TOP

Reviews for Smartphone Digital Audio Adapter for Airplanes

Sort By:
Filter By:

I highly recommend!

  • By TC from Orange County, CA on Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Review: Just let my video I made speak for the product:


  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 28 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

LOVE IT!!

  • By A Customer on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
  • Pros: Easy to use. Great quality.
  • Cons: The cords can get tangled in your legs.
  • Review: Works great! Even on a droid. Plug it into my phone, my headset, and the aircraft and it works perfectly. Whatever it sounds like in your headset is what it sounds like in the recording.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly

  • By Shane from London & New York on Saturday, September 29, 2012
  • Review: Love it - simple, and it works perfectly. I plugged it into an iPhone 4S, and it recorded both sides of ATC, and all intercomms when I ran the iPhone's voice recorder application. I didn't notice any interference or deterioration in my headset send/receive quality.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great addition to the cockpit for comm. training

  • By Gary from Tucson AZ USA on Monday, August 12, 2013
  • Pros: Works
  • Cons:
  • Review: You only hear the communications and nothing else - exactly what I was looking for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Ryan- C172RG Cutlass Pilot from Edmond OK USA on Friday, December 07, 2012
  • Pros: Quality of Wire. - Sound Quality
  • Cons: A little Heavy but ok
  • Review: I got this so I can start recording my Flight Lessons as well as video too. I was very impressed with the quality it is well worth the money! Would recommend!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent Sound Quality & Sturdy connection

  • By SWPilot from Dallas, TX on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
  • Pros: Right length cable, sturdy connectors, great sound quality
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I use it to record ATC chatter on all my flights and the sound quality is excellent. I've connected it to my iPhone, MP3 voice recorder and my Contour+2 cockpit video recorder. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!

  • By Ryan K. C172RG pilot in training from Oklahoma City, OK on Sunday, November 25, 2012
  • Review: Today I had a flying lesson and asked my instructor to use.... it was a go at first i hooked it up fine and good .. plugged it right into my iPhone went to voice memos awesome... the sound quality through the splitter is good. and had a good 1hr and 20m of recording it was around 34 mb so not bad on memory. Overall satisfied and would recommend
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works perfectly.

  • By Alexis from Bartlett TN USA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
  • Pros: Easy to use
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Product works perfectly. I leave in the airplane and can easily hook in my iPhone
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Michael from Harrisburg PA on Saturday, April 27, 2013
  • Review: B/A! This cable is A W E S O M E. Works perfect on the Iphone, 2 for 2: Cristal clear intercom/ATC/etc. Happy customer :)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Especially for Airline Pilots?

  • By A Customer from Please anonymous on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
  • Pros: Essential tool, as written before. Solid construction.
  • Cons: Recording in a smartphone, with dedicated "phone version" cable, there is anyway some degradation of the headset sound (slightly more distorted). Also, it ends up being pretty "bulky", meaning that the headset's connector area will appear with a "lot of strange cables".
  • Review:

    Well, it is like an insurance, but very cheap indeed.
    A true story: a colleague of mine, an expat working in a major, with a local/national copilot, had a situation on board, with some aircraft damage due to severe bad weather.
    The extremely young copilot panicked, and the Captain ended up alone in the cockpit.
    At the Company's board, the copilot lied about what happened in the cockpit, and the expat requested to hear the CVR.
    But the Company "forgot to download it", and of course believed to the local/national, firing the expat Captain.
    So, here comes one essential function of this cable: a personal CVR.

    Plus, it is a astonishing truth-revealing to ourself: we are sure we said something in the cockpit to the other one, but when we hear to ourself, we discover how poor was our communication instead. Then this cable allows a deep a strong professional improvement, used also as a personal feedback tool.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

pricey but well made

  • By A Customer from Austin TX USA on Monday, July 07, 2014
  • Review: Works perfectly. seems very well made
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Awesome purchase!

  • By Tyler from Mesa AZ USA on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
  • Pros:
  • Cons: Maybe the wires are a little hard to wrap up
  • Review: Crystal clear quality and easy use
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great for some helmetcam external mic inputs as well!

  • By William from Virginia Beach VA USA on Saturday, January 25, 2014
  • Pros: easy to use, good audio quality, no added interference noted
  • Cons: expensive for a cable
  • Review: I used this for my Drift Innovation Ghost S helmetcam, and it works just great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Austin from Charleston SC USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Review: Product worked as advertised. Used with my IPhone 6 which was mounted to windshield, audio was crystal clear in the recording. Picked up ATC audio as well. Easy alternative to more expensive recording options!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Matt from Washington DC USA on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
  • Review: Works great, only downside is it is pretty pricey.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ryan from Edmond, OK on Friday, May 24, 2013
  • Review: This product was used to help me produce some videos. It picks up all sounds and it produces a great product. I believe the quality it amazing and worth the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great buy!!!

  • By Joseph from Moore OK USA on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
  • Pros: small,easy use
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It is a awsome product great for student pliots
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product

  • By Andy from Sittingbourne Kent United Kingdom on Friday, June 26, 2015
  • Pros: Well made, does exactly what its supposed to.
  • Cons: Cable that attached to the phone/camera could be slightly longer
  • Review: This adapter works well with my iPhone 6 video camera. I am a student pilot in the U.K, and I was looking for a simple solution to record video and what was going on in my headset to improve my flying and radio communications. You can hear everything clearly and the product is well made, although the connection to the phone itself could be slightly longer. Over all, well recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.

Galaxy note4

  • By Ray farmer from Big island of Hawaii on Friday, September 16, 2016
  • Pros: Great price.
  • Cons: Spent lots of money on other gadgets. Should have bought this first.
  • Review: I bought this to use my Galaxy Note 4 to record video while flying. It works great. No engine noise in open cockpit is recorded in my video. Great job guys.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ray from Pepeekeo HI USA on Monday, October 31, 2016
  • Review: I use this to video my flight on Samsung Galaxy Note 4. It works great. No engine sound gets recorded. I have to mention it is an open cockpit aircraft and I use Bose A20 aviation headset which has active noise cancelling.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works good

  • By A Customer from Citrus Heights CA USA on Tuesday, January 05, 2016
  • Pros: Simple, clear sound
  • Cons: Pricey
  • Review: Works good although the audio is quite loud compared to the rest of my phone's recordings. But I love being able to get cockpit audio on my videos. I have an iPhone 5c and have no trouble using it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By 182 Jockey from North Carolina on Tuesday, October 17, 2017
  • Pros: Cord length and flexible mounting options.
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I needed to record audio to my iPhone and this product does exactly that. The cord is long enough to route out of the way, which makes mounting options convenient and effective.

    Makes playback of recorded flights sound like it did when you flew it. No background noise, etc....just clean, clear audio!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, September 27, 2017
  • Review: Different look as picture, but durability better than the picture.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works Well...Excellent Product!

  • By Kelsey from Livermore CA USA on Wednesday, June 17, 2020
  • Pros: Excellent for cockpit radio and intercom recordings
  • Cons:
  • Review: Well made and does the intended job.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works well with iPhone

  • By A Customer from Tempe AZ USA on Thursday, May 03, 2012
  • Pros: Works great
  • Cons: Pricey
  • Review: This works great with my iPhone 4. It's about the size/weight of a push-to-talk cable. A bit heavier than it really needs to be, but it's built solid.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 10 Other people found this review helpful.

Works great with a GoPro 2

  • By Bruce Williams from Seattle, WA on Monday, September 03, 2012
  • Pros: The cable provides a clean audio feed from aircraft intercom systems to devices such as the GoPro camera.
  • Cons: A longer cable would allow more choices in mounting connected cameras.
  • Review: This cable works as advertised. I plug it into a vacant headset socket and connect it to my GoPro camera. I've used it in both my Extra 300L aerobatic aircraft and A36 Bonanza. You can see videos that include cockpit audio using this cable at my YouTube channel: BruceAirFlying (http://www.youtube.com/user/BruceAirFlying).

    -Bruce
    www.BruceAir.com
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 9 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Annoying Cord but Great Audio

  • By Bill from Ruckersville VA USA on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
  • Pros: Simple plug into iPhone or iPod
  • Cons: Re-engineer the Y-splice please
  • Review: Plugs right into my iPhone 5 and iPod. Use the Apple Voice Memo app and start recording, very simple. Records all intercom conversation and radio traffic including your transmission out. Coiled cord and jack are stupid and poorly thought out. Just give us a simple Y-Splice off the Aviation plug and stop trying to be fancy. The coiled cord pull the Aviation plug out of the audio jack one time. I've adjusted the distance to my iPod to the cord more slack.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works on Samsung Note II

  • By Bob in St. Louis from Fairview Heights IL USA on Friday, April 17, 2015
  • Pros: Works great, and attenuates noise.
  • Cons: The coiled cable limits routing of cable
  • Review: Because of the coiled cable it would hung right in front of me in the C172 with the phone on a suction mount mid windscreen. I plugged it into the copilot jack to get it out of the way without a headset on that side and it still recorded all of the cockpit audio while attenuating engine noise. I ended up buying a TRRS Extension for a few extra bucks so I can route the cable up onto the dash. That's the only reason for losing a star.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

works great

  • By A Customer from Phoenix AZ USA on Wednesday, October 19, 2016
  • Pros:
  • Cons: could be a little bit longer
  • Review: Great product
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great product!

  • By A Customer from Calgary AB Canada on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: Records clearly. Works as described
  • Cons: The cord is a little long and I find myself storing the excess cord length in the pocket
  • Review: Great product. Use it to record flight lessons and it records clearly on my voice memos. Would recommend to any new student. Records everything that goes through the headset. Also found that it will also play music not just in your headset but everyone's.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Nice quality but overpriced

  • By A Customer from Monterey CA USA on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
  • Pros: Decent sound quality, nice manufacturing quality.
  • Cons: Small cord length and stiff spiral cord, which applies tension on thye camera and tends to put it out of place
  • Review: It has nice manufacturing quality. But it's way overpriced. It does a decent work, not amazing though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

perfect for Action Cam

  • By Zorro Volare from Oldsmar FL USA on Monday, January 22, 2018
  • Pros: easy as could be
  • Cons: more wires to deal with n the cockpit
  • Review: The cable worked as planned, tapping into the headphone Jack and routing the 1/8th (3.5 mm) plug to the Hero 5. Audio was clear and no more audio to video post process syncing required. Note the hero 5 requires an adapte to provide a 1/8 inch audio input.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Much more than i expected

  • By Nelson from Dar es salaam Ilala Tanzania on Monday, May 21, 2018
  • Review: Does a great job excluding out the engine noises and records high quality sound with great clarity. It's very flexible and can stretch out to different positions regardless of camera position. Very easy to fold and pack in small spaces.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ios yes, android no

  • By Bret from Sunnyvale CA USA on Wednesday, March 04, 2015
  • Review: Sound worked on iPhone5.  sound did not work on android (nexus 5)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 12 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Not as advertised

  • By Richard from Mount Juliet TN USA on Monday, April 14, 2014
  • Pros: Mypilotstore Customer service
  • Cons: Did not work as advertised
  • Review: This was advertised as working with tablets. It does not work with my Asus Nexus 7 tablet as the 3.5mm is an audio out only. Upon research I found the only way it might work is with a 3.5mm female to micro USB adapter connected to the audio adapter. So I ordered one, not much $ and will try it when I get home. To mypilotstore's credit, when I called and told them about it, they agreed to extend my return time as long as they get it back in new condition and original packing.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.