TOP

Flightcom 5DX Headset

  • 15 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Flightcom 5DX Headset

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

You don't need to spend hundreds of dollars to get a great headset

  • By albert from Cleveland GA USA on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
  • Pros: does exactly what it is supposed to do, without the high price tag
  • Cons: Snug at first, need o break it in.
  • Review: I looked at many different headsets before making my decision. Purchasing the 5DX was a no brainer. The sound quality, or the comfort was no worse than than the more expensive brands. It was a little snug at first, but after a few uses it feels great. This is my primary headset. Not a backup, or for guests in the plane. I will buy the 5DX again for each member of my family when the time comes. Great product!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Bargain at the price paid.

  • By Tom the Arion Lightning Pilot. from Titusville FL USA on Friday, April 09, 2010
  • Pros: Quality sound, plenty of volume, excellent passive noise cancellation.
  • Cons: Had to stretch the head band at first, but fit is fine now.
  • Review: Can't beat this headset for the money. I own two and was pleasantly surprised by the sound quality, volume, and materials used. My flying is in hourly chunks as opposed to long cross-countrys, so issues of plush comfort don't come into play. For the non-pro flyer, these should fit the bill nicely.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great value for price!

  • By German from Capital Federal Buenos Aires Argentina on Friday, March 15, 2013
  • Pros: Price, clear sound
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Great headset, clear sound and very comfortable once you adjust the tightness by flexing the top band.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Hernan from Don Torcuato Buenos Aires Argentina on Sunday, July 28, 2013
  • Review: Excellent product!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Works great

  • By Scott S. from West Linn OR USA on Thursday, August 23, 2012
  • Pros: microphone stalk stays where you put it.
  • Cons: Was overly tight to start but a little flexing of the top band made it fine.
  • Review: Meets expectations, good performance for the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Papa Smurff from Yuma, AZ on Tuesday, March 13, 2007
  • Pros: Clear sound and comfortable.
  • Cons: Had to modify the cord jack.
  • Review: Unlike the original use of this headset, we use them for our sandrail communications. They are very comfortable and light weight. The sound through the speakers is crystal clear and they cut out just enough outside noise, but you can still hear the engine sounds, which is good. Did have to modify the plug to adapt to our VHF Motorola radios.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good bang for the buck

  • By Mauro VECCHI ARBIT from Miami FL USA on Friday, June 06, 2014
  • Pros: Not so expensive as David Clarks, yet very good product
  • Cons: None, considering the amount of money expended
  • Review: This is a nice value product.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Brewster NY USA on Friday, September 21, 2012
  • Pros: Comfortable and cancel noise well
  • Cons:
  • Review: Second set I bought here. Great for the price.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great headset

  • By A Customer from UT USA on Sunday, March 07, 2010
  • Pros: change volume on each ear
  • Cons:
  • Review: I really like using this product and it works great!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good quality and performance for the price

  • By patrick from coburn PA USA on Friday, May 21, 2010
  • Pros: nice headset
  • Cons: little tight, better than loose.
  • Review: My 5DX headset that I received is very nice, I really like the fit and the performance. I especially like the reinforced wires at all connections. The headset is a little snug in the beginning but you can stretch it to fit your head, it will loosen up with use... VERY PLEASED...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Value

  • By A Customer from Lynnwood WA USA on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
  • Pros: Good value, clear transmission.
  • Cons: My ears hurt a bit if I've worn them for more than an hour or so, but that may be because they're not yet broken in.
  • Review: Clear transmission, lightweight.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Nice, solid starter headset

  • By John on Tuesday, August 30, 2011
  • Pros: Affordable, clear transmissions, & comfortable
  • Cons: Uncomfortably tight when new
  • Review: This headset is great for the money. As a pilot in training, I'd rather save my money for flight lessons than splurge on gear, and this headset is perfect for that role. It's worth noting that this headset is uncomfortably tight when new, but it can easily be resolved by clamping the headset around a stack of towels the width of your head for a few days to help break it in; this worked like a charm. Once broken in, the comfort level is pretty good. The gel cushions are a nice touch for a headset at this price level and help keep your head cooler than foam. When I was in the market, it was between this and the ASA headset; after wearing both, this headset is worth the extra money IMO for the added comfort. While I am definitely happy with this headset, if I were to do it over again, I think I'd save up for a Dave Clark headset, but for the budget minded student pilot, this headset is the best choice out there and will certainly serve you well.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Monday, May 14, 2007
  • Review: It does the job as a budget headset, and is good value for the price. It's confortable and not too heavy for the noise reduction it gives. However, I do believe you get what you pay for and within a few weeks of use I noticed one of the earpiece volume control dials coming lose- it still works but is lose and not desirable. However, as a headset for passengers it works a treat.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Good

  • By Adam from Naples FL USA on Sunday, April 06, 2008
  • Review: My only gripe is that I don't hear myself talking as loudly as others.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Too early to tell

  • By A Customer from Lumberton Texas USA on Monday, February 14, 2011
  • Pros: good reception, good clarity, like the ability to use as a stereo or mono headset
  • Cons: fit seems to tight and no way to adjust this
  • Review: I've been able to use the headsets twice (not IFR rated yet, lots of IFR flying conditions) overall the headsets appear to be good. Seem a little tight but I purchased them as a second set. I use David Clark's as my primary headset. I think these will suffice as a second set of headsets for passengers
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.