TOP

Reviews for Headset adapter for ICOM, IC-A3, IC-A22, IC-A6, IC-A24, and IC-A14

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

A helpful addition on the airfield

  • By Tim from Columbus OH USA on Monday, December 07, 2015
  • Pros: Cut extraneous noise, improves productivity
  • Cons: Quality will depend on the headset
  • Review: Our project took us on the airfield where we knew it would be tough to hear communications from our transceiver. With this adapter, I was able to hear all aircraft communications and make our requests clearly to ground control with my existing Dave Clark headset.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ronald from Clare MI USA on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
  • Review: Works just like it is supposed to.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Marina, CA on Saturday, August 30, 2014
  • Review: Perfect fit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great!

  • By Brenda from Pendleton OR USA on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
  • Review: Peace of mind if com radio fails.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Aqwesome

  • By Hawkeye from Wickett TX USA on Thursday, April 23, 2015
  • Review: Love this this thing. Works perfect and quite convenient to use with my Icom radio in the air and on the ground.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was needing

  • By A Customer from Searcy AR USA on Monday, August 05, 2013
  • Review: Mine had too many years in the heat and cold. This was the exact replacement. Easy to find and buy. Good Stuff
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A flying necessity

  • By Thomas from Hampshire IL USA on Monday, November 10, 2008
  • Pros: Provides excellent communications with a hand-held radio.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This product is mandatory to transmit and receive from a hand-held radio while flying due to the noisy invironment. Interfacing the tranceiver with my headset allows perfect noise-free clarity of communications.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By jose from frisco TX USA on Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product. A must for handheld radio.

  • By Steve from Raymond MS USA on Wednesday, November 09, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to attach and use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: A great product . Makes your handheld perform like your com radio in plane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Headset adapter for ICOM A-14

  • By Ron from St. Louis, MO on Thursday, November 10, 2011
  • Pros: Works great.
  • Cons: NO problems.
  • Review: Worked just fine. Price was best I could find anywhere.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By RENE from GUAYNABO PR USA on Wednesday, June 15, 2011
  • Pros: All
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great Quality!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Bill from Rockville centre NY USA on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: Well made quality product.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Item has met my expectations. Well made of quality materials and works great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great accessary

  • By Debbie from Brick NJ USA on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
  • Pros: I can leave it plugged into my radio for quick comm in an emergency or in my friends Champ that has no electricity.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great for emergencies! I added the push to talk and it's like using the plane comm system.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Daniel from Marina CA USA on Monday, September 30, 2013
  • Pros: Full charge last for weeks.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great replacement, much more powerful than the original.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works

  • By Richard from Plainfield IL USA on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Diego from San Jose CA USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Review: I lost the original that came with the radio (A24), this appears to be the same. Good price at this store.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worked as advertised

  • By Herman from Monroeville NJ USA on Wednesday, October 21, 2015
  • Pros: Great value for the price
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I bought this to replace other cords that failed. This worked good and I'm pleased.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Headset Radio Adapter

  • By Matt from Niagara Falls NY USA on Thursday, July 30, 2020
  • Pros: Excellent
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Worked perfectly on my IC-A3 radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as it should!

  • By Michael from Hubbard OH USA on Friday, December 30, 2016
  • Pros: pnp
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I use this with my ICOM IC-A14 radio. Works great
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

As Expected

  • By Gary from Las Vegas NV USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Pros: It works
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Met my expectations. Plugged it in and it worked.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Headset Adapter ICOM IC-A6

  • By A Customer from Grand Prairie TX USA on Thursday, February 21, 2019
  • Pros: Works as advertised
  • Cons: doesn't come with a set of winning loto numbers
  • Review: Decent price for what you get. No regrets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Headset adapter works will

  • By Jackson the Aeronca Chief pilot from Leesburg VA USA on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
  • Pros: works perfectly
  • Cons:
  • Review: I acquired an iCom transceiver wired into my newly acquired Aeronca Chief. This adapter allows me us use the transceiver outside the airplane in handheld fashion.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful device!

  • By A Customer from K3J7 on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Pros: Functional
  • Cons: None
  • Review: The 5 star rating is based on initial testing. It allowed clear emergency comm using the Icom handheld radio and my noise canceling headset. I recommend this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ken from Breaux Bridge LA USA on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
  • Review: Very nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly as advertised. Quick, competent service, great experience, I'll be back!

  • By Kent, Sport Pilot from Utah on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
  • Review: Perfect match for what I needed. Instantly put my DC headset back in business.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

just right

  • By firestar kel from elmhurst IL USA on Tuesday, May 12, 2009
  • Pros: easy to use, very well made
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It did exactaly what i expected it to do.  For that it deserves a positive review.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

works fine

  • By Filiberto from Camargo Chihuahua Mexico on Friday, October 05, 2007
  • Pros: works very well
  • Cons: kind of big
  • Review: works very well connecting the radio to my helicopter helmet
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Joseph from Fountain Valley CA USA on Monday, June 23, 2014
  • Pros: Works great.
  • Cons: Wiring insulation not long lived.
  • Review: Product works as advertised. Had an occasion to use it when on-board radios would not transmit. Yes, both would receive but not transmit.

    The only complaint I have is: The wiring insulation ages quickly and breaks off exposing the shield. The adapter still works, but with the insulation cracked and gone, the wiring shield becomes easily damaged.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By PAUL from CORNELL WI USA on Monday, September 20, 2010
  • Pros: In stock ready to ship
  • Cons: difficult to find in catalog
  • Review: Professional appearance and functioned without a flaw. I had difficulty locating this item in your catalog.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gabriele from Perugia Italy on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Review: Very useful and practice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works fine, but needs attaching clip

  • By Michael from Reno NV USA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
  • Pros: works great
  • Cons: needs attaching clip, like original ICOMs had, so it won't separate from the radio.
  • Review: Product works fine, and ordering was easy. Shipment arrived in a timely manner.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good excepr for one thing.

  • By James from South San Francisco CA USA on Sunday, December 13, 2015
  • Review: Works good and as expected.   Only complaint is that when plugged into radio cords go upwards instead of downwards which would be more prefered.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Medford NJ USA on Wednesday, August 02, 2017
  • Pros: good pricing
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Reasonably priced and it works.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Feedback with Boswell headset

  • By Alan Eckert from Santa Fe, NM on Wednesday, January 09, 2013
  • Pros: Works fine on receive
  • Cons: Beware of RF feedback with cheap headsets
  • Review: The first time I used this with my Boswell headset, I got a feedback squeal when I attempted a radio check with the local control tower. One of my CFIs tried it with his higher-quality headset and had no problems. MyPilotStore suggested twisting the headset cord 2-3 times around the antenna, and indeed if you twist the cord tightly around the base of the antenna, it seems to work. Now, the Boswell headset is inexpensively built, and I suspect the headset cords are not insulated at all or poorly insulated. I see another user had this problem and used ferrite beads. Perhaps I'll try that. In any case, beware this problem, especially with inexpensive headsets and the ICOM unit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

not bad, just not as advertised...

  • By don from Long Island NY USA on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
  • Pros: works as it should
  • Cons: junky connectors
  • Review: Works fine, though connectors were obviously made by the lowest bidder. connectors are bigger than they need to be and have exposed screws. should not have been advertised as the Icom adapter, but rather a lower-priced alternative.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I had to replace the original part

  • By Wayne from Georgetown TX USA on Thursday, October 18, 2012
  • Review: An identical item came with the Icom A-24. It worked for a couple of years, then became intermittent and finally quite working. After considerable effort, the fault was found to be in the headset adapter, not in the radio or the headset. Since this is a simple wiring connector it is difficult how it can become inoperative with no broken wires.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Sturdy cable, Needs PTT

  • By mike from springdale AR USA on Friday, October 02, 2009
  • Review: By itself this won't work with your headset. They should just go ahead and put a PTT switch on it. Be sure to buy the PTT switch, also.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

upsidedown

  • By william from Clearlake CA USA on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
  • Pros: It does connect the head set and ptt button.
  • Cons: difficult to use in my application
  • Review: Mechanically and electrically the adapter is fine. However to use the adaptor in my application it is made the wrong way over. I require the wires to point to the bottom of the radio not at the antenna. In my application this make it difficult to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

High price for what it is.

  • By RV3 Ghost Rider from White Heath IL USA on Monday, November 09, 2015
  • Pros: functions as designed
  • Cons: Adapter wire is too thin, stress and strain relief insufficient.
  • Review: My pilot store as this product listed cheapest for 2015 in comparison to everybody else online, you can't beat the deal.

    $40 seems a bit high priced for Icom adapter cord, especially considering that it's not made heavy duty and not well-suited for a cockpit environment Where cords are yanked it pulled on every flight.

    Having said that there are absolutely no problems with the cord it functions as designed.

    Shipping was prompt checkout was easy.

    In summary nothing wrong with the cord works just fine shipping was fast but I give it three stars I just think the cord could provide better stress and strain relief and wire could actually be a little bit heavier duty Considering spending $40.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

necessary piece of "adapt"

  • By A Customer from appleton WI USA on Sunday, October 25, 2009
  • Review: I find it does not maintain a good connection when pluged into my ICOM A14. Walking around my shop just testing it, it will break contact at times. I have not tested it in the outside envirnment of my powered parachute yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Needs to have Ferrite beads installed

  • By Michael from Renton WA USA on Wednesday, January 25, 2012
  • Pros: Easy of use and installation
  • Cons: allows radio transmission feedback to enter the radio.
  • Review: Although the form and fit are great, the function leaves a lot to be desired. Using the remote PTT switch only induces a high frequency squeal over the radio and headset. ICOM suggested the use of a ferrite bead in a couple of locations but I found that ineffective. I ended up using three ferrite beads along the length of the adapter from the radio to the headphone/microphone breakout. This solved the problem completely. ICOM knows about it but I think they should be using shielded cable for the adapter or use built in ferrite beads to eliminate the feedback issue. Once I applied the three ferrite beads, the adapter works like a charm. If you don't have the ferrite beads, it's pretty much useless when being used with the remote PTT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very cheaply constructed; intermittent connection

  • By Timothy from N Providence RI USA on Tuesday, October 11, 2011
  • Pros: Direct adaptor for using Icom radio with headset.
  • Cons: Poor construction
  • Review: The mic jack would only work when squeezed. Radio Shack has better quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.