TOP

Fisher Trekker Space Pen

  • 36 Customer Reviews

Reviews for Fisher Trekker Space Pen

Sort By:
Filter By:
  • Verified Purchase

NOT sorry I bought this.

  • By Traci from Fredericksburg TX USA on Friday, May 27, 2011
  • Pros: Compact, Refillable, Easily attachable to lanyards
  • Cons: Heavier than other compact pens
  • Review: I LOVE this pen. I wear a lanyard at work all the time and kept trying to find pens to hang from it that didn't stop working after a short time because they always seem to hang point up. This pen is just the right size and the refills are great because they are pressurized and won't "dry up" when they look like they're full of ink.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 3 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Exactly what I expected and then some!

  • By Arun Pande from Denver CO USA on Friday, January 27, 2017
  • Pros: Writes upside down.
  • Cons: None that I can see.
  • Review: Wonderful product. I do crossword puzzles and other puzzles lying down and in ink. Other ball pens do not write upside down, only this does. I love it because I don't have to compromise my standard by using a pencil!!!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 2 Other people found this review helpful.

Excellent solution!

  • By chephy from Toronto, Canada on Sunday, September 26, 2010
  • Pros: solidly built, writes well, perfect solution for someone who misplaces pens
  • Cons: lack of clip (minor issue)
  • Review:

    Before I would always find myself helplessly fishing for a pen, no matter what I did. God knows, I tried hard: I'd stuff every single bag I had with a bunch of pens, but sooner or later would end up with all these pens scattered around somewhere, lost, misplaced and just never in their proper place.

    My boyfriend seems to do just fine keeping pens in his pockets (he always has one on him!), but I just knew that I had to have something that attaches to my keychain. The space pen made a world of difference: now I NEVER find myself desperately groping for a pen, whereas before I was doing that CONSTANTLY.  It's one of those little tweaks that cut down big time on frustration and just make life flow a little bit smoother.

    I've been using the pen for about six months now and really like it. So, here is a quick breakdown of the features:
    -- MAKE and FEEL The pen feels very solid, the cap is tight. The rubber grip is a nice touch. I have not had any issues with the pen coming unscrewed.

    -- SIZE I have bigger than average hands for a female (long fingers), and would say that the pen is too small to write novels with, but for brief notes (e.g. logbook entries), which is all I ever use mine for, it's just fine. I wouldn't want the pen to be bigger, because otherwise it would be an annoyance to carry in the pocket. As it is, the pen is small enough to be relatively unobtrusive, but not so small that it is cumbersome to handle.

    --ATTACHMENTS I have not used the lanyard, so can't comment on that. The black key ring (that comes with the black tactical version of the Trekker) has had paint chipping off, and it's certainly not black now, but that's not a concern with the silver version of the pen, and not something I personally care about anyway (especially since the paint has NOT been chipping off the pen itself, it's as black and beautiful as on the day I got it). My only complaint is that the pen does not have anything in a way of a clip. So after I pull the keychain out of the pocket and pull the pen off the cap, I have no way to clip the pen to, say, the kneeboard or a pocket. I basically have nowhere to put it other than back into its cap: if I tried to put it down, it would roll off and get lost pretty fast, since it's so small and round. I understand the designers were trying to keep it sleek, but surely a small clip wouldn't get in the way too much. However, in some sense this is not too bad - it forces me to use this pen as a spare and not rely on it exclusively. It also makes sure I can't forget this pen anywhere, clipped to something or other, as I so easily forget others.

    --WRITING QUALITY The writing is solid - not too faint and not blotchy. Always writes on first try. Can't comment on how it writes on different surfaces, since I only used it on regular paper.

    --OVERALL Excellent buy. Sure, it's pricey for a pen, but you do get real quality for what you pay, so I have no regrets about mine.

  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Performs as promised

  • By David from Dixon IL USA on Tuesday, January 11, 2011
  • Pros: always works, like lanyard style
  • Cons: price but works better than a Cross which is also pricey.
  • Review: I have used the space pen for over 10 years mostly for my Boy Scout activities. The pen always works and for those needing a pen with a neck lanyard it don't get lost. Highly recommend the product. Yes its pricey but you pay for what you get.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

great product

  • By Stan from Bakersfield CA USA on Tuesday, May 26, 2009
  • Review: Easy, convenient, always at hand.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

  • By A Customer from bossier city LA USA on Thursday, January 29, 2009
  • Review:
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Freaking awesome

  • By Matsaleh from Austin, TX on Friday, April 27, 2007
  • Pros: Strength, durability, utility, reliability.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: This is the coolest pen ever. Since I got it, it has remained attached to my belt via the included carabiner, a terrific accessory. The construction is excellent, and the pen barrel and cap are strong enough to withstand all kinds of abuse: being twisted when I get into and out of my car, squeezed between my Leatherman sheath (also on my belt) and my Buck folding knive (clipped to my pants pocket), and more. I quickly wore aware the black "Trekker" lettering from the barrel, but the stainless finish barely shows any wear. Also, the cap attaches snugly to the body, and does not show any sign of giving up or weakening. This pen is so cool that I immediately bought two more, one for my wife, and one for my buddy at work. Highly recommended.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

I use this Space Pen Every Day!

  • By Nikki Recob from Atlanta on Tuesday, September 04, 2007
  • Pros: Always with you, writes at any angle etc
  • Cons: Could be just a tad longer
  • Review: This Fisher Space Pen is invaluable! If you are always looking for a pen get this Trekker model, put it on your key ring and forgetaboutit!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great Pen

  • By Thomas from springfield MO USA on Monday, September 24, 2007
  • Pros: Uses regular spacePen refills, Cap never lets go
  • Cons: Everyone trys not to return it--Never lone out
  • Review: Perfect size, no need to put on cap to make it longer, I have never had it come loose from the cap after 1000s of pulls off my belt loop. next best pen next to there Telescoping Pen. Refills last a long time. Easy to grip rubber on shaft.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Never Hunt for a Pen Again!

  • By Nikki from Atlanta GA USA on Friday, October 19, 2007
  • Pros: Never, ever be without a pen!
  • Cons: It could stand being a touch longer
  • Review: Always seem to be looking for a pen? Get this Fisher Trekker Space Pen and as long as you have keys with you, you will always have a pen! I first saw these in "Outside" magazine, bought one for myself, then one for my sister and then one for each of my parents and now I send them out as gifts for friends ;) If you want to give a gift, why not give the recipient something they'll actually use all the time?
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

The perfect pen for Geocaching.

  • By Richard from Los Angeles CA USA on Thursday, December 13, 2007
  • Pros: Easy to retrieve and replace one-handed. Writes in any position, and on wet paper.
  • Cons: None
  • Review: Easy to retrieve and replace one-handed. Writes in any position, and on wet paper.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

I love my Fisher Trekker Space Pen!

  • By Richard W from Altadena CA USA on Friday, December 12, 2008
  • Pros: Very well made, keeps its good looks, never fails to write in any position, convenient to attach to key chain, 100% made in USA.
  • Cons: None that I have found.
  • Review: I love my Trekker pen so much that I frequently pull it out of my pocket during a conversation and brag about it. It's hooked to my keys and has kept its good looks from when I first got it from you. More often than not when I need to use it there is no convenient place to write and I have to use a wall or a door to write on. Other pens would lose their ink writing that way but the Fisher Trekker pen always performs-- even upside down! Friends at work have been impressed--- thus my desire to give them away as holiday presents this year
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Do you have a pen? Why, yes I do!

  • By Goat from Inver Grove Heights, MN USA on Thursday, February 28, 2008
  • Pros: Short, writes every time, well made
  • Cons: Short, refills not locally available for me
  • Review: This is the pen I've been looking for. It's short enough to be unobtrusive. The cap attaches securely enough so the pen can be confidently dangled from a key chain. It writes the first time, every time, even after sitting outside at -20 F. And, of course, it writes upside down. It's not for letter writing, especially if you've got larger hands, but when you just need a flippin' pen, there it is! There's no reason not to attach this thing to your key ring, or whatever else, so it's always with you.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Great pen!

  • By Jim from Claremore OK USA on Tuesday, February 05, 2008
  • Pros: very handy
  • Cons: none
  • Review: I have used Fisher Space Pens in the past but kept dropping them in the plane. They are always short. I bought this one because it hangs around your neck. Just a great feature. Haven't dropped one since.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.

Exactly what I was looking for

  • By Linda from Carmichael CA USA on Monday, April 14, 2008
  • Pros: Very handy -writes in all positions
  • Cons: Sometimes a little hard to separate top from bottom is hands are slippery.
  • Review: What I really like about this pen is I can carry it around my neck with a small tablet. If I remember something I need to do I can immediately write it down instead of interupting my current activity (which I might not get back to until I remember it again!)  It allows me to concentrate on one thing at a time and reduces stress since I don't have to keep a running blog in my mind of things I still need to do.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Fisher Trekker Space Pen

  • By Amy from CO USA on Wednesday, May 28, 2008
  • Pros: the lanyard, & being able to use it in adverse weather conditions
  • Cons: pricey
  • Review: I purchased this pen to use in the airplane. I thought it would be nice to hang off of something to be in easy reach always. The fact that it can write if the pen is hot or cold is a plus so you dont have to sit & try to get the ink to come down. Also the small size is nice. The lanyard thats attached makes it easy to hang around your neck or off of something in the cockpit.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

Great pen! Worked perfectly in Africa on the bumpiest roads imaginable!

  • By FRANCINE from BOCA RATON FL USA on Sunday, August 03, 2008
  • Pros: Worked consistently and kept cover on.
  • Cons: Seriously cannot find anything!
  • Review: This pen worked on all airplane rides, and there were many! It worked perfectly on the bumpy roads of Africa when I thought nothing would work! It was always clear, never lumpy and I loved how the cover always stayed on!
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.
  • Verified Purchase

You won't lose this one!

  • By Moosehead from Austin TX USA on Monday, January 26, 2009
  • Pros: SPACE pen! and TIGHT lid! AND ATTACHMENT device
  • Cons: can't find any yet! It's been in use for >2 months.
  • Review: This was EXACTLY what I wanted for myself and my hubby to use in our outdoors activities. Writes at any angle (of course), AND will write on a wet surface, AND we can ATTACH it to our gear with a carabiner or lanyard, AND the cap fits so tightly we don't have to worry about it getting snagged on a bush or vine (like has happened to us with many lesser pens). WE LOVE IT.
  • Was this review helpful to you? Yes No 0 Other people found this review helpful.