TOP

AV COMM AC200 Headset

  • 34 Customer Reviews

Reviews for AV COMM AC200 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Erik Lindgren from Riverside CA USA on Thursday, October 29, 2009
  • Pros: Clear audio, comfortable fit.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product has exceded my expectations. I have used many headsets over the last 10 years of flying including the big names and can not remember ever wearing a set that felt better. The ear seals are comfortable on 2 hour flights. The audio is clear. And the over all weight and tension of the headset and headband are perfect. Best price, Best value. I will be outfitting the other three seats in my Bonanza in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

avcom, gr8 quality

  • By Glen from Media PA USA on Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Pros: Weight, audio clarity, price
  • Cons: Clamp force more than
  • Review: I've had a number of avcom products in the past and they just keep getting better and better with great reliability and ruggedness.

    This particular headset is now much lighter with a new type of plastic and still delivers great performance from jets to GA..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By from Poland on Wednesday, July 02, 2008
  • Review: I've already bought three. AC200 are great (price - quality).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very impressed, looking into other Av Comm models to buy.

  • By A Customer from Gilmer, TX. on Wednesday, December 02, 2009
  • Pros: Most bang for the buck!
  • Cons: NO problems thus far.
  • Review: Simple, inexpensive, clear, plenty of volume, and I love the deep tone of the talk back. Also own a set of Bose and David Clark. Use the Avcoms over the others 95% of the time. Never had any problems, like with David Clarks. Everyone that uses them likes the clarity and sound of their own voice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

All you need

  • By Tim from FL USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Review: Noise reduction and comfort comparable to significantly more expensive headsets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Astoria ny on Saturday, July 31, 2004
  • Review: I have found the AV COMM AV200 headset to be quite excellent. To be honest I also own a set of DAVID CLARK H10-30 and prefer to use the AV COMM.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent value!

  • By Ross Wood from Glendale Airport, AZ. on Tuesday, June 05, 2007
  • Pros: Comfortable, adjustable, great sound & good mike.
  • Cons: Mike foam cover tends to fall off
  • Review: I was somewhat leery of buying a headset that I wasn't familiar with, at a price less than half of what I payed for a David Clark. I was very pleasantly surprised, as was my flying companion, to find that the AVCOMM worked very well & I am very pleased with the performance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great for the price

  • By A Customer from USA on Tuesday, June 19, 2007
  • Review: Bought this product because I had to get my private for ATC school. I didn't want to spend to much money, but wanted an adequate headset for training. I would tell anyone to buy this product. So far its worked out great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrzej from Poland on Tuesday, October 02, 2007
  • Review: I'm student pilot and I just have started my way to PPL so for my experience ac200 are great. Sound is clear, ear seals good muffle noises ,light weight and cheap. I'm happy with them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrzej from Poland on Thursday, February 21, 2008
  • Review: I've written already about my experience with ac200 few post below. There's no changes.I don't have any reservations about it. I'm happy with them. The proof is that I've bought another one :) for my friend.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great product for student pilots

  • By Chris from Madison, MS USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Pros: good price, good build quality, good sound and mic quality, low background noise, comfortable
  • Cons: The mic has to be almost touching your mouth to pick up.
  • Review: I am a new pilot and this is my first headset so I don't have anything to compare it to. However, I can say that so far there have been no problems with it and it is comfortable even after long periods. Also, there are no difficulties in hearing and having others hear me. The fact that this is a low cost headset doesn't seem to affect its quality at all. After using this I can't understand why people spend upwards of $500 for headsets- they can't be that much better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Warbird Experience

  • By Wayne- Nanchang 01 Flieger Fuhrer from Auckland New Zealand on Monday, November 16, 2009
  • Pros: Looks great. Superb performance
  • Cons: Very expensive
  • Review: I fly a Nanchang Warbird and the noise level from the front cockpit if deafening as I am just a few feet from the 10 litre supercharged radial engine with no noise insulation. I have purchased a custom made helmit from http://www.campbellaeroclassics.com/ fitted with Avcomm avionics and find this superb. Very expensive but worth every cent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product

  • By Ronald from moselle MS USA on Monday, October 15, 2007
  • Pros: Cheap, good for trainers, excellent sound reduction, very good ear audio
  • Cons: Your own voice sounds bad in your headset
  • Review: I gave this headset a 4star.
    The listening quality is very good, I could not tell the difference from my instructor's headset and my headset when I got it.

    The Mic (with mic muff on) on the other hand sounded different.

    Without doing a full on test, it sounds like My voice in My headset is ... kinda static like sound, while my instructor tells me I sound good over his headset...

    The unit fits comfortably over my sunglasses for 2 hours without hurting or fatiguing my ears or face. The Sound reduction is extremely good in my opinion. Too good maybe... I can still hear the engine humming but that's it... no wind noise, no outside noise, nothing... very good in sound reduction.

    Don't let the low price scare you, this is a very good product for training pilots with low budget.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A cheap alternative

  • By Jack from Gainesville FL USA on Monday, January 25, 2010
  • Pros: Inexpensive, not uncomfortable to wear
  • Cons: the mic could be better
  • Review: This is a nice headset. Don't let the price fool you, it's well made and works like a charm. This headset fits my large head very snugly and doesn't squeeze your head like a vice. My only concern is the mic cuts out from time to time, but that's a very minor issue. Other than that, it's great. If your a student pilot on a budget, this is the headset for you!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, great price

  • By James from Morgan Hill CA USA on Sunday, May 18, 2008
  • Pros: price, loud and clear
  • Cons: none at this time
  • Review: Works well for a student pilot as a starter head set and will be great for a back up or for passengers.  I will most likly buy a couple more sets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value for the money

  • By Elizabeth from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, June 12, 2008
  • Review: Our 15 year old son reports that they fit very comforatably and are perfect while his is training to get his license. They work quite well. Loves having his own set and not having to borrow a pair from the school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Does what it is suposed to do.

  • By Wolf from Sacramento, CA on Wednesday, July 25, 2007
  • Pros: good price does what it says
  • Cons: Cord is a litle too short
  • Review: It works good. Sound is quality noise reduction is preaty good as well. Could use a slightly longer cord for convinience purposes...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset for friends

  • By PhantomAir from BJC on Monday, July 30, 2007
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: Wierd mic positioning
  • Review: I purchased this headset for passengers that ride with me. I personally haven't used it because I use the 900p, but it works great for what it is used for. I think the only drawback, is that my passengers have a tough time positioning the microphone directly in front of their mouth. It tends to be a little to the side and there's really nothing you can do about it, but other than that, it was $99.95 which is the cheapest price I found anywhere including the pilot shop where I fly out of.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

As good as a more exspensive headset I purchased previously

  • By A Customer from Glen Lyon, PA on Monday, August 06, 2007
  • Pros: Good clarity. Resonably priced. Comfortable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exceeded expections.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Elk Horn Ia on Wednesday, August 11, 2004
  • Review: Very good for the cost
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Desiree from Kiln MS USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: As advertised
  • Cons: no negatives
  • Review: Comfortable, works well, reasonable priced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By G. S. from Appleton, WI on Thursday, February 22, 2007
  • Pros: Good noise reduction, clear communications, comfortable for a very reasonable price.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good noise reduction, clear communications, comfortable for a very reasonable price. Much less clamping pressure than my QFR Solo headset. I bought 3 of these so that the entire family is covered when we fly together.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

AC200 HEADSET

  • By Phil J. on Tuesday, May 15, 2007
  • Review: THIS HEADSET WORKS CLEAR AND CRISP. I RATE IT A 4 BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED A 5.


    ENJOY,
    PHIL JANSON
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very good product

  • By Harry W Armstrong from Lyndonville NY on Saturday, May 19, 2007
  • Pros: Affordable
  • Cons:
  • Review: It has met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from West Windsor VT USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2008
  • Review: Met expectations. What an improvement over what I was using during my pilot training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By Howard from Tavernier FL USA on Monday, April 05, 2010
  • Pros: Value for cost
  • Cons: Wiring insulation deteriation over time
  • Review: The headset has met my expectations so far. Time will tell the story of its durability. I have owned the same model before. The weak point of the previous ones was the inability of the insulation on the wiring to withstand heat over time without deteriation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good buy

  • By A Customer from Pequea PA USA on Wednesday, July 23, 2008
  • Pros: light weight ,comfortable, nice volume
  • Cons: bit noisy for open cockpit
  • Review: Little noisey, works fine, great price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Lake Saint Louis MO USA on Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • Pros: inexpensive
  • Cons:
  • Review: Perfect backup headset or for passenger seats.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

avcomm AV 200

  • By n423jc from florida on Wednesday, November 19, 2008
  • Pros: Great for the money
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I've owned a set for over ten years, and often resorted to them when my Lightspeed 20k's batteries went dead or had to replace the oversized ear cushions. I find them very clear and very good noise reduction for a passive headset. The only problem I've had is the cord outer layer disintegrated, exposing the inner copper shielding. Will have to replace the cord.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect Student Headset

  • By A Customer from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • Pros: Inexpensive, durable, light
  • Cons: becomes very uncomfortable on long flights
  • Review: I bought this headset shortly after soloing in my student pilot days, and only after doing quite a bit of research. Back then I wasn't up for putting a lot of $$ into something other than rental time, so this seemed like a good option. I was very impressed by the sound quality of both the headphones and the electret mic. After a few flights, I spent another $20 on a pair of David Clark gel ear seals, and that really made the difference. Don't use this headset without them. The bad thing about the headset is that it can become VERY uncomfortable on cross-country flights, due to clamping pressure. I would advise students who will be flying lessons longer than an hour to spend a little more money on a nicer (possibly ANR) headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good Price, not the best

  • By Pipe from LV, NV on Thursday, December 06, 2007
  • Pros: Goood price
  • Cons: Uncofortable
  • Review: The price was excelent but after two hours of being on my head it was very uncofortable. I cant use them with my glasses.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works good for the price

  • By Eric from Sidney ME USA on Wednesday, July 08, 2009
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: voice distortion
  • Review: Voice clarity is just ok. Still for the price, I am happy with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

disappointed

  • By A Customer on Thursday, October 01, 2009
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: poor quality
  • Review: Headset is light & comfortable & sounds fine when it works. The one I recieved has a bad connection in the cord. The cord is junk and that's a shame because if it wasn't for that, I could recommend this product to anyone flying on a budget.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

You get what you pay for....

  • By A Customer from Long Beach, CA on Monday, August 06, 2007
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: low volume, poor quality sound.
  • Review: Volume is poor. Tonal quality is poor and tinny. When the volume is turned up on the radios, all you get is overmodulated noise that's unintelligible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.