Yes, we are open and shipping orders! COVID-19 Update.
TOP

Reviews for Gleim Fundamentals of Instructing Exam Guide

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Can't go wrong with Gleim

  • By Joe // PP-ASEL from Madison AL USA on Thursday, January 14, 2016
  • Pros: Gleim's study units and the FAA Aviation Instructor's Handbook, in one book, along with Gleim's end of unit questions and a practice exam.
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: For those desiring to becoming aviation instructors, jumping into the FOI material will be quite a departure from the normal study of aerodynamics, airspace, weight & balance, et al. However, unless one already has a teaching certificate, FOI is in your future! First off, the material is very beneficial and will change the way you approach your own future flight training. In my opinion, Gleim does a masterful job of presenting this very complicated/theoretical info into those "bite-sized chunks" that one can realistically absorb. They also include the FAA Aviation Instructor's Handbook (minus the 6 appendices, which are not relevant toward the FOI exam.) My studying advice: read the chapter(s) in the FAA handbook, then read the respective outline (study unit), then go through the questions at the end of the study unit. You'll be amazed at how quickly these concepts will soak into your brain and, in short order, you'll be ready to take the FOI exam.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Easy to follow

  • By Devin C Burnham from Sioux Falls SD USA on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
  • Pros: Put together in an easy to follow format
  • Cons: Really do not have any
  • Review: Everything is laid out in a nice format and easy to study, like the test review to go over and the Guide to study. Plan on using more products from Gleim.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

used these over and over

  • By SPPEDY2529 from FORT MYERS, FLORIDA on Friday, November 26, 2010
  • Review: Just took the FOI studied and was scoring 98 and 100 took exam passed it but not 98 or 100 alot of new questions were added to the database that are not present in the book now. I am waiting to see the next update to affirm that these question were just added
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome Book very informative and clear.

  • By Gideon from Tulsa OK USA on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
  • Review: Very Informative, and clear.  Studied the book very hard, went over it over and over again. I scored a 100% on the Knowledge Test. Good book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great organization liek other Gleim books

  • By Suzanne from Virginia Beach VA USA on Tuesday, December 22, 2009
  • Pros: Concise, organized, efficient
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Liek other Gleim books, the content is arranged in related groups so you're not "all over the place" when reviewing material. It is devoid of unnecessary padding which makes it a pleasure to use. This is my second time around with Gleim. I have a fellow pilot, Heather M. to thank for introducing me to the Gleim Instrument Pilot FAA Knowledge Test guide, and I will definitely consider the Gleim series in the future.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By CARL from SHARON CT USA on Monday, January 18, 2010
  • Review: EXCELLENT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

You will pass the first time!

  • By A Customer from Portland OR USA on Wednesday, October 10, 2007
  • Pros: thorough
  • Cons:
  • Review: Good study guide. Great practice tests. It prepares you for the exam and you will pass it the first time.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Does the job.

  • By John from San Luis Obispo CA USA on Thursday, November 01, 2018
  • Pros: Tells you why the "incorrect" answers are not what the FAA wants.
  • Cons:
  • Review: I'm not sure that you can pass this knowledge test without using a study guide. In fact, for this particular test, you are better off not reading the Fundamentals of Instructing book at all and just studying the Gleim book.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I would definitely recommend this book

  • By Kelly from Fort Worth, Tx on Thursday, April 30, 2009
  • Pros: Great study method
  • Cons:
  • Review: I would definitely recommend this book to anyone preparing for the FOI exam. This, along with the Test Prep CD, helped me study for the exam and score a 98%.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Gleim books are the ones to get

  • By James from Moreland GA USA on Wednesday, March 03, 2010
  • Pros:
  • Cons: N/A
  • Review: Did the job as usual, made a 94. But it requires you to put in the study time to be successful.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Sage from Rigby, ID on Monday, May 17, 2010
  • Review: A quick read, and for a CFI student it is necessary.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Good book

  • By Rami from Charlotte, NC on Tuesday, October 19, 2010
  • Review: I took the test today and scored 80%!!  I used Gleim for my private/instrument/commercial and scored 93, 93, 97 respectively.. but in my FOI i scored 80%.  There were at least 20 questions not in this book.  And some questions had totally different answers than the one in this book.. normally I go with confidence but this time it got me nerves when I saw the test. But if u study the book good u will pass.. I passed it with 80%.. not my goal.. I expected to score 100 cause I studied really hard for this one.. I already sent an email to Gleim about it and hopefully they update it on their new edition.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Miken from Fort Worth TX USA on Monday, April 11, 2011
  • Review: It doesnt include all FAA test question. so this product doesnt help us to pass FOI test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.