TOP

ASA VFR Kneeboard

  • 126 Customer Reviews

Reviews for ASA VFR Kneeboard

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Good deal, but minor adjustment needed

  • By Mike from Cheshire CT USA on Sunday, August 28, 2016
  • Pros: good value
  • Cons: doesn't fit snugly unless more velcro is added
  • Review: Good value for the price and the right way to start using a kneeboard.

    However, the leg fastening strap comes with a bit too little velcro, which doesn't provide a tight fit unless your thighs are pretty big. Solution: We added a 3.5-inch strip of velcro (both the hook and the loop halves) with adhesive backing to the ends of the strap. Works great now. Even Olive Oyl could keep it on her leg.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Basic pad, looooose strap

  • By Dustoff, student pilot from Great Falls VA USA on Wednesday, September 23, 2015
  • Pros: Simple note pad holder, strong clip
  • Cons: Very loose strap unless you have thighs like the Terminator
  • Review: This does what it says. It is a knee pad. The clip is strong enough to hold a pad, folded maps etc.

    Like others have said the strap is very loose and I typically tie a knot to hold it in place. They should've designed it better.

    In hindsight since I am going to buy an iPad for Foreflight I should've bought a tablet holder.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better Strap

  • By Tom from Raleigh NC USA on Tuesday, November 08, 2016
  • Review: While a good "device" the strap needs to have a longer section of Velcro for attachment!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Taylor from Mayodan NC USA on Tuesday, September 01, 2015
  • Pros: solid contruction
  • Cons: not really adjustable.
  • Review: The velcro strip is too short for good adjustments.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

too small

  • By A Customer from Palo Alto CA USA on Thursday, April 23, 2015
  • Pros: Small, lightweight, comfortable
  • Cons: Needs pockets to contain all materials needed
  • Review: I should have purchased tri-fold kneepad as this one does not have enough room for the things I need at hand. I was worried about having enoough space, but should not have been.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Glenn from Austin TX USA on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
  • Pros: Good for on the "fly" note taking or pre- planning.
  • Cons: To big, can't find paper to fit this size
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A bit large for LSA!

  • By Stephen from Shreveport LA USA on Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • Pros: Strap is about the right size, pen loop is also sized well.
  • Cons: Too large in width and length for the light-sport market.
  • Review: The knee board itself is high-quality aluminum. The small note padsI use only occupy the center portion. The extra overlap is, in the small light-sport aircraft, too much. I would prefer a smaller board, cut to fit the Ampad mini-legal pad.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Thursday, February 07, 2019
  • Review: Standard kneeboard.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Decent board, but not great

  • By KertDawg from North Carolina on Monday, May 14, 2007
  • Pros: A solid writing surface.
  • Cons: Doesn't stay fastened, which is bad in flight.
  • Review: It definitely is a board. It definitely has some VFR information upon it. The "knee" part? It doesn't stay strapped in very well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Does the job, but design could be a bit better from ASA

  • By Dave from Savannah GA USA on Monday, April 21, 2008
  • Pros: Good info on board, tight clasp
  • Cons: Not enough range in strap, could be larger for standard VFR board
  • Review: Good info on board; knee strap could have more Velcro to fit different sized legs better; area should be a bit larger to fit larger charts and AFDs; and pen holder could be better positioned. But, as I said, it does the job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Simple and Effective but needs a little pre-flight inspection.

  • By Aviator from PA. on Saturday, April 12, 2008
  • Pros: simple, functional, comfortable and light weight.
  • Cons: Poor finishing of metal edges will scratch interior, snag clothes.
  • Review: This is simple product that works, it's easy and quick to deploy and remove. Nicely Printed information can be helpful but mine was scratched in many places and looked a bit scruffy, despite adaquate shipping protection. The penholder is perfect for a backup, but is too fiddly for primary use. There is no excuse for the sharp edges, it's an absolute must that you sand these down with very fine sand paper otherwise you'll scratch your interior or snag your clothes on them constantly - once you've done that, no other complaints.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Struan from iowa city on Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • Review: Works well, as long as the doors are on the helicopter, almost needs a second clip to prevent papers from blowing away.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's serviceable. You get what you pay for.

  • By Todd from Pittsburgh PA USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Pros: cheap
  • Cons: minimum-effort strap design
  • Review: I got this because it was the cheapest reasonable option. I needed something to use while I figured out the real one I wanted to buy (and spend money on). It's serviceable, but not great. The elastic band with pen-holder and velcro isn't very well-designed. It's not very adjustable for varying thigh girth.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

VFR Kneeboard

  • By Jerry from Fremont OH USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Review: Stay put with strap and keep things were you can find them.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bulky but effective

  • By A Customer from Tumwater WA USA on Thursday, September 10, 2009
  • Review: I liked the fact that it has a lot of reference info printed on the front of it, and that I can use a dry point marker right on it. But it's slightly too big and the velcro strap kept coming undone during one of my flights.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is the second I buy. For my copilot

  • By A Customer from Fort de france Martinique Martinique on Monday, July 09, 2012
  • Pros: Very pratique
  • Cons: I dont know how rank the strap. I was obliged to sew a bag
  • Review: I think it is important to think for 2 pencil. One pencil can fall or break.  I have modified mine. Also I change the holder by ring of a folder. I can send a photo if interested.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

You need no more

  • By Federico from Los Angeles CA USA on Monday, January 07, 2008
  • Pros: Simple and reliable
  • Cons: none so far
  • Review: I read several reviews that the long one is better, but so far this one is working fine.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.