TOP

Reviews for JeppShades IFR Flip-Up Training Glasses

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By David from Racine WI USA on Tuesday, November 04, 2014
  • Pros: Good product. No complaints.
  • Cons:
  • Review: It did what it was supposed to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

flip up foggers

  • By David from Houma LA USA on Friday, February 06, 2015
  • Pros: Great for those who do not wear glasses
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great unless you wear glasses where they smash your glasses into your face
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

so much more comfortable to wear.I love the flip ups

  • By Jocelyn from Boca Raton FL USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Review: It is the best out there for comfort and easy to flip them up when approaching MAP
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Super comfortable!

  • By Charlie from West End NC USA on Friday, October 17, 2014
  • Review: The JeppShades are better than I had expected. They are extremely comfortable and easy to use. They seem to be well made and durable. I have used other styles of vision limiting devices and these are hands down the most comfortable under a headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By Amilcar from Las Vegas NV USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Decatur GA on Friday, July 23, 2004
  • Review: Excellent !
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Amazing

  • By Andrew from Old Bridge NJ USA on Monday, June 30, 2008
  • Review: Jeppesen IFR Fogless are just amazing.Recommend this stuff for students who just start IFR training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the extra money

  • By Adam from Duluth MN on Sunday, February 14, 2010
  • Review: I've used them over my sunglasses, without sunglasses, around my head set under my head set... Only draw back as with any jeppshade or foggle you will see a tad bit of the outside.. I fly in a 172 and just put up a folded sectional along the window on the left... Comfortable and enjoyable to wear...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great, my 2nd pair

  • By Kei from New York NY USA on Monday, April 26, 2010
  • Pros: very comfortable. easily to remove with head set on. very practical when you reach DH.
  • Cons: the top hinge part broke.
  • Review: This is my 2nd pair of Jepp Shade. 1st one broke after passing my IFR check ride. The top hinge part broke off, but I love this product enough so that I decided to purchase 2nd one.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great IFR Goggles

  • By Michael from Pace FL USA on Monday, July 27, 2009
  • Pros: Comfortable, easy to adjust and flip up
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I used a pair of these to do my IFR time during my private pilot training and had to get my own pair to work on IFR. I tried a few other styles and these by far are the best in my opinion. They're comfortable both with and without sunglasses, are easy to adjust so as not to block the instruments or allow you ot cheat by looking outside, are easy to put on and remove, and they easily flip up when you want to go VFR.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Lititz PA USA on Monday, March 10, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent

  • By Chuck from Hilton Head Island SC USA on Thursday, April 23, 2015
  • Review: Simple, easy and takes little space
    Clients prefer them
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great glasses

  • By Phil from Casa Grande AZ USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
  • Review: They are comfortable for long flights and I prefer wearing them over a traditional hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

When you need an IR hood, this is the one you get

  • By milan from SALT LAKE CITY, UT on Sunday, February 17, 2008
  • Pros: Small, Comfortable, High Quality
  • Cons: Expensive
  • Review: Looking at hoods in general there is a wide range available on the market at the moment, most of them are oversized and look incredibly stupid, it might also be in your way. The jeppshade is one of the more expensive ones but it is the smallest one out there, not much larger than a pair of sunglasses, comes in a nice case and is easy to put on regardless of head size, both directly on your head or even on the outside your headset. If you do not mind the few extra dollars, go with this one, it is comfortable and you can flip the front part of it up if you suddenly need to look out.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Works well, but not with glasses/sunglasses

  • By A Customer from Santa Monica, CA on Sunday, April 06, 2008
  • Pros: Light, sexy, COMFORTABLE, easy "flip up" for transitioning to VFR
  • Cons: expensive, doesn't work with glasses.
  • Review: These are light, compact, but best of all--COMFORTABLE. Bottom line: buy them if you don't wear glasses. If you wear classes, go with the hood.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good aid to IFR training

  • By A Customer from Tampa FL USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Review: These shades are great for blocking the outside view and only allowing the student to view the instrument pannel and controls inside. I prefer these to other "foggle" type devices since they are open and do not require the student to look through scratched or smeared lenses. My only complaints are the straps are not quite long enough to fit around all headsets and the band tends to slip up on the student's head in the back.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

One of the best I have used

  • By Phillip from Atlanta GA USA on Monday, November 02, 2009
  • Pros: Works well and is comfortable
  • Cons: Works great. Have to remove headset, put on, put headset back on for best fit.
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OK but not the best

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
  • Pros: Durable
  • Cons: the headband
  • Review: The headband doesn't easily fit over your headset and under the headset causes noise to come in.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not good if you wear glasses

  • By James from Staten Island NY USA on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
  • Pros: Good to be able to flip up or down
  • Cons: Allowed noise to enter when used with eyeglasses.
  • Review: If I didn't wear glasses it would have been good. The eyeglass frame and strap for the JeppShades combined to be both uncomfortable and allowed a lot of noise to enter.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Flip up Foggles

  • By David from Houma LA USA on Friday, February 06, 2015
  • Pros: light, doesn't require straps which shove your glasses in your face
  • Cons: lens quality is poor
  • Review: Light enough to function as a clip on, but the lens quality is poor resulting in distortion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I found less useful than foggles or hood

  • By Howard from Santa Cruz, Ca on Thursday, September 06, 2007
  • Pros: Fits comfortably over headset
  • Cons: Not designed for use with glasses, allows peripheral cues
  • Review: First - Not until I opened the package did I learn from insert that the product is not designed to be used with glasses. So if you wear glasses while flying this is not for you.
    Second - I have used a cheap plastic ifr hood and foggles. I prefer the hood for limiting peripheral cues but it is hard to remove when wearing a headset. The foggles bow does not fit well under or over a headset. Otherwise foggles seem to work pretty well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Jury is still out.....

  • By A Customer from Gaithersburg, MD on Tuesday, July 03, 2007
  • Pros: Very comfortable
  • Cons: Does not limit your view as much as Foggles or a hood
  • Review: I did my entire instrument rating and most of my subsequent recurrent training with Foggles. My only complaint about Foggles is that they hurt my ears after being worn with any of my headsets for any longer than 30-45 minutes. When they broke I decided I needed a more comforable option, which led me to a basic hood or the Jepp product. The hood seemed like a pain to store, so I went with the Jepp product. It is far more comfortable than Foggles. It does not however limit your view as much as Foggles or a hood, so I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of my training. The flip up feature sounds cool, but requires two hands to operate....does anyone else think taking both hands off the airplane on short final on an ILS is a bad idea? So, the jury is still out on this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Stick with foggles

  • By Mike from El Dorado Hills CA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Pros: Nice looking, well made.
  • Cons: Not a great fit, Blocks peripheral vision when flipped up.
  • Review: I picked these up thinking they would be an upgrade to my current set of cheap foggles. I liked the idea of being able to flip them up or down easily; however, they do block a good portion of your peripheral vision when you have them flipped up. I find it easier to just stick a pair of foggles on your head (and cheaper) and slip them up or down over your eyes. I also have a problem with the fit, the elastic band is a bit big and they won't fit around my small head. I have to wrap them around my headset, rather than under it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Compact, but fragile

  • By Terry from Tyler TX USA on Tuesday, September 04, 2012
  • Pros: Fit and function over glasses and with headset
  • Cons: Fragile, poor hinge construction, expensive
  • Review: It's a great design idea. Very comfortable to wear over glasses and with your headset. Love the way you can flip up the visor for the visual landing. However, the hinge is very fragile. The first set I received the hinge was too tight and then suddenly became too loose to be functional. MyPilotStore was very good to send me a replacement.  So far so good with the replacement. I'm very careful not to put any stress on it while using it or while in storage. Again, the problem is the fragile hinge..."Made In China"
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not the Quality I expected from Jeppesen

  • By Henry from Windsor, Ontario, Canada on Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Pros: Works as intended, nice flip up feature.
  • Cons: Poor adhesion of the adhesive on the foam.
  • Review: Understanding that this is not a high tech item, but you should still expect that the design and quality would be robust enough to perform as expected. When received, the fore-head foam was partially off and where it was attached to the "hood" it was twisted. I was able to re-glue it so that it would not present a sharp edge to my skin. The same is true with the nose foam, however I simply re-aligned it and it seems to be staying. I am not a fan of having to repair items that I just received from the manufacturer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Junk! Buy Something Else.

  • By Pilot Jim on Sunday, March 03, 2019
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Hinge is junk; item is useless.
  • Review: Hinge is junk. The flip up function is completely inoperable. I used this once successfully - after that, the flip up part of the device just fell off. After trying to snap it back into place, and after several more attempts to use it, it just falls off. Not good when trying to get started on an IFR training flight. This is one of the more expensive models, so it's ridiculous that it is made so cheaply. Buy ANY of the other models and save yourself some aggravation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Disappointing

  • By Russ from Cold Brook NY USA on Friday, January 17, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: poor quality, unusable by pilots wearing glasses
  • Review: I was disappointed in the build quality of this product. I read that the nose piece was removable for use by someone who wears glasses, but it is not. It is all one piece of molded plastic. I have tried them with several of my students and they fit poorly and did not block vision efficiently as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.