TOP

Fisher Trekker Space Pen

  • 36 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Fisher Trekker Space Pen

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

NOT sorry I bought this.

  • By Traci from Fredericksburg TX USA on Friday, May 27, 2011
  • Pros: Compact, Refillable, Easily attachable to lanyards
  • Cons: Heavier than other compact pens
  • Review: I LOVE this pen. I wear a lanyard at work all the time and kept trying to find pens to hang from it that didn't stop working after a short time because they always seem to hang point up. This pen is just the right size and the refills are great because they are pressurized and won't "dry up" when they look like they're full of ink.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I expected and then some!

  • By Arun Pande from Denver CO USA on Friday, January 27, 2017
  • Pros: Writes upside down.
  • Cons: None that I can see.
  • Review: Wonderful product. I do crossword puzzles and other puzzles lying down and in ink. Other ball pens do not write upside down, only this does. I love it because I don't have to compromise my standard by using a pencil!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performs as promised

  • By David from Dixon IL USA on Tuesday, January 11, 2011
  • Pros: always works, like lanyard style
  • Cons: price but works better than a Cross which is also pricey.
  • Review: I have used the space pen for over 10 years mostly for my Boy Scout activities. The pen always works and for those needing a pen with a neck lanyard it don't get lost. Highly recommend the product. Yes its pricey but you pay for what you get.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Stan from Bakersfield CA USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Review: Easy, convenient, always at hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from bossier city LA USA on Thursday, January 29, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent solution!

  • By chephy from Toronto, Canada on Sunday, September 26, 2010
  • Pros: solidly built, writes well, perfect solution for someone who misplaces pens
  • Cons: lack of clip (minor issue)
  • Review:

    Before I would always find myself helplessly fishing for a pen, no matter what I did. God knows, I tried hard: I'd stuff every single bag I had with a bunch of pens, but sooner or later would end up with all these pens scattered around somewhere, lost, misplaced and just never in their proper place.

    My boyfriend seems to do just fine keeping pens in his pockets (he always has one on him!), but I just knew that I had to have something that attaches to my keychain. The space pen made a world of difference: now I NEVER find myself desperately groping for a pen, whereas before I was doing that CONSTANTLY.  It's one of those little tweaks that cut down big time on frustration and just make life flow a little bit smoother.

    I've been using the pen for about six months now and really like it. So, here is a quick breakdown of the features:
    -- MAKE and FEEL The pen feels very solid, the cap is tight. The rubber grip is a nice touch. I have not had any issues with the pen coming unscrewed.

    -- SIZE I have bigger than average hands for a female (long fingers), and would say that the pen is too small to write novels with, but for brief notes (e.g. logbook entries), which is all I ever use mine for, it's just fine. I wouldn't want the pen to be bigger, because otherwise it would be an annoyance to carry in the pocket. As it is, the pen is small enough to be relatively unobtrusive, but not so small that it is cumbersome to handle.

    --ATTACHMENTS I have not used the lanyard, so can't comment on that. The black key ring (that comes with the black tactical version of the Trekker) has had paint chipping off, and it's certainly not black now, but that's not a concern with the silver version of the pen, and not something I personally care about anyway (especially since the paint has NOT been chipping off the pen itself, it's as black and beautiful as on the day I got it). My only complaint is that the pen does not have anything in a way of a clip. So after I pull the keychain out of the pocket and pull the pen off the cap, I have no way to clip the pen to, say, the kneeboard or a pocket. I basically have nowhere to put it other than back into its cap: if I tried to put it down, it would roll off and get lost pretty fast, since it's so small and round. I understand the designers were trying to keep it sleek, but surely a small clip wouldn't get in the way too much. However, in some sense this is not too bad - it forces me to use this pen as a spare and not rely on it exclusively. It also makes sure I can't forget this pen anywhere, clipped to something or other, as I so easily forget others.

    --WRITING QUALITY The writing is solid - not too faint and not blotchy. Always writes on first try. Can't comment on how it writes on different surfaces, since I only used it on regular paper.

    --OVERALL Excellent buy. Sure, it's pricey for a pen, but you do get real quality for what you pay, so I have no regrets about mine.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

You won't lose this one!

  • By Moosehead from Austin TX USA on Monday, January 26, 2009
  • Pros: SPACE pen! and TIGHT lid! AND ATTACHMENT device
  • Cons: can't find any yet! It's been in use for >2 months.
  • Review: This was EXACTLY what I wanted for myself and my hubby to use in our outdoors activities. Writes at any angle (of course), AND will write on a wet surface, AND we can ATTACH it to our gear with a carabiner or lanyard, AND the cap fits so tightly we don't have to worry about it getting snagged on a bush or vine (like has happened to us with many lesser pens). WE LOVE IT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great pen!

  • By Jim from Claremore OK USA on Tuesday, February 05, 2008
  • Pros: very handy
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have used Fisher Space Pens in the past but kept dropping them in the plane. They are always short. I bought this one because it hangs around your neck. Just a great feature. Haven't dropped one since.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly what I was looking for

  • By Linda from Carmichael CA USA on Monday, April 14, 2008
  • Pros: Very handy -writes in all positions
  • Cons: Sometimes a little hard to separate top from bottom is hands are slippery.
  • Review: What I really like about this pen is I can carry it around my neck with a small tablet. If I remember something I need to do I can immediately write it down instead of interupting my current activity (which I might not get back to until I remember it again!)  It allows me to concentrate on one thing at a time and reduces stress since I don't have to keep a running blog in my mind of things I still need to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fisher Trekker Space Pen

  • By Amy from CO USA on Wednesday, May 28, 2008
  • Pros: the lanyard, & being able to use it in adverse weather conditions
  • Cons: pricey
  • Review: I purchased this pen to use in the airplane. I thought it would be nice to hang off of something to be in easy reach always. The fact that it can write if the pen is hot or cold is a plus so you dont have to sit & try to get the ink to come down. Also the small size is nice. The lanyard thats attached makes it easy to hang around your neck or off of something in the cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great pen! Worked perfectly in Africa on the bumpiest roads imaginable!

  • By FRANCINE from BOCA RATON FL USA on Sunday, August 03, 2008
  • Pros: Worked consistently and kept cover on.
  • Cons: Seriously cannot find anything!
  • Review: This pen worked on all airplane rides, and there were many! It worked perfectly on the bumpy roads of Africa when I thought nothing would work! It was always clear, never lumpy and I loved how the cover always stayed on!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Freaking awesome

  • By Matsaleh from Austin, TX on Friday, April 27, 2007
  • Pros: Strength, durability, utility, reliability.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is the coolest pen ever. Since I got it, it has remained attached to my belt via the included carabiner, a terrific accessory. The construction is excellent, and the pen barrel and cap are strong enough to withstand all kinds of abuse: being twisted when I get into and out of my car, squeezed between my Leatherman sheath (also on my belt) and my Buck folding knive (clipped to my pants pocket), and more. I quickly wore aware the black "Trekker" lettering from the barrel, but the stainless finish barely shows any wear. Also, the cap attaches snugly to the body, and does not show any sign of giving up or weakening. This pen is so cool that I immediately bought two more, one for my wife, and one for my buddy at work. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I use this Space Pen Every Day!

  • By Nikki Recob from Atlanta on Tuesday, September 04, 2007
  • Pros: Always with you, writes at any angle etc
  • Cons: Could be just a tad longer
  • Review: This Fisher Space Pen is invaluable! If you are always looking for a pen get this Trekker model, put it on your key ring and forgetaboutit!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Pen

  • By Thomas from springfield MO USA on Monday, September 24, 2007
  • Pros: Uses regular spacePen refills, Cap never lets go
  • Cons: Everyone trys not to return it--Never lone out
  • Review: Perfect size, no need to put on cap to make it longer, I have never had it come loose from the cap after 1000s of pulls off my belt loop. next best pen next to there Telescoping Pen. Refills last a long time. Easy to grip rubber on shaft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Never Hunt for a Pen Again!

  • By Nikki from Atlanta GA USA on Friday, October 19, 2007
  • Pros: Never, ever be without a pen!
  • Cons: It could stand being a touch longer
  • Review: Always seem to be looking for a pen? Get this Fisher Trekker Space Pen and as long as you have keys with you, you will always have a pen! I first saw these in "Outside" magazine, bought one for myself, then one for my sister and then one for each of my parents and now I send them out as gifts for friends ;) If you want to give a gift, why not give the recipient something they'll actually use all the time?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

The perfect pen for Geocaching.

  • By Richard from Los Angeles CA USA on Thursday, December 13, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to retrieve and replace one-handed. Writes in any position, and on wet paper.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to retrieve and replace one-handed. Writes in any position, and on wet paper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love my Fisher Trekker Space Pen!

  • By Richard W from Altadena CA USA on Friday, December 12, 2008
  • Pros: Very well made, keeps its good looks, never fails to write in any position, convenient to attach to key chain, 100% made in USA.
  • Cons: None that I have found.
  • Review: I love my Trekker pen so much that I frequently pull it out of my pocket during a conversation and brag about it. It's hooked to my keys and has kept its good looks from when I first got it from you. More often than not when I need to use it there is no convenient place to write and I have to use a wall or a door to write on. Other pens would lose their ink writing that way but the Fisher Trekker pen always performs-- even upside down! Friends at work have been impressed--- thus my desire to give them away as holiday presents this year
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Do you have a pen? Why, yes I do!

  • By Goat from Inver Grove Heights, MN USA on Thursday, February 28, 2008
  • Pros: Short, writes every time, well made
  • Cons: Short, refills not locally available for me
  • Review: This is the pen I've been looking for. It's short enough to be unobtrusive. The cap attaches securely enough so the pen can be confidently dangled from a key chain. It writes the first time, every time, even after sitting outside at -20 F. And, of course, it writes upside down. It's not for letter writing, especially if you've got larger hands, but when you just need a flippin' pen, there it is! There's no reason not to attach this thing to your key ring, or whatever else, so it's always with you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Kathy from Fresno, CA on Thursday, August 08, 2013
  • Review: I got this pen for my husband (he is a CFI) and he absolutely loves it. The only problem is that within a couple of months the mechanism on the carabiner broke so he could no longer hook it to his pant loop or clipboard. The pen, itself, is great though.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great pen if you dont let it hang

  • By Gerard from Omaha NE USA on Thursday, January 15, 2009
  • Pros: Great quality, ink and construction
  • Cons: Won't hang togeather as promoted
  • Review: Pen has excellent ability to lay down a superior line. A bit short for a bigger hand. Pen fell off the cap twice, first time it unscrewed itself. Second time I looked, cap was there, pen wasn't. Don't trust the pen to hang from neck or belt or it will be lost for sure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's good

  • By Jerry from Torrance CA USA on Thursday, January 15, 2009
  • Pros: small size works well
  • Cons: none
  • Review: It met my expectations.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Not necessary, but fun

  • By A Customer from Westford MA USA on Wednesday, January 16, 2008
  • Pros: It's good looking, useful and interesting.
  • Cons: My nephew found something it couldn't write on, but I don't know what it was.
  • Review: OK. Neither of my college age nephews NEEDED a pen to operate under all these conditions, but they are stylish, a curiosity and fun. Their mom laid down the law - no writing on the bottom of the pool next summer!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Just as advertised!

  • By Dorothy from Yermo CA USA on Thursday, January 15, 2009
  • Review: This pen also works when the weather is extremely cold. My husband loves it and carries it around his neck when flying on business trips. Next one is for ME!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Stan from Bakersfield CA USA on Wednesday, June 25, 2008
  • Review: Excellent, the pen is a little short for writing more that short notes.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

It's OK...

  • By Wayne from Galesville MD USA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
  • Pros: It does write on lots of surfaces.
  • Cons: It is not comfortable, easy to use or very practical.
  • Review: It's not what I expected. Its tight fit makes it difficult to get out of the cap, and then it doesn't really fit properly in my had.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from Pembroke Pines FL USA on Friday, June 21, 2013
  • Review: While I love the pen ,didn't last. It broke in less than a month to been use.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

looks good

  • By ARNOLD from Dothan AL USA on Monday, June 03, 2013
  • Pros: looks good
  • Cons: too hard to uncap, refil...not for fighter pilots
  • Review: This pen is only a curiosity for me
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By Ralph from New York NY USA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
  • Review: I didn't like that when you take apart there is no place to store the cap.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Not really worth it

  • By A Customer on Friday, May 22, 2009
  • Pros: Size
  • Cons: Cost, lack of refill as advertised
  • Review: I own other Fisher space pens, so I knew what to expect with the Trekker. The pen is compact, and I like that. It's easy to use, even with my larger hands. The ink writes on everything I've tried, with two exceptions (metals and glossy photos). The pen comes with a clamshell case, black neck lanyard, black metal carbiner, and a split ring. The package advertises a refill being included, but the Trekker comes with only one ink cartridge (the one already inside it). The retention of the pen in its cap is great; some might call it too tight. If I try to pull the pen out and use it while it's hanging off the neck lanyard, the lanyard's safety will snap before the cap will come off. This happens every time. I didn't have the unscrewing problem some have mentioned. However, I still feel that the price (I paid $22 locally for mine) is a bit high. They could've included a refill or a mail-in coupon, but they didn't. I wouldn't buy this pen again because of the problems listed above, unless the price was lower.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 1 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great concept

  • By A Customer from Lovington NM USA on Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • Pros: So convenient & reliable
  • Cons: Pen cap does not fit on barrel
  • Review: Pen is great but wished the cap could fit on barrel after opening.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

What you see is what you get

  • By Alan W. from Anchorage AK USA on Friday, January 16, 2009
  • Pros: writes upside down as advertised
  • Cons: does not write on all surfaces
  • Review: The pen is advertised as being able to write on all surfaces,upside down, under water...etc...It does not write under water or on aluminium, steel surfaces! Better stick with a lead pencil which does write under water, on steel surfaces and upside down!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Barrel comes unscrewed

  • By A Customer from California on Thursday, April 23, 2009
  • Pros: Compact, rugged, cap stays on.
  • Cons: The two halves of the pen come unscrewed.
  • Review: Everything is as described but there is a major design flaw. The barrel of the pen easily comes unscrewed from the top, leaving you with the top part of the pen enclosed in the cap hanging from your belt, but the rest is missing. The manufacturer did replace the missing parts for free when this happened the first day my son used the pen, but he has to remember to regularly tighten the two halves to prevent a repeat failure.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great pen but major flaw in design

  • By G from Scotland on Friday, February 20, 2009
  • Pros: Great quality ink, always writes, perfect size
  • Cons: Expensive, bad design causing it to fall apart
  • Review: Price aside, the only issue with this pen is the top part will unscrew itself off every now and again, if you notice at the time you can screw it back on but if not you will lose parts of the pen (like I did). This pen is just far too expensive to lose which is why I do not recommend it to anyone.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Uh oh... review update

  • By chephy on Wednesday, October 06, 2010
  • Review: Ooops... only a few days after writing a glowing review I dropped my Space Pen (from only about 4 feet); and while it still functions, it's certainly not what it used to be. Instead of beautiful, smooth writing action I now get weak intermittent ink flow with an occasional small blotch. :-((( It's still possible to write with it, but now it physically pains me because I remember just how GOOD it was before, and how mediocre the writing quality is now. I guess I'll order a replacement cartridge and see if that solves the problem. It's disheartening though to know that such a small disturbance turns this otherwise wonderful pen into a subpar one. :-(
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Would not buy again

  • By RF from CA, USA on Thursday, October 25, 2007
  • Pros: Construction
  • Cons: Poor ink flow - the whole point!
  • Review: Compact and nicely made, but doesn't write very well. Thin, weak line...
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Broke when taken out of package! Stay away

  • By HDW from Tulare CA USA on Friday, January 18, 2008
  • Pros: Sounded like a good idea
  • Cons: Cheaply made, therefore defective
  • Review: When my husband took the pen out of its plastic package, the pen's back-end plastic cover broke off the pen, making the pen unusable. It was, all in all, a big waste of $20.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.