Larry from Lindale TX USA on Wednesday, February 20, 2008
  • Pros: Easy to use , easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I like all the functions that run at the same time. Put the wind direction/speed in the note pad. Put 1 min. increments in the approach timer for holding patterns and timed approaches.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Pretty cool

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Saturday, April 19, 2008
  • Pros: Size. Easy to use.
  • Cons: Rotating clip should lock in place 360 degrees
  • Review: I like it. Easy to use. Lights up and beeps. Rotating clip. I turn the clip 180 degrees and clip it onto my lap belt.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By wayne from glen carbon IL USA on Thursday, April 01, 2010
  • Review: Pilot friendly for IFR flight.  Does everything I need and more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

The Bee's Knee's!

  • By Nicholas from Sherwood AR USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Review: Great add on to the cockpit! I use it most for fuel management and fuel transfer from aux tank. But also made instrument flying a lot easier to keep up with times on approaches and holding. love it
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple to use & effective

  • By Mike from El Dorado Hills CA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, Easy to Use, Easy to read, Effective
  • Cons: Can be difficult to find an effective mount
  • Review: This product is very easy to use and has a lot of helpful features including UTC/Local Time, Fuel Timer, various approach timers and Count down/up. Very useful for timing holds and setting up approach times in advance. I use this with a yoke mount and everything stays right in my scan. I would recommend this to anyone flying in IMC or doing IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

precise and accurate

  • By Vivian from Pflugerville texas USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: easy to use. user friendly
  • Review: You can make a on timed approaches with the help of ASA flight timer.  Timed approach with little work to do.   Not so complicated.  User friendly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good features, just don't bump it!

  • By Matthew from Australia on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
  • Pros: Great features
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off
  • Review: I use this for day to day flight as a Blackhawk QFI. The features have proved very handy, I use the fuel timer for ops normal countdowns, and the approach timings allow me to program in all of the relevant times for approaches at home or away. It is relatively easy to use, however if you set a countdown such as 30 minutes for an ops normal, it will not reset to 30 once complete.

    The only negative is the battery cover which comes off at the slightest bump, not the best in a battlefield helicopter. The batteries often follow the cover which then resets your time that you took so much effort to update. Easy to fix with a bit of masking tape across the back, but hopefully it can be adjusted for future models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

no directions

  • By Steven from Prescott Valley AZ USA on Saturday, May 30, 2015
  • Review: no directions or instructional youtube videos
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Too expensive for what its worth.

  • By Brian M from BHM on Sunday, October 30, 2011
  • Pros: Big numbers Velcro attachment
  • Cons: Easily mashed buttons which reset or change the clock. Clip is not very sturdy, Price
  • Review: I got this timer to replace and old cooking timer I was using. I liked the big numbers on it and easiness to read. I wish the knob was smaller and the timer would not reset itself when buttons get mashed in my flight bag, maybe a button locking feature would be nice. I work as advertised, I like the watch feature for Zulu and LCL time. It's not bad but definitely not worth  $44.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Aldo from SANTA CATARINA, BRAZIL on Saturday, March 05, 2011
  • Review: Great Flight Timer. It misses a ON/OFF button switch, but it's OK. I little bit too expensive (I guess). Fuel timer works both ways (progressive/regressive) and the approach timers do it as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gets the job done

  • By Matt from Kailua-Kona HI USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: Holds more approaches than I will need to use
  • Cons: There is no "OFF" button, so when I put it in my flight bag and leave for the day, if I accidentally hit a button it will be timing something until the next day, which means the batteries are draining. That's probably the only thing I don't like about it.
  • Review: Overall satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Little pricey, highly effective!!

  • By Christopher from Richmond TX USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to control, large display
  • Cons: $$$$$$$
  • Review: This is an awesome timer. The buttons are spread out so if you have chubby fingers like me, then you do not have to worry about mashing other buttons accidently. The display is bright and easy to interpet. I am a helicopter pilot, so I use this with the TiMount Kneeboard Timer mount, and they work beautifully together. No more having to worry about taking you hands off one of the control sticks and getting out of trim due to you having to bend over a reaching for the timer on the panel. The mount places this timer just right there by your left hand on the top of your kneeboard. I am giving this four stars only because of the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good flight timer

  • By Adam from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use, not very big
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off easily; fixed with tape
  • Review: Very good flight timer. Has a lot of functionality; 12 MAP timers you can preset, a fuel and flight timer, and a stopwatch in addition to a clock with UTC. Very useful for IFR training and holds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kenneth from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Review: Works great. Much more convenient and functional than my yoke mounted timer. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value and versitile

  • By Robert from College Park MD USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Lots of Options, easy to use. Intuitive.
  • Cons: Nothing that can't be managed easily.
  • Review: I keep the timer on my kneeboard so I sometimes found myself bumping the large button/dial in the center. Sometimes that would change the display and at least once, I accidentally changed the time. Not a big deal but something to watch out for. Keep it where it won't be bumped.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kenneth from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Review: Works great. Much more convenient and functional than my yoke mounted timer. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Joel from Gainesville FL USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Review: I like the big dial. Makes setting timer while flying, navigating, etc. very easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mark from Highland, IN on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Review: Great timer. Every function you need it has. Worth the money over the others. My only complaint is the round knob can be a little sticky at times which delays the task at hand. Could also use a case to carry it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great timer, needs mods

  • By James from Tucson AZ USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Review: Great timer but has no on/off switch, so you have to turn it off when you put it in your flight bag and lose all your data. otherwise would def recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good timer

  • By Robert from Los Angeles CA USA on Wednesday, August 13, 2008
  • Pros: Big numbers, great info
  • Cons: Almost too much "stuff"
  • Review: I am going to give it 4 stars because it is a good timer. NEVER leave in direct sunlight - will burn out the display. Timer works well, except the fuel timer is a pain - rather than reverting back to the 30 minutes for the tank swap you have to reset the 30 - which is perhaps the last thing you have time for when entering a hold, tear-drop entry, non-standard, while climbing... Some of the nice features are that the different timers are great and all run at the same time. You can also pre-program an approach time, with an alarm which you can actually hear (albeit faint) when you reach the MAP. It also doesn't "turn off to save battery" unless you pull the batteries (which means you have to reset the clock) - that can be really annoying, as it always starts one of the chronos in your flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Toms River NJ USA on Wednesday, March 31, 2010
  • Pros: Price , works well
  • Cons: No off switch
  • Review: Great little timer for the money !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jay from Indianapolis IN USA on Thursday, July 29, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great timer

  • By Tim from Ohio on Tuesday, April 08, 2008
  • Pros: easy to use.
  • Cons: Expensive, no case
  • Review: Easy to use with multiple capabilities. I gave it 4 stars because of the cost. Specifically, it would have been more worth the price if it came with a case. When I put it in my flight bag other items press against the thumb and/or light button even though it is in its own pocket. I have had to fashion my own carrying case to protect it. Funtionally speaking it is a great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from CLEVELAND OHIO on Tuesday, August 03, 2004
  • Review: easy to use. functions are easy to understand. the preset approach times are great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Timer

  • By A Customer from Random Lake WI USA on Saturday, September 05, 2009
  • Review: Got this timer along with the short yoke clip for instrument training in a 172P. Works well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Functionality - Funky Mounting System

  • By Mac from Oregon City OR USA on Monday, July 13, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to operate
  • Cons: Swivel Clip on back
  • Review: I like everything about this timer except the mounting clip. I'm working out a way to fix it to the yoke on our Skylane RG but I would like to have had something besides the metal swivel clip to start with. Not a deal killer, just a little nuisance. By far the best timer I've owned in 30 years!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, December 16, 2008
  • Review: Very nice workmanship. Good timer. Enjoying it alot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

take notice of the comments whether to purchase

  • By David from Palm Coast FL USA on Monday, June 20, 2016
  • Pros: works ok easy to use
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off
  • Review: Read comments before I bought it and it said battery cover falls off at innapropriate time and sure enough here in Florida in the sun it falls off thought it would have been sorted by the time I purchased it.  Duct tape holds it in place until you have to remove batteries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

yes and no

  • By Nikolai from Castro Valley CA USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: good set of useful options
  • Cons: too bulky and too heavy
  • Review: The concept is very good. Most features are fine and useful, controls are reasonable. Main problem is size and weight. Why they make it so heavy and so thick!? It is difficult to attach it to anything in the cockpit and if clock fall out during the operation or during the approach you are screwed! There is no time to search on the floor for your timer once you at MDA and few seconds till MAP.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Too expensive for a timer

  • By James on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros: Good size
  • Cons: Price and no OFF switch
  • Review: I was searching for a good timer and found the ASA Flight Timer. Like many here said you can not turn the timer OFF because there is no OFF switch. It works well, has a good size but it is pretty expensive for a simple timer in my opinion. A few days ago a friend of mine showed me an Iphone app (Flight Chronograph) that performs the same functions, has a nice display and most importantly it vibrates (making it easier to know when your timers/approaches have reached their marks) and it costs way less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Missing a critical feature

  • By Edward from Sparks NV USA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
  • Review: Certainly has everything one would want in a timer, and works fine. What is missing is an audio output to your headset or intercom. A timer that just beeps in a noisy cockpit while the pilot is wearing a noise-canceling headset is a timer that, for all practical purposes, doesn't beep. Need an input into the headset or intercom to be really usefull, or some kind of strobe that goes off when the time expires, or something to draw the pilot's attention.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not a bad timer, but I think I got a dud

  • By Richard from Boone NC USA on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to read, locate and use
  • Cons: doesnt keep time very well, requires constant resetting
  • Review: I like the timer, easy to read, lights up nice at night but the one I received has one issue. It doesnt keep time, after 2 weeks or so, the clock is an hour and a half off. The chrono/fuel/hold is very accurate though. Considering I mostly use it to time flights/spproaches it's not a huge problem for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

  • By Danny the Luscombe Driver from KPTK on Friday, December 26, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use features and functions
  • Cons: no contrast adjustment, battery door needs re-engineering, overpriced
  • Review: The display is large and east to read, The functions are easy to navigate. Battery door falls off and for $40 it should stay put without tape. No contrast adjustment, if I mount it to the instrument panel and use the backlight I cannot see the numbers. You can see it properly when mounted on a kneeboard. The audible alert is absolutely useless.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

OK

  • By A Customer from Hartford, CT on Sunday, January 03, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to program; lots of functions.
  • Cons: Can not hear timer alarm thru your headset; no OFF switch
  • Review: Easy to program; lots of functions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from FARGO ND on Friday, July 30, 2004
  • Review: Sometimes too easy to change clock time. It would be nice if it had 2 running chronographs. One that could be reset, and one to run total time. (And stilll keep the count down timer.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as it should

  • By Todd from FPO AP USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Pros: lots of timer functions
  • Cons: Sensitive selector knob.
  • Review: The product works as an excellent timer, with plenty of different timer and stopwatch functions. However, the selection knob can be a little to sensitive at times and often passes the time selection that I want.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Short of my basic expectations

  • By Tom from Waxhaw NC USA on Wednesday, September 14, 2016
  • Pros: good concept regarding possible uses
  • Cons: does not stay powered up due to bad battery door, poor display properties
  • Review: Battery compartment cover issues render this almost a useless product. The door pops open at random, loosening batteries and causing the unit to fail or reset endlessly. VERY poor basic design regarding the most basic of issue - keeping it powered up. I have tried gorilla tape to keep the battery door closed but its so cheaply made it actually needs screws to fasten the battery door shut. The functions are great however the display is not visible unless looking at it straight on at a direct 90 degree angle, if mounted anywhere other than in front of your eyes the display is either difficult or impossible to see, again a major design flaw.

    For the money its a really poor design, at a minimum the display should be effective in a cockpit from various angles. A simple kitchen digital timer that I purchase for grilling chicken is far more easy to use, can be seen at all angles and light conditions. Worse yet is that others have reviewed this product with identical issues and yet the manufacturer still puts this thing out with known deficiencies.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All the function and quality of a dollar store timer, for just 39 times the price

  • By Fred from Seattle WA USA on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
  • Pros: It didn't give me hepatitis.
  • Cons: poorly made
  • Review: Cheaply made - the back pops off and the batteries come out, which resets the clock, and renders it useless.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

would not recomend

  • By A Customer on Friday, December 09, 2011
  • Pros: big numbers, approach
  • Cons: cost, and not enough timers
  • Review: Not a bad timer. The approach option is nice to set different times before you head out. For the money though I should have just went and bought an egg timer with twice as many timers on it that just fuel and crono. Not to mention egg timers are only 12 bucks. Save your money and head to the grocery store.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Charles from Alabaster, AL on Friday, January 11, 2013
  • Review: Not well constructed,battery door will not stay closed without tape.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Underwhelmed

  • By Joseph from Jasper IN USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Large numbers
  • Cons: Touchy start/stop button at the top.
  • Review: I do not feel that this product met my expectation for ease of use. I find the start/stop button at the top too touchy. Needs to be more of a click on and click off type response. The battery cover fits poorly. I find it difficult to set and use the fuel timer. I think I will go back to using a simple stop watch or my Iphone with sporty's app.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Design quality lacking

  • By Walt from Framingham MA USA on Monday, January 11, 2010
  • Pros: Good timer.
  • Cons: Having to reset the clocks each time the batteries fall out.
  • Review: The clock/timer functions are great, however, the catch for the battery cover is weak. The cover falls off and the batteries fall out if it gets bumped.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.