TOP

Reviews for Logitech Saitek Pro X-56 HOTAS RGB Flight Controller

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Flight Stick

  • By Eagles one from Newport News VA USA on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Pros: Best Flight stick I ever used.
  • Cons: Needs time to break in, stiff out of the box.
  • Review: I am upgrading from the X52, the X56 is like night and day. It makes Elite Dangerous even better. More than enough controls for anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 22 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

FSX 2020 & X56

  • By A Customer from Folsom CA USA on Tuesday, October 20, 2020
  • Pros: Nice feel and many control options. FS 2020 comes configured for the X56
  • Cons: Both the stick and throttle need to be mounted to keep them from moving during game play.
  • Review: The X56 works extremely well with Microsoft FS 2020. The large number of switches, hats, and other controls provide great options, minimizing the need to reach for the mouse or keyboard. The throttle quadrant is smooth with the right amount of resistance. The multiple spring option on the stick allows for excellent resistance. My previous stick was much too stiff.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

OMG YES

  • By daniel from Houma LA USA on Tuesday, January 02, 2018
  • Pros: everything
  • Cons: Taking off the spring case was little tough
  • Review: Well I upgraded from a Logitech 3d pro joystick to this, and OMG THIS THING IS SO GREAT!  I had to use the red spring so I could get it to be a little stronger on the feed back. But all in all this x56 rhino set up is awesome, and don't say there is not enough buttons for your hands because there are plenty. This thing is very easy to work with and once you get use to it, its really fun and great to have.  I play Elite Dangerous with it and love it.  It's a little on the pricy side but like they say you get what you pay for. Simple as that.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 11 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome except for one thing...

  • By Dan from Stewartstown PA USA on Tuesday, October 20, 2020
  • Pros: Fast, clean, a million buttons and knobs
  • Cons: Twisting (yaw) on the stick is horrible.
  • Review: This thing has me flying like a pro now after flying with an xbox controller. Seriously... I didn't realize how good I was until I could actually control the plane...

    With that said... One major flaw. The twist spring for the stick is so strong I think I'm going to break the stick off. So I move rudder trim and nosewheel tiller to one of the million knobs on the throttle.

    Plus I heard the twist spring can break it. So elected not to use it at all.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A very good HOTAS

  • By Steve from Lake Forest CA USA on Thursday, February 22, 2018
  • Pros: Attractive design, seems well built
  • Cons: I had problems with the software and stopped using it.
  • Review: Overall, it meets my expectations. I like the placement of most of the buttons. I can reach everything easily. Small hands might disagree. The build quality seems good and I hope the X-56 lasts a few years.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Upgrade for an older Flight Controller

  • By SHT on Thursday, June 18, 2020
  • Pros: Multiple keys/switches/hats, dual throttles, solid construction great price.
  • Cons: None, if you're upgrading.
  • Review: Went beyond my expectations, after upgrading from a T-1600M, it's like night and day. I don't know why I waited so long to get this product. You can't go wrong buying this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By R from Rochester NY USA on Wednesday, April 28, 2021
  • Pros: You just cant fly without one. I couldn't do diddly with an Xbox controller and now, since using this HOTAS, I'm an ace.
  • Cons: Cost, but if you can afford it it is worth it
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

solid through and through

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, July 28, 2020
  • Pros: progamable for elite dangerous horizons
  • Cons:
  • Review: Feels better mounted in place obviously lacked weight . which is not something oyu want in a product your producing or shipping but a few books or a stop at the hard where store is great get going.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

X-52 upgrade

  • By A Customer from Napa CA USA on Sunday, March 07, 2021
  • Pros: 1. Variable Spring tensions 2. Programmability
  • Cons: - -
  • Review: Bought this as an upgrade to the X-52 pro. Because of the ability to easily replace the spring with the various tensions options. I also bought additional springs for future needs. I've always like their Profiler app, and the programable custom curves features make it works even better.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

90% Awesome

  • By James C from Sheridan CO, USA on Saturday, September 17, 2016
  • Pros: Tons of button assignments. Very customisable.
  • Cons: Problems right out of the box. Over-priced
  • Review: This controller has more buttons, switches, and rotary controls than you could assign. Right out of the box there was a problem with the twisting control of the joystick. It is 15 degrees off center(to the right side) and I have not been able to fix this. I was able to skirt the problem by increasing the dead zone but you shouldn't have to do this with something this expensive when its brand new. The other issue I have is that the supplied riser for the joystick does not raise your hand enough so reaching the top hat switches can not be reached without re-positioning your hand each time. There are many reports of problems with the throttle assembly but I have had no issues with it yet. Overall I like the controller. Just wish I could fix the joystick, it really tarnishes this product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 19 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Best HOTAS I've ever owned!

  • By A Customer from Garner NC USA on Wednesday, October 05, 2016
  • Pros: Sensitive. Lots of options. Alot of options for macros.
  • Cons: "sticky" throttle
  • Review: Great product with an amazing sensitivity. The stick part is very sensitive, which I like. The freedom of motion is amazing. It also has a lot of buttons which is really useful. The throttle can be split for multiple inputs. The only downside is how "sticky" the throttle seems
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 13 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product, no complaints, except $.

  • By A Customer from McKinney TX USA on Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Pros: solid, but pricey
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good product, no complaints, except $.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.

Strange color design on both joystick and throttle

  • By David from Israel on Friday, August 12, 2016
  • Pros: Many options for defining functions
  • Cons: Paint joy
  • Review: I just got it here is Israel yesterday.
    First impression was I got a faulty unit due to poor paint job.after checking the saitek website and other sites I saw it is designed like that.
    Call me old school,but it looks very bad in my eyes.
    Now to the unit itself.very easy to program and lots of buttons an sliders.changed a spring today and had problems putting parts back.but read the PDF manual and it helped.
    I had the X65 for some years now and wanted to step up.
    Looks and feels very nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great stick, disappointing quality control.

  • By A Customer from Portage, IN on Tuesday, October 06, 2020
  • Pros: Buttons, looks, software is just okay.
  • Cons: Quality control, Logitech support is shady.
  • Review: Tons of buttons and it looks sharp as heck. The programmable software is fairly straight forward if a bit lacking compared to other sticks software.

    However for $250 it's a bit disappointing that the quality control issues are still present considering this is a second iteration, even third if you consider it an evolution of the X55 as well.

    The stick does have a bit of slop in the center which I had to cancel out by setting a small deadzone in the software, not a big deal really. Unfortunately the lower limit of the axes on the joystick do not match the range of motion of the physical movement of the stick. What I mean by that is when I move the stick to the left the X axis value reaches 0 while the stick has another inch of movement. Same goes for moving the stick up, but that one is only about a quarter inch of movement after the Y axis bottoms out.

    For the upper limits it works as expected. When I push the stick to the end of its range of motion it's just shy of the maximum axis value, then when I push a little harder on it it will max out.

    I will also add that Logitech, despite being a well known brand, have a very shady support reputation. I registered my stick, but it's not showing under my products on my profile. I entered a ticket, but still haven't received a reply a few days later.

    It's a nice stick, just be prepared for a possible RMA as the quality control is disappointing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than some worse than others.

  • By CatFish 911 from Ft. Hood, TX USA on Wednesday, April 27, 2022
  • Pros: 2 section Throttle Handel comes in handy for planes which have 1 engine for Prop Control or Mixture Control
  • Cons:
  • Review: I wish there was a few more switches on the throttle base so I could add things like Flaps, Gear, Speed Brake/air brake etc. there instead of having them on the Throttle side of the setup.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.