TOP

AV COMM AC200 Headset

  • 34 Customer Reviews

Reviews for AV COMM AC200 Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:

Great product for student pilots

  • By Chris from Madison, MS USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Pros: good price, good build quality, good sound and mic quality, low background noise, comfortable
  • Cons: The mic has to be almost touching your mouth to pick up.
  • Review: I am a new pilot and this is my first headset so I don't have anything to compare it to. However, I can say that so far there have been no problems with it and it is comfortable even after long periods. Also, there are no difficulties in hearing and having others hear me. The fact that this is a low cost headset doesn't seem to affect its quality at all. After using this I can't understand why people spend upwards of $500 for headsets- they can't be that much better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Warbird Experience

  • By Wayne- Nanchang 01 Flieger Fuhrer from Auckland New Zealand on Monday, November 16, 2009
  • Pros: Looks great. Superb performance
  • Cons: Very expensive
  • Review: I fly a Nanchang Warbird and the noise level from the front cockpit if deafening as I am just a few feet from the 10 litre supercharged radial engine with no noise insulation. I have purchased a custom made helmit from http://www.campbellaeroclassics.com/ fitted with Avcomm avionics and find this superb. Very expensive but worth every cent.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from West Windsor VT USA on Tuesday, January 15, 2008
  • Review: Met expectations. What an improvement over what I was using during my pilot training.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A cheap alternative

  • By Jack from Gainesville FL USA on Monday, January 25, 2010
  • Pros: Inexpensive, not uncomfortable to wear
  • Cons: the mic could be better
  • Review: This is a nice headset. Don't let the price fool you, it's well made and works like a charm. This headset fits my large head very snugly and doesn't squeeze your head like a vice. My only concern is the mic cuts out from time to time, but that's a very minor issue. Other than that, it's great. If your a student pilot on a budget, this is the headset for you!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, great price

  • By James from Morgan Hill CA USA on Sunday, May 18, 2008
  • Pros: price, loud and clear
  • Cons: none at this time
  • Review: Works well for a student pilot as a starter head set and will be great for a back up or for passengers.  I will most likly buy a couple more sets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good value for the money

  • By Elizabeth from Jacksonville FL USA on Thursday, June 12, 2008
  • Review: Our 15 year old son reports that they fit very comforatably and are perfect while his is training to get his license. They work quite well. Loves having his own set and not having to borrow a pair from the school.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job

  • By Howard from Tavernier FL USA on Monday, April 05, 2010
  • Pros: Value for cost
  • Cons: Wiring insulation deteriation over time
  • Review: The headset has met my expectations so far. Time will tell the story of its durability. I have owned the same model before. The weak point of the previous ones was the inability of the insulation on the wiring to withstand heat over time without deteriation.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good buy

  • By A Customer from Pequea PA USA on Wednesday, July 23, 2008
  • Pros: light weight ,comfortable, nice volume
  • Cons: bit noisy for open cockpit
  • Review: Little noisey, works fine, great price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Lake Saint Louis MO USA on Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • Pros: inexpensive
  • Cons:
  • Review: Perfect backup headset or for passenger seats.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

avcomm AV 200

  • By n423jc from florida on Wednesday, November 19, 2008
  • Pros: Great for the money
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I've owned a set for over ten years, and often resorted to them when my Lightspeed 20k's batteries went dead or had to replace the oversized ear cushions. I find them very clear and very good noise reduction for a passive headset. The only problem I've had is the cord outer layer disintegrated, exposing the inner copper shielding. Will have to replace the cord.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect Student Headset

  • By A Customer from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • Pros: Inexpensive, durable, light
  • Cons: becomes very uncomfortable on long flights
  • Review: I bought this headset shortly after soloing in my student pilot days, and only after doing quite a bit of research. Back then I wasn't up for putting a lot of $$ into something other than rental time, so this seemed like a good option. I was very impressed by the sound quality of both the headphones and the electret mic. After a few flights, I spent another $20 on a pair of David Clark gel ear seals, and that really made the difference. Don't use this headset without them. The bad thing about the headset is that it can become VERY uncomfortable on cross-country flights, due to clamping pressure. I would advise students who will be flying lessons longer than an hour to spend a little more money on a nicer (possibly ANR) headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Elk Horn Ia on Wednesday, August 11, 2004
  • Review: Very good for the cost
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Desiree from Kiln MS USA on Monday, October 26, 2009
  • Pros: As advertised
  • Cons: no negatives
  • Review: Comfortable, works well, reasonable priced.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By G. S. from Appleton, WI on Thursday, February 22, 2007
  • Pros: Good noise reduction, clear communications, comfortable for a very reasonable price.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good noise reduction, clear communications, comfortable for a very reasonable price. Much less clamping pressure than my QFR Solo headset. I bought 3 of these so that the entire family is covered when we fly together.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

AC200 HEADSET

  • By Phil J. on Tuesday, May 15, 2007
  • Review: THIS HEADSET WORKS CLEAR AND CRISP. I RATE IT A 4 BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED A 5.


    ENJOY,
    PHIL JANSON
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Very good product

  • By Harry W Armstrong from Lyndonville NY on Saturday, May 19, 2007
  • Pros: Affordable
  • Cons:
  • Review: It has met my expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Does what it is suposed to do.

  • By Wolf from Sacramento, CA on Wednesday, July 25, 2007
  • Pros: good price does what it says
  • Cons: Cord is a litle too short
  • Review: It works good. Sound is quality noise reduction is preaty good as well. Could use a slightly longer cord for convinience purposes...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great headset for friends

  • By PhantomAir from BJC on Monday, July 30, 2007
  • Pros: Price
  • Cons: Wierd mic positioning
  • Review: I purchased this headset for passengers that ride with me. I personally haven't used it because I use the 900p, but it works great for what it is used for. I think the only drawback, is that my passengers have a tough time positioning the microphone directly in front of their mouth. It tends to be a little to the side and there's really nothing you can do about it, but other than that, it was $99.95 which is the cheapest price I found anywhere including the pilot shop where I fly out of.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

As good as a more exspensive headset I purchased previously

  • By A Customer from Glen Lyon, PA on Monday, August 06, 2007
  • Pros: Good clarity. Resonably priced. Comfortable.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Exceeded expections.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good product

  • By Ronald from moselle MS USA on Monday, October 15, 2007
  • Pros: Cheap, good for trainers, excellent sound reduction, very good ear audio
  • Cons: Your own voice sounds bad in your headset
  • Review: I gave this headset a 4star.
    The listening quality is very good, I could not tell the difference from my instructor's headset and my headset when I got it.

    The Mic (with mic muff on) on the other hand sounded different.

    Without doing a full on test, it sounds like My voice in My headset is ... kinda static like sound, while my instructor tells me I sound good over his headset...

    The unit fits comfortably over my sunglasses for 2 hours without hurting or fatiguing my ears or face. The Sound reduction is extremely good in my opinion. Too good maybe... I can still hear the engine humming but that's it... no wind noise, no outside noise, nothing... very good in sound reduction.

    Don't let the low price scare you, this is a very good product for training pilots with low budget.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.