TOP

ASA VFR Kneeboard

  • 126 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA VFR Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By James from Pleasanton CA USA on Thursday, June 04, 2015
  • Review: I love the fact that you have replaced the hook on the end on an elastic band with a velcro leg strap.

    I think that there should be two pencil/pen holders. Just in case you drop one!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Great

  • By James from Melvindale MI USA on Wednesday, July 27, 2011
  • Pros: Well built. Good price
  • Cons: Not enough velcro for skinny legs
  • Review: I bought this kneeboard to use for my job as a vehicle performance test driver. Being able to hold my cheat sheets and directions is very important and this kneeboard does it perfectly. My only complaint is that the velcro is only on the last 3 inches of both straps and is generally sized for someone with bigger thighs than I have.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for a student pilot

  • By A Customer from Ignacio CO USA on Thursday, May 26, 2011
  • Pros: Simple to use, helpful info printed on the board
  • Cons: Could use another pencil holder
  • Review: Good initial purchase for a student pilot.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good for writing notes at the telescope

  • By Charles from Dyersburg TN USA on Thursday, May 07, 2015
  • Pros: lightweight and strudy
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The knee board makes writing observation notes easy while sitting at a telescope. Also, you can clip sky charts on it for quick observation and locating celestial objects..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What I expected

  • By Owen from Carbondale IL USA on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
  • Review: Overall, it meets my expectations. Velcro strap is secure and comfortable, but does slide around a little bit. The clamp is strong to hold my various charts and papers. However, I wish there was a good place to put my pen.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Pretty good for the money

  • By A Customer from Oceanside CA USA on Friday, October 12, 2018
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: Not really any so far
  • Review: I thought it was right on the money. It works. I mean it's a knee board. There is not a whole lot to the physics of it, but What is there works well for the purpose.

    I like all the stuff printed on there. It is the stuff that is hard to remember once you are not a student any longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Wayne from Stillwater, MN on Sunday, January 08, 2012
  • Review: This works great, but the text is too small for me to read.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Colonial Beach VA USA on Saturday, February 14, 2015
  • Pros: I like the elastic strap. It is a little long for my leg size.. I had to tie a knot in the strap to shorten it.
  • Cons: AN ADJUSTABLE STRAP WOULD HAVE MADE IT A MUCH BETTER PRODUCT
  • Review: Nice product. I like the information printed on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

does the trick

  • By Larry from Missouri City TX USA on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
  • Pros: highly recomend
  • Cons: more adjustibility on straps
  • Review: I used my new kneeboard for the first time 2 days ago. It did the trick. I was able to keep and have the info that i needed during my vfr flight at my finger tips. Not having to reach to the other seat or behind me for maps and notes made concentrating on where I was headed and other planes that might be in my area a lot easier.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

always useful

  • By Albert from Jacksonville FL USA on Friday, July 01, 2011
  • Pros: well built and the info is easy to read
  • Cons: could use some non-slip padding on the backside
  • Review: Good kneeboard with some nice to know info.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Gary from Groveland FL USA on Sunday, March 25, 2012
  • Pros: Great for it's size. Can still pile a lot of info on it.
  • Cons: Doesn't accommodate all I would like to have in front of me.
  • Review: Great compact kneeboard. Top Flight 8"x5" pads purchable at most any major supermarket fits perfect.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job!

  • By A Customer from Milwaukee WI USA on Monday, March 21, 2011
  • Pros: Aluminum, pencil holder, reference chart
  • Cons: Could use two straps for more stability...
  • Review: Nothing stellar or amazing, just a classic kneeboard. Reference chart is helpful if you need it, otherwise it serves its function to keep your docs right where you need them; nothing more, nothing less.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Overall Good Design, but attachment to Knee Could be Improved

  • By Robert W from Guntersville AL USA on Tuesday, June 01, 2010
  • Pros: Good size and able to hold all necessary flight data
  • Cons: awakward to install and uninstall.
  • Review: The knee board is used on every flight. It is a handly way of having all flight details including check list readily available. My only complaint is with the attachment method. It would help if two attachment straps were permanently attached to simplify attachment to the knee.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does what it's supposed to

  • By Brian from Tampa FL USA on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
  • Pros: Informative reference chart, sturdy backboard, sturdy notepad/chart clamp, sturdy velcro
  • Cons: Pen holder is a bit too small,
  • Review: Product performs how it looks. Aluminum back is sturdy, lots of great info printed on the aluminum back including phonetic alphabet, VFR cruising altitudes, VFR cloud clearance reqs, UTC time conversion, light gun signals, VFR common radio freqs, special equipment suffixes, and a sample faa flight plan. Clamp is sturdy and will hold a notebook firmly in place, velcro strap is sturdy and sits snugly without being uncomfortable. For the negatives, I would agree with what other people on here said about the pen holder being too small, though you can fit a pen into it, it's pretty difficult to do so with one hand (as is often the case). But if you get a skinny pen or a pencil it should be fine, also it may stretch over time, but doubtful because it's just a stitched loop coming from the same elastic leg band.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Price for a Good Kneeboard

  • By Jon from Folsom CA USA on Monday, August 02, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Place to put pen/pencils
  • Review: Basic kneeboard and it was priced good. Wish there was a better place for a pen/pencil. Other than that no complaints. Helpful VFR info on the kneeboard which is nice.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Very comprehensive

  • By Stephen from Coralville IA USA on Wednesday, June 09, 2010
  • Pros: Well made with good graphic print/features
  • Cons: Wrap around elastic is a bit too long for skinny legs.
  • Review: Great product with very well identified graphics in easy-to-read print. The elastic is a little too long for my skinny legs, but overall it met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works as expected

  • By A Customer from River Ridge LA USA on Monday, September 27, 2010
  • Review: Good information on board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By John from Rockford IL USA on Tuesday, June 23, 2009
  • Pros: size, comfort
  • Cons: no pencil holder
  • Review: Just the right size for copying clearances and holding approach plates or maps. Comfortable to have strapped on for long flights. Nice wide band. Could use a pencil holder, but we have a cockpit caddy so no problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just about right for a kneeboard

  • By Mark from Milwaukee WI USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2009
  • Pros: Size doesn't interfere with the stick. Wide strap holds well.
  • Cons: Velcro pad needs to be longer to fit tightly
  • Review: Suitable size that doesn't interfere with the stick. I like the wide strap. Velcro strip needs to be longer to fasten snug to my thigh. It was easy to double up the strap to fit, though. This board replaces the ASA VFR kneeboard that I lost. The old board strapped snugly on me, but may have strapped too tight for larger pilots. The strap was modified since I last purchased this board. Information printed on the board is legible.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ryan from Kansas City MO USA on Friday, October 16, 2009
  • Pros: Size, Price, Info printed on it
  • Cons: Strap too long
  • Review: Right size, good information printed on board itself. Straps need a little more velcro for my size leg (I consider average) and pen holder is a little snug depending on type of pen you use, better than too loose I guess.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works for me

  • By James from Winthrop MA USA on Tuesday, March 08, 2011
  • Review: Easy to use and helps me organize my cockpit
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Scott from Plymouth MI USA on Thursday, December 10, 2009
  • Review: It's perfect for my needs. I just wish the velcro strap had more range of adjustment. It doesn't fit securely around my leg (too Loose).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Very useful

  • By Norm from Christiansburg VA USA on Monday, March 24, 2008
  • Pros: Useful - with lots of needed information easily accessible
  • Cons: Mine has partial phonetic alphabet due to bad print job.
  • Review: This knee board is very useful. It has lots of helpful information. Phonetic alphabet,VFR flight rules,FAA flight plan,etc. Only complaint I have is that part of the phonetic alphabet is missing. Poor print/etch on the board.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Great BUT !!

  • By K9-11 from Reston VA on Friday, January 29, 2010
  • Pros: Information on it
  • Cons: Strap to loose, slippery, practical but not ideal for use in small Helicopters
  • Review: Great Product, but not for use in small helicopters. The strap is too limited and the knee board gets in the way of the cyclic. Use the 9G kneeboard instead, much more practical for helicopters
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recomend this product

  • By charles from gainesville FL USA on Wednesday, March 24, 2010
  • Pros: simple effective
  • Cons: leg strap needs clip closure instead of velcro
  • Review: I like this product for its simplicity, the only thing I would like to change is the leg strap, I prefer the elastic with plastic clips instead of the velcro closure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

plus qu'un gadget, un truc bien pratique

  • By Denis-Christian from Florensac Herault France on Monday, August 20, 2012
  • Review: More than a gadget, something handy, too bad this board flight is not able to write on plastic
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good for students

  • By devin from windsor CA USA on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
  • Review: VFR student knee board. You'll outgrow it, but a more complex kneeboard may be too much for a learning pilot to manage.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well but shipping costs outside USA - ouch!

  • By A Customer from montreal QC Canada on Monday, October 10, 2011
  • Review: Works as advertised. Ok the pen holder is small but I simply use a relatively thin pen, and it holds the pen in place nicely so the pen does not fall easily.

    The only problem was the shipping cost to Canada which is about twice the cost of the kneeboard Ouch!.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

simple, but useful

  • By Walter from Santiago Chile on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Pros: simple
  • Cons: no pen included
  • Review: Useful. Light, elegant..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works good.

  • By Justin from Circle Pines MN USA on Saturday, January 28, 2012
  • Review: Works good. The strap isn't adjustable but it still fits well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was looking for

  • By Herschel from Seymour IN USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Light and simple to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was looking for something to hold my charts when I did not want to use the iPad. It's light weight and fits in my flight bag perfectly if you are looking for a simple easy way to hold charts this is it. It is also loaded with lots of great quick reference information!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just what I was looking for

  • By Herschel from Seymour IN USA on Tuesday, August 06, 2013
  • Pros: Light and simple to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I was looking for something to hold my charts when I did not want to use the iPad. It's light weight and fits in my flight bag perfectly if you are looking for a simple easy way to hold charts this is it. It is also loaded with lots of great quick reference information!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

good value for price

  • By Edward from Great Falls MT USA on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
  • Pros: price
  • Cons:
  • Review: It was everything I expected. It did its job well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It does what it's supposed to do...

  • By Paul from Virginia Beach VA USA on Thursday, July 10, 2014
  • Pros: It's lightweight
  • Cons: Pen/ pencil holder does not work
  • Review: The VFR information printed on the board itself is a nice feature. The map clip is sturdy and I've not had an issue with the leg strap. The pen/pencil holder does not work well as others have noted previously.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good gear

  • By Robert from Arroyo Grande CA USA on Monday, January 19, 2015
  • Pros: price
  • Cons: unknown
  • Review: Simple, strong, cheap.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simple and gets the job done

  • By Andrew from Winnsboro TX USA on Friday, January 30, 2009
  • Pros: Size, Price
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Good size to the board but the strap could be a little longer. Has the info you need and keeps it handy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect for new student

  • By Russell from Nunn CO USA on Saturday, January 31, 2009
  • Review: Information was excellent. Rather large for instruction in a C150. But fine for C172
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Adequate kneeboard

  • By A Customer from Pinehurst NC USA on Monday, December 03, 2007
  • Pros: Information available on the board
  • Cons: pen holder, length
  • Review: It fits very well. Haven't had any problems with it loosening up. Pen holder is made of elastic which makes it hard to use. The board itself is slightly short. It needs to be an inch or two longer.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Oscar from Florida on Monday, May 25, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.