TOP

ASA VFR Kneeboard

  • 126 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA VFR Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

SIMPLE AND PERFECT

  • By Joe from New York NY USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: As a low time student pilot, I did not want to invest in a tri-fold kneeboard. I am just looking for something inexpensive to hold my checklist, map and ATIS sheets. This board fits the bill. No bells and whistles. It is exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does exactly what it's meant to do

  • By Paul from Collinsville IL USA on Monday, May 23, 2016
  • Pros: Comfortable and light
  • Cons: Strap is a little short, would have liked a plastic buckle.
  • Review: I bought it to hold documents to a hard surface, strapped to my leg. This board does exactly that, and has a handy reference sheet on the face of it.

    The strap can be switched to move the pen holder, which was handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

My first kneeboard

  • By Gary from Venice FL USA on Friday, February 05, 2016
  • Pros: Good basic info for the student and experienced alike
  • Cons: Can't think of any
  • Review: East to attach. Practical size.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and useful

  • By A Customer from Mount Juliet TN USA on Friday, October 10, 2014
  • Pros: Simple and small. Doesn't interfere with cockpit controls or movement of legs.
  • Cons:
  • Review: For the cost its a great and simple tool to have. I'm a student pilot and having this thing makes a wold of difference in writing down notes form ATC, ATIS, whatever. Its handy in keeping airport diagrams, small charts, and checklists right at your lap. After my first lesson it was very clear I needed something to write on and keep papers from falling/blowing around the cockpit and keep a pen near by, now its priceless. Also has handy info printed on it.

    Once I start cross-country I imagine i'd want something that folds open for charts but for learning maneuvers and flying in and out of class C airspace its perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well

  • By Sean from Lehigh Acres FL USA on Saturday, April 20, 2019
  • Pros: Compatible with my large size. Rugged
  • Cons: None so far
  • Review: When this arrived, it was bent. I used the online DM for mypilotstore and after a 5 minute conversation and some email pics they sent me another one.
    It arrived in perfect condition. I am a big guy, 6'4" and 305lbs. The strap fits my fat thigh fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good for beginners

  • By David from Banning CA USA on Wednesday, March 09, 2016
  • Review: As a new person into flying, this product did its job getting me started but now that I have been flying for awhile, I need to upgrade to the kneeboard with the pockets.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I recommend it to other flyers

  • By A Customer from Alexandria VA USA on Monday, January 25, 2016
  • Pros: Stays tight on your thigh and you can use on either leg.
  • Cons: could use morte places to hold pencils, pens, etc. If you drop one, you would have another
  • Review: I had no kneeboard before, so this one greatly satisfied my need to keep charts and papers organized and ready for use.
    All the data on the base board, common use info, morse code phonetic alphabet, radio frequencies, etc are very helpful. NOTE: this is from a report from my 17 yr old grandson who is getting ready to get his license.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Would buy again

  • By Mark from Clifton Park NY USA on Wednesday, December 09, 2015
  • Review: Perfect product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple, but effective.

  • By Harve from Colleyville TX USA on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
  • Pros: Light. Compact. Strong.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This product does everything I need a kneeboard to do, yet is light and compact. It did slip around a bit until I glued two strips of the soft part of velcro tape on the reverse side. Works great now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By Perry from Saint Louis MO USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Pros: straight-forward, handy, easy to use, well-made
  • Cons: nothing
  • Review: This is a great product! I bought it to have something to use when I write down ATIS data, and other ATC instructions. It works well, attaches easily, and remains in place. A plus, is all the data found on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By tom from Kingman AZ USA on Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Review: Good product, easy to use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as intended

  • By John from Cleveland OH USA on Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • Pros:
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Well constructed and works as you'd expect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, July 07, 2016
  • Review: Nothing beats the classic. Durable and high quality, too.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfect

  • By A Customer from Glendale AZ USA on Tuesday, July 19, 2016
  • Pros: It works as stated
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: Met expectations
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By A Customer from Newport News VA USA on Wednesday, April 25, 2018
  • Pros: It has a large amount of info needed for VFR flight. The info is well organized on the clipboard, easy to read.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Great item at a great price. Has a lot of useful info on it for anyone flying VFR.I would recommend this to anyone needing a kneeboard for flying.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Midland TX USA on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Review: Bought this for my student pilot daughter. She had been using a small notebook in which she used paper clips to separate info, but now she loves this item. Watch it closely to keep the into presented upon it current.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By John from Cumming, GA on Monday, June 30, 2014
  • Review: This vfr kneeboard is great. light weight metal and easy to read. I have large thighs and the elastic strap fits me fine. the spring on the clipboard holds well and is not hard to lift. excellent for a training school kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Meets Expectations

  • By Morgan from Lincoln NE USA on Monday, June 18, 2012
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Kneeboard!

  • By Chris from Van Nuys CA USA on Tuesday, August 07, 2012
  • Pros: Compact compared to the fold-out size
  • Cons: Wish there were a pen/pencil holder on the kneeboard itself, not the strap
  • Review: Keeps charts, notepad, etc carefully put, without slipping off my lap. Great info on the kneeboard itself, too. Perfect size, not too big, not too small. I highly recommend it to any pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Still happy with the purchase, even after 5 years

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, June 23, 2020
  • Pros: Sturdy
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It does what is supposed to do: keep your check list and sectional attached to your lap. It is sturdy and the elastic band is still working the same as first day. I've had it for 5 years now.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just What I Needed

  • By Caitlin from New York, NY USA on Saturday, October 12, 2013
  • Pros: Light, easy to put in bag
  • Cons: Cold on skin
  • Review: Light weight, easy to fit in my flight bag. It fits nicely around my leg, I didn't realize there was a pen holder and haven't tried that yet. The con for me, wearing this with a skirt it can be cold against my skin at first, but warms up after a bit. It stays perfectly in place for me.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great item for fisheen

  • By Larry from Devils Lake ND USA on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
  • Review: Love it. I use it to hold my trolling motor remote control in place on my leg so I have both hands available to fish.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good design

  • By Morris from Moss Point MS USA on Thursday, January 09, 2014
  • Pros: added features
  • Cons: none
  • Review: This was a good quality purchase
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's just what I need

  • By William from Kings Mountain NC USA on Thursday, March 27, 2014
  • Review: Little but big enough to do what you need to do I like it perfect for training
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By A Customer from El Cajon CA USA on Saturday, October 12, 2019
  • Review: Just what I needed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A MUST piece of equipment

  • By A Customer from Birmingham AL USA on Monday, February 28, 2011
  • Pros: Lightweight yet large enough to provide an ample writing area
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a piece of equipment that every pilot should have. You never have to worry about where your pen or pencil is and everything falling to the floor.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great board!!!

  • By A Customer from Doral FL USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: Sturdy little board..not bulky but not petit
  • Cons: Nothing
  • Review: Well you see I bought the board for my cross country routes and I needed a surface to write and to hang on my papers for fuel flow control etc... Also, I bouhgt the board because it had the light signals in case of a radio failure........

    On my last route day I had a radio failure and needed to land using the light signas which of course due to stress I forgot!! But then remembered the board had them and used them to follow instructions from the tower.......THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good simple tool

  • By A Customer from Fallbrook CA USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
  • Pros: Simple, thin and strong binder clip.
  • Cons: No pen holder, but I've never had one that works well anyway
  • Review: This kneeboard was exactly what I wanted, a good, simple no-frills product. It is thin, sits flat against the thigh and is held securely by the strap. The spring clip is strong enough to actually hold things in place. The info listed on the board is useful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product!!!

  • By Sheldon from Cincinnati OH USA on Monday, May 09, 2011
  • Pros: Inexpensive, durable, long lasting
  • Cons: maybe a better pen/pencil holder could be desired
  • Review: This is a great Kneeboard! I've had the same one for almost five years, with thousands of hours of use. I purchased these to sell in my flight school because they are very good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for student pilots

  • By andrew from hackensack NJ USA on Thursday, October 07, 2010
  • Pros: light weight, good strong clip, doesn't take up a lot of room.
  • Cons: no fancy pockets for e6b or charts
  • Review: Student pilot - Kneeboard works great. meets all my expectation and gets the job done without cluttering up the cockpit. Currently holds my TAC and Sectional and scrap paper while I fly.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Matt from Fall City WA USA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
  • Pros: Good value
  • Cons: None
  • Review: What I wanted in a kneeboard was: something sturdy that will stay put on my leg, take abuse well and still look good, hold my sectional map and flight plan, and be reasonably priced. This board does all of that, and is great bang for the buck. I am pleased with the purchase.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Small, light, and does the job

  • By Paul from Loma Linda CA USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Pros: Inexpensive, small, light
  • Cons:
  • Review: The aluminum kneeboard has adjustable velcro straps, to fit almost any size leg. It has pertinent VFR information printed on its face. The clip is big enough to hold a fairly decent size pad, or a few nav logs and a pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What you see is what you get, economical aluminum clip board.

  • By Keith from Katy TX USA on Tuesday, August 23, 2011
  • Pros: Light weight, stays in place in use. Economical.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Easy to carry and does what it should do. Will hold a couple of sectionals and notes. Pen loop could be a little bigger but it works with narrow pen or pencil size.   Quality looks fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Ideal for both newcomers and senior pilots

  • By rufino from Utuado, PR USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
  • Pros: Easy to secure / attach any paperwork, for the flight, i.e. flight log, map, etc.
  • Cons: May need to relocate the velcro in the strap, if you're an skinny guide.
  • Review: Made of very light material but strong at the same time, and an appropriate size which do not becomes an interference in the cockpit.  A very affordable price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Useful tool

  • By michal from santa fe NM USA on Wednesday, April 13, 2011
  • Pros: Good size,has some useful basic information printed on.I am strarting my XC flight training and it is very helpful.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Met all my expectations and needs.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product

  • By A Customer from Atlanta GA USA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
  • Review: Cheap and effective. The only con is the pencil hole which then again isn't very bad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Canandaigua NY USA on Monday, November 08, 2010
  • Pros: Light weight
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just the right size not to bulky
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product agan

  • By Larry Jones from Ogden UT USA on Saturday, December 04, 2010
  • Pros: gives a good stable writing surface and keeps a pencil handy.
  • Cons:
  • Review: This prduct is as I expected too be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and Useful

  • By Brian from Stanford CA USA on Sunday, December 26, 2010
  • Review: It works great... just as expected.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Andrew from Hackensack, NJ on Saturday, September 04, 2010
  • Review: Great VFR kneeboard. Worth every penny.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Travis from Placerville, CA on Sunday, June 13, 2010
  • Review: I use this on a day to day basis. Sits where it's supposed to, isn't too bulky, but isn't too small to write on.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By A Customer from Gainesville Florida USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Review: Great product for students
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for the application

  • By KIP from LONGVIEW TX USA on Wednesday, July 07, 2010
  • Pros: safer while driving and taking notes or instructions
  • Cons: there really aren't any
  • Review: I am not a pilot but do a lot of traveling around. I do about 90% of my business on my cell phone which is linked up with my blue tooth hands free on my chevy truck. I am left handed so jotting notes has been a real problem. The kneeboard is perfect for my business and application. I highly recommend this product for any similar applications
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

does exactly what I wanted

  • By Mike from Paso Robles CA USA on Monday, February 21, 2011
  • Review: Actually wanted to have something "quick" to attach (and hold firmly) an IPAD if I don't have my RAM IPAD yoke mount along with me.......and this works well in that capacity.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great

  • By A Customer from Nevada on Thursday, October 22, 2009
  • Pros: Simple and complete
  • Cons: none
  • Review: For a simple kneeboard this is great. It is small, stays on your leg with adjustable velcro, has a pencil holder, and all the important basics for VFR navigation on the board itself. Plus, the clip opens wide enough for your flight plans/log, a sectional, and a notepad, plus more.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I AM GLAD I DIDN'T WAIT FOR SANTA TO ARRIVE WITH THIS!!

  • By Airman Bob from Irvine CA USA on Tuesday, April 30, 2013
  • Pros: The information etched on the knee-board is very helpful
  • Cons: NONE
  • Review: This product was exactly what I needed and met my expectations, as I find the configuration perfect for my flying needs. The elastic band fits snug around my knee. I did not need to make any adjustments. I considered purchasing a knee-board with a wider writing area, but as a student pilot this serves my needs at this juncture.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I like it

  • By Robert and his Stinson from Sun City AZ on Monday, August 10, 2020
  • Pros: My profile is simple VFR in severe clear conditions. I like the durability of metal, I like what's printed on it for ready reference, and I like the size.
  • Cons: I removed the leg strap because I like to set set the kneeboard aside during take off, landing, and turbulence. Like most planes I fly with a yoke it interferes with "controls free and correct". This is not a compliant as it is a fact of life and I insist on full control freedom especially during take off and landing.
  • Review: This kneeboard meets all my requirements, which are few.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Paying it forward

  • By John from Oshkosh WI USA on Friday, January 01, 2021
  • Pros: Wide Velcro strap
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Sturdy kneeboard with a wide Velcro strap. Can't praise the wide strap enough. Some boards come with narrow straps making for a flimsy application.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

New to Flying...

  • By Sean P. A. Williams from Humble TX USA on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
  • Pros: stylish!
  • Cons: None...
  • Review: I am new to flying and I have no review for this product...maybe in the future!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It works well

  • By Benson from West Richland WA USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
  • Pros: Works well for my needs
  • Cons:
  • Review: I use it to hold my check list and flight information sheets. It beats sticking them in the pocket by the door or up on top of the dash. It keeps them handy and easy to find. It is quite inexpensive for the convenience it provides.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good, useful info imbedded to aluminum board

  • By George B from Neptune NJ USA on Monday, October 28, 2013
  • Review: Does what it's supposed to. Probably will not hold all of the sheets a pilot would have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Clarkesville GA USA on Friday, February 02, 2018
  • Review: Great price, quick shipping. It seems to be quite sturdy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not used for aviation.

  • By James from Bastrop TX USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Solid platform, very good leg strap.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Wife uses for school bus driving to make notes on names, times, addresses, etc.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

I would buy this product again

  • By A Customer from Nogales, AZ on Friday, November 30, 2018
  • Review: Strong & cool, great price & worthy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By A Customer from Bremerton WA USA on Monday, October 08, 2018
  • Pros: Really helps to keep information at your fingertips
  • Cons:
  • Review: It worked exactly as needed
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

More than I expected...

  • By JC Finch from Sturgis, Michigan on Friday, April 13, 2007
  • Pros: Fits on leg well.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent references printed on the aluminum backboard which are clean and easy to view. Clipboard spring is strong and easy to operate during flight. Velcro holds kneeboard well. This product is a great value.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excelent Product

  • By Richard Schwartz from Mc Henry MD USA on Wednesday, November 07, 2007
  • Pros: Durable, well-priced
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just right for a small cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellant product

  • By from Stafford, VA on Wednesday, August 29, 2007
  • Pros: As stated above, the kneeboard fills al my requirements for storage and a surface to write upon.
  • Cons: The only con is that I didn't get it before now!!
  • Review: The kneeboard is perfect for my needs. I use it every time I get into my airplane.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Practical kneeboard that does the job

  • By Frank from Plano TX USA on Monday, January 26, 2009
  • Pros: Sturdy, right size, comfortable to wear
  • Cons: None for an economical kneeboard
  • Review: The ASA kneeboard is sturdy and about the right size with a comfortable leg strap with Velcro closure. It's large enough to hold a folded Sectional and a flight log. It also has notes on VFR cruising altitudes, weather minimums, light gun signals, common VHF comm frequencies, special equipment suffixes and an FAA Flight Plan diagram. Student pilots should find this helpful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent item for pilots

  • By Gwen J from Lawrenceville GA USA on Thursday, February 07, 2008
  • Pros: Compact and effecient
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I bought this item for my son, who is taking private lessons and he said he didn't know how he went without it so long! It really helps him with his notes in such a confined area.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I like it

  • By David from Sarver PA USA on Saturday, April 19, 2008
  • Pros: Works like expected
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Works well. Really not much can change on this.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from gloucester MA USA on Sunday, August 17, 2008
  • Pros: solid construction,
  • Cons: strap is really bad
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

very good

  • By Joel from Albuquerque NM USA on Wednesday, October 08, 2008
  • Review: Met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A good kneeboard

  • By Mark from Milwaukee WI USA on Sunday, October 26, 2008
  • Pros: Not too big or small, wide velcro strap
  • Cons: None
  • Review: It's about the right size. Doesn't interfere with the stick. The velcro strap is wide enough to keep it in place comfortably without it sliding around. Printing on the board is clear.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect for the price

  • By Rebecca from Durham NC USA on Monday, May 04, 2009
  • Review: Simple, inexpensive kneeboard, perfect for new pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

"Great" Kneeboard!

  • By Terry from Winter Haven FL USA on Wednesday, May 13, 2009
  • Review: Strong clip, Wide strap, Super information, photo engraved on the board, Economically priced!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

light in weight

  • By Vivian from Pflugerville texas USA on Monday, June 01, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: durable and light
  • Review: Lightweight.  All VFR information in the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By James from Pleasanton CA USA on Thursday, June 04, 2015
  • Review: I love the fact that you have replaced the hook on the end on an elastic band with a velcro leg strap.

    I think that there should be two pencil/pen holders. Just in case you drop one!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for a student pilot

  • By A Customer from Ignacio CO USA on Thursday, May 26, 2011
  • Pros: Simple to use, helpful info printed on the board
  • Cons: Could use another pencil holder
  • Review: Good initial purchase for a student pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great

  • By James from Melvindale MI USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Well built. Good price
  • Cons: Not enough velcro for skinny legs
  • Review: I bought this kneeboard to use for my job as a vehicle performance test driver. Being able to hold my cheat sheets and directions is very important and this kneeboard does it perfectly. My only complaint is that the velcro is only on the last 3 inches of both straps and is generally sized for someone with bigger thighs than I have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I expected

  • By Owen from Carbondale IL USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review: Overall, it meets my expectations. Velcro strap is secure and comfortable, but does slide around a little bit. The clamp is strong to hold my various charts and papers. However, I wish there was a good place to put my pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for writing notes at the telescope

  • By Charles from Dyersburg TN USA on Thursday, May 07, 2015
  • Pros: lightweight and strudy
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The knee board makes writing observation notes easy while sitting at a telescope. Also, you can clip sky charts on it for quick observation and locating celestial objects..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Colonial Beach VA USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: I like the elastic strap. It is a little long for my leg size.. I had to tie a knot in the strap to shorten it.
  • Cons: AN ADJUSTABLE STRAP WOULD HAVE MADE IT A MUCH BETTER PRODUCT
  • Review: Nice product. I like the information printed on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gary from Groveland FL USA on Sunday, March 25, 2012
  • Pros: Great for it's size. Can still pile a lot of info on it.
  • Cons: Doesn't accommodate all I would like to have in front of me.
  • Review: Great compact kneeboard. Top Flight 8"x5" pads purchable at most any major supermarket fits perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

does the trick

  • By Larry from Missouri City TX USA on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Pros: highly recomend
  • Cons: more adjustibility on straps
  • Review: I used my new kneeboard for the first time 2 days ago. It did the trick. I was able to keep and have the info that i needed during my vfr flight at my finger tips. Not having to reach to the other seat or behind me for maps and notes made concentrating on where I was headed and other planes that might be in my area a lot easier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Wayne from Stillwater, MN on Sunday, January 08, 2012
  • Review: This works great, but the text is too small for me to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty good for the money

  • By A Customer from Oceanside CA USA on Friday, October 12, 2018
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: Not really any so far
  • Review: I thought it was right on the money. It works. I mean it's a knee board. There is not a whole lot to the physics of it, but What is there works well for the purpose.

    I like all the stuff printed on there. It is the stuff that is hard to remember once you are not a student any longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

always useful

  • By Albert from Jacksonville FL USA on Friday, July 01, 2011
  • Pros: well built and the info is easy to read
  • Cons: could use some non-slip padding on the backside
  • Review: Good kneeboard with some nice to know info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it's supposed to

  • By Brian from Tampa FL USA on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Pros: Informative reference chart, sturdy backboard, sturdy notepad/chart clamp, sturdy velcro
  • Cons: Pen holder is a bit too small,
  • Review: Product performs how it looks. Aluminum back is sturdy, lots of great info printed on the aluminum back including phonetic alphabet, VFR cruising altitudes, VFR cloud clearance reqs, UTC time conversion, light gun signals, VFR common radio freqs, special equipment suffixes, and a sample faa flight plan. Clamp is sturdy and will hold a notebook firmly in place, velcro strap is sturdy and sits snugly without being uncomfortable. For the negatives, I would agree with what other people on here said about the pen holder being too small, though you can fit a pen into it, it's pretty difficult to do so with one hand (as is often the case). But if you get a skinny pen or a pencil it should be fine, also it may stretch over time, but doubtful because it's just a stitched loop coming from the same elastic leg band.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job!

  • By A Customer from Milwaukee WI USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Pros: Aluminum, pencil holder, reference chart
  • Cons: Could use two straps for more stability...
  • Review: Nothing stellar or amazing, just a classic kneeboard. Reference chart is helpful if you need it, otherwise it serves its function to keep your docs right where you need them; nothing more, nothing less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall Good Design, but attachment to Knee Could be Improved

  • By Robert W from Guntersville AL USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Good size and able to hold all necessary flight data
  • Cons: awakward to install and uninstall.
  • Review: The knee board is used on every flight. It is a handly way of having all flight details including check list readily available. My only complaint is with the attachment method. It would help if two attachment straps were permanently attached to simplify attachment to the knee.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Great BUT !!

  • By K9-11 from Reston VA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Pros: Information on it
  • Cons: Strap to loose, slippery, practical but not ideal for use in small Helicopters
  • Review: Great Product, but not for use in small helicopters. The strap is too limited and the knee board gets in the way of the cyclic. Use the 9G kneeboard instead, much more practical for helicopters
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from Plymouth MI USA on Thursday, December 10, 2009
  • Review: It's perfect for my needs. I just wish the velcro strap had more range of adjustment. It doesn't fit securely around my leg (too Loose).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very useful

  • By Norm from Christiansburg VA USA on Monday, March 24, 2008
  • Pros: Useful - with lots of needed information easily accessible
  • Cons: Mine has partial phonetic alphabet due to bad print job.
  • Review: This knee board is very useful. It has lots of helpful information. Phonetic alphabet,VFR flight rules,FAA flight plan,etc. Only complaint I have is that part of the phonetic alphabet is missing. Poor print/etch on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Price for a Good Kneeboard

  • By Jon from Folsom CA USA on Monday, August 02, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Place to put pen/pencils
  • Review: Basic kneeboard and it was priced good. Wish there was a better place for a pen/pencil. Other than that no complaints. Helpful VFR info on the kneeboard which is nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very comprehensive

  • By Stephen from Coralville IA USA on Wednesday, June 09, 2010
  • Pros: Well made with good graphic print/features
  • Cons: Wrap around elastic is a bit too long for skinny legs.
  • Review: Great product with very well identified graphics in easy-to-read print. The elastic is a little too long for my skinny legs, but overall it met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recomend this product

  • By charles from gainesville FL USA on Wednesday, March 24, 2010
  • Pros: simple effective
  • Cons: leg strap needs clip closure instead of velcro
  • Review: I like this product for its simplicity, the only thing I would like to change is the leg strap, I prefer the elastic with plastic clips instead of the velcro closure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works as expected

  • By A Customer from River Ridge LA USA on Monday, September 27, 2010
  • Review: Good information on board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good for students

  • By devin from windsor CA USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
  • Review: VFR student knee board. You'll outgrow it, but a more complex kneeboard may be too much for a learning pilot to manage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well but shipping costs outside USA - ouch!

  • By A Customer from montreal QC Canada on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Review: Works as advertised. Ok the pen holder is small but I simply use a relatively thin pen, and it holds the pen in place nicely so the pen does not fall easily.

    The only problem was the shipping cost to Canada which is about twice the cost of the kneeboard Ouch!.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

simple, but useful

  • By Walter from Santiago Chile on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Pros: simple
  • Cons: no pen included
  • Review: Useful. Light, elegant..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Rockford IL USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2009
  • Pros: size, comfort
  • Cons: no pencil holder
  • Review: Just the right size for copying clearances and holding approach plates or maps. Comfortable to have strapped on for long flights. Nice wide band. Could use a pencil holder, but we have a cockpit caddy so no problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just about right for a kneeboard

  • By Mark from Milwaukee WI USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2009
  • Pros: Size doesn't interfere with the stick. Wide strap holds well.
  • Cons: Velcro pad needs to be longer to fit tightly
  • Review: Suitable size that doesn't interfere with the stick. I like the wide strap. Velcro strip needs to be longer to fasten snug to my thigh. It was easy to double up the strap to fit, though. This board replaces the ASA VFR kneeboard that I lost. The old board strapped snugly on me, but may have strapped too tight for larger pilots. The strap was modified since I last purchased this board. Information printed on the board is legible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ryan from Kansas City MO USA on Friday, October 16, 2009
  • Pros: Size, Price, Info printed on it
  • Cons: Strap too long
  • Review: Right size, good information printed on board itself. Straps need a little more velcro for my size leg (I consider average) and pen holder is a little snug depending on type of pen you use, better than too loose I guess.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works for me

  • By James from Winthrop MA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Review: Easy to use and helps me organize my cockpit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works good.

  • By Justin from Circle Pines MN USA on Saturday, January 28, 2012
  • Review: Works good. The strap isn't adjustable but it still fits well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

plus qu'un gadget, un truc bien pratique

  • By Denis-Christian from Florensac Herault France on Monday, August 20, 2012
  • Review: More than a gadget, something handy, too bad this board flight is not able to write on plastic
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was looking for

  • By Herschel from Seymour IN USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Light and simple to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was looking for something to hold my charts when I did not want to use the iPad. It's light weight and fits in my flight bag perfectly if you are looking for a simple easy way to hold charts this is it. It is also loaded with lots of great quick reference information!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was looking for

  • By Herschel from Seymour IN USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Light and simple to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was looking for something to hold my charts when I did not want to use the iPad. It's light weight and fits in my flight bag perfectly if you are looking for a simple easy way to hold charts this is it. It is also loaded with lots of great quick reference information!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good value for price

  • By Edward from Great Falls MT USA on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
  • Pros: price
  • Cons:
  • Review: It was everything I expected. It did its job well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It does what it's supposed to do...

  • By Paul from Virginia Beach VA USA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
  • Pros: It's lightweight
  • Cons: Pen/ pencil holder does not work
  • Review: The VFR information printed on the board itself is a nice feature. The map clip is sturdy and I've not had an issue with the leg strap. The pen/pencil holder does not work well as others have noted previously.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good gear

  • By Robert from Arroyo Grande CA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: unknown
  • Review: Simple, strong, cheap.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Oscar from Florida on Monday, May 25, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and gets the job done

  • By Andrew from Winnsboro TX USA on Friday, January 30, 2009
  • Pros: Size, Price
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Good size to the board but the strap could be a little longer. Has the info you need and keeps it handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for new student

  • By Russell from Nunn CO USA on Saturday, January 31, 2009
  • Review: Information was excellent. Rather large for instruction in a C150. But fine for C172
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Adequate kneeboard

  • By A Customer from Pinehurst NC USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Pros: Information available on the board
  • Cons: pen holder, length
  • Review: It fits very well. Haven't had any problems with it loosening up. Pen holder is made of elastic which makes it hard to use. The board itself is slightly short. It needs to be an inch or two longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal, but minor adjustment needed

  • By Mike from Cheshire CT USA on Sunday, August 28, 2016
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: doesn't fit snugly unless more velcro is added
  • Review: Good value for the price and the right way to start using a kneeboard.

    However, the leg fastening strap comes with a bit too little velcro, which doesn't provide a tight fit unless your thighs are pretty big. Solution: We added a 3.5-inch strip of velcro (both the hook and the loop halves) with adhesive backing to the ends of the strap. Works great now. Even Olive Oyl could keep it on her leg.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Basic pad, looooose strap

  • By Dustoff, student pilot from Great Falls VA USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Simple note pad holder, strong clip
  • Cons: Very loose strap unless you have thighs like the Terminator
  • Review: This does what it says. It is a knee pad. The clip is strong enough to hold a pad, folded maps etc.

    Like others have said the strap is very loose and I typically tie a knot to hold it in place. They should've designed it better.

    In hindsight since I am going to buy an iPad for Foreflight I should've bought a tablet holder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better Strap

  • By Tom from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, November 08, 2016
  • Review: While a good "device" the strap needs to have a longer section of Velcro for attachment!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

too small

  • By A Customer from Palo Alto CA USA on Thursday, April 23, 2015
  • Pros: Small, lightweight, comfortable
  • Cons: Needs pockets to contain all materials needed
  • Review: I should have purchased tri-fold kneepad as this one does not have enough room for the things I need at hand. I was worried about having enoough space, but should not have been.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Taylor from Mayodan NC USA on Tuesday, September 01, 2015
  • Pros: solid contruction
  • Cons: not really adjustable.
  • Review: The velcro strip is too short for good adjustments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A bit large for LSA!

  • By Stephen from Shreveport LA USA on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: Strap is about the right size, pen loop is also sized well.
  • Cons: Too large in width and length for the light-sport market.
  • Review: The knee board itself is high-quality aluminum. The small note padsI use only occupy the center portion. The extra overlap is, in the small light-sport aircraft, too much. I would prefer a smaller board, cut to fit the Ampad mini-legal pad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Glenn from Austin TX USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
  • Pros: Good for on the "fly" note taking or pre- planning.
  • Cons: To big, can't find paper to fit this size
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 07, 2019
  • Review: Standard kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is the second I buy. For my copilot

  • By A Customer from Fort de france Martinique Martinique on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: Very pratique
  • Cons: I dont know how rank the strap. I was obliged to sew a bag
  • Review: I think it is important to think for 2 pencil. One pencil can fall or break.  I have modified mine. Also I change the holder by ring of a folder. I can send a photo if interested.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Does the job, but design could be a bit better from ASA

  • By Dave from Savannah GA USA on Monday, April 21, 2008
  • Pros: Good info on board, tight clasp
  • Cons: Not enough range in strap, could be larger for standard VFR board
  • Review: Good info on board; knee strap could have more Velcro to fit different sized legs better; area should be a bit larger to fit larger charts and AFDs; and pen holder could be better positioned. But, as I said, it does the job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Decent board, but not great

  • By KertDawg from North Carolina on Monday, May 14, 2007
  • Pros: A solid writing surface.
  • Cons: Doesn't stay fastened, which is bad in flight.
  • Review: It definitely is a board. It definitely has some VFR information upon it. The "knee" part? It doesn't stay strapped in very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple and Effective but needs a little pre-flight inspection.

  • By Aviator from PA. on Saturday, April 12, 2008
  • Pros: simple, functional, comfortable and light weight.
  • Cons: Poor finishing of metal edges will scratch interior, snag clothes.
  • Review: This is simple product that works, it's easy and quick to deploy and remove. Nicely Printed information can be helpful but mine was scratched in many places and looked a bit scruffy, despite adaquate shipping protection. The penholder is perfect for a backup, but is too fiddly for primary use. There is no excuse for the sharp edges, it's an absolute must that you sand these down with very fine sand paper otherwise you'll scratch your interior or snag your clothes on them constantly - once you've done that, no other complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VFR Kneeboard

  • By Jerry from Fremont OH USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Review: Stay put with strap and keep things were you can find them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bulky but effective

  • By A Customer from Tumwater WA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Review: I liked the fact that it has a lot of reference info printed on the front of it, and that I can use a dry point marker right on it. But it's slightly too big and the velcro strap kept coming undone during one of my flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Struan from iowa city on Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • Review: Works well, as long as the doors are on the helicopter, almost needs a second clip to prevent papers from blowing away.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's serviceable. You get what you pay for.

  • By Todd from Pittsburgh PA USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: minimum-effort strap design
  • Review: I got this because it was the cheapest reasonable option. I needed something to use while I figured out the real one I wanted to buy (and spend money on). It's serviceable, but not great. The elastic band with pen-holder and velcro isn't very well-designed. It's not very adjustable for varying thigh girth.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

You need no more

  • By Federico from Los Angeles CA USA on Monday, January 07, 2008
  • Pros: Simple and reliable
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: I read several reviews that the long one is better, but so far this one is working fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Belgium on Friday, February 12, 2010
  • Pros: Small - Not expensive
  • Cons: You need your 2 hands to put the pen in the penholder.
  • Review: I needed a small kneeboard, for use in a C152. Ok, it's small, and not expensive, but didn't fully met my expectations. And the penholder is bad, you need both hands to put your pen in it!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Cheap piece of junk

  • By mike from Savage MN USA on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
  • Pros: Liked the board
  • Cons: Hate the strap
  • Review: Hate the cheap elastic and velcro strap. The board slides all over the place.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not real expensive, but not worth much either

  • By James from Lubbock TX USA on Tuesday, April 07, 2009
  • Pros: none
  • Cons: all said above in comments
  • Review: This kneeboard is to lightweight, and the strap will not tighten up around your leg. I have had others that are way better. I would not buy this product again at any price......
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.