TOP

Reviews for Icom IC-A23 / IC-A5 1450mAh NI-MH Battery

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Worth Every Penny

  • By PiperProud @ UKT from Quakertown PA USA on Wednesday, March 07, 2012
  • Pros: Plugs in, uses original charger, battery life at least 3 times longer.
  • Cons: A little fatter. A little heavier.
  • Review: This radio has been practically useless since I bought it.
    The original battery may have been defective, but since it was the only one....
    I finally decided to try a replacement.
    What a difference!!! Instead of requiring charging after 15-20 minutes of use, I have used in on and off for a week (after an initial overnight charge) and haven't had to charge it yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Super Battery to the rescue!

  • By Mark from San jose CA USA on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Pros: Solid power for a critical device.
  • Cons: Only comes in one color.
  • Review: Super product. I can use my radio all day in Rx/Tx without worrying about loosing power. I've run it in Rx mode for over 2 days before it starts to whine about having a low electron supply.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again.

  • By Randy from Spring TX USA on Thursday, January 26, 2012
  • Review: This battery works great and has increased the operating time of the ICOM radio significantly. Thank you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great battery

  • By Justin from Chandler AZ USA on Thursday, December 08, 2011
  • Pros: Battery last 12+ hours
  • Cons: none
  • Review: Great product!!!works 12+ hours tx and rx
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Well worth the money

  • By Brian from Prescott AZ USA on Monday, January 24, 2011
  • Pros: None
  • Cons: Longer use times now allowed.
  • Review: This is exactly what I needed to update my hand-held and make it a reliable backup. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than original

  • By Stephen Brown from Mesa AZ on Thursday, January 03, 2013
  • Pros: Huge power capacity extends run time significantly
  • Cons: Adds to overall device thickness
  • Review: The one complaint I had with original IC-5A capability was battery capacity (700mAh), it just would not run for more than few hours on receive, and transmit would further reduce run time. Upgrading to larger (1450mAh) battery is huge improvement, this thing seems to run for days.

    For that increase in power capacity the upgraded battery is roughly twice thickness of original, not yet bulky but bit thicker overall; new battery also comes with it's own spring loaded belt clip
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Solid Battery

  • By Jeff from Port Orange FL USA on Tuesday, March 15, 2011
  • Pros: Better Battery Life
  • Cons: Some may not like the thickness but it didn't bother me
  • Review: If you want more Battery Life out of your Icom, this is the battery for you. I also like the "heaviness" of the battery and it makes the entire unit more solid.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Suresh from Lakeland FL USA on Tuesday, November 22, 2011
  • Review: The icom 1450 mah battery pack works great and fits perfect in the radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

IC-A5 1450mAh NI-MH Battery

  • By A Customer from Uvalde, Tx on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Pros: Long life
  • Cons: None in particular
  • Review:

    What the original battery should have been. Will run the  radio all day.

    Does take a long time to charge (28 hours) with the original Icom charger.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good product so far.

  • By Ross from Castro Valley CA USA on Wednesday, July 12, 2017
  • Pros: Same design (externally) and size, works with my equipment as standard.
  • Cons: none I can see
  • Review: The first one I bought is still functional at 7 years old. I was hearing a lot of static, and feared it was failing, so purchased a new one. Turns out the old one is still fine. I've used the new one only once, but it's just as functional as the first one, so I have a very nice back up now!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ICOM 1450mAh NI-MH battery is a GO.

  • By Raul from Foxfield CO USA on Tuesday, January 04, 2011
  • Pros: NI-MH
  • Cons: The spring-loaded clip is too weak for the weight of this battery.
  • Review: My plan is to purchase a second 1450mAh NI-MH battery for my other ICOM.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Better than the ICom battery

  • By matthew from scottsdale AZ USA on Friday, May 29, 2009
  • Pros: Powerhouse
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The original iCOM battery is a piece of garbage. This is the battery it SHOULD have come with from the factory. Long life, strong belt clip. Did I mention long life? 4 times longer than the original. Only slightly thicker. Great service from MYPILOTSTORE!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Radio should have come with this battery,

  • By A Customer from Walnut Cove NC USA on Friday, August 14, 2009
  • Pros: ++++++
  • Cons: none
  • Review: The battery more then met my expectations. I was able to charge it with the charger that came with the radio. Used it for a day of instruction in the sailplane and did not run out of charge. Fit the radio well and large enough to hold on to when using the radio. The factory battery made the radio a bit on the small toy side when used.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Frank from North Kingstown RI USA on Monday, March 14, 2011
  • Pros: Good Items work well. Charge lasts longer than most others
  • Cons: Nothing concering the products just the salesperson never explained what I should be purchasing and not what they wanted me to buy.
  • Review: Good product although I was not given the whole story behind the product. I told the person I had an IcomIC-A23 and wanted to purchase the Super charger which I did; They sent it out but it would not charge the battery in my Icom. I called them and explained and they then told me that I should purchase the new type battery and that the super charger would work well.I now have a new battery, a new super charger and an old battery that need charging. You have great salespeople. With all that I purchased I could have almost paid for a new Icom.... Anybody need an old battery that need to be charged?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Donald from North Branford CT USA on Thursday, January 08, 2009
  • Pros: Larger capacity, longer life for my handheld.
  • Cons:
  • Review: Just what I wanted, battery pack is larger than the one my radio came with, I didn't like that the factory installed battery would run out of juice at the wrong time!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Working Well

  • By A Customer from Kenosha WI USA on Wednesday, October 07, 2009
  • Pros: Longer lasting than original.
  • Cons: Slightly larger but not objectionable.
  • Review: My original battery started dying after less than an hour of use. I needed a good replacement that would last longer than the original did. So far this replacement battery has lasted longer than I need it to. At least four hours continuously on during cross-country flying with regular transmissions. So far I rate it a good buy.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

A23 battery-- excellent

  • By Tom from Princeton nj USA on Thursday, October 29, 2009
  • Pros: Like the new belt clip!!
  • Cons:
  • Review: Excellent long lasting!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

Perfect for me!

  • By Carl from Middleton MA USA on Tuesday, February 26, 2008
  • Pros: No more running out of power after a few hours.
  • Cons: A little deeper and heavier
  • Review: I love my new IC-A23 battery pack. No more running out of power after a few hours. With the 1450mAh battery pack I can go for a few days. The form factor isn't bad, a little deeper and heavier - but fits fine in the hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.

A good buy- works well

  • By Warren Bishop from Iowa City IA USA on Thursday, January 03, 2008
  • Pros: Large battery capacity
  • Cons: A little thicker than the standard battery
  • Review: This battery appears to have much more capacity than the standard "slim" battery that came with my Icom AC-5 when I purchased it. However, I have used it only for short peroids of time on the ground prior to start-up. The main reason for me having the Icom is as emergency back-up. I have not needed to recharge it yet since the initial overnight charge when it arrived. This is significantly better than the original battery.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

extended use is great with this battery

  • By ray 18 driver from weatherford TX USA on Tuesday, August 19, 2008
  • Review: I seldom have to charge this battery, it's great.  Would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Long battery life

  • By Heinz from Cary NC USA on Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • Pros: Long battery life
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I've used this many times for 8+ hour operating use. Well over 12 hours without transmitting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the weight!

  • By Dean from Fishkill NY USA on Tuesday, September 02, 2008
  • Review: A bit bulkier than the standard issue but holds a nice charge. Feel fatter in your hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice replacement at reasonable price

  • By Gary from College Park GA USA on Tuesday, October 21, 2008
  • Pros: Last longer with higher MAH rating
  • Cons: Didn't receive them as quick as expected
  • Review: Excellent replacement for the original ICOM battery
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Roger from Bellbrook OH USA on Monday, May 02, 2011
  • Pros: it works
  • Cons:
  • Review: So far so good.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Working great

  • By Leslie from Buckeye AZ USA on Monday, December 07, 2015
  • Pros: Work great
  • Cons: None yet
  • Review: I purchased these batteries for my 2 ICOM IC A5 radios.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Helmut from Irvine CA USA on Thursday, February 21, 2008
  • Review: Seems to work well. No problems have surfaced yet.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect

  • By A Customer from Boston MA USA on Friday, October 30, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Swainsboro, GA on Monday, January 22, 2007
  • Review: Last longer than standard battery
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By federico from miami FL USA on Monday, September 14, 2009
  • Review: It has resolved my problem.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

NI-MH Battery works great and I will buy again when needed

  • By Roberth H from Gainesville . USA on Friday, November 19, 2010
  • Review: Have not used it but a couple of hours but it works fine
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

would buy this product again

  • By Stephen from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, January 07, 2009
  • Review: It met expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect

  • By Francis .. Pietenpol Air Camper from Mississippi on Thursday, August 20, 2020
  • Pros: Last all day ... fits perfectly
  • Cons: none
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Trusted souce!

  • By A Customer from HARLINGEN TX USA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • Pros: Within specifications!
  • Cons: None.
  • Review: Exact specifications!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Richard from Ione CA USA on Monday, June 06, 2011
  • Review: Everything was as it should be.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Icom IC-Q23 NI-MH Battery

  • By Mark from Osceola IN USA on Monday, October 21, 2013
  • Pros: Battery life, consistent recharging
  • Cons: Cost, would like to have a battery charge indicator available
  • Review: Compared to the original NiCad battery, this is a great improvement.
    The fit was very snug, but it did fit.
    The size was slightly larger than the NiCad, but not overly so.
    The original charge time was 24 hrs, but the battery life was great. Well worth the wait. I would buy again.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Paul from Oxford NC USA on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
  • Review: great..
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Jeffry from Winter Park FL USA on Tuesday, June 25, 2013
  • Review: Perfect solution for making this handset really usable. Very satisfied, gives great performance.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Anything less is uncivilized

  • By James from Houston TX USA on Monday, October 02, 2017
  • Pros: All day long performance, great standby times
  • Cons:
  • Review: Huge capacity vs the stock battery pack, holds a standby charge well without a visit to the charger. We now use this battery in the icon a23 for ground to air when solo working students and chasing radio issues. I put up with the stock battery and piss poor performance for too long. Get the rapid charger with it, no more plug in today, don't forget it tomorrow issues.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's got my back

  • By Travis from Allen Park MI USA on Friday, October 09, 2015
  • Review: This battery is much better than the original. It has much longer life.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good Battery but slow to charge.

  • By Jim from Smyrna TN USA on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
  • Pros: Lasts a long time. Much longer than stock battery.
  • Cons: Heavy and slow to charge.
  • Review: This battery was mostly what I expected but it was a little thicker and heavier that I anticipated. I had some difficulty getting it to attach to the radio the first time but soon you realize that a small amount of pressure in the right place and it will attach. It is slow to charge however taking two days to completely recharge using the charger that comes with the radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not exactly the same

  • By A Customer from Crossville TN USA on Wednesday, July 18, 2012
  • Review: Hard to get the battery to "click" in to the radio
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the extra money!

  • By Rick from Watertown WI USA on Monday, April 13, 2009
  • Review: A more expensive battery but this type lasts longer between charges, in particular when transmitting.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works as advertised

  • By Jerry from Lakewood CO USA on Tuesday, April 27, 2010
  • Pros: Very good battery life
  • Cons: Price? (see above review)
  • Review: Battery life is very good, a little thicker than the original. Seems a little pricey but then again, I am a penny pincher. Overall, Very good product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would recommend this product to other pilots

  • By Juan from Santiago Chile on Tuesday, December 29, 2009
  • Pros: Long time charge duration
  • Cons: Thicker than original battery pack
  • Review: It fulfilled my expectation as I read about the product features before. I knew that it would be thicker and heavier than the original battery pack
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Dual power battery

  • By Frantisek from Brodek u Prostejova Czech Republic on Sunday, November 09, 2008
  • Pros:
  • Cons: higher weight
  • Review: Sufficient capacity electric battery for two days.  Door-to-door quickly in Czech republic 
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

An improvement on the original

  • By David from Auckland New Zealand on Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Pros: Improved power reserve
  • Cons: A little bulkier
  • Review: Good product and expedient delivery to the other side of the world.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I would buy this product again

  • By Larry from Culver OR USA on Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Lawrence texas taildragger pilot from Limington ME USA on Friday, December 20, 2013
  • Review: Battery has seems to last a long time.  Very happy with product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent improvement over the original equipment battery

  • By Darwin from Hendersonville NC USA on Tuesday, August 30, 2016
  • Pros: Fits the radio perfectly and stays charged longer than the original equipment
  • Cons: Not battery charge indicator but neither does the original.
  • Review: This battery met expectations. A little larger than the original but that was expected because of the additonal battery size but fit the radio perfectly.
    The battery stays charged much longer than the original.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Go buy

  • By Gerald from Torrance CA USA on Wednesday, December 03, 2008
  • Review: It's what I needed.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Robert from Prescott Valley AZ USA on Tuesday, November 02, 2010
  • Review: Easy to use and the quality of sound is great.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Gene from Mount Holly NJ USA on Friday, October 12, 2007
  • Review: works so far as advertised.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Ashland OH USA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Expense, would not work with wall charger.
  • Review: The battery works fine. However it would not charge with the standard wall charger supplied with the ICOM radio. I had to buy the rapid charger. After having invested the money for the rapid charger and a new battery in all honesty the money would've been better spent putting it towards a new radio.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Locking clip/spring is too weak

  • By Bobby from Saint Robert MO USA on Thursday, February 12, 2015
  • Pros: Locking clip/spring is too weak to secure battery to radio
  • Cons: Holds a charge and powers the radio just fine
  • Review: Locking clip/spring is too weak to secure the battery to the radio. The battery won't stay attached to the radio on its own. I'm using a string rubber band around the base of the battery clip/spring and the radio to hold them together. Perhaps the clip/spring was damaged in shipment. The holds a charge and powers the radio just fine, but the rubber band looks pretty tacky and unprofessional.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.