TOP

Oral Exam Guide - Private Pilot

  • 35 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Oral Exam Guide - Private Pilot

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

Excellent layout and presentation.

  • By Tommy from Yelm WA USA on Saturday, November 15, 2014
  • Pros: Well written and presented.
  • Cons: None that I can name.
  • Review: This guide is well laid out and presented in a very logical order. Covers the "real" information needed to pass the oral portion of the examination check-ride. Worth the money.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

clearly written; no wasted space.

  • By Carl from Haddam Neck, CT USA on Wednesday, May 06, 2015
  • Pros: clearly written. well worth the money.
  • Cons: none that i can think of
  • Review: I especially liked the section on scenarios.  Real situations that require understanding to respond to instead of rote memorization.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Product

  • By Dane from Mascoutah IL USA on Thursday, July 23, 2015
  • Review: This book really prepared my for both my fixed wing and rotary wing checkrides. I will continue to be a loyal ASA purchaser.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ioannis from Mill Creek, WA on Thursday, June 07, 2012
  • Review: As good as it should be... I guess.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It is what it is.

  • By Randy from FL USA on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
  • Pros: Good workmanship, laid out nicely
  • Cons:
  • Review: It is what it is.
    Easy reading easy to use. Lot of information .
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Tanner from Holdrege, NE on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
  • Review: A must have to pass your oral exam!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Perfect oral practice

  • By Tanner from Holdrege NE USA on Monday, August 15, 2011
  • Pros: cheap, questions almost identical or exact to the oral test
  • Cons: airplane systems section refers to a C152 so it might not pertain to what you learned to fly in
  • Review: This book was a major player in helping me pass my oral. It does a good job at covering a wide area of topics and questions that will be asked during your oral.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

No expectations; pleasantly surprised

  • By Will from Henrico VA USA on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
  • Pros: 'Go anywhere' size; concise and well organized
  • Cons: None
  • Review: I didn't know what to expect when I ordered this product. I was very pleased once I started reading and using this exam guide. The questions and answers are all concise and well organized. Each item is also well referenced if the reader wants to quickly expand on the subject. I also liked the Additional Study Questions at the end of each chapter. These are generally questions that have answers specific to your training aircraft or will require a little more head scratching.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent Book

  • By Robert M. from Central,CT on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
  • Pros: Loads of information that's easy to find
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Do not take your checkride until you have read this book. I read through it a couple times, and my checkride was as easy as can be. Pretty much any question the examiner is going to ask is addressed in the book. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Buy it.

  • By Taylor from Denver CO USA on Monday, May 07, 2012
  • Pros: Lays it all out there.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Buy it. Read it. Review it. Ace your written and feel confident entering the practical.

    I took my written 2 weeks ago and got a 97%. The two questions I missed, I actually new the right answers too...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

ORAL EXAM GUIDE - PRIVATE PILOT

  • By Nick from Arkansas, Usa on Wednesday, May 12, 2010
  • Review: Excellent material. Would recommend to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Richard from Bertram TX USA on Tuesday, August 17, 2010
  • Review: Good refresher for current pilot. Should be good for a student pilot in preparation for the oral.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

what you need to know

  • By phillip from New Iberia LA USA on Friday, September 04, 2009
  • Pros: ITS ALL IN THERE
  • Cons:
  • Review: This book does an excellent job of presenting the material in an easy to understand question and answer format.I aced the oral by reading this book a few times I would definitly recomend this book to anyone about to take the oral exam!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

Great prep guide

  • By bruce from snellville GA USA on Thursday, January 31, 2008
  • Review: This was a great book for reviewing your training prior to the checkride. It turned out my examiner was using one as a guide to determine what to ask.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Extremely helpful

  • By Daniel from Independence LA USA on Tuesday, March 31, 2009
  • Review: For anyone going after their privates, this is a must. I studied the written test info a lot and the oral exam guide helped me fine tune all that I learned.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By on Wednesday, September 27, 2017
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Supplemental Study Book

  • By A Customer from Des Moines Iowa USA on Monday, October 13, 2008
  • Review: Highly recommended for use before the written test and check ride.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Wish I had purchased in very beginning

  • By Jeff from Stephenville TX USA on Friday, October 17, 2008
  • Pros: Very thorough on all subjects
  • Cons: Some questions you would like a "cliff notes" answer for
  • Review: Just completed my Private certificate. The oral exam went very well due to this book (and a lot of studying). It's like anything else you are trying to learn....study the whole book.....and the test will come easy!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Josh from Lexington KY on Friday, July 25, 2008
  • Review: This is a must have study guide to breeze the oral.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Worth the money

  • By Lewis from Raymond ME USA on Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Pros: Covers all the areas
  • Cons: Need to check for FAA changes
  • Review: Great prep book for the oral. Due to constant changes by the FAA, do not think this is the only thing to reference. However, it pretty much covers the questions an examiner is going to ask. The other questions asked are the ones concerning the questions you missed on the knowledge test.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great prep for the check ride

  • By Lewis from Raymond ME USA on Thursday, November 07, 2019
  • Pros: Covers all areas
  • Cons: Wish it could be updated when regs change
  • Review: This document has ensured my private pilot candidates all of the areas they can be exposed to during their first check ride. And as a result, each has passed on their first shot with the DPE. The orals are the one area an IP tries to prepare their candidates to the best of their abilities, but you just don't know what the DPE is going to ask or how they are going to ask questions needing an understanding of the regulations, not just rote memory.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

This does a nice job. It was my primary study guide for the oral exam.

  • By Dana from Austin TX USA on Monday, June 15, 2015
  • Pros: Thorough coverage of the oral stuff you might not see with typical preparation.
  • Cons:
  • Review: The book covers most items very well. That's 90% of what I needed. I think some additional material on flight planning (duats?, etc.) would be useful. (that would even work as a second book).

    The SRM section is very nice, but I think could be organized to make it easier to use (such as, this stuff can be done preflight, that stuff is for during the flight, etc.)
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 8 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Mark from Seattle WA USA on Monday, February 24, 2014
  • Review: Good, focused review - well organized
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Comprehensive

  • By Albert from Longwood FL USA on Thursday, March 03, 2016
  • Pros: Good
  • Cons: See above review
  • Review: Best if used with a CFI to assure understanding of the material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 7 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Good review

  • By A Customer from Berkeley CA USA on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
  • Review: Organization hard to follow sometimes. Jumps around, but I think that is typical of a conversation, which is what they are trying to prepare you for.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Newport News VA USA on Wednesday, May 18, 2011
  • Pros: A great book to study from go's over every thing you can imagin
  • Cons: the weather section can be a little bit more detailed
  • Review: This is a great book I loved it so far just about every question my CFI has asked me came from that book and yes I have answered all of his questions
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 6 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Simle and complete

  • By alan from cincinnati OH USA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • Pros: Straight forward and to the point. Allow a quick reflection as the current knowledge that an airman has regarding various subject matter
  • Cons:
  • Review: This is a very concise information manual for a basic review prior to the official bienniel. This identifies topics that the airman may feel the need to further explore.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great practice qestions and answers, leaves you looking to the Far aim for some answers

  • By John C from Ruffs Dale PA USA on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
  • Review: Easy to read and worded well. Some questions, I needed to find the answers for elsewere. Great for two person review of material.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 5 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful pre-private checkride review book

  • By David from Odenton MD USA on Thursday, September 20, 2012
  • Pros: Consise
  • Cons: None really
  • Review: I found this book helpful. By the time you get to this stage, you should know most of the material. I went through with a highlighter and highlighted anything I didn't feel comfortable with. Then I went back a just re-read the highlighted materials a few time. Was very useful I thought. Only knock is on the weather charts where there are no pictures to help and you need to reference another source.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Lee from Orange CT USA on Friday, August 20, 2010
  • Review: Good, concise review.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Landon from Monett, MO on Wednesday, September 02, 2009
  • Review: My oral exam was a breeze! If you familiarize yourself with all questions and explinations in this book, the oral portion of your checkride will be a cakewalk. It's impossible to hit all areas of info but this guide comes close.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 4 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By A Customer from Santa Cruz, CA on Tuesday, January 16, 2007
  • Review: The book gets into a lot of detailed information that some readers may find unnecessary. I think to be a good pilot, there is always a need for ANY information that can be provided. Read it, pass your test and then decide if you would like to impliment the info. I highly recommend it.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.

  • By Dan from Oklahoma on Thursday, March 01, 2007
  • Pros: Reference Aid...Compact......Excellent Study Tool
  • Cons: No body referred me to it earlier
  • Review: As with any test preparation, study time is of essence. Recommendation is to have this book at the beginning of the flight portion of learning and apply the concepts in parts. This product is extremely useful in preparing for the oral and and check-ride. Reading the various parts while preparing for final testing allows one to gleen vital knowledge and enhance confidence with pilotage and flying skills. Passed test with confidence, and great reference after the test(s).
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great Investment

  • By Nijat on Tuesday, January 23, 2018
  • Pros: Simple, easy to use, very knowledgeable
  • Cons: None that i could think of at the moment.
  • Review: This book is definitely a must, it has capitalized on many things that i have overlooked in my studying, it has direct questions and direct answers, no fuss just straight to the point, in fact it has so much, it over prepares you for the oral, it has literally every possible question an examiner could ask.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Helpful

  • By Anthony from Palm Beach Shores FL USA on Wednesday, July 19, 2017
  • Pros: OK
  • Cons: Requires other Sources of information
  • Review: Additional study Questions--Be much better if the Answers were provided. Reason I do not have all the additional FAA and AIM books On Hand. I just carry that nice size book
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.