TOP

Reviews for David Clark H10-56HXL Headset (for helicopters)

Sort By:
Filter By:

Great headset

  • By Mike from Texas on Friday, January 08, 2010
  • Pros: Excellent PNR and ANR, build quality, warranty, price.
  • Cons: A little heavier and a little tighter than the others, but worth it.
  • Review: I fly a Bell 206, R22, R44 and Schweizer 300. I've tried the Zulus, the Bose X and now these. The Bose are just awful. The Zulus are the most comfortable, but they really do nothing for noise protection. A couple of buddies I know I use the Zulus, but can't use them without earplugs. So here's the lowdown: if you fly helicopters, you really won't be satisfied with the Zulus and the Bose. Neither have passive noise reduction, so when your batteries die, you will be sorry. The DC have the highest level of PNR protection and the ANR is just fantastic. They also are the most ruggedly built and have a good warranty. If you are in a high noise environment such as a helicopter, don't even think about anything other than the DC. I did say they were not for me previously, but after more experience with them they have proven themselves.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from honolulu hawaii on Thursday, August 19, 2004
  • Review: this headset is great . It's very comfortable light and the communication are very clear
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for helicopters!

  • By Gianfranco from Scurelle Italy on Friday, September 23, 2011
  • Pros: Straordinary noise abatement
  • Cons: Frequent change of battery
  • Review: Headset for professional who fly everyday noisy a/c especially helicopters, good passive noise abatement and perfect with ENC activated.  Very useful the automatic on/off selection that once enabled permits to have the ENC activated just when the master is on...so you save battery instead of turning on/off the ENC manually!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Choice

  • By Randy from Lake St Louis MO USA on Wednesday, April 14, 2010
  • Pros: They fit great
  • Cons: the cord from the battery box to the plug is too short, it hangs there and stretches out the cord
  • Review: These are fantastic, durable, I love them, I am very satisfied with my choice for helicopter use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Claudia from Van Nuys, CA on Saturday, June 26, 2010
  • Review: Great Headset! We recommend as it is reliable and David Clark offers great customer service when you need to send in headsets for repair and cleaning!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Dick, a Christen Eagle II pilot from Lincoln, NE on Wednesday, January 10, 2007
  • Pros: Exceptional performance even at extreme noise levels.
  • Cons: Battery module needs a much better clip so it won't move around the cockpit during maneuvering. And, for use in GA aircraft , it must be special ordered to get the correct cord.
  • Review: I had tried all of the well known competing headsets and had nearly despaired at finding one which worked well in extreme noise. This one is the best of the best. Just today, while doing aerobatics at full power, a ground controller assigned me a heading to avoid traffic and I could hear him as clearly as if he had been beside me. The passive noise attenuation of this model is so good that even when the ENC module battery fails I hear well enough to complete the mission comfortably.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

now i know why this is the heli pilot's headset of choice

  • By A Customer from san francisco, ca on Monday, April 09, 2007
  • Pros: cancels noise, comfortable, sturdy AND has that retro cool look
  • Cons: keep extra batteries on hand
  • Review: best value for best money -

    why these: this is the headset that my NASA heli pilot wears and recommended to me - and i'm so glad I followed his advice - the new headset is a huge improvement over my non-noise cancelling headset - the fit is comfortable and the noise cancellation works wonders - no slight headache and ear ringing afterwards

    comparison: I tried out a friend's equivalent Bose headset and found that my David Clark was on par with noise cancellation, and in fact, I prefer the fit of the David Clark's - the David Clark's are a good $350 less than the Bose

    recommend: just keep some extra batteries on hand - I found that they run out after 10 hours - i'd recommend purchasing some rechargeable 9v -
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again and again

  • By Roland from Switzerland, flying in Miami for pleasure on Tuesday, July 10, 2007
  • Pros: noise reduction, fitting, quality
  • Cons: price
  • Review: I usually fly helicopters with doors off. So there is wind and noise. You put that headset on and it's fine, then you activate ENC and it's silent. You only hear the flapping rotor, a little engine and a crystal clear radio. It's just best you can do for your ears. OK it's not cheap but you only have one single set of ears...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

They get the job done

  • By A Customer from Allendale NJ USA on Monday, November 07, 2011
  • Pros: Cheaper than Bose & Zulu, Good Passive Noise Cancelling
  • Cons: Heavier, can be irritating to the ear after long periods of use
  • Review: I fly in Astar 350 helicopters, and am usually in the seat about 6 hours a day on average. I don't even use the noise cancelling to be honest... I can't really even tell that much of a difference. They provide ample enough passive noise cancelling from the suction of the ear cups themselves. After about 4 hours of wearing them, I find myself readjusting quite a bit because my one ear starts to get bothered. However, I think that for someone who is not going to be in the seat as much as myself, it would OK. Also, the noise cancelling may be a lot more useful when flying with the doors off, which I used to do a lot before I had these. I will probably end up getting a pair of Lightspeeds or the new Bose A20 so I can play music...and have continued lightweight comfort throughout my long usage of the headset during the day.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

DC not for me.

  • By Mike from Planet Earth on Saturday, April 26, 2008
  • Review: I bought these after a lot of research. These are an excellent headset, although there are just a few faults which I didn't like. 1. Really heavy. If you wear a baseball cap, you will experience pain on the top of your head (where the button of the cap is) after 1 hour. It hurts a lot. 2. Clamping pressure is too much. I felt like my head was in a vice after 1 hour. 3. I emailed David Clark to get some technical information but received no reply. Also, it looks like their website has some out of date links. That's not how to run a business. 4. Doesn't come with a bag! What? $700 and no bag? Even a $5 bag? Come on, now. 5. ATC on the last 2 flights remarked that my transmissions were difficult to read due to static. That's the first time I'd had that problem, and occurred on the 2nd and 3rd flights with the DCs. Okay, the good stuff. 1. Build quality is pretty good, I couldn't find fault with it. Very solid feel. 2. Passive NR is excellent (due to the clamping pressure). I loved that they were quiet even without ANR switched on. 3. With ANC switched on, everything went quiet. Very nice ANC. 4. MyPilotStore will beat advertised prices. Do some searching, there are cheaper out there, then come back and buy through these guys because their service and return policy are both excellent (some other retailers either didn't have any return policy or they didn't bother to email me back when asked about it...no business for them, then). Conclusion I would have kept them if it had not been for the clamping pressure on the sides of my head and the pain from the button on my baseball cap at the top. I know I could cut the button off...but every baseball cap? Noise cancelling is great, but if you can't wear them for one reason or another, what's the point? I returned them and bought the Lightspeed Zulu. My review should be in the loong list of reviews over there.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Rob from California on Monday, February 19, 2007
  • Pros: Passive Sound Attentuation
  • Cons: Battery Life could be better for the 9V version.
  • Review: To Start with, I primarily fly a Schweizer 300c Helicopter, and its not the quietest ride and I wanted a good unit.
    I got this after spending alot of time looking at the 3G and Bose ANR units. I chose it for the following reasons:
    1.) I have used many D/C units and I am a BIG fan of them. The wieght isn't an issue for me, so it didn't factor into the equation for me.
    2.) MUCH cheaper than the Bose for a sturdier product.
    3.) Better than any other headset passive sound rejection if the batteries go dead on the ANR. My instructor has a Bose, and several times his batteries have gone dead and he can't hear the radio or me on the intercom. I have had my battery go dead once while in flight (being cheap and I knew I needed to change it) and low freq sound from the engine did increase, it wasn't horrible and I could still use the radio and hear the intercom.
    3.) Better built than the Lightspeed ANR's I was looking at.
    4.) I have a smaller head, and have not experience any clamping problems (if you do, pry / spread the headband apart for a better fit).

    Things I would like to see in it or upgrades:
    1.) Audio input like the 3G. If I were to get another headset, I would like to find someone and try them out becuase of this feature. Not a big fan of the after market gadgets that do the same thing, to clumsey for a small cockpit.
    2.) Oregon Aero Ear seals for added sound attentuation using glasses.
    3.) Cheaper cables for switching back and forth from Fixed-Wing and Helicopter ($90 each). Currently using a Heli-GA adapter I got for $44 here from mypilotstore.
    4.) Better battery life. The bose does as good with (2) AA batteries.......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

excellent headset

  • By A Customer from Bullsbrook WA Australia on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
  • Pros: very quiet in an R22
  • Cons: short cord to battery compartment
  • Review: excellent noise cancellation, cord to the battery compartment could be a bit longer, had to purchase an extension...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it says on the can

  • By Carlos from Glendale CA USA on Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable, noise cancelling, good quality
  • Cons: battery life, short cord length
  • Review: - At its price the headset should come with a bag
    - Battery life could be better
    - The coil cord is to short whether that be from the battery box to the cockpit connector, and also the headset to the battery box
    - However, these to me are not prohibitive remarks and all in all I am very happy with it. It is my first headset and I would absolutely recommend this product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

surprisingly bad

  • By A Customer from The Woodlands TX USA on Sunday, April 14, 2013
  • Pros: comfortable
  • Cons: way too loud in a helicopter to be comfortable
  • Review: I have been a loyal David Clark user for a 20+ years. Their customer service reputation is great but this one sucks. I have an older active noise cancelling 13.4 and it is actually much better than this one. When using in the R44 I find myself using earplugs under the headset. The noise cancelling works but seems weak. Way too much low frequency noise gets through. Lately I have also flown with a Lightspeed Zulu and it is much better. If I had another headset and wouldn't need it I would actually sent it to David Clark to see if there is something wrong.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Best overall noise attenuation, but thats about it.

  • By A Customer from Linden, NJ on Saturday, March 27, 2010
  • Pros: Excellent total noise reduction.
  • Cons: Uncomfortable, heavy, inferior sound quality, akward in the cockpit, poorly designed battery case that always gets in the way, poor battery life.
  • Review: I would recommend this headset to someone that flies a very noisy helicopter such as a Robinson or Schweizer and often with doors off. That's because this headset has great total noise reduction, beating the Bose and Zulu in this aspect. By "total" I mean combined passive and active noise reduction, Bose and Lightspeed both have excellent active noise cancellation but poor passive. However for anyone else I would definitely recommend the Zulu or Bose over this. Reasons being they are much more comfortable, have way better sound quality, are much less akward and easier to stow away, their batteries last much longer, and the Zulu allows you to connect your phone or music device via mp3 or cable which I think is great. I own the H10-56hxl and have been using it for the last 3 years but am tired of the discomfort and poor sound quality now and will soon purchase either a Zulu or a Sennheiser. I have used the Bose and Zulu headsets multiple times and like both of them and find them very even as far as comfort, noise attenuation, and sound quality but I prefer the Zulu since it is cheaper and has the phone/mp3 connection.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.