TOP

ASA Flight Timer

  • 53 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Flight Timer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good features, just don't bump it!

  • By Matthew from Australia on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
  • Pros: Great features
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off
  • Review: I use this for day to day flight as a Blackhawk QFI. The features have proved very handy, I use the fuel timer for ops normal countdowns, and the approach timings allow me to program in all of the relevant times for approaches at home or away. It is relatively easy to use, however if you set a countdown such as 30 minutes for an ops normal, it will not reset to 30 once complete.

    The only negative is the battery cover which comes off at the slightest bump, not the best in a battlefield helicopter. The batteries often follow the cover which then resets your time that you took so much effort to update. Easy to fix with a bit of masking tape across the back, but hopefully it can be adjusted for future models.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

no directions

  • By Steven from Prescott Valley AZ USA on Saturday, May 30, 2015
  • Review: no directions or instructional youtube videos
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Little pricey, highly effective!!

  • By Christopher from Richmond TX USA on Tuesday, September 07, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to control, large display
  • Cons: $$$$$$$
  • Review: This is an awesome timer. The buttons are spread out so if you have chubby fingers like me, then you do not have to worry about mashing other buttons accidently. The display is bright and easy to interpet. I am a helicopter pilot, so I use this with the TiMount Kneeboard Timer mount, and they work beautifully together. No more having to worry about taking you hands off one of the control sticks and getting out of trim due to you having to bend over a reaching for the timer on the panel. The mount places this timer just right there by your left hand on the top of your kneeboard. I am giving this four stars only because of the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kenneth from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Review: Works great. Much more convenient and functional than my yoke mounted timer. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gets the job done

  • By Matt from Kailua-Kona HI USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: Holds more approaches than I will need to use
  • Cons: There is no "OFF" button, so when I put it in my flight bag and leave for the day, if I accidentally hit a button it will be timing something until the next day, which means the batteries are draining. That's probably the only thing I don't like about it.
  • Review: Overall satisfied.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Aldo from SANTA CATARINA, BRAZIL on Saturday, March 05, 2011
  • Review: Great Flight Timer. It misses a ON/OFF button switch, but it's OK. I little bit too expensive (I guess). Fuel timer works both ways (progressive/regressive) and the approach timers do it as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Too expensive for what its worth.

  • By Brian M from BHM on Sunday, October 30, 2011
  • Pros: Big numbers Velcro attachment
  • Cons: Easily mashed buttons which reset or change the clock. Clip is not very sturdy, Price
  • Review: I got this timer to replace and old cooking timer I was using. I liked the big numbers on it and easiness to read. I wish the knob was smaller and the timer would not reset itself when buttons get mashed in my flight bag, maybe a button locking feature would be nice. I work as advertised, I like the watch feature for Zulu and LCL time. It's not bad but definitely not worth  $44.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value and versitile

  • By Robert from College Park MD USA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Lots of Options, easy to use. Intuitive.
  • Cons: Nothing that can't be managed easily.
  • Review: I keep the timer on my kneeboard so I sometimes found myself bumping the large button/dial in the center. Sometimes that would change the display and at least once, I accidentally changed the time. Not a big deal but something to watch out for. Keep it where it won't be bumped.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good flight timer

  • By Adam from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
  • Pros: Easy to use, not very big
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off easily; fixed with tape
  • Review: Very good flight timer. Has a lot of functionality; 12 MAP timers you can preset, a fuel and flight timer, and a stopwatch in addition to a clock with UTC. Very useful for IFR training and holds.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great timer, needs mods

  • By James from Tucson AZ USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Review: Great timer but has no on/off switch, so you have to turn it off when you put it in your flight bag and lose all your data. otherwise would def recommend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kenneth from San Antonio TX USA on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Review: Works great. Much more convenient and functional than my yoke mounted timer. I recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Joel from Gainesville FL USA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
  • Review: I like the big dial. Makes setting timer while flying, navigating, etc. very easy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mark from Highland, IN on Monday, March 08, 2010
  • Review: Great timer. Every function you need it has. Worth the money over the others. My only complaint is the round knob can be a little sticky at times which delays the task at hand. Could also use a case to carry it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good timer

  • By Robert from Los Angeles CA USA on Wednesday, August 13, 2008
  • Pros: Big numbers, great info
  • Cons: Almost too much "stuff"
  • Review: I am going to give it 4 stars because it is a good timer. NEVER leave in direct sunlight - will burn out the display. Timer works well, except the fuel timer is a pain - rather than reverting back to the 30 minutes for the tank swap you have to reset the 30 - which is perhaps the last thing you have time for when entering a hold, tear-drop entry, non-standard, while climbing... Some of the nice features are that the different timers are great and all run at the same time. You can also pre-program an approach time, with an alarm which you can actually hear (albeit faint) when you reach the MAP. It also doesn't "turn off to save battery" unless you pull the batteries (which means you have to reset the clock) - that can be really annoying, as it always starts one of the chronos in your flight bag.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Toms River NJ USA on Wednesday, March 31, 2010
  • Pros: Price , works well
  • Cons: No off switch
  • Review: Great little timer for the money !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jay from Indianapolis IN USA on Thursday, July 29, 2010
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By David from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, December 16, 2008
  • Review: Very nice workmanship. Good timer. Enjoying it alot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great timer

  • By Tim from Ohio on Tuesday, April 08, 2008
  • Pros: easy to use.
  • Cons: Expensive, no case
  • Review: Easy to use with multiple capabilities. I gave it 4 stars because of the cost. Specifically, it would have been more worth the price if it came with a case. When I put it in my flight bag other items press against the thumb and/or light button even though it is in its own pocket. I have had to fashion my own carrying case to protect it. Funtionally speaking it is a great product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from CLEVELAND OHIO on Tuesday, August 03, 2004
  • Review: easy to use. functions are easy to understand. the preset approach times are great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice Timer

  • By A Customer from Random Lake WI USA on Saturday, September 05, 2009
  • Review: Got this timer along with the short yoke clip for instrument training in a 172P. Works well
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Functionality - Funky Mounting System

  • By Mac from Oregon City OR USA on Monday, July 13, 2009
  • Pros: Easy to operate
  • Cons: Swivel Clip on back
  • Review: I like everything about this timer except the mounting clip. I'm working out a way to fix it to the yoke on our Skylane RG but I would like to have had something besides the metal swivel clip to start with. Not a deal killer, just a little nuisance. By far the best timer I've owned in 30 years!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.