TOP

Reviews for Gleim Private Pilot Kit with Software

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Matthew from Northridge, CA on Monday, December 12, 2011
  • Review: Got this, and a short time later got my PPL. This kit, helped me with the knowledge test prep, learning just about everything you need to get your PPL, in a uniformed and well organized manner.

    I got 98% on my knowledge test, and passed my checkride without problems. I would recommend this to anyone who is thinking about learning to fly. The information included is intended for both people new into aviation, and those that are getting back into it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Must have to be prepared pilot!

  • By A Customer from Normal IL USA on Thursday, February 28, 2013
  • Review: The printed materials are great, detailed, colorful and descriptive. The Pilot Handbook is very thorough and complete. I used the Handbook and the FAA written exam prep materials to take my private pilot exam. I did so entirely on the self-study method. I missed only one question on my exam, scoring 98%.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very well written

  • By Raymos from Richmond Hill GA USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: Covers all the requirements for the pilot to be.
  • Cons: None so far.
  • Review: Just started flying after being out of the business of aviation for almost 15 years. The first two sections (units) were a great refresher.

    I am now on unit three and starting to learn the specifics of airport management and what all those signs and stripes mean.

    The school where I take classes recommended this product and I can see why. Maintaining a standard curriculum is a must to keep students on track with their CFI.

    I have not yet tried the online access but have read good things in other reviews so I expect it to be of high quality as well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I`m happy

  • By Denis Gulyaev from Vladivostok Primorskiy kray Russia on Thursday, July 26, 2012
  • Review: I`m very glad that I bought product training kit for private pilot. The books, software and other things are great. I read and study many time. They are helping me. I will go to USA to study from the pilot PPL soon.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By jaden from georgetown TX on Wednesday, October 20, 2010
  • Review: It was very helpful in my studying for my written exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Atin from Clarksville, TN on Tuesday, February 27, 2007
  • Pros: CD, Layout of courses
  • Cons: The flight computer is paper, and to me not practicle, invest in the metal one
  • Review: I purchased this product because it had been 15+ years since I was in the cockpit of any plane. Now that life itself has slowed a bit, I decided to finish my pilots license this year.
    Because of the weather here, I knew I had until May before I could start actual flight school.
    So I researched the rest of courses of this kind and this one came out the best for the price.

    With the CD included it can not be beat. I use the CD every day to continually test myself and prepare for the FAA Test later this year.

    The books are a bit technical sometimes, but after applying them to the tests they begin to click and make more sense.

    I would recommend this course for anyone, especially some one who is thinking about obtaining a pilots license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent product!!!

  • By Steve from Orlando, Florida on Monday, July 23, 2007
  • Pros: Price!
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The Gleim Private Pilot Kit is the best deal on the net!

    I have been nothing but impressed with the quality of the product! I comes with everything you need to do your ground work and become a proficient Private Pilot. The bag that comes with it is really nice as well i keep all my books,maps, and even my headset in the side pocket! Don't waste your money on extremely expensive books buy this you will not regret it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

What I expected

  • By sannycat from Las Vegas, NV 89143 on Monday, August 27, 2007
  • Review: Product was what I expected to receive and came quickly at a good price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love the kit

  • By Lindsey from Morganton NC USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Review: I love the kit it has everything I needed the books are very helpful in my training and I will recommend it to any beginning pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Allen from McAlester OK USA on Thursday, January 21, 2016
  • Review: Greatly structured, it flows into each following subject very well for retention rather than aiming for memorization.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great materials

  • By ilan from florida on Monday, February 06, 2017
  • Pros: Easy to understand
  • Cons: I wish it will be option for metal E6B and rotating plotter.
  • Review: English is not my first language even though the book is very easy to understand. I score 85.  I recomand GLEIM.  I order the IFR kit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

worth the money

  • By Gerald from Alpena MI USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: on line studying is helping me remember and form better study habbits
  • Cons: none
  • Review: have not taken the written yet, but enjoying the study guide and the on line question/answer format. hope to take the written in 2 weeks.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This kit is almost like cheating.

  • By Daniel willets from Grimesland NC USA on Monday, September 18, 2017
  • Pros: All in one package, all the study material you need, and mypilotsyore has the best price for it I've seen. The bag it comes with is super sturdy, I still use it, very handy.
  • Cons: The paper the pages are on is a little thin, not heavy duty
  • Review: If you study this book and just read it through a few times, you cannot fail your written.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great tool for combining knowledge and flight activities

  • By David from Bay City MI USA on Monday, August 31, 2015
  • Pros: Organization
  • Cons: Need more opportunity to customize
  • Review: I like the syllabus for coordinating ground and flight lessons.

    I don't exactly follow the flight syllabus, so do some customizing. Perhaps having more freedom to add customization to the maneuvers flown would be helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Package

  • By Paul from Charleston SC USA on Monday, March 03, 2014
  • Pros: Great Graphs
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Very well laid out and helpful
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy the book agsin.

  • By Philipp from Fort Leavenworth KS USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Review: The book completely met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Port Charlotte FL USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2016
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

More Than Enough to Start Training

  • By Jason from Concord NC USA on Friday, February 29, 2008
  • Pros: Nice Pilot Bag, Excellent Training Materials and Logbook
  • Cons: Small Print FAR/AIM
  • Review: This had more than enough information to get me started on my Private Pilot Certificate. The Pilot Handbook has been with me since day one and is great for understanding the concepts required for the FAA Knowledge Exam. The Flight Maneuvers book has come in handy now at my 5th hour flight training having reviewed items that will be required for the Practical Exam with my CFI. These two books have been thumbed through extensively. As I move along I found that the Syllabus was good for setting my expectations; however, it hasn't really been used with my CFI due to his own expectations. In addition, the training record really hasn't been used, but I may transcribe my learning into it because I may be going between flight schools. The FAA Knowledge Test Book and Software have been really easy to use and go hand in hand with the Pilot Handbook. The flight bag has been excellent with one pocket that fits my headset, another with my fuel tester and the middle for all my study materials. The only real complaint that I have is the FAR/AIM is too small and the print is very small and if you have any problems reading close up it probably would be better to purchase the ASA edition. Oh and the logbook is EXCELLENT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

solid info and good value

  • By MRC01 from WA State on Monday, August 20, 2007
  • Review: The software is excellent - installs and runs without a hitch, and also automatically updates itself periodically (if you want it to). You can take tests in different modes, covering whatever areas you want. It explains both correct and incorrect answers. It tracks a history of all your test results so you can identify and work on your weak areas. It includes on-line printable versions of the detailed Gleim outlines and all the graphics needed to take the tests (pictures, charts, etc.).

    The books are packed with info, well organized and easy to read. The only drawback I found is that Gleim uses newsprint paper which highlighters and many pens bleed right through.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kit, Out of date FAR-AIM

  • By Lance on Monday, February 19, 2018
  • Pros: Keeps the Instructor and Student aware of current progress
  • Cons: Would love a pdf version, would pay extra for it
  • Review: The kit is great, I use it almost exclusively. Purchased on 12/28/17 I expected a 2018 FAR-AIM, but received the 2017 instead.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall awesome, but nothing is ever 100% perfect

  • By Jay from Tucson AZ USA on Tuesday, June 27, 2017
  • Pros: Online Pre-test and quizzes are exceptional
  • Cons: E6B and plotter could be better quality.
  • Review: The product over all is great. The online training is fantastic. The study material and books associated are good and helpful. The only thing I would like to see better is the quality of the E6B and navigation plotter. These products are good for practice, but not long term use. I would also suggest a Sectional training manual. To really get in depth with how to accurately interpret, use and understand the sectional charts.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

The material is very complete and at times confusing, but worth every cent I paid

  • By Richard from Southport NC USA on Thursday, October 25, 2007
  • Pros: A lot ot information
  • Cons: The information flow is a bit bumpy at times.
  • Review: There is a lot on information provided in all the materal. I can't imanage anyone being able to retain it all. I'm reading it all and consider the entire package excellent. It's all there and will help my become a good safe pilot. Thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Hope I can get through it all...

  • By Paul from Philadelphia PA USA on Friday, January 21, 2011
  • Pros: Comprehensive
  • Cons: Not enough photos
  • Review: Lots of info to be learned. Lord only knows how long it will take!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Definitely covers the material

  • By John from South Williamsport PA USA on Thursday, April 27, 2017
  • Pros: Very thorough
  • Cons: Too many books to try to study
  • Review: Well worth the money, however at times becomes overwhelming ,due to so many books to study from and try to retain the required information.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Not quite what I expected

  • By Robert from Manteca, CA on Thursday, February 14, 2008
  • Pros: Test Prep Software
  • Cons: Paperback Books
  • Review: I bought this kit mainly for the Test Prep software. I thought that the little extra in price to get good copies of the FAA manuals and some other written materials would of helped as well, given that it's sometimes hard to study a map or other illustrations when reading a PDF from the screen. Also, I thought having the bag and other tools would come in handy down the road. What it ended up being was a expensive copy of the Test Prep software and a bag of text books that I don't look at. Mainly, my problem with the books is that they are not just paperback, but have the same super thin recycled paper pages you'd get in a grade school workbook. There are also very few full color pages, so illustrations aren't exactly an improvement over reading from the pdfs. I would highly suggest the software to anyone. It's very through and put together well and it has helped me tremendously. I'm nearly though all the sections and plan to take my ground in about another week thanks to it. As for the rest, I'm continuing to read the FAA publications in their free PDF form and probably won't purchase any more books.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.