TOP

ASA Flight Timer

  • 53 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA Flight Timer

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

take notice of the comments whether to purchase

  • By David from Palm Coast FL USA on Monday, June 20, 2016
  • Pros: works ok easy to use
  • Cons: Battery cover falls off
  • Review: Read comments before I bought it and it said battery cover falls off at innapropriate time and sure enough here in Florida in the sun it falls off thought it would have been sorted by the time I purchased it.  Duct tape holds it in place until you have to remove batteries.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

yes and no

  • By Nikolai from Castro Valley CA USA on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
  • Pros: good set of useful options
  • Cons: too bulky and too heavy
  • Review: The concept is very good. Most features are fine and useful, controls are reasonable. Main problem is size and weight. Why they make it so heavy and so thick!? It is difficult to attach it to anything in the cockpit and if clock fall out during the operation or during the approach you are screwed! There is no time to search on the floor for your timer once you at MDA and few seconds till MAP.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Too expensive for a timer

  • By James on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
  • Pros: Good size
  • Cons: Price and no OFF switch
  • Review: I was searching for a good timer and found the ASA Flight Timer. Like many here said you can not turn the timer OFF because there is no OFF switch. It works well, has a good size but it is pretty expensive for a simple timer in my opinion. A few days ago a friend of mine showed me an Iphone app (Flight Chronograph) that performs the same functions, has a nice display and most importantly it vibrates (making it easier to know when your timers/approaches have reached their marks) and it costs way less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Missing a critical feature

  • By Edward from Sparks NV USA on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
  • Review: Certainly has everything one would want in a timer, and works fine. What is missing is an audio output to your headset or intercom. A timer that just beeps in a noisy cockpit while the pilot is wearing a noise-canceling headset is a timer that, for all practical purposes, doesn't beep. Need an input into the headset or intercom to be really usefull, or some kind of strobe that goes off when the time expires, or something to draw the pilot's attention.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not a bad timer, but I think I got a dud

  • By Richard from Boone NC USA on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to read, locate and use
  • Cons: doesnt keep time very well, requires constant resetting
  • Review: I like the timer, easy to read, lights up nice at night but the one I received has one issue. It doesnt keep time, after 2 weeks or so, the clock is an hour and a half off. The chrono/fuel/hold is very accurate though. Considering I mostly use it to time flights/spproaches it's not a huge problem for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

  • By Danny the Luscombe Driver from KPTK on Friday, December 26, 2014
  • Pros: Easy to use features and functions
  • Cons: no contrast adjustment, battery door needs re-engineering, overpriced
  • Review: The display is large and east to read, The functions are easy to navigate. Battery door falls off and for $40 it should stay put without tape. No contrast adjustment, if I mount it to the instrument panel and use the backlight I cannot see the numbers. You can see it properly when mounted on a kneeboard. The audible alert is absolutely useless.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

OK

  • By A Customer from Hartford, CT on Sunday, January 03, 2010
  • Pros: Easy to program; lots of functions.
  • Cons: Can not hear timer alarm thru your headset; no OFF switch
  • Review: Easy to program; lots of functions.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from FARGO ND on Friday, July 30, 2004
  • Review: Sometimes too easy to change clock time. It would be nice if it had 2 running chronographs. One that could be reset, and one to run total time. (And stilll keep the count down timer.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as it should

  • By Todd from FPO AP USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Pros: lots of timer functions
  • Cons: Sensitive selector knob.
  • Review: The product works as an excellent timer, with plenty of different timer and stopwatch functions. However, the selection knob can be a little to sensitive at times and often passes the time selection that I want.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.